We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too expensive and wrong room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel
Ranked #35 of 928 Hotels in Lijiang
CH-Eschenbach LU
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“too expensive and wrong room”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We did choose this hotel according reviews also from other websites. Unfortunately it was not as we expected. The location was perfect, the breakfast good but we had several troubles:

first it was not possible to pick up us from taxi (the luggage cart was damaged). We have booked a grand suite from Agoda, acc. description 50sqm. The given room was max. 28sqm and very poor furnished (nothing to do with grand suite shown on Hotel website).

My chinese wife tried 3 times to get a better room, they showed also 2 others but none of them similar and nice as the 41sqm grand suite as on hotel website. I think we have received a very poor standard room in the oldest and most poor garden of the resort.

Room Tip: please make sure that you will get a room acc. description and picture
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mistelbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    19
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
belgium
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We had the suite (is more a junior suite). Comfortable with relaxing beds and a very small sitting area. Only the domotica didnot work properly, i.c. was not practical. If you needed only light in the bathroom, you got light in almost the whole suite. Some of the staff speak English; others don't. We asked at the reception for a massage and werte adviced to a nearby hotel (Waika hotel?). This experience was wonderful! Do experience it yourself when you stay in this hotel.
Unfortunately other (Asian) guests often made much noice in the corridors ('streets alongside the room'). This happened on several days and on early hours; not ideal for a good sleep.
The breakfast room is too small for the amount of guests (and if you are tall; watch your head). The breakfast itself was reasonable. Although on several days various products happened to be out of stock.The hotel is located on the border of the old town. From the parking area you are brought with electric cars to the reception. The old town is nice to see, but has become very touristic.
Very positive; we did telephone the hotel a day prior to our arrival because of a late arrival. As a service the hotel took care for a free pick-up from the airport!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansvink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We selected this hotel for 3-days based largely on TA reviews and were not disappointed. Th e taxi driver had trouble finding it but I had him call the hotel and they gave him directions to the outside pickup point and the "golf cart" was waiting to pick us up. I found the front desk to have passable English if you are just patient and talk slowly. The staff tripped all over themselves to be helpful. The concierge even walked me to a pharmacy, translated and called a third party for an antibiotic recommendation (Montezuma's Revenge, Delhi Belly, Karachi Crouch-I don't know the term for China). Breakfast was pretty good. The room was somewhat cramped but the bath was ok. It was a ways to the old town "action" and most of the maps we found had serious errors but after a couple of days we could find our way around.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albuquerque_NMGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at the Lijiang Pullman Resort for the first leg of our Yunnan trip and wished we had stayed here longer/the whole time instead!

Pros:
1. Nice location: very quiet side of Lijiang old city
2. Very good value

Cons:
1. Room, bathroom a bit cramped
2. We had an in-room massage that was not very professional
3. Breakfast could be improved

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shinysparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed in what they call a grand suite -I would personally call it a junior suite.

The room was nice and comfortable, the hotel has a good location in a quiet area of Lijiang old city, with a refined decoration. A nice large flat screen TV, but only CCTV news & Deutsche Welle. The rest is Chinese channels.

The breakfast is average and the fact that you need to walk some 100m on a public street to get to the breakfast restaurant is obviously not the most convenient. Furthermore, the breakfast is not very nice and more intended to Chinese tourists than to foreigners.

Virtually no English is spoken at the hotel. The receptionists are not helpful: they don't take USD, they don't take Amex cards... This wastes the whole experience.

Would I stay there again? The answer is no.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This is a more comfortable and nicer version compared to other local inns inside the old town. It's traditional Chinese buildings with connecting gardens and I enjoyed reading the history of chamagudao on the wall. The room is very nice and clean. I am addicted to massags (foot and body) and to my surprise couldn't find any inside the old town. I thougt they would have been in every corner. So I was pleasntly surprised that the hotel also has offer in-room massage which I enjoyed very much. The location though - I can never find my way back from old town... I'm easily lost!! hehe...

Room Tip: Ask for a room that opens to the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DORAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We are right now in Lijiang. City and mountains are beautiful
Hotel is clean, nobody understands you. Rooms are ok, but having breakfast outside is just too much. Also hotelguests are mostly Chinese, so manners and food is not enoyable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woastscho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
5.3 mi away
Tianfu Taiheyuan Xiuxian Holiday Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Lijiang Ancient Town
0.4 mi away
LUX* Tea Horse Road Lijiang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lijiang
Hilton Garden Inn Lijiang
#15 of 928 in Lijiang
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel

Property: Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel
Address: No.53 Guangbi Alley, Guangyi Street, Lijiang 674100, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 928 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing