We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just great, 4 star expectations met!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bol
Certificate of Excellence
Valatta, Malta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just great, 4 star expectations met!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Great: hotel room C217, Sunday morning Tennis with pro as a result played with 4 other guests in the following week (6 times in total on the court), Monday Scuba diving taster, Tuesday morning Windsurf taster. Cappaccino's, Rada short haired lady on front desk at breakfast/dinner, Nico on reception excellent, Saskia/Sophia blonde/brown hair on night shift (Friday night on reception) for helping is book a TUI transfer, and showing me the rooms, Wellness Centre and couples massage :-)

Not great: blonde hair Hitler waitress looking after the tables by the windows, she insisted that water in a glass (tap) was only allowed for people with medical requirements. She was the only one who enforced this at breakfast and dinner.

The rest was excellent!

Improvements: put 3 massage water blaster jets in the indoor pool. (Hisperia hotel, Puerto Calero has them. Brilliant!)

As for the rest:

If your old school then you will enjoy B WING different (country home) character to the rest of the other rooms and I can see why people get their knickers in a twist about them but some people like carpets. I checked rooms on my last day and took some photos
too (post later) and they are similar but just different to the rest.

D block offers superior views and if you have the cash then buy the room. No 42" TVs in these or any rooms.
C block or A Block offers similar rooms to D just smaller literally so for me as I only spent a few day light hours in the rooms I have no interest in the rooms in D block. Too much windsurfing and tennis.

Having said the above, before we arrived i read 'TA reviews' and on arrival found (after a call ahead) we had been partly upgraded as we heard about B block after booking, called up to see if we could get into C/A. Having found B block to offer all the jazz of any other room im surprised about the negativity towards them the decor appears tacky tho in the whole block, honestly it must have been in honour to broadway or 5star royalty but they got it very wrong. If you want a red carpet book B wing.

I would recommend them for a off season stay but mid summer B block with carpets is just different and something I wouldn't choose mid summer.

Breakfast = excellent choice similar to a Radisson Blu (Stansted)
Lunch = a mix of 'suspected' night before dinner and salads with cheeses etc
Dinner = excellent selection for a 4 star we had lots of ice cream too. Lots of choice for children The Italian corner I thought was the kids corner is full of pasta, pizza and Garlic bread :-)

As in any hotel expect to pay a premium for F&B 40 kina for a small glass of wine and 18 kuna (20 with tip) for Cappaccino (the provided coffee machine gives horrible coffee and is like the cheap stuff bought at Lidl). I'm sat drinking a coffee in Preko, Uglian now with a 7Kuna (same quality£ Cappaccino minus the mini chocolate the hotel offered.

Anyway having done this on an iPhone I hope it reads alright.

Bottom line: off you want to stay in a hotel in Bol look no further.



  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SYScottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear SYScottie,

Thank you very much for an extensive description of your experience.
We highly value your writing effort. Your suggestions are not only helpful in a nature in that they provide useful information, but are inviting to other travelers to whom you provided a respectable and constructive commentary that credits the hotel for what it is: both in good and in-not-so-good areas. Special thanks for sharing your view on the decor issue.

As for the beverage situation in our restaurant, I'd like to use this opportunity to excuse our team member for she has followed the standard F&B policy in which all the drinks are served with the supplement charge. It may not be the most customer friendly policy, but it is a policy in place and as such is common in many 4-star hotels. Still, thank you for letting us now how you felt about it.

Again, many thanks for your positive recommendation.
We hope to see you in Bol again at some point soon !

Kind regards,

Petar Krvarić
Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    235
    57
    19
    11
See reviews for
178
282
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Several positives about the hotel with the main one being the location. Halfway between Bol town and Zlatni Rat beach, it is perfectly placed and on the main walking promenade between town and the famous beach. The outdoor pool is big and with good facilities, the beach bar is fine for a light lunch and the hotel is spacious and clean. The staff were very helpful - the maid provided extra pillows within 5 minutes of our request.
The biggest issue is the seemingly recent invasion by Framissima - some kind of French holiday club catering for the 25 to 40 age bracket who are incapable of entertaining themselves for more than 15 minutes. The little army of holiday reps spend the whole day at the pool trying to drum up volunteers to play games to the backdrop of constant heavy bass 1990s Euro disco trash. The pool is only tranquil before 10am and after 5pm each day.
Nice hotel bars to relax at in the evening - there is a really cool cocktail bar "Bolero", right outside and perfect for watching the world go by while lounging on big sofas.
Rooms are adequate for what you pay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PieEater7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear PieEater 7,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed the location, and thank you for crediting the quality our facilities.
We appreciate that you directly communicated aspects of the animation entertainment program that you found bothersome. While we adhere to our contractual agreements in which we are required to implement particular animation program, we are definitely interested and care to learn of the extent to which this program may be bothersome to other guests. Hopefully your comfort level wasn't compromised too much ?

With hopes that you'll consider visiting us in Bol again...

Kind regards,

Petar Krvarić
Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We made reservations on line ( Booking.com) for July this year. The pictures of the room which are on web page and Hotel web page are complete different then in Hotel.
So we got the Room in B wing, and was totally different from what we have made reservations for.
Old carpet, dirty with stains and holes. Bed is old and not so comfy , linens are clean ..
Bathroom , stains in corners ......I was so dissatisfied and disappointed , I expected that 4 Star Hotel for 157 Euro pro Night would have nice clean rooms. And definitely look like what was advertise on web page!
Food was good, we had breakfast and dinner.
Position of Hotel Elephalusa is great, and Bol is really beautiful place to stay.
Just a little tip for the Manager of this Hotel. Staff on your Reception 2 workers ware so pleasant but on checking out from Hotel, receptionst didn't ask us how was your stay in Hotel ? She didn't even thank us on end , nothing , no thanks , no nothing........
Both my hubby and I was a little disappointed , we both work on daily basis with people and you should have a good customer service there in order your customers to come back!
For the money we paid for this Hotel you don't get the best rooms ans service!!!
After Bol , we went to Radisson Blue Dubrovnik, and just for 50 Euro more, we had a great hotel, super Customer service and excellent stay in Hotel!
So, on end we did survive 5 Days in Elephalysa Hotel, but We are not coming back.......

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thalia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Thalia,

Thank you for your review. We regret that you had a dissatisfying experience of stay with us.
As for the staff service, what you have witnessed is certainly not acceptable on our part.
Please accept our apologies as we were clearly not up to our standards on that occasion. Thank you for pointing this out.
The issue concerning the interior of the hotel is complex as certain wings vary in decor. However, all rooms in the entire hotel adhere to the strict categorization standards. The advertized photos are truthful representations of hotel rooms, and perhaps you have seen the decor of a different wing.

Nonetheless, me and my colleagues hope that you still had positive experience in Bol.

Kind regards,

Petar Krvarić
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Where do I start? Very disappointing first impression of Hotel Elephalusa. We arrived early this evening and were told our room was one of the best views with a top floor location but the view of the sea is completely obscured by the tall pine trees. The junior suite is very small, decor very outdated, squeaky bed, extremely flat pillows, a shower/bath which leaks water all over the bathroom floor (rubber water seal dangling off shower door), noise from disco pounding through the walls.

This is more of a two star hotel and considering we have paid more at this hotel than the beautiful and spacious Raddison Blu in Dubrovnik, it leaves a very bad taste is my mouth. Waste of money!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPH1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear CPH1313,

Thank you for your review. We sincerely regret that you had an unpleasant experience. Although the issues concerning the infrastructure (decor) is something we have little control over, your review will certainly help us make a case towards our investment department. So thank you for that.
Nonetheless, please note that all of our rooms undergo a series of tough categorization standards.

Since we understood the extent of your disappointment, we had offered you a set of compensatory services. Those were valuable, and were provided for you free of charge.
We regret that you have not chosen to take the advantage of those, since we couldn't change your room (due to the full booking situation).

Nonetheless, we highly regret about how things played out, and hope that you still had a nice stay in Bol.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,

Petar Krvaric
Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

What a wonderful experience my family and I shared at this little slice of paradise.
Originally we were booked at a sister hotel to the Elaphusa, due to the appeal of the 'Family' activities, however upon arrival we very promptly checked out and for the same price (just less inclusions) were lucky enough to upgrade to the Elaphusa.
The reception staff were more than helpful, and upon checkin we realised that all the staff were wonderful. The food is amazing, great variety. The Spa treatments are heavenly. Just the surroundings and polished service make this The Place to stay in Brac. The Kids loved it. The only downside was having a family of 4 sharing a king bed and sofa, but the luxury surroundings very quickly outweighed this. If you are trying to choose between any of the Bluesun hotels on Brac, THIS is our recommendation. We loved it, Thank You.

Room Tip: Request a room with ocean view as far from the lifts as possible. Then your view is unobstructed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Samantha,

Thank you very much for complimenting us. We are genuinely happy that you enjoyed your stay. We would be honored to have you again in Croatia.

Kind regards,

Petar Krvaric
Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We spent our holiday to Croatia in three different places: Split, Bol and Hvar. The plan was for Bol (and the Elephusa in particular) to be the relaxing treat in the middle between two more hectic places. We therefore justified the €180/night when we booked as treating ourselves. We arrived at midday-ish, and were pleasantly surprised that our room was ready early. Pleasantly surprised until we got to it, that is! Little did we know how dated it would be. It may be a 4* hotel, but this was decidedly a 2* room. The decor was terrible, the carpet filthy and the AC didn't work. We moaned a bit, and got the AC fixed (still ineffective though). We then tried to use the bathroom. The loo seat was loose and the shower head wouldn't stay in the holder or on the rail. I had to tie it up. It then splashed all over the bathroom as the shower screen was completely useless too. At this point I made far more fuss with reception as this truly was nowhere near a €180 / 4* experience. They admitted that B block is the last one not refurbished and implied it was often used for Saga coach guests. You can imagine that this didn't help! Eventually they moved us to D block.

Our new room was much more as we had expected. Modern, clean, laminate floors, a big balcony, great views (this bit might have been an upgrade!). So when you book, be careful to specify one of the refurbished blocks.

Otherwise things progressed smoothly. The breakfast buffet had everything you could ask for. The pool was lovely (maybe not as big as the pictures implied). The location on the seaside path halfway between town and Zlatni Rat is perfect. Drinks were a bit overpriced, but not extortionate. The cocktail bar (Bolero) had a decent range and good few drinks in the happy hour deal.

It is definitely a family hotel, and we knew that we'd be faced with the dreaded European "animation". It was as bad as we'd feared but only overran the pool area for about 90 mins twice a day, so we just learnt to leave the pool and go for a walk! The music was often left on very loud between the activities though, so don't sit near the speakers!

Sunbeds are under massive pressure, and although we hate the culture of reserving before breakfast, you had absolutely no choice at all if you wanted a bed for the day. It really is a case of "when in Rome ..." Whilst I was no fan of the teenagers and kids, the fact that many had to lie on towels on the floor is a bit harsh!

Bol town was small but lovely. More expensive than Split, but less expensive than Hvar. Had two lovely meals with decent wine.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunandsailandski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear sunandsalandski,

Thank you for your review. We deeply regret that you have been left with a sense of ambiguity as to whether you enjoyed your holiday.

Our hotel was rennovated few years ago, however all of our available rooms adhere to the strick categorization standards. We were happy to have had the availability and switched you to the room of a more recently refurbished block.

This is to a large degree a family hotel, yet the kind that is well liked by other groups of guests such as athletes, young couples and business travelers (depending on a time of the year) due to the vast number of facilities in the hotel.
Nonetheless, we still hope that you have found pleasure in your overall experience in Bol.

Kind regards,
Petar Krvaric
Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

My grown up daughter and I, are having a very nice holiday right now.
Very fine buffet for both morning and evening. Pool area fine, I agree that the prices are to high at the pool bar.
The hotel have a large fitness roo, which we enjoy each day.
Very fine Bol location, close to beach, town etc.
Very impressed with the staff, generel facilities.
Would like to come back again.
BR Bodil

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BodilSkod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much. We are very appreciative that you enjoyed your stay and that you expressed to come back. Please do, we would be happy to welcome you again !

Kind regards from the sunny and warm Bol...

Petar Krvaric
Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bol
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bol
Hotel Bol
#2 of 12 in Bol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Borak
12.1 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriatica
Hotel Villa Adriatica
#2 of 8 in Supetar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Daniela
10.0 mi away
Waterman Svpetrvs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa

Property: Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
Address: Put Zlatnog Rata 46, Bol, Brac Island 21420, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Brac Island > Bol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bol
#1 Spa Hotel in Bol
#1 Family Hotel in Bol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting the largest spa and fitness center on the island of Brac, a tennis center with 26 clay courts and bowling alleys, the Elaphusa is an excellent choice for an active vacation. Located at the seafront promenade only 55 yards from the beautiful pebble beach, you can reach the center of Bol in a 10-minute walk. Moreover, the Elaphusa is situated close to the stunning Zlatni Rat beach. It has great indoor and outdoor pools and your kids can have fun in the paddling pool; there are also children's entertainment programs available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesun Hotel Bol
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa Bol, Croatia - Brac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing