We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of French holiday club invasion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Several positives about the hotel with the main one being the location. Halfway between Bol town and Zlatni Rat beach, it is perfectly placed and on the main walking promenade between town and the famous beach. The outdoor pool is big and with good facilities, the beach bar is fine for a light lunch and the hotel is spacious and clean. The staff were very helpful - the maid provided extra pillows within 5 minutes of our request.
The biggest issue is the seemingly recent invasion by Framissima - some kind of French holiday club catering for the 25 to 40 age bracket who are incapable of entertaining themselves for more than 15 minutes. The little army of holiday reps spend the whole day at the pool trying to drum up volunteers to play games to the backdrop of constant heavy bass 1990s Euro disco trash. The pool is only tranquil before 10am and after 5pm each day.
Nice hotel bars to relax at in the evening - there is a really cool cocktail bar "Bolero", right outside and perfect for watching the world go by while lounging on big sofas.
Rooms are adequate for what you pay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PieEater7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear PieEater 7,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed the location, and thank you for crediting the quality our facilities.
We appreciate that you directly communicated aspects of the animation entertainment program that you found bothersome. While we adhere to our contractual agreements in which we are required to implement particular animation program, we are definitely interested and care to learn of the extent to which this program may be bothersome to other guests. Hopefully your comfort level wasn't compromised too much ?

With hopes that you'll consider visiting us in Bol again...

Kind regards,

Petar Krvarić
Customer Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
There are newer reviews for Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

We made reservations on line ( Booking.com) for July this year. The pictures of the room which are on web page and Hotel web page are complete different then in Hotel.
So we got the Room in B wing, and was totally different from what we have made reservations for.
Old carpet, dirty with stains and holes. Bed is old and not so comfy , linens are clean ..
Bathroom , stains in corners ......I was so dissatisfied and disappointed , I expected that 4 Star Hotel for 157 Euro pro Night would have nice clean rooms. And definitely look like what was advertise on web page!
Food was good, we had breakfast and dinner.
Position of Hotel Elephalusa is great, and Bol is really beautiful place to stay.
Just a little tip for the Manager of this Hotel. Staff on your Reception 2 workers ware so pleasant but on checking out from Hotel, receptionst didn't ask us how was your stay in Hotel ? She didn't even thank us on end , nothing , no thanks , no nothing........
Both my hubby and I was a little disappointed , we both work on daily basis with people and you should have a good customer service there in order your customers to come back!
For the money we paid for this Hotel you don't get the best rooms ans service!!!
After Bol , we went to Radisson Blue Dubrovnik, and just for 50 Euro more, we had a great hotel, super Customer service and excellent stay in Hotel!
So, on end we did survive 5 Days in Elephalysa Hotel, but We are not coming back.......

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thalia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Thalia,

Thank you for your review. We regret that you had a dissatisfying experience of stay with us.
As for the staff service, what you have witnessed is certainly not acceptable on our part.
Please accept our apologies as we were clearly not up to our standards on that occasion. Thank you for pointing this out.
The issue concerning the interior of the hotel is complex as certain wings vary in decor. However, all rooms in the entire hotel adhere to the strict categorization standards. The advertized photos are truthful representations of hotel rooms, and perhaps you have seen the decor of a different wing.

Nonetheless, me and my colleagues hope that you still had positive experience in Bol.

Kind regards,

Petar Krvarić
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Where do I start? Very disappointing first impression of Hotel Elephalusa. We arrived early this evening and were told our room was one of the best views with a top floor location but the view of the sea is completely obscured by the tall pine trees. The junior suite is very small, decor very outdated, squeaky bed, extremely flat pillows, a shower/bath which leaks water all over the bathroom floor (rubber water seal dangling off shower door), noise from disco pounding through the walls.

This is more of a two star hotel and considering we have paid more at this hotel than the beautiful and spacious Raddison Blu in Dubrovnik, it leaves a very bad taste is my mouth. Waste of money!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPH1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear CPH1313,

Thank you for your review. We sincerely regret that you had an unpleasant experience. Although the issues concerning the infrastructure (decor) is something we have little control over, your review will certainly help us make a case towards our investment department. So thank you for that.
Nonetheless, please note that all of our rooms undergo a series of tough categorization standards.

Since we understood the extent of your disappointment, we had offered you a set of compensatory services. Those were valuable, and were provided for you free of charge.
We regret that you have not chosen to take the advantage of those, since we couldn't change your room (due to the full booking situation).

Nonetheless, we highly regret about how things played out, and hope that you still had a nice stay in Bol.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,

Petar Krvaric
Customer Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

What a wonderful experience my family and I shared at this little slice of paradise.
Originally we were booked at a sister hotel to the Elaphusa, due to the appeal of the 'Family' activities, however upon arrival we very promptly checked out and for the same price (just less inclusions) were lucky enough to upgrade to the Elaphusa.
The reception staff were more than helpful, and upon checkin we realised that all the staff were wonderful. The food is amazing, great variety. The Spa treatments are heavenly. Just the surroundings and polished service make this The Place to stay in Brac. The Kids loved it. The only downside was having a family of 4 sharing a king bed and sofa, but the luxury surroundings very quickly outweighed this. If you are trying to choose between any of the Bluesun hotels on Brac, THIS is our recommendation. We loved it, Thank You.

Room Tip: Request a room with ocean view as far from the lifts as possible. Then your view is unobstructed.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Samantha,

Thank you very much for complimenting us. We are genuinely happy that you enjoyed your stay. We would be honored to have you again in Croatia.

Kind regards,

Petar Krvaric
Customer Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We spent our holiday to Croatia in three different places: Split, Bol and Hvar. The plan was for Bol (and the Elephusa in particular) to be the relaxing treat in the middle between two more hectic places. We therefore justified the €180/night when we booked as treating ourselves. We arrived at midday-ish, and were pleasantly surprised that our room was ready early. Pleasantly surprised until we got to it, that is! Little did we know how dated it would be. It may be a 4* hotel, but this was decidedly a 2* room. The decor was terrible, the carpet filthy and the AC didn't work. We moaned a bit, and got the AC fixed (still ineffective though). We then tried to use the bathroom. The loo seat was loose and the shower head wouldn't stay in the holder or on the rail. I had to tie it up. It then splashed all over the bathroom as the shower screen was completely useless too. At this point I made far more fuss with reception as this truly was nowhere near a €180 / 4* experience. They admitted that B block is the last one not refurbished and implied it was often used for Saga coach guests. You can imagine that this didn't help! Eventually they moved us to D block.

Our new room was much more as we had expected. Modern, clean, laminate floors, a big balcony, great views (this bit might have been an upgrade!). So when you book, be careful to specify one of the refurbished blocks.

Otherwise things progressed smoothly. The breakfast buffet had everything you could ask for. The pool was lovely (maybe not as big as the pictures implied). The location on the seaside path halfway between town and Zlatni Rat is perfect. Drinks were a bit overpriced, but not extortionate. The cocktail bar (Bolero) had a decent range and good few drinks in the happy hour deal.

It is definitely a family hotel, and we knew that we'd be faced with the dreaded European "animation". It was as bad as we'd feared but only overran the pool area for about 90 mins twice a day, so we just learnt to leave the pool and go for a walk! The music was often left on very loud between the activities though, so don't sit near the speakers!

Sunbeds are under massive pressure, and although we hate the culture of reserving before breakfast, you had absolutely no choice at all if you wanted a bed for the day. It really is a case of "when in Rome ..." Whilst I was no fan of the teenagers and kids, the fact that many had to lie on towels on the floor is a bit harsh!

Bol town was small but lovely. More expensive than Split, but less expensive than Hvar. Had two lovely meals with decent wine.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunandsailandski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear sunandsalandski,

Thank you for your review. We deeply regret that you have been left with a sense of ambiguity as to whether you enjoyed your holiday.

Our hotel was rennovated few years ago, however all of our available rooms adhere to the strick categorization standards. We were happy to have had the availability and switched you to the room of a more recently refurbished block.

This is to a large degree a family hotel, yet the kind that is well liked by other groups of guests such as athletes, young couples and business travelers (depending on a time of the year) due to the vast number of facilities in the hotel.
Nonetheless, we still hope that you have found pleasure in your overall experience in Bol.

Kind regards,
Petar Krvaric
Customer Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My grown up daughter and I, are having a very nice holiday right now.
Very fine buffet for both morning and evening. Pool area fine, I agree that the prices are to high at the pool bar.
The hotel have a large fitness roo, which we enjoy each day.
Very fine Bol location, close to beach, town etc.
Very impressed with the staff, generel facilities.
Would like to come back again.
BR Bodil

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BodilSkod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much. We are very appreciative that you enjoyed your stay and that you expressed to come back. Please do, we would be happy to welcome you again !

Kind regards from the sunny and warm Bol...

Petar Krvaric
Customer Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We had 2 doublerooms and stayed 5 nights. The rooms are very small and not very good insulated. We could hear the neighbour was sleeping. There was some work seaside of the hotel. New pipeline there work was noisy. They have a bar at the pool but prices are very high. 19 Kuna for 2.5 dl cola for kids. So they sell almost nothing. The hotel is very clean. The breakfast is good but very noisy

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geirNorway22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear geirNorway22,

Thank you for providing us with the feedback. We regret that you have encountered the situations that have shaped your dissatisfying experience.
We ourselves were extremely unhappy about the pipeline noisy work, but were unable to help the situation at the time. This is definitely something we'll be addressing with our local authorities !

As for the prices at the pool bar, it is true that they reflect a higher pricing (typical of 4 star hotels), however we often provide series of Special Offers and discounts by 20% or 30%, which our guests find plausible.

Nonetheless, we highly value your input and hope you may consider giving us another chance.

Kind regards from Bol,

Petar Krvarić
Customer Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bol
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bol
Hotel Bol
#1 of 12 in Bol
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Borak
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Daniela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
11.9 mi away
Hotel Lemongarden
Hotel Lemongarden
#1 of 1 in Sutivan
70 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriatica
Hotel Villa Adriatica
#1 of 8 in Supetar
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa

Address: Put Zlatnog Rata 46, Bol, Brac Island 21420, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Brac Island > Bol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bol
#1 Family Hotel in Bol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bol
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bol
Price Range: £61 - £830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting the largest spa and fitness center on the island of Brac, a tennis center with 26 clay courts and bowling alleys, the Elaphusa is an excellent choice for an active vacation. Located at the seafront promenade only 55 yards from the beautiful pebble beach, you can reach the center of Bol in a 10-minute walk. Moreover, the Elaphusa is situated close to the stunning Zlatni Rat beach. It has great indoor and outdoor pools and your kids can have fun in the paddling pool; there are also children's entertainment programs available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesun Hotel Bol
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa Bol, Croatia - Brac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing