We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable visit with decent eateries.”

Stone Drum (Shigu) Town
Ranked #30 of 87 things to do in Lijiang
Attraction details
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit with decent eateries.”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

A short visit to Shigu is worth the travel over from Lijiang. The drive reveals some of the most outstanding scenery and accompanied with your read "forgotten Kingdom" by Peter Goullart the backdrop is perfect to imagine a bygone age in China. Shigu is worth a short stop off to see the famous first bend in the Yangtze and there are a couple of decent eateries, one particularly near the gate to the riverside (name has eluded me) a walk up the hill to the memorial statue provides a great viewing platform.

If driving over from Lijiang keep your eyes peeled for farmers who may be tending to their crops. We stopped by a watermelon grower and bought a couple of large ripe watermelons from him, which he duly harvested and cut up for us and we managed to buy forest mushrooms from a forager at the side of the road.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting little town”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Shigu is small and quaint, with hilly backstreets and alleys offering views over the Yangtze first bend. The town has a lot of history, being part of the ancient tea route and was the first night stop for travelers back then after leaving Lijiang. The villagers also helped the Red Army cross the Yangtze, and a monument of this can be seen on the hilltop area. Most importantly, but somewhat disappointingly presented, is the Stone Drum hailing back to the Ming Dynasty which was apparently placed there by Kublai Khan during his conquests. The local tourism authorities should showcase the drum better, as where it is gives it little credit.

Oh, and you will see loads of spiderwebs everywhere which are amazing themselves - the spiders construct huge webs spanning large areas taking advantage of the breeze through the town to provide prey. They are not poisonous and children can be seen playing with them, so I'm told.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FANOOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“If has what Lijiang lacks....”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Actually, Stone Drum Town is not just famous for the First Bend of Yangtze River, it is also an important transportation hub, trade center and military stonghold since ancient time. It is a stop for the Tea and Horse Road(a trading route over 2000 years old, the silk road in south China). Various ethnic minorites will throng into this place during market day which occurs each 3 days.

I visited this place in summer, the rainy season. thus the water level is high. i shoot several most stunning photos i even took from here. And i enjoyed so much to taste the local food on the market day.

If compare Lijiang to be a well dressed up lady, Stone Drum Town will look like a countryside girl, with primitive and original beauty.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetsophiaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Not worth stopping at for more than a couple photos”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The town itself has not much to offer and the restaurants are not really nice. So it is just good enough to stop by for a couple photos of the first bend of the Yangtze river and move on....

Terrible toilets as well !

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffBHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“An amazing people-watching & admiring experience”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

So terribly disappointed by the frist bend in the Yangtze river we stumbled across Shigu Town on market day. Everyone was dressed in their national costume, not for tourists but because that's how they dress and going about their day-to-day business. We spent quite a while here (longer if we could) walking up and down the streets and interacting with the locals. One of the best experience we've had in China.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stone Drum (Shigu) Town also viewed

 

Been to Stone Drum (Shigu) Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing