We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellence service”
Review of The Bruce Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bruce Chalet
Ranked #12 of 946 Hotels in Lijiang
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Overall an enjoyable stay despite the poor location.
The service is great, staffs and resort owner are very helpful, making us really feeling at home.

Help plan and give suggestion to my trip as well as drivers.

Recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cruzz_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights before making a overnight trip to Shangrila and Bruce was nice enough to allow us to leave our luggage in our rooms without any charges. When we came back to check into the same room for the 4th night, we were allowed a late check out at 8pm (without any charges) to catch the late train to Kunming. Never before that I have such an experience and when I have accidentally paid more for the Shangrila trip, Julie was honest enough to return the money to me. Bruce and team is operating this Chalet with lots of passion and integrity. Breakfast was plentiful and do not miss it. The location may be the only downside but it can easily be resolved by calling a taxi. Quite and clean accommodations and would strongly recommend to stay here.

Room Tip: First floor would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenLeung777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were a group of 14. First time to Lijiang. The Chalet located just outside (10 min walk) the Shuhe Old Town. Its a perfect place to relax. There are chairs and tea table out each room for you to enjoy the garden and mountain. The room are spacious and clean. Although the rooms are not air-conditioning, the weather was perfect, and the beds are very comfortable. The staff are forever cheerful and helpful. They arranged for our airport pick up (+/- RMB 100/car each way). Breakfast is RMB 30/pax (english). We bought wild mushroom from the Shuhe market and the staff gladly egg omelette+mushroom for us! Just outside the Chalet there is a clean and nice restaurant. (ask the staff for direction).
Some taxi driver may not know the place, so bring along a map or chalet tel no.

Room Tip: If you like waking up in the morning with a nice view of snow mountain, choose the room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billykang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Location says it all. It's not in Lijiang, a bustling town of some interest about 20 miles away. It's not even in Shuhe, an ancient, now over-touristed village15 minutes by foot. It,s down a dusty, not very interesting street without a lot of immediately apparent natural beauty (although some second floor rooms have verandahs with nice mountain views). So it's either a restful oasis or a boring boondock. That said, the place itself is nice enough, and Bruce is a charming, very helpful, Hong Kong fellow. Available breakfast is good and plentiful. Prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saunterer1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We wanted to visit Lijiang but wanted accomodations farther away from the noise and hubbub of town. The neighboring village called Old Shuhe fit our bill.

The chalet arranged pick-up at the airport for us, which was probably necessary as the chalet is in a small village next to Lijiang, and I wouldn't expect most drivers to know the exact location. The ride from the Lijiang airport was scenic. We arrived to the chalet and were checked in very quickly. We were given hot tea and biscuits as a welcome drink. The chalet has a dog that roams around as well and loves to be petted.

We stayed in early May, and the weather in Yunnan was cold and drizzle-y. The chalet is a small 2-story hotel. The best views are supposed to be from the 2nd floor rooms, but those all have king beds. We had 2 full-size beds and were on the ground floor. We still had a nice view of the amazing, peaceful garden and Jade Dragon Snow Mountain.

Rooms are chilly but the beds have electric blankets. The room was very clean, cleaned daily. There was also a TV and slippers provided. There was not a lot of extra space in the room itself. The restroom was very clean, and the shower was warm and powerful. There was shampoo/body wash provided in large containers. Being next to a large garden and in an area with farms/outdoors right outside, I did find several spiders inside over the first couple of days - probably because it was so cold outside that they all wanted to stay inside.

After a couple of days the weather warmed up. We no longer needed the electric blankets. However I noticed that when the weather warmed up a bit, we got a lot of flies inside the room.

We usually ate the breakfast buffet because of convenience. The spread was very nice with several types of fresh fruit, fresh eggs cooked to order, yogurt, chinese breads, dumplings, noodles, fresh juice, etc. It was also a great place to meet the other travelers staying at the chalet, who were usually Chinese touring the countryside.

We often were served hot tea when we returned back from our day's activities. The two girls working at the hotel were extremely nice, always willing to help us plan our next activity. I speak better English than Chinese and one of the girls was very good with English. They also had flashlights for us to take in to town for our walk back in the dark. There was a washing machine available for use for a fee but no dryer.

We stayed at this moderately priced B&B for several nights to explore Lijiang, then headed to the nearby Tiger Leaping Gorge for a 3D/2N hike. To get to Lijiang we usually took a taxi or public transportation. Shuhe is a 10 min walk away and has good dining options. Overall I thought it was an excellent location if you are looking for a quiet, peaceful getaway.

Don't miss the Tiger Leaping Gorge if you have the time! The views on the hike are unbeatable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leilapalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This place is very clean and the owner speak english as a native. Ratio price/quality is excellent.
Very good to stay 2-3 days (not that much in the area).
Food etc is ok, but for the price you cannot expect more.

Thanks Bruce !

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thibaut Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The garden at Bruce Chalet is the best feature. Rooms have a nice bad (and upstairs bathroom in the room with the mountain view is nice). Need to walk 10 min in a dark road to reach the shuhe old town (actually the new-built part of the old town). Helpful and friendly staff but from the other reviews my expectations were higher. For sure it's a very quiet place in the surrounding, even though the ground floor rooms can be noisy. The garden comes with a lot of insects in the rooms (and mosquitos)

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are better, no doubt, but look for a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonemalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
3.4 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
3.1 mi away
Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang
0.9 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 946 in Lijiang
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
1.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 946 in Lijiang
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maple Leaf Inn
Maple Leaf Inn
#26 of 946 in Lijiang
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bruce Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bruce Chalet

Address: Ronghua Village, Shuhe Town, Lijiang 674100, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 946 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range: £23 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bruce Chalet would be a great place for you who are already exhausted in trying to survive the throat cutting metropolitan life and looking for ways to recharge your batteries. The Chalet located in the Shuhe village underneath the Jade Dragon Mountain in Lijiang, Yunnan, China, the Chalet features picturesque scenery, genial sunlight, a large garden and great hospitality. The Bruce Chalet is built based on Naxi style structure combining with modern facilities. In total of 13 comfort rooms, including luxurious suites and Snow Mountain View rooms, all rooms with private bathroom, hairdryer, WIFI… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your The Bruce Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing