We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B, Great Staff”
Review of Villa Giardino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Giardino
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Bol
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B, Great Staff”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I was a little skeptical of any hotel that describes itself as having 'antiques' - however the Villa was very tastefully done with great sculptures and none of the cluttered / nic-nacs I was worried would fill every corner.

The hotel was clean, comfortable and had beautiful gardens that were well cared for. The staff members were very helpful. Also, the breakfast was delicious. Try their homemade fig jam!

5 minute walk from the center of town / ferry landing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarissaNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    15
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
113
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

What we liked:

- Helpfulness before arriving - Christine provided us with information on the best way to get to Bol and I always received quick replies to my emails.

- Location, short walk from the harbour up hill. Easy access to everything in Bol, supermarket 2 minutes away and we enjoyed the shaded 15 minute walk to Zlatni Rat beach.

- Impressive building and gardens, as you walk up the hill the Villa is facing you at the top and looks beautiful. You have to buzz the bell to access but once checked in you get a key to the front gate.

- Homemade lemonade, as many people have mentioned the lemonade was delicious and very welcome after the boat trip to get to Bol.

- Room wise the bed was comfy but I couldn't quite work out if the furnishings were either a little dated or meant to look old worldy, either way it was fine and well equipped.

- The warm goodbye we received from Christine on leaving

Why we haven't given it a 5...

Many have mentioned how great the breakfast was however due to wasps, we found it quite stressful. At one point on our first day we had 4 buzzing around the table and one was sat on my boiled egg. I can tolerate the odd one buzzing around but as there was a number so I jumped up out my chair. I get the impression that the member of staff who serves the breakfast was unhappy that I was hopping about, however she did go and get us a fly swatter to swat them away. We changed tables the following day but still experienced a couple of them buzzing around us which did impact on how much we enjoyed the breakfast.

The gardens are beautiful and after a morning at the beach we took the opportunity to relax in the comfortable garden loungers. There were many wasps buzzing about and I managed to get two very itchy bites on my back. I appreciate there is little the staff at the Villa can do about bugs and insects though.

We did enjoy our stay at Villa Giardino in beautiful Bol. It was the most expensive place we stopped out of 4 different places during our trip. I am not entirely convinced it was the best value place we staid at.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiley-Caz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We are here on the 2nd day and this is my favourite hotel on our trip in Croatia. From the moment we were greeted by Christine and her cats and served lemonade from home grown lemons we have liked it here. I am traveling with 2 teenagers and we got two adjacent rooms. The rooms are small and cosy with two separate beds and air conditioning. The hotel is 1 min away from the seaside but has a very relaxed atmosphere, a small garden on the back and breakfast is served outside on the other side. Would recommend to adult couples and people traveling with older children. If you are travelling with small children there are probably better options.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barkway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This was our third visit to this beautiful villa and it just seems to get better. We had a warm welcome from Christine and Aida and immediately felt at home.As other reviewers have said, it is spotlessly clean, the garden is beautiful and a welcome retreat during the hot afternoons, the breakfasts are superb. The location is good and close to good restaurants (Mendula is particularly enjoyable and reasonably priced) and it is a pleasant shady walk to Zlatni Rat beach.The boat excursions on" Frane",( moored in the harbour),to Hvar and Jelsa are very enjoyable We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngtyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Villa Giardino was everything that everyone previously has written about--carefully decorated, spotlessly clean, beautifully maintained in terms of the gardens. Everyone was exceedingly helpful and friendly. The patio where we ate breakfast was a dream with palm trees waving and colorful blossoms everywhere. Christine had some great restaurant recommendations--try Mendula, a lovely konoba within walking distance with a diverse plate of delicious seafood. It was a perfect experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ca2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Although there's no online booking, it's no bother to book by email so please do see if they have room for you! I don't usually like B&Bs but Villa Giardino won me over. It's a big house on the side of a hill with lovely gardens front and back. It's not really suitable for people with mobility problems as there are at least two flights of steps to the rooms. Bol isn't very suitable generally though as it's quite hilly. It's a short walk to the town centre (maybe 5-10 minutes) and there's a small supermarket on the way. There is parking available close to the villa, it's a little tight, but it's ok.

Our room was perfectly pleasant and we had a modern bathroom with a shower. It was cleaned each morning while we had breakfast. Breakfast on the terrace was very good. Each morning we were given bread, honey, jam, fruit and juice. Cereal, milk and coffee were available. We were offered hot items such as boiled eggs, omelettes, bacon and eggs. If you're scared of wasps, avoid ham, they seem to be attracted to it.

There's a phone in the room but not a safe (the villa does seem very secure though) or mini bar. Throughout the day you can get drinks from the bar in reception, they can be delivered to your room or the garden. We were able to borrow beach towels and there was somewhere to hang them and swimsuits up to dry. There was wi-fi throughout, even in the garden. The only minor inconvenience was that there was only soap provided, I bought some shower gel at the supermarket. Having to pay cash was a little difficult as we could not withdraw enough for 5 nights in one transaction so had to do it in stages. There are a number of cash machines, including one at the bottom of the hill, so it's not too difficult to achieve.

The outstanding thing about Villa Giardino was the service. It feels like a family set up and all involved genuinely want you to have a good time. It feels as though nothing is too much trouble, all you have to do is ask. They are all exceptionally nice, and work hard to deliver a great experience. This made It one of the best places I've ever stayed.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank mb9099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed four nights in this beautiful Villa in central Bol town, Brac island. The staff always make you feel welcome, rooms are extremely well cleaned and the staff serves good breakfast on the outside terrace in the garden.

Christine also offers advice on good resturants nearby which all was good choices.

The location is very good in central Bol, 15 min. walk to Zlatni Rat beach.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bol
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bol
Hotel Bol
#1 of 12 in Bol
201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kastil
Hotel Kastil
#8 of 12 in Bol
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Borak
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Daniela
10.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriatica
Hotel Villa Adriatica
#2 of 8 in Supetar
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Giardino

Property: Villa Giardino
Address: Novi Put 2, Bol, Brac Island 21420, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Brac Island > Bol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bol
#2 Family Hotel in Bol
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Villa Giardino Hotel Bol
Giardino Hotel Bol
Villa Giardino Bol, Croatia - Brac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing