We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better second time around”
Review of Apartments Zvrko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartments Zvrko
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Reviewed 5 June 2011

This is a fantastic place on the hill overlooking Cavtat, which itself is the perfect little town for reaching (and escaping from!) Dubrovnik. We went two years ago and loved it, so we had to return. The apartments are a range of sizes and the facilities include a beautiful pool and a restaurant for residents only - plus stunning views of the bay below. Jadranka, the host, cannot do enough to help, from free shuttle rides two minutes up and down the hill to Cavtat (easy to walk down, not so good to hike back up!) to car rental at a moment's notice. Maybe even some home-made cherry brandy! There's a supermarket across the road. The location is perfect as it avoids the bustle of a couple of big hotels below. It is terrifically family-friendly, and our six-year-old cried all the way home as she wanted to stay longer. We will definitely be back for a third time, and it is highly recommended to all.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markstaniforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2011

I agree with the most recent reviews here - on the whole, this is a great place to spend a few days. Yes, it's not in the centre of Cavtat; you do have to walk up a steep hill to get back to the apartments (or call Jadranka on her mobile to pick you up from the bottom of the hill) but the views from the balcony over the bay towards Dubrovnik are simply stunning, especially as the sun goes down. One other small niggle is that it is fairly close to a major road so traffic noise can a bit intrusive at times, but it's definitely tolerable later on in the evening when the road is quieter.
My apartment was great - well laid out, nothing too fancy but it had all the basics, plus the newly re-opened supermarket just 100 metres away provides all of your food needs. Jadranka is a great hostess, providing the aforementioned transfers to and from Dubrovnik airport, but also advice about the local area and ideas about what to do. As mentioned below, she and Paula are pretty busy so if you have difficulties getting in touch by email I would suggest phoning her as her English is good and she should be able to answer all of your questions.
All in all, this is a great place to stay - my only regret is that my stay wasn't longer!

Room Tip: I had Apartment 8 at the top of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffsbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Have just returned from a 9 day trip with jadranka and paula, we stayed in A9 apartment which has the best view and best balcony, 2 en-suite bedrooms for our family of 4 with very spacious living area. Our hosts were very helpful with anything we needed, free airport transfers and lifts back from the village if we didnt want to walk back up the hill from Cavtat. A nice restaurant and bar with some great value meals and a flexible menu. Cavtat is stunning, pretty harbour with great restaurants and all the people were very friendly. Take a boat trip to Dubrovnik or the islands for some beautiful scenery and interesting history. Its all good value as its cheaper than the euro and they do fantastic ice cream too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kittywakeems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Please ignore the negative reviews on here. We have just returned from two blissful weeks at the Zvrko apartments. The are lovely apartments with wonderful hosts in a beautiful part of the world. No they are not 5 * if that's what you are looking for but they are comfortable, charming and clean with views to die for as you can see from the pics. Towels and bedding was changed regularly. No they are no located in the centre of Cavtat. It is a pleasant 15 min walk down to the sea then another 10 to the town. Yes the walk back up is a bit steep but as people have already stated Jadranka is always happy to come and pick you up if you can't face the walk back up (she told us off when we didn't ring her!) and as I've said it is worth being slightly out of town for the wonderful views. As we visited early May it was still fairly quiet and we often had the pool to ourselves enjoying many relaxing hours looking out to sea over to Dubrovnik. Jadranka and Paula are always on the go both holding down full time jobs and at the same time trying to ensure all guests are OK. They are lovely, hard-working women. The reception is not manned because all the family work but Jadranka gives you her mobile number when you arrive and is always contactable to answer queries and questions. Monika in the restuarant is also lovely and can whip you up some nice food if you've had a busy day and don't fancy walking down to town. Whilst we were there we visited Dubrovnik, Elaffiti Islands, Montenegro, Bosnia and Cilipi all of which I would recommend. Cavtat is a small charming village with enough bars and restaurants to provide variety. We particularly liked Poseidon, Kolona and Kabalero. We had a couple of nights out in Dubrovnik which was a nice change and possible because the last bus back to Cavtat was 23.40pm. Croatia and surrounding areas are beautiful and the Zvrko apartments are a wonderful base from which to explore them. Go see for yourselves! Thanks again to everyone at Zvrko, looking forward to returning soon. ps we have already drank your departing gift to us! :)

Room Tip: Room 2 top floor lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juju124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Not sure why this place was rated so high - there were some major disadvantages to the location. It is a car ride away from the central Cavtat area and the water/beach. There was no food close by. Wifi was impossible to connect to. The rooms/apartments didn't have the most welcoming feel. Small and basic accommodations. The linens could have seen better days.

The staff was friendly and nice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aslondon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We have had magnificent apartments throughout our travels, but must say that this one was the only disappointment. Maybe we have been spoiled, but there is no coffee shop or bakery nearby - unheard of in our experiences in Europe, it is beside the busy highway, high above the actual Cavtat village. Don't be fooled, it is not within Cavtat. The view is beautiful over the water, if you can ignore the constant traffic and construction sight directly in front of property. The hosts do try hard, but we felt lost out in the suburbs. Trying to get on the wifi was a bit of a chore - it was expected that we would not use our own laptop but rather sit out in the public reception to use a desktop.....
an unfortunate find..... so glad everywhere else was spectacular. we don't recommend

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

This has to have been the most welcoming places to stay in the world (and we as a group of friends have been to many)! From the initial email to book, to the email to say we had arrived back in England safely, Jadranka and her family have been brilliant! As many of the other reviews on here say the airport pickup and drop off are done freely and with good will, as was the trip we took to the Cilipi folklore show on Palm Sunday (definately recommended to visitors to the region.)
From the get go Jadranka was an incredible hostess, going out of her way to make sure that we were comfortable in our apartment and with our stay in general. We were looked after very well and felt that we could ask for anything and Jadranka would provide!
The view from our apartement over the bay was spectacular - especially the many amazing sunsets we saw - beautiful. The supermarket was easy to get to as was the main town of Cavtat. The apartments are at the top of a hill, but Jadranka will come and get you if you can't face it! (Or you can see it as we did - a way to work off the yummy food available in Croatia!)
The actual apartment was comfortable and there was plenty of room for the three of us. It has all your basic needs and we were regularly supplied with fresh, clean towels by Jadranka (sometimes with delicious homemade cake too!)
The team have worked really hard to provide for all the needs of their guests and to think about what extra they can do. We were able to try out the newly installed sauna (very relaxing) and have a go on the new gym equipment they have added in (again - great excuse for eating more!)
All in all this was a superb place to stay to explore the area (Dubrovnik old city is beautiful, Elafiti islands tour was a great day out and the folklore show at Cilipi a great experience) but also to relax and chill out.
We are already planning when we can come back and see Jadranka again!

Lucie, Clare and Philippa

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L_Burgess15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,171 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,843 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 18 in Cavtat
188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bacan Serviced Apartments
0.5 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Zvrko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Zvrko

Address: Poluganje 33, Cavtat, Konavle, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#6 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: £34 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Zvrko 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear visitors,our house is possible to book during whole year. Somethimes it is even better to come in autumn or winter as our winters are mild, like that you can do much more walking, sightseeing as in worm summer days. During winter vacations you can use inside jacuzzy, gym, sauna and fill your free time.The property has a fantastic sea view. It is located in a historic small town called Epidaurum, which is within walking distance of Cavtat (about 20 min). It is also 15min walk from the beach. Dubrovnik is a 20min car journey, or you can go to Dubrovnik by little boat. Dubrovnik airport is just 3km away, and we siqure your collecting from airport for free of course. When need a car to see some lovely hidden places of this area you can arrange a car to hire from us , for a day or a week depends what you would like. The house is detached, with an amazing sea view from your apartment balcony, which also includes exceptional sunsets. More exact comments from quests which already visited our home you can find on Trip advisor.Look forward to hear from you, Jadranka ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartments Zvrko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zvrko Apartments Hotel Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing