We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic home away from home in rural China”
Review of The Bivou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bivou
Ranked #1 of 955 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed in a Farmyard Room with my husband for five nights and cannot recommend this hotel enough. The rooms were spacious and the beds really comfortable but what really made the hotel stand out was the service. The manager and staff manage to cultivate a welcoming and homey environment whilst being consummate professionals. I have stayed at many hotels around the world but this one ranks as one of the best for location, comfort and individuality. It sits at the edge of Shuhe Village and you have a great choice of restaurants and lots of cute shops to browse just a few minutes walk away but the hotel itself is very quiet. Lijiang itself is about 20 minutes drive away but Shuhe is a far better place to be based when exploring this area as it's closer to the countryside and just a few minutes by bike from spectacular scenery.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howardhelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBivou, General Manager at The Bivou, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Dear howardhelly,

It always warms our hearts to receive such fantastic reviews from our guests! It reaffirms us of what we do, and it is our promise to our guests to constantly look for ways to improve and exceed our guests’ expectations.

Though we feel greatly honoured by the recent TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice awards and Conde Nast rankings, we have to admit that we seldom have time to even compare ourselves to the other hotels and guesthouses in the Lijiang valley. We set out right from the start to be a different sort of "hotel" – an adventure lodge where travellers could meet and share stories, exchange ideas with us and other travellers, and make new friends, all while experiencing and being inspired by the wonders of Lijiang every day. When putting together the design for The Bivou, it was key for us to not only create a room experience that was unique and stylish, but also one that respected the original century-old buildings and their structures. Thus many of the rooms are individual and unforgettable masterpieces in themselves. Apart from creating a comfortable cocoon for our guests, it is also of key importance to us in providing privacy for our guests. As such we had chosen to site ourselves at this northern edge of Shuhe Old Town essentially due to its relative tranquillity – a location easily accessible yet safely tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the town.

We can’t wait to have you with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

I visited with my daughter in March and stayed for 3 nights. This is an old farm complex beautifully modernised to a high and modern standard.The owner/manager Hweeling could not have been more helpful in arranging horseriding and other local tours. Her assistants Jared and Mau Mau are prepared to go above and beyond normal standards to help out with any issues or tours.Rooms are modern and spacious and even have electric blankets for the frequently cold nights.Breakfasts are varied and fresh with plenty of fruit juices, coffee, tea etc.This is a boutique hotel in a great location in Shuhe near Lijiang and would be difficult to beat in terms of value for money, location and extremely helpful staff.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the courtyard offer privacy and ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stex_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBivou, General Manager at The Bivou, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Dear stex_8,

Thank you for your excellent review! We had such a great time hosting you and your daughter.
We’ve always striven to be a boutique hotel that genuinely cares from the heart, and we are delighted to know that you’ve enjoyed our personalized level of service. It is of utmost importance to us that our guests not only feel secure and comfortable in this stylish oasis, but also get insider insights on the local culture and community. This is also reflected in our local homemade dishes, where the ingredients used are picked fresh daily from the local markets, farms and our own gardens. Such an experience is one that is truly deserving for our guests!
On behalf of the team, we thank you once again for your kind words. We look forward to having you with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I couldn't be more enthusiastic about this hotel. It's located on a boardwalk at the end of the lively village, tucked into the village garden. You can walk out the front door and up the village street to shops and restaurants. Even though this is a tourist location, it's mainly for Chinese and is still exotic for Westerners like me. There's a nice little breakfast, bar area and the staff try very hard to make your visit pleasant, including providing tea and snacks in the lobby on your arrival. The best part for me was the young enthusiastic Chinese hotel employees - Joe, Mao Mao and Trevor. While their English is still developing, they always had big smiles and seemed genuinely interested in making our visit a good one. Like many Chinese inns, you'll have to walk a few yards from your car, but the staff will see to your luggage

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBivou, General Manager at The Bivou, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Dear Debra G,

Likewise we couldn’t have been more ecstatic to have you with us! Thank you for choosing The Bivou as your base to begin your adventures here in Lijiang. It is indeed a wonderful blessing to be surrounded by such lush greenery. What a sight it is to wake up to residents tending their farms, as we savour our hearty homemade breakfast and sip on a cup of coffee/tea. Ahh, life is so good!

Even though we are in such close vicinity to Shuhe Old Town where the shops and restaurants are, we do highly recommend our local ayi’s nongjiacai to have an insider’s taste of Yunnan. She comes from the Bai minority here in Yunnan, and I must applaud her for her talent, she not only whips up really lip-smacking Yunnan cuisine, but also great Western cuisine for those who are looking for some comfort food. Oh, and did I mention that our front desk staff, Joe can double up as an amazing bartender! Do try out his wicked cocktails the next time you visit 
At the same time, we will convey your kind words to our team! We pride ourselves in always delivering service that is authentically sincere from the heart, treating our guests like our family. We are always here to take care of our guests and provide the right advice and support that they need in creating an unforgettable, uniquely local adventure!

Come on your next adventure with us! We can’t wait to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Many good and lovely things have been said about Bivou so I won't repeat any. A thank you note to the lovely team has made our trip extremely enjoyable.
Hwee Ling - thanks for good company and showing us where to have good meals, good massage
Joe - thanks for meeting all our requests and providing good information
Gerald - thanks for your cheerful disposition and good conversations
Maomao - thanks for your efficient logistics support
Ah Xie - thanks for your good cooking
Team - thanks for your thorough selection of good guides, tour itineraries and drivers.

It is so nice to have such wonderful hosts around and you guys really make our trip memorable!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JW0ng2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBivou, General Manager at The Bivou, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Dear JW0ng2014,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a heartwarming note for the team! It really touches our hearts to know that our guests truly appreciate our efforts in creating a memorable adventure for them. Our ultimate goal is to be your family here in Lijiang – a home that will always welcome you, a home that you can trust, a home where you can be well rested for your adventures. Your note has further reaffirmed us that we are on the right track.

On behalf of the team, we would like to thank you for choosing us! We can’t wait to tailor another off-the-beaten-track adventure for you. See you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We are back from an awesome 4 nights stay with Bivou. Our garden yard room was aesthetically pleasing and cozy with well-stocked bathroom amenities comparable to 5* hotels. The Bivou is situated at the quieter edge of Shuhe but less than 5 minute walk to Si Fang Jie. We were given hand drawn maps of the 3 towns with directions to recommended attractions, eateries and the best flower biscuits in Shuhe. Staff speaks good English and are able to advise on activities, areas to avoid and expected cab fares. We were served daily breakfast special on top of their buffet spread. They took us on a 2 hours hike where we were rewarded with a breath taking view of canola flowers field. A big thank you to Hwee Ling, Joe, Jared, Maomao, Felix, Sesame and the team for their warm hospitality and for making our trip an amazing and memorable one.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peppersteakraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBivou, General Manager at The Bivou, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Dear peppersteakraw,

Thank you for your compliments! We are truly humbled by your words. As you have noted, we do feel that our location right within the heart of the UNESCO heritag site of Shuhe gives us an edge over larger alternatives when looking for a base to explore the old village. We are delighted to know that you found our exclusive Bivou maps useful! Our maps only available to guests of The Bivou, was actually something that took us quite a bit of time to put together but we felt that it was really something that our guests would appreciate. Not forgetting our exclusive The Bivou Insider Card as well where guests can obtain discounts at various shops. Many of our visitors look to us for insider suggestions for local restaurants and unique places to pick up gifts and souvenirs of their trip – places that are often off-the-beaten path, and offering unique and authentic experiences, honest and friendly service, amidst the many copycat shops in what can sometimes feel like an overly commercialised ancient town. That’s when our vast local knowledge and network come in handy ;)

For your next visit, you can perhaps try a farm yard room – a “bathroom-in-a-garden” concept. Many of our guests appreciate the fact that these bathrooms are somewhat separated from sleeping area and they love the feeling of showering in a “secret garden”!

I must say that our resident cat, Sesame is making waves in becoming our popular icon at The Bivou ;) Our team together with Sesame, can’t wait to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We were at Bivou with my parents and two kids, aged four and two, and it was a great place for our family vacation. We were in Lijiang a total of 10 days and spent 8 days in Bivou. Loved that it was at Shuhe, which is quieter and less commercial than Lijiang old town. The staff were friendly and helped us to organized a cycling trip to Baisha, a nearby town (with kids' helmets and all), visit to Laisha Lake and Jade Snow Mountain at very reasonable rates. Joe also made sure we visited Lashi lake when the weather was best so we could really have a great view and enjoy ourselves.Breakfast was marvellous with hot breakfast and a wide selection of bread and jams, cereal, porridge and drinks every morning. The hotel is great to just hang around - we spent two days of our trip just resting. Kids and adults could catch latest DVDs in the TV and Games lounge, my dad read up lots on Lijiang in the library, and we ordered pizza or packed food back. Weather was great on our second last day, and we had pizza outside our Garden Yard Rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadlesstravelled014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBivou, General Manager at The Bivou, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Dear roadlesstravelled014,

We greatly appreciate your endorsement! We are so glad to know that your entire family had a great time here. Memories created with your loved ones are always fondly looked back on.
Indeed, going on a Baisha biking adventure is definitely one of our highlights, where guests would be able to take in the picturesque view of ancient Naxi villages, quaint farmhouses and lush farmland as they cycle their way to the 1000 year old Baisha village. We have always believed in providing our guests the chance to soak in the rich local cultures and interact with the local communities. But of course, the safety of our guests must come first! Nonetheless, the Jade Dragon Snow Mountain needs no further introduction - it is a natural beauty in itself. That said, Lashi Lake is equally amazing as well. What better way to spend the day with the family than to have a hearty lunch at the shores of the lake, kayak through the tranquil reeds and get up-close to the thousands of migratory birds.

Yes, our breakfast spread has often been raved about by our guests. We only serve up the finest, freshest produce picked daily from our local markets, farms, and even our own gardens. Our guests truly deserve the best! At the same time, we agree with you that sometimes taking things slow is a blessing as well. After all that adventure, kick back and relax with our wide range of books and DVDs accompanied with a cup of coffee/tea, as we soak in the lush greenery that surrounds The Bivou.

Fresh air, amazing sights, what more could we ask for? Lijiang just has so much to offer at every turn, and The Bivou is such a great base to start. Another family adventure beckons soon yeah? ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We visited LiJiang for the first time, staying four days at this wonderful hideaway in Shuhe. We were we pleasantly surprised. The rooms and dining lounge were cozy and first class. The service and hospitality were even better. English spoken everywhere. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: I've seen several single and double rooms, they are all good. I heard there is a large family ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbyw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBivou, General Manager at The Bivou, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Dear Bobbyw59,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are ecstatic to know that we’ve left a deep impression on you in your first visit to Lijiang! Lijiang is indeed a place with pockets full of surprises waiting to be uncovered, and The Bivou serves to bring our guests to embark on this journey of discovery. We’re a “designer lodge” for adventure travellers who are looking for something a little unconventional, and this is reflected in our hotel’s design and in our service.

We are definitely looking forward to having you with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 955 in Lijiang
285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
0.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Banyan Tree Lijiang
#3 of 955 in Lijiang
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
1.0 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Villafound Jade
Villafound Jade
#4 of 955 in Lijiang
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bivou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bivou

Address: 16 Zhonghe Cun, Shuhe Old Town, Lijiang, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 955 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range: £55 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bivou 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bivouac - an old Swiss word meaning “temporary encampment” – is now used by adventurers to describe an improvised shelter. A bivouac is about simplicity.The Bivou is our version of the bivouac for today’s discerning travelers. It is a bed-and-breakfast built around the notion that modern adventurers have modern needs: comfort, sustainability, authenticity and style. We are uniquely located within the UNESCO World Heritage site of Lijiang, just a minute away from the historic village square of ancient Shuhe. Our vision is simple…We are Designed for Adventure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Bivou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing