We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home sweet Home”
Review of The Bruce Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bruce Chalet
Ranked #12 of 941 Hotels in Lijiang
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Home sweet Home”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The experience in Bruce Chalet was great. There was a beautiful garden and the rooms were neat and tidy. Although the location is a bit far from the main tourist spot however this is a good opportunity to get rid of the noise and crowd from the city and really enjoy yourself and relax in Lijiang. Bruce and his members were very nice and friendly, they offer a suggestion plan for your journey and you can just focus to enjoy your holiday. They are willing to share their story with you and it is just like staying home. If we are going back to Lijiang again, we would definitely going back there and I am very willing to recommend to my friends and others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    54
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
67
89
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Bruce Chalet is a charming place with a beautiful garden courtyard and a canal running through it. Fellow travelers we met had sung praises about it and we decided we'd try it out for just one night. We ended up staying 4 nights. Thanks entirely to how at home we felt there (clean rooms, hot showers, electric blankets, a good working Wifi, laundry facilities). And the very lovely garden of course. But even more because of how sincere Bruce and his team of 4 (including a happy dog) were in helping us enjoy Lijiang in every way. We made the chalet our base while Bruce's team went out of their way to help us plan our excursions, reserve tickets for performances, gave us good travel advice and even cooked us a simple dinner one night when we were simply too tired to venture out. I could say a lot more. The personal touch was much appreciated. It's a place I wouldn't mind returning to.

Room Tip: The rooms downstairs facing the garden were perfect. Enjoyed waking up to a peaceful garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFoon_Ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I really enjoy staying at the Bruce chalet. Apart from the cozy environment, the staff are very nice and helpful. They entertain you with warm hospitality. If I come again, it is no doubt I must choose the Bruce chalet. And it is highly recommended to my friends and other tourists who are going to visit lijiang.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YIM PING NORA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Enjoyed the stay in Bruce Chalet and had a great experience.
Room was clean and tidy, bathroom with steady hot water, laundry service available.
It is relaxing to sit in the garden and enjoy the view of Jade Dragon snow mountain.
Buffet breakfast was delicious. Homemade dumplings is must-eat.
Bruce is friendly and his advice was helpful. He provided us a perfect schedule and made all the arrangements.

Highly recommend you to stay in Bruce Chalet!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I visited Lijiang with my parents and a nephew in February this year. We put up 3 nights at Bruce Chalet. The weather was cold but the hospitality was warm. Bruce and his team is super friendly and helpful. They go extra mile to help which I really appreciate that. They miggle with us and also had tea together with us and let us taste their tea collection.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Globetrotter2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We booked our stay at Bruce Chalet based largely on the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. This place is terrific. Obviously, it is not a luxurious hotel, but it is a charming inn with a superb service offered. Location is good, close to Shuhe old town and away from crowds and loud noise of Lijiang old town; room is clean and spacious with traditional décor; balcony has an awesome snow mountain view; the courtyard is quiet and peaceful... But what really made our stay memorable are Bruce, Bella and Julie. They are so nice and made our stay incredibly pleasant, from a warm welcome on our late arrival, tasty homemade breakfast, tea and snacks after a day out, great suggestions on where to dine, to helpful advice on how to enjoy our holiday. Everything was wonderful and much better than expected. Both my wife and I really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bassingbourn, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Arrived late due to aeroplane delays. Taxi (booked through Bruce) was ready and waiting. A bumpy ride to the chalet and they were up and waiting for us. Room was neat and tidy with 1 double and 1 single and an ensuite. Although no food was served that late (cannot for one minute blame them) they did find us some sweet bread rolls to stave off the hunger!
The bathroom smelt of sewers but simply closing the door stopped me from smelling it all night (and believe me I am fussy when it comes to that particular smell!)
Breakfast was a communal affair which was wonderful and my toddler (2/1/2) was treated like a princess by guests and staff alike.
Although we had another hotel booked for the consecutive nights, we used Bruce to organise tours even though it meant walking all the way back out to the chalet from town. The reason was simple. Excellent English so you could understand what you were getting, fair price and flexibility (much needed when travelling with a toddler!)
Highly recommend this place. Even if you don't stay, worth using their services for tours etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceChalet, Owner at The Bruce Chalet, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for your comments, we already fixed problem of smell at your room, and check all other rooms and do not find the same problem. We welcome you come again and test with us. :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
The Bivou
#1 of 941 in Lijiang
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gucheng District
Lijiang Spiritual Utopia Hotel
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 941 in Lijiang
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bruce Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bruce Chalet

Property: The Bruce Chalet
Address: Ronghua Village, Shuhe Town, Lijiang 674100, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 941 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bruce Chalet would be a great place for you who are already exhausted in trying to survive the throat cutting metropolitan life and looking for ways to recharge your batteries. The Chalet located in the Shuhe village underneath the Jade Dragon Mountain in Lijiang, Yunnan, China, the Chalet features picturesque scenery, genial sunlight, a large garden and great hospitality. The Bruce Chalet is built based on Naxi style structure combining with modern facilities. In total of 13 comfort rooms, including luxurious suites and Snow Mountain View rooms, all rooms with private bathroom, hairdryer, WIFI… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Bruce Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing