We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
110
47
18
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
47
18
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiger leaping gorge old city long distance bus station washing machine great place to stay clean rooms hostel china english laundry hill privacy
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2017

English version below
Es un buen hotel barato, familiar. Excelentemente situado; sólo cruzar una avenida y se entra en el pueblo antiguo. Hay que subir una larga escalera para llegar, por lo que no es recomendable para personas que no están en forma. El dueño habla buen inglés y se encarga de gestionar cosas como pasajes y demás. Es muy servicial. No ofrecen comida, pero hay muchos restaurantes cerca. La habitación espaciosa y limpia; hay lugar para tender la ropa y la vista era bonita.
This is a good budget hotel, family owned. Location is excellent: just crossing an avenue and you are in the old town. But you have to climb a long ladder to reach the hotel, and because of that is not recommended for persons who are not fit. The owner speaks well English and can get for you things such as bus tickets. There are no food, but a lot of restaurants nearby. The room was big and clean; it is also possible to hang out the washed clothes, and there is a nice view of the old city.

Room Tip: Not recommended for elderly, handicapped or persons with heart problems; a long ladder has to be climb to reach the hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We stayed in a basic double room for 3 nights. Premises were clean and had a good location just outside of the old town (so you can get there by taxi). Helpful and friendly staff with good English spoken. The staff organize a cheap bus to Tiger Leaping Gorge every day which is handy. Generally the premises had a nice family feel to it and the place wasn't too big. The view from the balcony is also very nice. The only downside was that the bed was very hard (although this is pretty common throughout China) and a bit expensive given there seem to be cheaper options within the old town itself (although probably without friendly staff and a nice view). Overall I would recommend this place if you are staying in Lijiang and particularly if you want to go hike the gorge.

Room Tip: More expensive double room we saw had a really nice view over the old town so it might be worth getting if you have extra cash
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

A great hostel; clean rooms, comfortable beds with a curtain so that you really have your privacy and clean toilets and showers. The staff is really nice and helpful and speaks proper English. The location is great, within 2 minutes you're inside Lijiang Old Town. And don't forget to check out the roof terrace! From this roof terrace you can enjoy some peace and quiet; just grab a comfortable seat and enjoy the amazing views and beautiful sunsets.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank Journey457890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this guesthouse for three nights. The rooms were ok, good size, because they were family rooms, the shower was very elementary, no curtain, not where to put the towels, we had to take the toilet paper out when we showered, but we could live with everything, except the beds, who were so hard, it felt like we slept on the ground.
The only good thing I can say is that the location is very good, near the old city.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank liatshechter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

We spent five nights at the Garden inn in the delux double with mountain view. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable - accurately shown by the pictures on hostelworld. The staff are friendly and have a good grasp of English - it is also within 5minutes walk to the old town and plenty of affordable restaurants nearby with picture/English menus if you can't speak Mandarin. Wifi generally worked pretty well and there was 24hr warm water.
Only negatives were:
- lack of a spacious common area to meet other travellers / spend time relaxing outside of our room - there is only really the reception area which is small.
- approach is up a steep'ish slope which is currently being dug up, as there's no lighting at night it was difficult to see where the path ended / ditch begun. Not suitable for those with mobility issues.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen3014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews