We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all inclusive concept with old-fashioned rooms/Dobar koncept all inclusive sa staromodnim sobama”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bluesun Resort Bonaca
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Bol
Certificate of Excellence
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good all inclusive concept with old-fashioned rooms/Dobar koncept all inclusive sa staromodnim sobama”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

The hotel consists of 6 or 7, which are two-storey annexe and away from the main building. Unfortunately none of the staff was there to help us with luggage from reception to room but the narrow cobbled paths all had to wear my husband since I was 6 months pregnant. When we came in the room was not yet saved-cleaning lady has just begun to regulate things so we left the balcony and went to lunch. The rooms are not renovated, the furniture is quite old-fashioned and the beds are not
comfortable, the bathroom was spacious with a large bath and clean. Internet connection wi-fi in the rooms there only if you exit on the balcony and try to catch a weak signal, although it was noted that all of the rooms covered by wireless internet.
The service is all inclusive and consists of breakfast, lunch and dinner-buffet table, late breakfast, which was expanded continental and serves on the terrace, and an afternoon snack with coffee fruit and cookies. Beside the pool is a bar which is open from 10:00 am until midnight and where friendly waiters serve drinks local alcoholic and non-alcoholic. Food in the restaurant is varied, offer fruits and vegetables is quite good, tender cake would have to expand at least some of the chocolate desserts, main dishes and side dishes to serve on the principle cooking show-then see what is to prepare and serve all kinds of meat with those that emphasized what is etc. pork and composition of meals that are mixed. There are plenty of fish and seafood that are really high quality and fresh. The beach is about 100 meters from the pool, the sea is wonderfully clear, and from about 700 meters away is the famous beach Zlatni rat. On the pool deck chairs and parasols free, towels along with a deposit of 50 kuna available and can be changed daily. The hotel is located close to the promenade that connects the beach Zlatni rat with the center of Bol and is suitable for walking and sightseeing. Within the hotel offers a large number of tennis courts, as well as the possibility of a full day of free bike rental. This hotel was a large number of guests with children and families with small children and babies are numerous though it was mid July. Since the rooms are separate from the main building which houses the hotel restaurant is good, while the weather is nice, but when wind blows and the rain makes it especially Brac Bol known it is difficult especially with small children to come to the restaurant.
Hotel for great food and nature which surrounded recommended for those who like to move more, but do not expect designed rooms, or offer large Turkish resort.

Dobar koncept all inclusive sa staromodnim sobama
Hotel se sastoji od 6 ili 7 depadansa koji su dvospratni i udaljeni su od glavne zgrade. Nazalost niko od osoblja nije bio tu da nam pomogne sa prtljagom od recepcije do sobe vec je uskim kamenim stazicama sve morao da nosi moj muz jer sam ja bila u 6 mjesecu trudnoće. Kada smo dosli u sobi jos nije bila spremljena-čistaćica je tek pocela da je ureduje pa smo stvari ostavili na balkon i otisli na rucak. Sobe nisu renovirane, namjestaj je dosta staromodan i kreveti nisu
udobni, kupatilo je bilo prostrano sa velikom kadom i cisto. Internet konekcije wi-fi u sobama ne postoji jedino ako izadete na balkon i pokusate uhvatiti slab signal, mada je bilo naglašeno da su sve sobe pokrivene bezičnim internetom.
Usluga je all inclusive i sastoji se od dorucka rucka i vecere-švedski sto, kasnog dorucka koji je prosireni kontinentalni i sluzi se na terasi restorana, te popodnevnog sneka sa kafom vocem i kolačićima. Pored bazena je bar koji radi od 10.00 sati do ponoci i u kojem ljubazni konobari sluze pica lokalna alkoholna i bezalkoholna. Hrana u restoranu je raznovrsna, ponuda voca i povrca je dosta dobra, ponuda kolača bi trebala da se proširi bar nekim slasticama od cokolade, glavna jela i prilozi se sluze po principu show cooking-dakle vidite sta se kako priprema i sluze se sve vrste mesa s tim da je naglaseno sta je npr. svinjetina kao i sastav jela koja su mijesana. Ima dosta ribe i plodova mora koji su stvarno kvalitetni i svjezi. Plaza je udaljena otprilike 100 metara od bazena, more je predivno cisto, a od hotela oko 700 metara je poznata plaža Zlatni rat. Na bazenu su ležaljke i suncobrani besplatni, peškiri su uz depozit od 50 kuna dostupni i mogu se svakodnevno mijenjati. Hotel se nalazi blizu šetalista koje spaja plažu Zlatni rat sa centrom Bola i pogodan je za šetanje i razgledanje. U okviru hotelske ponude ima veliki broj teniskih terena, kao i mogucnost cjelodnevnog besplatnog najma bicikla. U ovom hotelu je bio veliki broj gostiju sa djecom i porodice sa malom djecom i bebama se mnogobrojne iako je bila sredina mjeseca jula. Pošto su sobe odvojene od glavne zgrade u kojoj je smješten restoran hotel je dobar dok je lijepo vrijeme ali kada zapuše bura i počne kiša po čemu je Brač a posebno Bol poznat tesko je posebno sa malom djecom doci do restorana.
Hotel zbog odlicne hrane i prirode kojom je okruzen preporucujem onima koji se vole vise kretati, ali nemojte ocekivati dizajnirane sobe, kao ni ponudu velikih turskih resorta.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AminaZubcevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Resort Bonaca, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Amina,
Thank you for an extensive review, especially for pointing out the positive highlights of your experience. We also appreciate that you wrote about the unsatisfactory room refurbishings. We admit that so far, a greater effort in hotel Bonaca has been placed on equipping it with „supportive facilities“ suitable for the „Family All Inclusive Holiday“ concept (water park, swimming pool, children playground, hobby club, mini club, outdoor stage, dining room/restaurant). Our other 2 hotels in Bol (hotel Elaphusa and Borak) are different in that they are conceptualized to provide a better accommodation comfort in rooms. Nonetheless, thank you for being direct.
As for the unpleasant experience of walking to your villa, we genuinely apologize. This and not having your room ready on time is something that has unfortunately (and probably) happened during the busy peak season. Regardless of that, we should have handled these situations better. This specific mishap will be of great help for the purposes of our yarly staff training.
We hope that you will consider giving us another chance and visit us again...

Kind regards,
Petar Krvaric,
Customer Relations Manager


Draga Amina,
Hvala Vam na sveobuhvatnom osvrtu pozitivnih i negativnih iskustava. Sobe u hotelu Bonaca, usprkos dobrom održavanju i čistoći, moramo priznati nisu na istoj razini komfora kao u naša druga 2 hotela u Bolu (Borak i Bonaca). U skorašnje vrijeme predviđamo renovaciju, no do sada smo u hotelu Bonaca najviše ulagali u prateću infrastrukturu poput uređenja dječjeg parka, dječjih bazena, mini cluba, hobby cluba, programa animacije i sličnih sadržaja prikladnih za odmor obitelji s djecom.
Neugodna situacija koju ste doživjeli prilikom prenošenja Vaših stvari u sobu, te činjenice kako Vas soba nije dočekala spremna su za nas neopravdane situacije radi kojih Vam se ispričavamo. Trudimo se i zajedno s našim timom ćemo kroz trening pokušati maksimalno moguće minimizirati mogućnost nastanka ovakvih propusta u srcu sezone.
Hvala Vam na razumijevanju i nadamo se kako ćete nas posjetiti ponovno i time pružiti novu priliku da opravdamo Vaše povjerenje.

Srdačan pozdrav,
Petar Krvarić
Voditelj službe odnosa sa gostima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    143
    50
    8
    8
See reviews for
176
106
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Bonaca hotel is the only hotel providing an all-in stay, hence why we opted for this hotel. Although we did not pay for anything, the all-in could have been more extensive.

The swimming-pool is the heart of the resort. Very little else: just a tennis-court and a fitness...
Then again: the beach is at a 200m walk, all-nude beach (FKK) less than 2km so all within walking distance.
As alway in these resorts: get up early to grasp some seats and umbrella's for the day. You need to get there before 08:00 to get a a good spot and make sure to guard it with your life until 10:00. After that, you are pretty sure noone will take your umbrella that protects you ftom the very nice sun.

Food is served in buffet-format. free seating for breakfast and lunch, book for dinner (served at 18:30 and 20:00). We found breakfast to be very noisy after 09:00, glad we did that just once.

Free wifi is available in the lobby. Althoug it was announced to be available in the rooms as well, we could not connect and signal-strength was very poor in the next-door rooms. Wifi at the side of the pool was poor to average; We were told the setup was experimental, but it was announced as operationel in the brochure...

All rooms have patio; we had ground-floor, so our patio had a view on the garden. Be sure to close the wooden shutters if you do not want to get caught by the gardener in the morning. The man has an early start and we did not realize how close he was to our window when we were at it

Typically: weather is nice there; we got lucky though becuase heavy storms hit the area for a few days just after we had left.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DidierF1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miro_karmelic, Manager at Bluesun Resort Bonaca, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear guest,

we apologize if you had any inconvenience at the pool, but we have a man at the pool that can provide you with a extra sunshade or chair if you need one. Wi – fi setup is experimental and the whole hotel isn't covered by the signal. We are sorry if you had inconvenience with the gardener, we will warn him, and that will not happen again. Thank you for the review and we hope that you will visit us again.


Best regards,
Miro Karmelić
Host Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I stayed here for 5 days with my husband & 15 month old baby who is not yet walking. This hotel doesn't have a lift so do not go if take a pram, wheelchair or for the elderly. I had to carry my baby up loads of stairs Everytime we had breakfast, lunch & dinner & even if we wanted to go to the pool. It wasnt a relaxing holiday because of no lift as I carried my baby while my husband carried the pushchair & bags. They don't even have a guy to help with our suitcases so used a guy to help from restaurant. I wish we stayed at the bluesun hotel next door as was much better. The only good thing to say is the food was good, free bike hire & the Maids cleaned our room everyday. We were the only English there too, not that did matter just think my husband would of got more help with the pushchair up all the stairs from an English man??? The rooms were not like in the broucher and needed up dating.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Discoqueensophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miro_karmelic, Manager at Bluesun Resort Bonaca, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear guests,

we are very glad to hear that you are satisfied with the choice of food , free bike hire and the cleaning of the room. We apologize if you had any inconvenience in the hotel because of the stairs. We would like to thank you for the comments and I can promise that we will take care of putting the negative elements that you have pointed out at the higher level. We would be glad if you visit us again!

Best regards,
Miro Karmelić
Host Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Very good location of the hotel. Animation team was very good. You will find different activities for every age, not only for kids- bicycle rent, pentaque, tennis etc. Buffet was varies every day. In a pool bar wasn´t big choice of drinks. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenap111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miro_karmelic, Manager at Bluesun Resort Bonaca, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
We are glad to hear that you found Bol and its surrounding very nice. It's nice to hear that you were satisfied with our animation team and the choice of food. We would like to thank you for the comments and and I can promise that we will make the choice of drinks on the pool bar bigger. We are looking forward to your coming back!

Miro Karmelić
Host Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

The hotel is ideally located just 10 min walk from Zlatni Beach, and its 20 min walk to the center along a nice boulevard. Both all inclusive and the pool area makes it ideal for familiy, if you are traveling just adults you should consider another hotel. The buffet, both morning, lunch and dinner has something to everbodys liking, and it varies every day (not the breakfast). The quality of the drinks are poor, though. The place needs some maintenence.

+
Very well located
Free classes in windsurfing and free rental of mountain bike
Nice, rich buffet
Friendly, helpful staff
Good AC
Entertainment all day and evening - good for kids

-
No fridgerator, and the bars with all inclusive closes around midnight. That mean you dont have acess to cold water during night.
The whole place needs to be freshened up. Its not bad, but you can see its old.
Poor quality of (all inclusive) drinks and wine
Entertainment all day and evening - bad for adults

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

On the whole this hotel was lovely and my friend and I had a lovely 10 day holiday here but there are a couple of little niggles which although they will not spoil your holiday do need to be thought about. Our room did not have a fridge or anywhere to keep drinking water cool which could be a problem for families with children. There were family rooms at the resort though and these may have had fridges so it is worth checking before going. The only other problem really was the place needed some maintenence. Both our balcony door and main front door were very sticky and we struggled a little and one of the plug sockets was very loose in the wall which was true of the other couples rooms that we had spoken to.
Now onto the good bits of which there were alot. The location of this hotel is fabulous. A 2 minute walk to the cliff edge for amazing views and a 5 minute walk either way along the (very flat, wide and well built) path way takes you to either the harbour on the left or to the right is Zlatni Rat beach. This beach is beautiful. The views are stunning and you can watch or join in with the huge range of water sports available. There is a lovely restaurant there too and even though we were all inclusive we found ourselves eating there twice. The harbour has cafes and restaurants which are good for people watching and soaking up the sun. On the way there there are a few ice cream parlours and another lovely restaurant that we also ate in twice altough I can't remember the name!!!!
The pool in the hotel is a nice size and there are plenty of sun loungers available. The entertainment team did a good job of keeping everyone entertained during the day and the evening. They must work some pretty long hours. The nightly entertainment from them did leave a little to be desired but it was more to do with there lack of props etc. They definately deserved a bigger budget because it certainly wasn't anything to do with their lack of talent! The entertainment did stop at 10.30pm though and then they played a CD untill 11pm. Do not go to this hotel if you are expecting good nightlife as after 11pm you were basically expected to go to bed because the rooms were so close to the bar they sent the security man around to move you on but because there was only 1 bar there was nothing else to do but go to bed!! There is a night club in the hotel (the Elaphusa) next door which is available to use but it is not all inclusive and when we went we were the only 4 people in there. Which was good for us as we got all the songs played we wanted! Also in this hotel there is ten pin bowling which was very cheap as they charge per half an hour not per game.
The food in the hotel was fabulous we definately did not go hungry! There was a huge variety and it was mostly cooked in front of you.
We booked with Thomas Cook and there is no Rep on the Island of Brac. I don't know if this is true for the other tour operators but I didn't see any other reps the whole time I was there. We were a little worried by this. We usually have a welcome meeting to tell us the do's and don'ts and contact details. Although in their absence the reception staff were brilliant. Anything we didn't know they were happy to help with. The hotel does have an independent company called Atlas which you can book trips through. We booked to go to Dubrovnik for the day and it was fantastic and I would definately recommend it! On the whole this hotel was great value for money!

Room Tip: Try not to get a room to close to the bar. ( It think this is block 1). Rooms higher up the hill at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volgograd, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

I stayed in Bonaca for 8 days in September 2011.
Strong points:
1) Fabulous beach Zlatni Rat with pine trees and very clean sea for the Mediterranean. The best part of the beach is occupied by nudists. Among them there are young and those not very young too, so be ready! Sometimes there are a lot of yachts and crowds of tourists arriving from Makarska on small cruise boats.
3) Hotel well located near the beach and a walking road with nice panoramic views on the sea and surrounding mountains 700m high. Rooms are big and comfortable but without refrigerators. The cleaning service is very good. In my room lived termites, but as I don’t care too much about insects, it was not a problem for me.
4) A surprise was to discover that every hotel guest can use mountain bikes for free all day long! That was fantastic! You can also try free windsurfing and diving lessons. I didn’t try diving as I am not a fan of it. I tried windsurfing. The biggest problem with the lesson was 50 minutes of rather useless theory and 10 minutes of practice. After the 10 minutes for free the prices get high – board rental 20-30 dollars per hour (!). Other available sports here: fitness, kayak, table tennis, badminton, kite surfing.
Weak points:
1) The biggest problem during my stay was the weather. It was a surprise for me that in September you can have such a hot and dry weather in Croatia. 30 degrees during the daytime and 20-22 at night and no rain at all. It was too much for me as I don’t like hot weather and everybody told that usually in Croatia there is a more mitigate climate. Besides, there were only two days with good wind for surfers.
2) Around the hotel you have more than 20 tennis courts and a tennis school (PCT Schule). The surface is a sort of a strange hard with powder. Moreover the prices are absurd, starting with some 200 dollars for a short course. The teachers appeared arrogant like if they were Kafelnikov and Agassi. So maybe it is better to come here with a partner and play tennis without taking lessons.
3) Food was nothing special – in the hotel you can eat and drink almost all day long (all inclusive). Breakfast is standard and not very rich. Lunch and dinner are better – you have to choose from many dishes. But the seafood is poor compared. If it is crucial to taste good Croatian seafood, cheese with truffles and so on – then it’s better to go in Istria. Fruits at Bonaca - kiwi, ananas, oranges, lemons, grape and apples. Drinks at the pool bar were standard. I appreciated vodka and gin. Beer was OK and red wine was very simple.
4) On the island of Brac there is little vegetation and somewhere you have almost desert landscapes of stone.
5) Shopping is definitely not a thing to do here – high prices and nothing to choose. The same is for food in bars, taverns and restaurants. The town of Bol is very little, so in the food markets you can have the same problem – few sorts of wine, cheese and other food.
6) Animation was weak and not OK. Just an example: an evening comedy show started with a girl from the animation team dressed as a monster – she started running and shouting loud in ears of the spectators. A child of around 6 years was very frightened and stood in silence for an hour. Personally I wouldn’t be very happy if I was his father.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bol
0.1 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
0.1 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Borak
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bol
Hotel Bol
#2 of 12 in Bol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Daniela
9.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriatica
Hotel Villa Adriatica
#2 of 8 in Supetar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluesun Resort Bonaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesun Resort Bonaca

Property: Bluesun Resort Bonaca
Address: Put Zlatnog Rata 48, Bol, Brac Island 21420, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Brac Island > Bol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bol
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bol
#4 Family Hotel in Bol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluesun Resort Bonaca 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in picturesque surroundings with fragrant Mediterranean herbs and a lovely pine forest only 160 yards from the pebble beach, Bluesun Hotel Bonaca offers state-of-the-art facilities and impeccable services. Only a 10 minute walk from the center of the town of Bol and the magnificent beach Zlatni Rat, the hotel is a perfect destination for sun and sea lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluesun Resort Bonaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesun Resort Bonaca Hotel Bol
Bluesun Resort Bonaca Bol, Croatia - Brac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing