We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, average hotel for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I'd definitely recommend visiting Bol for a relaxing break, particularly if you like beautiful beaches which Bol has plenty of!

I chose the Elaphusa because we wanted a hotel with a swimming pool and a bit of luxury. I selected a superior room but when we arrived it didn't have a balcony, which wasn't clear on bookings.com when I booked - you have to select a sea view room to have a balcony, regardless of whether it is standard or superior (the only difference if you select a superior room is that it is slightly bigger). Despite this, the hotel moved us to a balcony at no extra charge, which was excellent, and the receptionist was very accommodating.

The hotel was clean and modern, however it wasn't quite the 'luxury' we'd imagined with the price tag attached to it and was a little soulless being such a large complex. Also, when we were there a French tour operator also had a group of guests and whilst trying to relax by the pool they kept doing announcements for various activities quite loudly through a PA system, which was irritating. The breakfast buffet was below average although there was plenty of it.

If I returned to Bol I would sacrifice the convenience of the pool and choose a more authentic and reasonably priced hotel and utilise the beautiful beaches instead, as I was disappointed for the amount the hotel cost.

Room Tip: Select a sea view room to ensure you get a balcony with great views across the sea
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aimee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Aimee,
Thank you for your feedback. We genuinely regret that you felt disappointed in regards to your perception on the value for money provided in our hotel.

On the other hand, we greatly appreciate that you have described your experience with the accommodation. Your personal account of the mentioned booking misunderstanding demonstrates that we approach fairly. So, thank you for openly sharing this experience...

Our hotel is large, and as such it may appear less personal. However, we are proud of the fact that this facility contains series of amenities that no other hotels have in the area (bowling alley, large Thalasso Wellness & Spa, over 20 tennis courts, indoor golf, conference center to name a few...)

Still, we are appreciative of your outlook and hope that you'll come back to Bol...

Kind regards,

Petar Krvaric
Guest Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
There are newer reviews for Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at one week and it was one of the most enjoyable our vacation at all.
We are very pleased with accommodation, hotel services offered, location, environment and ordering service.
We had half board and the food, especially for dinner, was excellent. A rich and varied selection of fish, meat, salads, Italian food (pasta, pizza, bruschette, etc.), cakes... Recommendation to anyone who is a gourmet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dach2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Dach2711,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you have specifically pointed out the aspects of the service with which you were happy and hope that you were able to enjoy our other beach restaurant Plaža Borak, and the wonderful Stina wine house facility in the center of Bol.

Kind regards from the sunny Bol,

Petar Krvaric
Guest Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We came to Bol by car from Ivanić (near Zagreb). After a little more than 4 hours drive to Split, we waited for an hour in the sea port and traveled to the Island Brač (Supetar) by ferry for 45 minutes. From Supetar port there is roughly a half an hour drive across the Island Brač to the town of Bol. Hotel Elaphusa was not hard to find.

After arriving in front of the hotel, we said: "Oh, what a lovely hotel and such a nice landscape". We deal with landscaping and it's a professional deformation. They really have nice landscape. :) We got out of the car, stretched and started unloading bags. We have a small 3-months-old daughter and we really packed for her first trip. It was very quiet, spooky, no living soul! Nobody came from the hotel to help us. Nobody greeted us! Terrible first impression!

OK! It's saturday! People are busy with check-outs and check-ins. We entered the tomb. There were 3 robot-receptionists who handled the job efficiently, without the illogical and inefficient use of emotions. We got the room number, "boy will carry your luggage", "here is a parking ticket" and "enjoy your stay". I sometimes dream that my office employees will be so efficient one day. Seriously, no "How was your trip?", "Oh, such a long way with a small baby", "We'll help you with anything, just ask"??? Terrible second impression!

The "boy" was helpful. Like DanaSabic said (we think we know u, we have red strollers :), it's a stroller's nightmare!!! There are stairs everywhere, even around the hotel!!! This hotel is not just family and stroller unfriendly, but surely nightmare for people with disabilities! Not a single mention of this in the brochures or on the web! Nothing! And there are many many parents with strollers just now! If you have strollers, don't go there!!!

Rooms are clean and the maid "Antonija" is very nice. She asked us the next morning when she can come to clean the room so she doesn't upset the baby. Definitely not from the robo-tribe! TV is small and has a tendency to power down by itself. In the era of big LCD and Plasma TV-s one would think that for one nights cost, hotel would buy a decent big flat TV! The sticker "Don't waste water" in the bathroom would be commendable!

Food is very good and diverse! Many different types of meat and cheese! Nice to have Pag hard cheese for every dinner! That's my Croatia! Well, we are used to this as it is standard in Croatia that you have great food! Not like in Tunis where you have to go to the bathroom like 6 times after every meal! One question: why the hell did we pay for the dinner extra 10€ per day when nobody is checking room numbers at the entrance. People, don't pay for the dinner, just go and have a free meal, because nobody will ask you a thing or check! It's terrible that the hotel doesn't even provide you with one or two free drinks for dinner, not even water! You have to pay to have a drink! People, tap water is very good! Why don't you provide people with cold tap water?!

The weather is nice and warm, a little windy and the sea is ok. Not too warm though! Entrance to the sea is terrible: you have to have armor on your feet to endure the sharp rocks. I was in Bol like 20 years ago and they definitely destroyed the beaches and made them unnatural! They charge the umbrellas 30 kn (4 €) and deckchair 40 kn (5,5 €) per day, even to hotel guests!

The blonde receptionist is very zealous. She checked some information about the wellness and found it convenient to inform us by loud ringing phone at 10 PM, even though she knew we have a small baby!!! Very zealous, but not too bright!

We'll be here for the week and update the info on the hotel! What we learnt so far is that everything is extra, for extra things you have to pay and if they could, they would charge you breathing or using the elevator!

Nice hotel in a good spot with robo-service who charge you for everything!

Room Tip: Don't go in the Wing B!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mislav L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Mislav,

Thank you for your review.
We deeply regret that you were left with the impression of Elaphusa as an impersonnal hotel.
Each one of our guests is highly valuable and we do our best to dedicate ourselves to every individual as much as possible.
Periods during which it becomes more difficult to adhere to this practice are Saturdays, days during which we help large number of our guest complete check ins and check outs...

As for the issue with strollers, there are few places that could use additional access. This is something we have set to work on with our investment department, as this is an infrastructural issue, something our personnel has little control over. However, thank you for pointing this out to us.

While the supplemental charge for drinks are a standard for 4 star hotels, and it has to do with balancing between extra revenue generation/cost saving while providing a wide array of other facilities and services. We believe that our overall product quality is on a right track, but are nonethelss open to hear the criticism on this and every other service that we offer. So thank you for being open and direct.

Despite the mentioned inconveniences, we would hope that your overall holiday went well.

Kind regards,

Petar Krvaric
Guest Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

After a thorough comparison of all Bol hotels we chose Elaphusa as the best choice for our two families (our friends with kids 4 and 2, and us with a one year old). Location, seawater pool, H/B.
When checking in the "blond receptionist" from earlier reviews, who was quite nice to us by the way, said that the standard room that we booked will be too cramped for us but that they are fully booked and they don't have a superior room for us. This was very true! We actually moved the armchair and the coffee table out to the terrace so we could squeeze in the baby cot. This was the first bump that we experienced. Our friends who booked a superior room with sea view were very satisfied.
We were in block C in a sea view room which turned out to be a downside because we were directly looking at the main entrance to the hotel which was quite noisy at night with buses and taxis coming and leaving all the time. So no sleeping with the open terrace door and no fresh sea air for our baby:-(
Still this did not ruin our holiday, you get used to it.
The only thing that bothered me was all the stairs in and around the hotel and no stroller access. I could not go anywhere without having someone to help me carry the stroller up and down the stairs with the baby inside it. Even thou our son was already walking by himself it was exhausting for him to go everywhere on foot so we were bound to the stroller.
Beside all this I must say that the hotel is recently renovated and looks modern, the staff is very polite and professional especially in the main restaurant, the food was fresh and various both for breakfast and for dinner. The spa is not bad for a seaside hotel.
The hotels location is absolutely the best!

Room Tip: choose the superior rooms, they are more spacious
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaLuSa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Dana,

Thank you very much for an extensive and helpful review. We are happy that you enjoyed the location, the restaurant, and appreciate that you openly communicated the problems that you have encountered.

As for the stroller access, thank you for bringing this to our attention. This is very important and we'll use your comment to do something about this when it comes to evaluating/planning for our facility. Although the main entrance and hotel restaurant access are covered, those are not enough.

So thank you...
We hope to see you again in Bol.

Kind regards,
Petar Krvaric
Guest Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We spent a week at the Bluesun Elaphusa and found our stay flawless.
Position: a 10 minute walk from the city center, two minutes from a small, cosy pebble beach, and just under 15 minutes from the famous Zlatni Rat beach.
Check-in: there were other people waiting at the reception area when we arrived, but we didn't have to wait. We were welcomed by two ladies who were both very kind and made the check-in process smooth and easy. They answered all our questions about the hotel and the area, and gave us directions to reach all the places we wanted to go to.
Rooms: we were assigned to room 107, first floor, wing B. I was a little worried by other reviews were wing B rooms were described in a not so positive way, but we couldn't find any fault with our room. If anything, the decor might be slightly out of fashion with the fitted carpet on the floor as opposed to the wood flooring of other wings, but to us this wasn't a problem at all. Our room was big, with a king size bed, a wardrobe, a desk, two bed-side tables and a mini bar. There were also a flat screen TV broadcasting some international programs, and a safe box (free of charge). The bathroom looked quite new, and very clean, like the rest of the bedroom. We had a nice balcony overlooking the garden, which was good so that the noise and the music from the swimming pool weren't too intruding. Each balcony has two chairs and a table, plus a clothing line which turned out to be very useful. Also, there's air conditioning in every room.
Restaurant: we booked on B&B terms so we never had dinner there and cannot say anything about food quality and service at night. As for breakfast, there's a wide buffet selection of food and drinks. The only aspect which can be a bit annoying is that it can get very crowded and you might have to stand in a queue. We usually had breakfast at around 9am and it was also quite loud in there, but this is something you have to factor in if you go to any seaside resort in August. All in all, nothing too annoying.
Swimming pool: we only spent a day there as we'd rather go to the beautiful beaches, but the pool was very clean, and with a lot of sun loungers and beach umbrellas. I had read in some other reviews that the French entertainment team can be annoying: it is true that there are games going on all day, but most of them took place somewhere else - like in the tennis court or the soccer field, so we weren't bothered at all. For those who are interested, aqua gym and Pilates lessons take place a couple of times a day.
Spa and indoor pool: if you want to relax after a day at the beach, the indoor pool is the place to go. There are sun loungers there too, and it was always very quiet when we went there. There's also a jacuzzi next to the indoor pool, which was very good. The Spa is top-notch: there's a wide selection of treatments to choose from. I had the olive oil massage and the hot stone massage, which were just perfect, and cheaper as compared to European prices. You can also access the saunas area: for as little as 10 euros you can try the various treatments (laconarium, Roman bath, steam bath, sauna, jacuzzi, aromatic showers, and relax area). Towels, bathing robes and flip-flops are provided in the price. The staff at the Spa are very nice and professional, and speak several languages.
Other services: there's a small gym, childcare service, and a game area (we didn't go though). Another useful thing is that you can borrow beach towels from the gym and get clean ones every day, in exchange of a deposit of 20 euros which you get back before checking out. There's also a bar which offers a good selection of drinks and cocktails.
Staff: all staff members were very attentive and kind, and each one of them was always available when we had a question, so congratulations and thank you for making our stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Silviademick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Silvia,

Thank you very much. Your review is a kind that a hotelier can only hope for, but even more importantly the manner in which it was written encourages and helps other readers to get a true sense of how it actually feels like to stay here...

Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience of stay with us. We wish to be able to host you again...

Kind regards,
Petar Krvaric
Guest Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

A real 4* hotel hotel! Good value, absolute good service for the price! Best beaches in Brac, however for not rocky beach, you need to cross the island (a hidden lovely bay you can find with really sandy beach).
Only claim on hotel is the bed, which is not a real double bed, but two simple beds moved together

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gollam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Gollam76,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your input, but would like to use this opportunity to mention that our hotel has both Queen size and twin types of beds (put together), depending on the type of double room you have booked (standard, superior, or premium room type).

We regret if the information on this particular discrepancy has not been presented to you while you were making your booking.
Our Reservations Center (direct booking) makes sure to follow our guests through all the booking steps. If you have made a booking with us directly, please accept our apologies.

Kind regards,

Petar Krvaric
Guest Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here for a week and I loved almost every minute!

As we walked into reception on our first day, I was impressed straight away. Although, whilst hiking our enormous rucksacs around, we received a slightly strange look from the gentleman at the desk, (perhaps not quite what most guests bring to a 4*hotel), he was very friendly and the rest of the staff continued to be too.

Our room was fairly small, but everything that we needed. It was modern, clean and had a balcony with a lovely view. Having read reviews about B block, and seen pictures from other guests, I do think that I would've been disappointed with the standard of these older rooms, especcially for the price. But I can't complain - what we had was lovely.

We were staying half board during our stay and we were very pleased with the standard of the food for both breakfast and dinner. I am incredibly fussy, so to have a variety of choices and a great salad and fruit bar, was wonderful! I would be slightly worried about my waistline if I had stayed any longer though - the icecream was just too good!

I was impressed with the manner of the staff and almost every waiter/waitress was friendly and helpful.

The facilities at the hotel were very good and I enjoyed the pool. However, it was a little crowded at times, which I guess is to be expected during the summer holidays. I would echo the thoughts of another review about the holiday reps. Although a little bit of fun and games is great, it was a bit OTT and often in French so I didn't understand it! In contrast to a previous review though, and falling into the 25-40 age catergory described, I would not say it was aimed at that age range, and we are able to entertain ourselves! :-)

The wellness centre was lovely and we had a great experience, which was even better than expected as we were the only ones in there for most of the morning!

Finally, the location of the hotel was perfect as it was so close to the nearest beach, only a short walk away from Zlatni Rat, and just a 5-10minute stroll into Bol.


Thank you! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NO1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear NO1985,

Thank you for kindly sharing your experience of stay with us. While we are happy that you seemed to have enjoyed your vacation, we are appreciative that you have constructively communicated your outlook on a discrepancy between our entertainment and your expectation of how the entertainment should not be like... so thank you for that.

In case you consider coming back to Bol, we recommend that you consider trying some of the adventurous trips that we organize from hotel Elaphusa, such as „Fishing experience“, Desert Blaca on the Brač island, Hvar island trips etc.

Thank you for visiting us.

Kind regards,

Petar Krvaric
Guest Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bol
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bol
Hotel Bol
#1 of 12 in Bol
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Borak
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Daniela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
11.9 mi away
Hotel Lemongarden
Hotel Lemongarden
#1 of 1 in Sutivan
70 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriatica
Hotel Villa Adriatica
#1 of 8 in Supetar
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa

Address: Put Zlatnog Rata 46, Bol, Brac Island 21420, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Brac Island > Bol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bol
#1 Family Hotel in Bol
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bol
Price Range: £56 - £865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting the largest spa and fitness center on the island of Brac, a tennis center with 26 clay courts and bowling alleys, the Elaphusa is an excellent choice for an active vacation. Located at the seafront promenade only 55 yards from the beautiful pebble beach, you can reach the center of Bol in a 10-minute walk. Moreover, the Elaphusa is situated close to the stunning Zlatni Rat beach. It has great indoor and outdoor pools and your kids can have fun in the paddling pool; there are also children's entertainment programs available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesun Hotel Bol
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa Bol, Croatia - Brac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing