We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Damned Good Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bluesun Hotel Borak
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Bol
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We travelled from Bristol with Balkan Holidays; the organisation was spot on, from the mid-morning take off, private taxi to the ferry and onward to the Bluesun hotel on the island of Borak.
Our room was clean, well presented and as good a view as we could have wished for; the air conditioning very quiet and kept the 32C temperatures in check. There was always a very good selection of food in the restaurant to suit all tastes and dietary requirements. The service was top notch with very willing to please staff.
The location extremely good, being centrally positioned between Zlatni Rat, the town and harbours; linked with a welcome paved path through the pine woods.
We found the shop and stall venders to very helpful, not to be pushy or forcing their wares.

Room Tip: C block 5th floor balcony gives a view over the pines to the sea, gets the morning sun and is cooler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1Sparkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

Our expectations were normal for a four star hotel. When we arrived we received a shock. Families have to stay to appartments and not in the hotel! Horrible. We booked for a hotel. The choice for a buffet style is you can sit and eat during the responsible time. In this case absolutely not. You have a time gap of 1.5 hours and have to leave the dining place.
The director Marianovic is blind as a fish and hotel guests have to tell him how many mushrooms are swimming around in his pool. Very unhygienic pool area and fitness room besides. Very very sad. Well the restaurant leader looks like a greasy clown. Oh my God
Cheers and not advisible for anyone. Very poor for such a beautiful country as Croatia

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The Hotel was very clean and tidy with the staff being very friendly. The buffet was as good as a buffet goes and if you fancied a full restaurant experience there were plenty to choose from in Bol. The village of Bol is also very nice with a good selection of bars and restaurants for all tastes and budgets. What I appreciated most was the complete lack of pestering from bars, restaurants, and street sellers which made for a relaxing holiday. It was a great place to go if you like water sports as there was Wind and Kite Surfing along with Diving schools.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

For the first time we visit the island Brac - Croatia. Friends recommenden Bol, and we do not regreat this :-) We stayed at Bluesun Hotel Borak with seaview. Green, clean, nice and short distance to the beach Zlatni Rat, and tennis courts from the hotel. Even the promenade from the hotel, and into centrum, was well made for walking, running and bikeing. Centrum of Bol is lovely with lots of restaurants to choose, with very good food. The best restaurant that we visit, was Vusio and Pimpernella.
Sailboats and yachtes side by side at the harbour at nighttime. And the harbour is really lovely for a walk and to spend your evenenings. We would like to stay again at Bluesun Hotel Borak next time we come to Bol :-) The Bluesun hotels also have a lot to offer for adults and kids. And if you will spoil yourself away, they also have spa/massasje. Enjoy you stay, if you also choose Bol and Bluesun Hotel Borak as we did :-)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anne67Bergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

The Borak is nice, clean, relaxed has a good pool, and the breakfasts were good! We got a poolside balcony which was excellent and worth the extra few quid.
It is a good 10 - 15 min walk to the centre of Bol, but its a nice walk along the sea. The pool area was ideal and there was plenty of beds available, although in high season that night be different!
We only had tea in the hotel once, but it was excellent, and reasonably priced, we just preferred to eat in the town!
The pool bar is quite expensive and bottled water is extortionate! However the good outways the bad!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Faultless holiday in an excellent hotel. Food was superb and better than all other self-service hotels I have stayed at. Comfortable, clean in an excellent location. Helpful and attentive staff. In short a gem.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fletch100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

First impressions where a little disapointing, thought hotel looked more like a 3 star rather then4 star. However our room was nice with a balcony overlooking the gardens which was full of lavender.

The 4 star part was really the food - excellect. The only critiscims was the fact they water down the fruit juices at breakfast which is a shame. However neither of us suffered with upset stomachs and enjoyed the food very much. Very good selection of salads and fresh fruit. Alot of meat and fish which is cooked in front of you. Pasta dishes, pizzas, fresh vegs - plenty of choice.

The only moan was the maid started cleaning/vacuming at between 7 and 8 in the mornings which did wake us up. Our first couple of mornings she actually barged into our room when we where still asleep. We hung the "Do not disturb" sign on the door and she soon got the message but it was annoying.

The hotel is well situated between the town and the Zaltani Rat beach. We didnt actually like this beach as it was so busy. We found that it was worth an extra 5 to 10 mins walk round to find the small coves. These are the Nudist beaches but they are the best. Although there are nude people there they are probably in the minority as most do have swim things on!!

We also took a Rent a boat out for the day and went to other coves which are completely empty - that was good fun.

Bol itself is a delightfull place - truely beautiful - lots of places to eat at. We hired a car for the day and drove to the other side of the island and found some wonderful places, infact we would like to have a week there as well.

Cant understand why there are'nt more English there - we will certainly return to croatia.

As a matter of interest to people, we booked this holiday through Balkan Holidays and I will say they where very efficient and would use them again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickypKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bol
0.1 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Daniela
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bol
Hotel Bol
#1 of 12 in Bol
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Pastura
Hotel Pastura
#1 of 2 in Postira
156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kastil
Hotel Kastil
#8 of 12 in Bol
142 reviews
12 mi away
Hotel Lemongarden
Hotel Lemongarden
#1 of 1 in Sutivan
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluesun Hotel Borak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesun Hotel Borak

Address: Put Zlatnog Rata 42, Bol, Brac Island 21420, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Brac Island > Bol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bol
Price Range: £57 - £879 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluesun Hotel Borak 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a lush pine forest, Bluesun Hotel Borak is only 50 metres from a pebbly beach. The promenade that connects the centre of Bol with the unique Zlatni Rat Beach passes right by the hotel and offers its guests quick access to both of these attractions. You can taste refreshing drinks and cocktails from the pool bar and soak up the sun on the terrace with free loungers and umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluesun Hotel Borak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesun Hotel Borak Hotel Bol
Riu Borak Hotel
Riu Borak Bol
Bluesun Hotel Borak Bol, Croatia - Brac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing