We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, has worth to come!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bol
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good hotel, has worth to come!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

A real 4* hotel hotel! Good value, absolute good service for the price! Best beaches in Brac, however for not rocky beach, you need to cross the island (a hidden lovely bay you can find with really sandy beach).
Only claim on hotel is the bed, which is not a real double bed, but two simple beds moved together

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gollam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Gollam76,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your input, but would like to use this opportunity to mention that our hotel has both Queen size and twin types of beds (put together), depending on the type of double room you have booked (standard, superior, or premium room type).

We regret if the information on this particular discrepancy has not been presented to you while you were making your booking.
Our Reservations Center (direct booking) makes sure to follow our guests through all the booking steps. If you have made a booking with us directly, please accept our apologies.

Kind regards,

Petar Krvaric
Guest Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    235
    57
    19
    11
See reviews for
178
282
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here for a week and I loved almost every minute!

As we walked into reception on our first day, I was impressed straight away. Although, whilst hiking our enormous rucksacs around, we received a slightly strange look from the gentleman at the desk, (perhaps not quite what most guests bring to a 4*hotel), he was very friendly and the rest of the staff continued to be too.

Our room was fairly small, but everything that we needed. It was modern, clean and had a balcony with a lovely view. Having read reviews about B block, and seen pictures from other guests, I do think that I would've been disappointed with the standard of these older rooms, especcially for the price. But I can't complain - what we had was lovely.

We were staying half board during our stay and we were very pleased with the standard of the food for both breakfast and dinner. I am incredibly fussy, so to have a variety of choices and a great salad and fruit bar, was wonderful! I would be slightly worried about my waistline if I had stayed any longer though - the icecream was just too good!

I was impressed with the manner of the staff and almost every waiter/waitress was friendly and helpful.

The facilities at the hotel were very good and I enjoyed the pool. However, it was a little crowded at times, which I guess is to be expected during the summer holidays. I would echo the thoughts of another review about the holiday reps. Although a little bit of fun and games is great, it was a bit OTT and often in French so I didn't understand it! In contrast to a previous review though, and falling into the 25-40 age catergory described, I would not say it was aimed at that age range, and we are able to entertain ourselves! :-)

The wellness centre was lovely and we had a great experience, which was even better than expected as we were the only ones in there for most of the morning!

Finally, the location of the hotel was perfect as it was so close to the nearest beach, only a short walk away from Zlatni Rat, and just a 5-10minute stroll into Bol.


Thank you! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NO1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear NO1985,

Thank you for kindly sharing your experience of stay with us. While we are happy that you seemed to have enjoyed your vacation, we are appreciative that you have constructively communicated your outlook on a discrepancy between our entertainment and your expectation of how the entertainment should not be like... so thank you for that.

In case you consider coming back to Bol, we recommend that you consider trying some of the adventurous trips that we organize from hotel Elaphusa, such as „Fishing experience“, Desert Blaca on the Brač island, Hvar island trips etc.

Thank you for visiting us.

Kind regards,

Petar Krvaric
Guest Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goranci
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was our second time in this hotel. We stayed in this hotel in August 2013 with H/B 7-day arrangement.
THE HOTEL LOCATION: The hotel is really located in the perfect position, 800 m from the breathtaking Zlatni rat (Golden Horn) beach, next to a nice Tamaris tree seaside walk trail.
This is a quite large hotel divided in several blocks.

THE ROOM:We were accommodated in the B block room.The first time we stayed in the D block room which was, to be honest, much more specious and better than this one. The B block room is much smaller and there were a few stains in the carpet but everything else was not so bad as someone mentioned in his review. We had a problem in the bathroom because the bath tub paravan was slightly leaking. The furniture in the room was new, the bad was really big and comfortable which is very important if you want to have a good night sleep.

THE RESTAURANT: The food was excellent, more than excellent. Lots of different meals, lots of choices (fish, meat vegetables, pasta, fruit, cakes, ice-cream LEDO ICE CREAMS are one of the best in the world, lots of indigenous food, etc.) . Since we come from Bosnia and Herzegovina we did not expect any less, because even though Croatia is now the European Union member it still belongs to the Balkan mentality and the best food is cooked and prepared in Balkan along with great and warm hospitality which was the case in this hotel as well. The only complaint I have is is the fact that drinks are not included in the price. I can understand that perhaps some expensive wines should be charged, but mineral water and soft drinks AT THIS PRICE should be in included in dinner. This is also very child-friendly restaurant because it has many baby feeding chairs and Elaphusa accommodate lots of young families with small children.

THE WELLNESS:Just perfect ambient with many treatments. I tried massage which was really great.

THE POOL: Really nice, enough showers, deck chairs, nice bar, many activities generally nice atmosphere , although we did not use it very much because we prefer enjoying the beautiful clean Adriatic sea water rather that any pool water stuffed with chlorine.

THE STAFF:Very pleasant, always greeting,smiling, especially those young and chierfull waiters and waitresses in the restaurant.

THE BACH:Just breathtaking clear water,enough space in the sun and enough space in the shade, many water activities, a few bars restaurants, cocktail bar, great fruit-land spot with delicious smoothies , a fast food restaurant which we do not use, but there are quite nice restaurants nearby.


ALL IN ALL:This is a great hotel to stay at, compared to many 4-stars hotels we were in, especially we had a horrible experience in the Mallorca 4 star hotel , bugs running all around the room, wall papers pealing from the walls, food was a disaster, horrible smell from the pool and so on. You will not be sorry to stay in this hotel and to visit the beautiful Croatian islands. :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Anna,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We appreciate the extent to which you have described everything in great detail.
We are happy that you had found most of the hotel amenities pleasing, as well as our personnel members.

As for the drinks not included in the dinner, this is a typical of 4-star hotel standard, implemented as a result of the ever-lasting balance between providing good overall service to our guests while minimizing the material costs in the areas where that is possible/acceptable.

However, thank you for letting us know how you feel about this standard. We constantly listen and evaluate our guests' input...

We would be more than happy to have you back at some point soon ...

Kind regards,

Petar Krvaric
Guest Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here this past July for a week. First impressions of the hotel were outstanding. While it was rated 4* - we were prepared that it would be a 3* compared to North American standards. Upon arrival at the resort, to our surprise, our room was ready and it was 11:30am. It was a pleasant surprise, as we were travelling with 3 small children. Our room was clean & modern, the view was not a sea view (because of tall pine trees) however it was a pool view which we enjoyed very much. We typically used the pool in the late afternoon after returning from the beach. The breakfast was our favorite meal of the day. So much selection, even for my picky children. We also ate dinner every night, great value for the food! Once again, so much selection. We had a fantastic waitress everynight, I believe her name was Katarina, she was very very friendly. All the waitstaff were excellent. Hotel staff were excellent. Our son ended up getting very sick with a high fever, Neven at the front desk got the doctor to come to our room promptly to check him out. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because of the steep poolside prices, and we always heard the cleaning ladies complaining how dirty guests were leaving their rooms. (we are Croatian so we understood everything). All in all - it was an excellent stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Didi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear DidiCro,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you took the time to describe the positive aspects of your experience. We apologize for this particular incident with our house keeping ladies, as it's definitely awkward for you to have witnessed that...We'll clearly need to address this issue and use it for the training purposes, so thank you for bringing this situation to our attention.

Greetings from the sunny Bol and please consider coming back ...

Kind regards,

Petar Krvaric
Guest Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valatta, Malta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Great: hotel room C217, Sunday morning Tennis with pro as a result played with 4 other guests in the following week (6 times in total on the court), Monday Scuba diving taster, Tuesday morning Windsurf taster. Cappaccino's, Rada short haired lady on front desk at breakfast/dinner, Nico on reception excellent, Saskia/Sophia blonde/brown hair on night shift (Friday night on reception) for helping is book a TUI transfer, and showing me the rooms, Wellness Centre and couples massage :-)

Not great: blonde hair Hitler waitress looking after the tables by the windows, she insisted that water in a glass (tap) was only allowed for people with medical requirements. She was the only one who enforced this at breakfast and dinner.

The rest was excellent!

Improvements: put 3 massage water blaster jets in the indoor pool. (Hisperia hotel, Puerto Calero has them. Brilliant!)

As for the rest:

If your old school then you will enjoy B WING different (country home) character to the rest of the other rooms and I can see why people get their knickers in a twist about them but some people like carpets. I checked rooms on my last day and took some photos
too (post later) and they are similar but just different to the rest.

D block offers superior views and if you have the cash then buy the room. No 42" TVs in these or any rooms.
C block or A Block offers similar rooms to D just smaller literally so for me as I only spent a few day light hours in the rooms I have no interest in the rooms in D block. Too much windsurfing and tennis.

Having said the above, before we arrived i read 'TA reviews' and on arrival found (after a call ahead) we had been partly upgraded as we heard about B block after booking, called up to see if we could get into C/A. Having found B block to offer all the jazz of any other room im surprised about the negativity towards them the decor appears tacky tho in the whole block, honestly it must have been in honour to broadway or 5star royalty but they got it very wrong. If you want a red carpet book B wing.

I would recommend them for a off season stay but mid summer B block with carpets is just different and something I wouldn't choose mid summer.

Breakfast = excellent choice similar to a Radisson Blu (Stansted)
Lunch = a mix of 'suspected' night before dinner and salads with cheeses etc
Dinner = excellent selection for a 4 star we had lots of ice cream too. Lots of choice for children The Italian corner I thought was the kids corner is full of pasta, pizza and Garlic bread :-)

As in any hotel expect to pay a premium for F&B 40 kina for a small glass of wine and 18 kuna (20 with tip) for Cappaccino (the provided coffee machine gives horrible coffee and is like the cheap stuff bought at Lidl). I'm sat drinking a coffee in Preko, Uglian now with a 7Kuna (same quality£ Cappaccino minus the mini chocolate the hotel offered.

Anyway having done this on an iPhone I hope it reads alright.

Bottom line: off you want to stay in a hotel in Bol look no further.



  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SYScottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear SYScottie,

Thank you very much for an extensive description of your experience.
We highly value your writing effort. Your suggestions are not only helpful in a nature in that they provide useful information, but are inviting to other travelers to whom you provided a respectable and constructive commentary that credits the hotel for what it is: both in good and in-not-so-good areas. Special thanks for sharing your view on the decor issue.

As for the beverage situation in our restaurant, I'd like to use this opportunity to excuse our team member for she has followed the standard F&B policy in which all the drinks are served with the supplement charge. It may not be the most customer friendly policy, but it is a policy in place and as such is common in many 4-star hotels. Still, thank you for letting us now how you felt about it.

Again, many thanks for your positive recommendation.
We hope to see you in Bol again at some point soon !

Kind regards,

Petar Krvarić
Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Several positives about the hotel with the main one being the location. Halfway between Bol town and Zlatni Rat beach, it is perfectly placed and on the main walking promenade between town and the famous beach. The outdoor pool is big and with good facilities, the beach bar is fine for a light lunch and the hotel is spacious and clean. The staff were very helpful - the maid provided extra pillows within 5 minutes of our request.
The biggest issue is the seemingly recent invasion by Framissima - some kind of French holiday club catering for the 25 to 40 age bracket who are incapable of entertaining themselves for more than 15 minutes. The little army of holiday reps spend the whole day at the pool trying to drum up volunteers to play games to the backdrop of constant heavy bass 1990s Euro disco trash. The pool is only tranquil before 10am and after 5pm each day.
Nice hotel bars to relax at in the evening - there is a really cool cocktail bar "Bolero", right outside and perfect for watching the world go by while lounging on big sofas.
Rooms are adequate for what you pay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PieEater7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear PieEater 7,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed the location, and thank you for crediting the quality our facilities.
We appreciate that you directly communicated aspects of the animation entertainment program that you found bothersome. While we adhere to our contractual agreements in which we are required to implement particular animation program, we are definitely interested and care to learn of the extent to which this program may be bothersome to other guests. Hopefully your comfort level wasn't compromised too much ?

With hopes that you'll consider visiting us in Bol again...

Kind regards,

Petar Krvarić
Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We made reservations on line ( Booking.com) for July this year. The pictures of the room which are on web page and Hotel web page are complete different then in Hotel.
So we got the Room in B wing, and was totally different from what we have made reservations for.
Old carpet, dirty with stains and holes. Bed is old and not so comfy , linens are clean ..
Bathroom , stains in corners ......I was so dissatisfied and disappointed , I expected that 4 Star Hotel for 157 Euro pro Night would have nice clean rooms. And definitely look like what was advertise on web page!
Food was good, we had breakfast and dinner.
Position of Hotel Elephalusa is great, and Bol is really beautiful place to stay.
Just a little tip for the Manager of this Hotel. Staff on your Reception 2 workers ware so pleasant but on checking out from Hotel, receptionst didn't ask us how was your stay in Hotel ? She didn't even thank us on end , nothing , no thanks , no nothing........
Both my hubby and I was a little disappointed , we both work on daily basis with people and you should have a good customer service there in order your customers to come back!
For the money we paid for this Hotel you don't get the best rooms ans service!!!
After Bol , we went to Radisson Blue Dubrovnik, and just for 50 Euro more, we had a great hotel, super Customer service and excellent stay in Hotel!
So, on end we did survive 5 Days in Elephalysa Hotel, but We are not coming back.......

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thalia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Thalia,

Thank you for your review. We regret that you had a dissatisfying experience of stay with us.
As for the staff service, what you have witnessed is certainly not acceptable on our part.
Please accept our apologies as we were clearly not up to our standards on that occasion. Thank you for pointing this out.
The issue concerning the interior of the hotel is complex as certain wings vary in decor. However, all rooms in the entire hotel adhere to the strict categorization standards. The advertized photos are truthful representations of hotel rooms, and perhaps you have seen the decor of a different wing.

Nonetheless, me and my colleagues hope that you still had positive experience in Bol.

Kind regards,

Petar Krvarić
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bol
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bol
Hotel Bol
#2 of 12 in Bol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Borak
12.1 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriatica
Hotel Villa Adriatica
#2 of 8 in Supetar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Daniela
10.0 mi away
Waterman Svpetrvs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa

Property: Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
Address: Put Zlatnog Rata 46, Bol, Brac Island 21420, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Brac Island > Bol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bol
#1 Family Hotel in Bol
#1 Spa Hotel in Bol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting the largest spa and fitness center on the island of Brac, a tennis center with 26 clay courts and bowling alleys, the Elaphusa is an excellent choice for an active vacation. Located at the seafront promenade only 55 yards from the beautiful pebble beach, you can reach the center of Bol in a 10-minute walk. Moreover, the Elaphusa is situated close to the stunning Zlatni Rat beach. It has great indoor and outdoor pools and your kids can have fun in the paddling pool; there are also children's entertainment programs available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesun Hotel Bol
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa Bol, Croatia - Brac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing