We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pick of all Hotels on the Island of Brac”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bol
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Pick of all Hotels on the Island of Brac”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

What a wonderful experience my family and I shared at this little slice of paradise.
Originally we were booked at a sister hotel to the Elaphusa, due to the appeal of the 'Family' activities, however upon arrival we very promptly checked out and for the same price (just less inclusions) were lucky enough to upgrade to the Elaphusa.
The reception staff were more than helpful, and upon checkin we realised that all the staff were wonderful. The food is amazing, great variety. The Spa treatments are heavenly. Just the surroundings and polished service make this The Place to stay in Brac. The Kids loved it. The only downside was having a family of 4 sharing a king bed and sofa, but the luxury surroundings very quickly outweighed this. If you are trying to choose between any of the Bluesun hotels on Brac, THIS is our recommendation. We loved it, Thank You.

Room Tip: Request a room with ocean view as far from the lifts as possible. Then your view is unobstructed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Samantha,

Thank you very much for complimenting us. We are genuinely happy that you enjoyed your stay. We would be honored to have you again in Croatia.

Kind regards,

Petar Krvaric
Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    257
    62
    21
    14
See reviews for
196
314
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southsea
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We spent our holiday to Croatia in three different places: Split, Bol and Hvar. The plan was for Bol (and the Elephusa in particular) to be the relaxing treat in the middle between two more hectic places. We therefore justified the €180/night when we booked as treating ourselves. We arrived at midday-ish, and were pleasantly surprised that our room was ready early. Pleasantly surprised until we got to it, that is! Little did we know how dated it would be. It may be a 4* hotel, but this was decidedly a 2* room. The decor was terrible, the carpet filthy and the AC didn't work. We moaned a bit, and got the AC fixed (still ineffective though). We then tried to use the bathroom. The loo seat was loose and the shower head wouldn't stay in the holder or on the rail. I had to tie it up. It then splashed all over the bathroom as the shower screen was completely useless too. At this point I made far more fuss with reception as this truly was nowhere near a €180 / 4* experience. They admitted that B block is the last one not refurbished and implied it was often used for Saga coach guests. You can imagine that this didn't help! Eventually they moved us to D block.

Our new room was much more as we had expected. Modern, clean, laminate floors, a big balcony, great views (this bit might have been an upgrade!). So when you book, be careful to specify one of the refurbished blocks.

Otherwise things progressed smoothly. The breakfast buffet had everything you could ask for. The pool was lovely (maybe not as big as the pictures implied). The location on the seaside path halfway between town and Zlatni Rat is perfect. Drinks were a bit overpriced, but not extortionate. The cocktail bar (Bolero) had a decent range and good few drinks in the happy hour deal.

It is definitely a family hotel, and we knew that we'd be faced with the dreaded European "animation". It was as bad as we'd feared but only overran the pool area for about 90 mins twice a day, so we just learnt to leave the pool and go for a walk! The music was often left on very loud between the activities though, so don't sit near the speakers!

Sunbeds are under massive pressure, and although we hate the culture of reserving before breakfast, you had absolutely no choice at all if you wanted a bed for the day. It really is a case of "when in Rome ..." Whilst I was no fan of the teenagers and kids, the fact that many had to lie on towels on the floor is a bit harsh!

Bol town was small but lovely. More expensive than Split, but less expensive than Hvar. Had two lovely meals with decent wine.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunandsailandski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear sunandsalandski,

Thank you for your review. We deeply regret that you have been left with a sense of ambiguity as to whether you enjoyed your holiday.

Our hotel was rennovated few years ago, however all of our available rooms adhere to the strick categorization standards. We were happy to have had the availability and switched you to the room of a more recently refurbished block.

This is to a large degree a family hotel, yet the kind that is well liked by other groups of guests such as athletes, young couples and business travelers (depending on a time of the year) due to the vast number of facilities in the hotel.
Nonetheless, we still hope that you have found pleasure in your overall experience in Bol.

Kind regards,
Petar Krvaric
Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My grown up daughter and I, are having a very nice holiday right now.
Very fine buffet for both morning and evening. Pool area fine, I agree that the prices are to high at the pool bar.
The hotel have a large fitness roo, which we enjoy each day.
Very fine Bol location, close to beach, town etc.
Very impressed with the staff, generel facilities.
Would like to come back again.
BR Bodil

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BodilSkod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much. We are very appreciative that you enjoyed your stay and that you expressed to come back. Please do, we would be happy to welcome you again !

Kind regards from the sunny and warm Bol...

Petar Krvaric
Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norge
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We had 2 doublerooms and stayed 5 nights. The rooms are very small and not very good insulated. We could hear the neighbour was sleeping. There was some work seaside of the hotel. New pipeline there work was noisy. They have a bar at the pool but prices are very high. 19 Kuna for 2.5 dl cola for kids. So they sell almost nothing. The hotel is very clean. The breakfast is good but very noisy

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geirNorway22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear geirNorway22,

Thank you for providing us with the feedback. We regret that you have encountered the situations that have shaped your dissatisfying experience.
We ourselves were extremely unhappy about the pipeline noisy work, but were unable to help the situation at the time. This is definitely something we'll be addressing with our local authorities !

As for the prices at the pool bar, it is true that they reflect a higher pricing (typical of 4 star hotels), however we often provide series of Special Offers and discounts by 20% or 30%, which our guests find plausible.

Nonetheless, we highly value your input and hope you may consider giving us another chance.

Kind regards from Bol,

Petar Krvarić
Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is the first time that we have visited and we were very impressed with the staff and the facilities particulatly the reception staff who were very helpful and the quality and varariety of the food provided. Also for families entertainment staff were on hand to keep the children amused. If I have a gripe it would be that the room we were allocated for a couple was short of storage space but otherwise was well equiped althought the bathroom was a bit snug. The bar prices were also on the high side a small beer at the pool bar was 24Kn £3/$4 but I would certainly go again as the situation of the hotel less than a 100 m from the coast path and midway between the town of Bol and the famous Zlatni Rat beach was a plus.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view on the 3rd floor in block A
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Hello,

Thank you, we appreciate the time that you took to write the feedback in which you shared your positive experience.
We regret that you felt like not having enough space in your room, perhaps you had a standard room...? the storage space gets better in the superior room setting...

You are correct about the pool bar, sometimes the prices of drinks in hotels get on a bit pricier side..., however we often offer „happy time“ specials during which the drinks get discounted by 20 or even 30%.

We are happy that you generally enjoyed the hotel and the location. We would certainly love to welcome you again... Thank you for visiting Bol and Croatia !

Kind regards,

Petar Krvaric
Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Last year we enjoyed staying at the Bluesun Elaphusa Hotel so much that we decided to return this year. We were surprised and disappointed to find that the whole hotel has been taken over by some French tour company. There were activities and announcements around the pool area aimed at the French guests, where other customers were simply ignored. We felt like second class citizens! The peaceful Croatian atmosphere from the previous year has just disappeared, which is a great shame as the original hotel staff are extremely pleasant and very helpful.
Although it is a pity that you have to pay to use the spa area (other hotels offer free use for staying guests) and that outsiders can use the pool for a small fee (crowds up the pool area for staying guests).

Room Tip: Block D seaside view is the best, but the most expensive. Watch out for birds nests on the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. We regret that the experience of your stay in Elaphusa was not as pleasant this year.

While the hotel is contractually obliged to have the organized entertainment group programs (in this instance the french tour groups during the preseason), we sincerely want all of our guests to feel good and comfortable.

This is the first year that we are doing this kind of special entertainment (in previous years, our guests had criticized us for not having enough entertainment...).
We expect to learn as much as possible from this experience and take the practical knowledge into an account when organizing the future entertainment programs. We believe there are certain areas where we can improve and make the program more discrete (if possible) for our other guests that prefer a more calm atmosphere.

Nonetheless, we hope that you will consider visiting us again...

Kind regards from sunny Bol, Croatia
Petar Krvaric
Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had a 4th floor room in block D overlooking the pool.
The best block to be in .Easy access by lift to the dining room, spa and out to the pool. Fabulous large room with large balcony.

Excellent breakfast and dinner, So many choices, the best of our stay in Croatia.

Easy access to the beautiful promenade to Bol or the famous Zlatni Rat beach.

This is our third stay in a Blue sun hotel ,always good value .Very helpful staff - we wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Block D overlooking the pool and sae. Top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r00m_with_a_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your review. It is very exciting to know that you had stayed with us several times before and had felt great about our service. We promise not to let you down and ask that you please visit us again...

Kind regards,
Petar Krvaric,
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bol
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bol
Hotel Bol
#1 of 12 in Bol
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Borak
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Daniela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
9.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriatica
Hotel Villa Adriatica
#2 of 8 in Supetar
242 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel Lemongarden
Hotel Lemongarden
#1 of 1 in Sutivan
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa

Property: Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
Address: Put Zlatnog Rata 46, Bol, Brac Island 21420, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Brac Island > Bol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bol
#1 Family Hotel in Bol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bol
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting the largest spa and fitness center on the island of Brac, a tennis center with 26 clay courts and bowling alleys, the Elaphusa is an excellent choice for an active vacation. Located at the seafront promenade only 55 yards from the beautiful pebble beach, you can reach the center of Bol in a 10-minute walk. Moreover, the Elaphusa is situated close to the stunning Zlatni Rat beach. It has great indoor and outdoor pools and your kids can have fun in the paddling pool; there are also children's entertainment programs available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesun Hotel Bol
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa Bol, Croatia - Brac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing