We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banyan tree experience without the hefty price tag”
Review of The Bivou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bivou
Ranked #1 of 955 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The Bivou is a lovely place in the quaint little town of Shuhe. Tucked in a hidden corner, guests can enjoy the peacefulness and tranquility that is much yearned for during a vacation, without losing the opportunity to experience the bustling "night life" just a few minutes walk away.

The interior of Bivou is well-designed, clean, and provide all the in-room amenities you will ever need (soap, humidifier, kettle, iron, hair dryer, electric blanket, and an array of toiletries). The staff are very friendly, and provide insightful advice on touring Lijiang and other cities, in perfect Mandarin and English.

We looked forward to the awesome breakfast spread every morning, as well as hanging out at the cafe with the wide collection of books. Although slightly pricier than your local motel, it was well worth it with the comfort and cleanliness. This is -the- place to stay if you're looking for a comfortable getaway without having to empty your wallets.

Room Tip: Every room is designed differently. We loved our garden yard room with the hidden shower and wooden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBivou, General Manager at The Bivou, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Christina, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Bivou. We do appreciate your vote of confidence in us! As a young adventure lodge, we are committed to providing our guests with a tranquil oasis during their travels in a part of Yunnan that is rich in history and culture. As you’ve commented, our goal is to achieve value by offering a higher quality stay, as well as a great breakfast! At the end of the day, as adventurers ourselves, we are keen to share with visitors the many aspects of this beautiful region, and we do hope we've succeeded in designing this “sense of discovery” into our rooms. Hope to see you again soon, and once again, thank you!

Yours, Hwee Ling
General Manager, The Bivou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

Do yourself a favor next time you travel to Yunnan. Don't sleep in Lijiang, far too noisy and crowded. Instead book a room at The Bivou and enjoy the quietness of the little Shuhe. The chic bed and breakfast could easily be featured in Wallpaper Magazine, the rooms are bright and cosy at the same time. We loved the wooden floor in the shower! All the staff was friendly and efficient and it is evident that the manager Hweeling is putting a lot of efforts to make us feel at home: afternoon snacks, healthy breakfast (with homemade jam and cereals!), treasure hunt for the kids, travel guides... She really cares about her guests!
The only regret we have is that we didn't stay long enough! But we will definitely be back one day!

Room Tip: All the rooms are super sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank verolebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBivou, General Manager at The Bivou, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Dear verolebel,

We sure wished you could have stayed with us longer, there’s plenty more to see! But well, another adventure in Lijiang beckons soon yeah? :)

It heartens us to know that our guests take the time to really appreciate the design elements within our rooms. We believe that each room is an individual and unforgettable masterpiece in itself. At the same time, to us, service always begins at the heart. We genuinely care for our guests like our very own family, and we are certain that they are able to feel it. It is the little things that truly leaves a deep impression. We want The Bivou to be a home away from home for our guests – a crib where they can be well rested and stress-free, where they can trust, where they will always be welcomed.

There is no age limit for an adventure, so trust us when we say that we have something available for everyone.

Come stay with us again! See you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Camille1032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mutscho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank xavier k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Dachsuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ArakisBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank koltika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBivou, General Manager at The Bivou, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 955 in Lijiang
285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
0.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Banyan Tree Lijiang
#3 of 955 in Lijiang
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
1.0 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Villafound Jade
Villafound Jade
#4 of 955 in Lijiang
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bivou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bivou

Address: 16 Zhonghe Cun, Shuhe Old Town, Lijiang, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 955 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range: £55 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bivou 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bivouac - an old Swiss word meaning “temporary encampment” – is now used by adventurers to describe an improvised shelter. A bivouac is about simplicity.The Bivou is our version of the bivouac for today’s discerning travelers. It is a bed-and-breakfast built around the notion that modern adventurers have modern needs: comfort, sustainability, authenticity and style. We are uniquely located within the UNESCO World Heritage site of Lijiang, just a minute away from the historic village square of ancient Shuhe. Our vision is simple…We are Designed for Adventure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Bivou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing