We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice resort in Lijiang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 955 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I got a room on the 2nd floor which is overlooking the stunning view of the jade dragon snow mountain. The room is nice , modern and spacious. Most hotels in china is with small rooms and hard bed or pillows but Pullman keeps its standard. Staffs are friendly and helpful and they can arrange the taxi to Dayan old town which cost 30-40 yuan . Dont forget to bring the hotel name card and ask the staffs to write in mandarin so you can show the taxi driver when you return to the hotel. There are many local restaurants inside the old cities but not nearby Pullman. But they have ala carte menu for lunch or dinner. I think staying at Pullman is much better than inside the old cities as there were so much noises from the bars and restaurants at night. Will definitely come back there again when I return to Lijiang.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoelitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h7231-GM, General Manager at Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Yoelitta,
Thank you very much for choosing the Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa as your first choice of accommodation. I am very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and also our facilities and our personalized service and attention to details. We always enjoy hearing about the things we do right, this allows us to continue to strive for excellence. Our Deluxe Villas with one or two bedrooms offer a hot soak tub in the courtyard and our free horse carriage service to Shuhe Old Town brings a lot of fun for our guests and especially the kids.
Thank you very much for all your valuable suggestions to visitors coming to Lijiang and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the near future.
Hartmut Schaller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I just came back from a 5 day holiday at this amazing resort. The facilities were excellent and service of the staff was amazing. They handled every request with great efficiency and always with a smile. They seemed to remember every preference we had. we certainly will go back!!!
No better way to recharge your batteries!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansL573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h7231-GM, General Manager at Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear HansL573,
thank you very much for choosing the Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa as your preferred choice of accommodation and I know that I speak on the behalf of my entire resort team when I say, that we all truly appreciate your kind comments and to hear that we were able to meet your expectations in the commitment and quality associated with our hotel.

Thanks again for your kind feedback and it is our honor to have you and your family as our guest and hopefully we will be able to welcome you again soon!
Check in - Chill out !
Hartmut Schaller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

[INTRODUCTION]
Visiting Lijiang and it's surroundings, we spent three days in this beautiful 5-star resort. The first thing that comes to mind is the layout and the flair of the hotel, elegantly combining Lijiang's old-town style with modern straight glass and metal surfaces. The hotel complex is comprised of low 1-2 story bungalows centered around a scenic, peaceful artificial lake. Every bungalow has it's own feng-shui style garden / yard, and is enclosed by a wall with a portal very similar to Beijing's famous Hutong housings. The rectangular stone alleys between the bungalows are lined by small brooks with bamboo and water plants and contribute to a perfect symbiosis between nature and buildings.

[ACCOMODATION*****]
Our bungalow had two bedrooms, a large bathroom, and is equipped with the usual features typical for a five-star accomodation such as a minibar, free Wifi hotspot and media room. The backyard featured a set of garden furniture with umbrella, a huge gas smoker / grill, a small pond and a jaccuzzi / hot tub - very nice, if it weren't for the bad weather during our stay.

[STAFF*****]
The hotel employees in general were very kind, polite and mindful, refilling glasses, serving snacks and assisting as appropriate in a very unobstrusive and decent way. In general, the staff spoke exceptionally good English, still a rare find in China. We had the pleasure of meeting and spending some time with the German General Manager, Hartmut Schaller, who took us on a trip to the near traditional village of Baisha and the old town Shuhe. The excellence of this resort can surely be contributed in no small part to his mindful guidance, charme and vast experience. Thank you for the beautiful time, Hartmut! Further gratitude goes to the concierge, "Super", who provided us with bikes for a tour to the City on the second day and umbrellas. He even remembered to check and adjust tire pressures before leaving us to our trip - Perfect!

[FOOD*****]
The resort's kitchen staff offers several restaurants with a wide range of Western and Chinese food, huge breakfast buffet and an excellent and unusually vast selection of Wines, Whiskeys and other alcoholic beverages. There are multiple classically Chinese-style Dining rooms with gorgious view on the aforementioned lake for secluded business or recreational meals. The Chef gladly prepares opulent local-kitchen menues for anyone open to traditional Chinese cuisine. Except for the breakfast, we did not try the Western restaurant, but visited the charming Bar for a sun-set drink in front of the beautiful lake scenery.

[ACTIVITIES*****]
The area around Lijiang has a lot to offer, especially the old towns of Lijiang and Shuhe, which are just about 10 minutes from the resort by foot. The hotel contributes to this by offering a large range of support ranging from custom maps and guided tours to all manners of transportation such as uni- and tandem bicycles and a unique horse carriage for close destinations. I warmly recommend visiting the Black Dragon Pool and its surrounding park as well as the gorgious view from Elephant Hill onto the city valley. Both can easily be reached by bike, the streets are equipped with bike-only lanes. Also don't miss Baisha village and world-famous 93 year-old Dr. Ho, who is well reknowned for his herbal medicine and one of Chinas best silk-stitching schools.
Regrettably, we didn't have enough time left to visit the Naixa/Dongba heritage museum, which offers deep insights into one of Chinas cultural minorities. This ethnic group has many similarities with North-American Indian tribal culture and possesses a rich history recorded in an independently developed hieroglyphic script.

[VERDICT]
All in all, this was one of the most pleasant hotel experiences in my travelling lifetime, every single star well-deserved in contrary to many other 5-star hotels in mainland China. The resort itself provides enough attractions to deserve a visit, especially if you're looking for a quiet and peaceful stay in perfect symbiosis with the historic environment and beautiful landscape. We are looking forward to a second visit in the future!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but the villas/bungalows are especially recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lau W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h7231-GM, General Manager at Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Lau W,
I am extremely astonished and thankful receiving your very detailed and comprehensive feedback and I know that I speak on behalf of my entire resort team when I say, that we truly do appreciate your kind words and comments and also your professional rating of our facilities, standards and service delivery. I am very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and also our personalized service and attention to details. We always enjoy hearing about the things we do right, this allows us to continue to strive for excellence. I have shared your most favorable sentiments and your valuable feedback and rating with my entire resort team and I will ensure that they will be recognized for their outstanding service delivery. Our success is due to the actions of very special individuals who work to exceed the expectations of our guests like you!
I sincerely thank you again for choosing the Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa as your first choice of accommodation and look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.
Hartmut Schaller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed in a two Bedroom villa for three night. Room layout is great, but lacks some basis needs....Kitchen area with a range hood, but no cooking options....No Wine Glasses in the room.. very limited Tea and Coffee options... no milk in the room for Tea.. but a lot of options for Chinese Tea...


But on a positive side: Staff very friendly and always willing to help. layout of the Resort is good. Restaurant and bars in centre area...Close to one of the old towns....

Rooms are spacious and a lot of space for a family.. nice outdoor area with garden etc..

Room Tip: make sure get breakfast included in the rate as there is not a lot of options around the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiawayMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h7231-GM, General Manager at Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Kiwiaway,
Thank you very much for choosing the Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa as your first choice of accommodation and we do appreciate your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay. We regret that some details in the living room area of your villa were not up to your expectation and I would like to share with you our high interest and dedication to examine thoroughly these shortcomings to be able to further improve whenever possible. Usually our guests very much like our Original Nespresso coffee machines, which we provide in all our rooms throughout the resort. I also appreciate the time you set aside to notify us that our associates were able to meet your expectations in the commitment and quality associated with the Pullman brand name and that you liked our spacious rooms and the outdoor area with garden.
We sincerely thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.
Hartmut Schaller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed one night at the Pullman resort in one of the regular rooms. The first room we got had some AC issue and it was super hot when we went back after our disappointing visit to Shuhe Old Town. So we end up in a room with balcony on the 2nd floor. They may have mentioned that due to some designing failure, sometimes the rooms can get irregularly hot in summer days.

We enjoyed the lagoon view and our dinner at the Chinese restaurant. The resort gound is very beautiful. What we also liked was that there were not too many tourists around the place, which made it relatively quite. Remember to call for the horse carriage if you want to go see Shuhe.

It will be my choice if I visit Shuhe again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h7231-GM, General Manager at Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear exzx,
Thank you very much for choosing the Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa as your first choice of accommodation. I was most concern about the inconvenience you experienced with the AC in your room and I do apologize with all one`s heart. It is essential that we receive feedback like yours in order to identify both our strength and weaknesses and greatly assists us in continually improving our standards and services. I appreciate your kind comments about the lagoon view, the entire resort, our unique horse carriage to Shuhe Old Town and our Chinese Restaurant Zun, lately we have included some local Naxi dishes in our menus and I am sure you will enjoy the delicious food upon your next visit.
We sincerely thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.
Hartmut Schaller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our family stayed six days at the Pullman Lijiang. We had a beautiful 2-bedroom villa with serene garden and stunning mountain view. The highlights for our children were the private hottub in the garden and to roam the scenic resort on the rented bikes.
Shuhe is within walking distance but the hotel also offers a horse-carriage-shuttle that made the short trip a more special experience for our children. The lovely staff and amiable GM catered for all our needs and were always very helpful and knowledgable about what to do.

Close by Baisha is a definite must-see: Still-authentic atmosphere and lots of little shops and cafes.

We recommend this resort to anybody wishing to relax and feeling the unique atmosphere of Lijiang reflected in the stylish environment.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Mjb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h7231-GM, General Manager at Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Mjb D,
first of all my apologies for replying so late to your valuable feedback and comments in TripAdvisor and thank you very much for choosing the Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa as your first choice of accommodation. I am very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and also our facilities and our personalized service and attention to details. We always enjoy hearing about the things we do right, this allows us to continue to strive for excellence. Our Deluxe Villas with one or two bedrooms offer a hot soak tub in the courtyard and our free horse carriage service to Shuhe Old Town brings a lot of fun for our guests and especially the kids.
Thank you very much for all your valuable suggestions to visitors coming to Lijiang and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the near future.
Hartmut Schaller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I, my wife and our two children, boy and girl aged 10 and 12, stayed for three days at this resort. The villa was superb, and was well beyond what we had expected. The staff was 100% service-oriented and took care of our every need. The GM is a German fellow who is a seasoned pro and obviously took a sincere interest in our comfort and stay. I would strongly recommend this resort to any traveler wishing to find an oasis in an exotic locale and is in need of rest and a unique experience.

Room Tip: Choose the villa as it offers an experience unique to this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarkExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dir-marcomlijiang, Public Relations Manager at Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear ClarkExpat,

Thanks for taking time to post this review about Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa. We are very glad to know you and your family enjoyed your stay with us in April. We feel appreciated for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you and your family again in your next visit in Lijiang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 955 in Lijiang
285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Banyan Tree Lijiang
#3 of 955 in Lijiang
934 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 955 in Lijiang
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
3.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Lijiang Ancient Town
7.1 mi away
Villafound Jade
Villafound Jade
#4 of 955 in Lijiang
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa

Address: Shuhe Entrance Road, Lijiang 674100, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lijiang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lijiang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lijiang
#6 Family Hotel in Lijiang
#25 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range: £91 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to ShuHe Ancient Town and 10 minutes from downtown Lijiang and the heritage listed DaYan Ancient Town, Resort boasts beautiful, upscale design within traditional NaXi style buildings. As well as 51 spacious rooms, Resort offers 79 villas with private courtyards and mountain views, superior facilities and technology including WiFi access and connectivity panels, plus extensive conferencing facilities, a spa and lakeside dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Lijiang Hotel Lijiang
Pullman Lijiang Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing