We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place!!”
Review of Villa Stanovic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Stanovic
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We needed a place to stay close to the airport and this one had wonderful reviews online. Well what can I say? They must be false reviews. Mine is real. I am a real traveler who just stayed there and I can tell you none of what I read has anything to do with this place. I would rate it 1 star and not pay more than $20 for it. It's horrible and for the following reasons

1. Bathroom was terrible. Toilet seat cover was broken and fell off. They just put it on top broken and didn't bother to fix it and it fell of and onto my foot.
2 barely enough hot water for 1 person
3 horrible hand soap for shower gel
4 moldy shower curtain
5 small bathtub
6 beds were worthy I ever slept on
7 no blankets or bed covers. Just thin sheet
8 room looked like it was so poorly decorated I felt as if I were in a prison
9 no phone. No reception. No breakfast

Basically it's someone's house and they rent out a room. It's horrible and you should go elsewhere. Way toooooo overpriced. This should be rated as a youth hostel.

Room Tip: Not this one
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Villa Stanovic
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were in Room 2 with a big terrace overlooking the coast which was perfect for breakfast or sundowner drinks. The room itself was quite basic but comfortable with a small but adequate bathroom. The basement kitchen was useful for making a hot drink or preparing breakfast and keeping drinks cold in the fridge. It was well stocked with crockery etc but had no hot water for washing up. The wifi was a bit hit and miss.
We had no problem with the walk into town - it's just 5 minutes to the harbour and not really that steep on the way back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for the last two weeks in August. Close to airport.

Beautiful views of the peninsula from the apartment. Spotlessly clean. Rooms are serviced. Large air conditioned room. Free Wifi worked in the room & on balcony. The owners are very friendly & helpful. We were greeted with drinks & fruit on arrival. Room 4 has a lovely view of the peninsula & bay. We enjoyed lazy mornings on the balcony. The sun stayed till about 10:30am on the balcony. TV in room but none in English that we could find. But who needs TV with the view outside & a good book to read. Dubrovnik live TV showed the Main Street which was interesting.

Take Mosquito repellant & buy antihistamine cream. They were hungry last summer particularly around the peninsula.

We didn't find the hill a problem. It helped to walk of the great food. We were nicely toned by the end of the holiday. The locals walk up it without any complaints. It's a short walk into the centre of Cavtat. Which makes this apartment a great location.

Plenty of restaurants to choose from in Cavtat. We selected the ones on trip adviser. If you like Italian food you will love Croatia. The best ice cream parlour is at the bottom of the hill on your left.

We found two well stocked mini-supermarkets. One at the bottom of the hill on your right. Near a pharmacy & bank with ATM. The other supermarket is above the hotel. Further up the road. Past the bus stop to Dubrovnik.

We loved walking past the yachts in Cavtat harbour on an evening. The sunset is stunning. Cavtat had live entertainment in the streets a musical festival in the evening in August.

Trips: We can recommend the all-day boat trip to the Elaphiti Islands. It takes in three of the Elaphiti Islands with an inclusive lunch on the boat. The islands are beautiful & it makes for a relaxing, chilled out day.
We also went to Mostar in Bosnia. Which is a really pretty place & worth visiting.
The Korcula, Ston & vineyards trip is great. We came back with some lovely wine.
We booked two trips online before we arrived but really didn't have too because the tour operator Michael offers great deals on trips. You can find him at the bottom of the hill, turn right. Go past the supermarket & bus station. He has a laptop & really explains the trips well. The mini-buses are clean & air conditioned. The roads are narrow & winding and therefore all trips are in mini buses.

Dubrovnik truly is the pearl of the Adriatic. We walked the walls at dusk. It is quieter & cooler with great views of the sunset. Take the evening boat from Cavtat & get the last 11pm return boat. Takes one hour each way. Great night out in Dubrovnik. It's a buzzing place on a night. We loved a bar called Buzz Bar for great cocktails. Pizzeria Storia was the best Italians. There is a later bus back to Cavtat from the base of the cable car around midnight & 1:30am. Check times.
During the day it is a very busy place. Check with the harbour website. It will tell you how many cruise ships are due each day so you can select days to avoid.

This was our first trip to Croatia. We will be going back.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank DurhamTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Clean and comfortable, and good efficient aircon. Not grand, but what do you expect at that price? We had everything we needed, and the views from the balcony were just breathtaking. We had breakfast on the balcony every morning and ended every evening with a drink out there as well. Not a good choice for anyone with limited mobility as there is a very steep hill up from the town, but for the able-bodied it is a great place to stay. Definitely a lovely base to explore the area - to avoid the crowds in Dubrovnik, also try heading south from Cavtat down to Molunat for a nice sleepy village with a little sandy beach, a few restaurants and lots of peace and quiet!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KFandSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This friendly place is a good budget choice in Cavtat. Nice clean room and friendly staff. Stroll down to the center of Cavtat with lots of restaurants and a good supermarket and the sandy beach is also near. Climbing up is just good exercise and not too cumbersome. Boats run to Dubrovnik Old Town in 45 minutes which is a nice option to the crowded bus which takes just as long. Airport is only 10 minutes taxi drive away. Glittering shiny lovely Adrianic coast is absolutely fantastic!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

After staying in the countryside in Peljesac, this was a great place to end our vacation. We stayed here two nights, the apartment was very clean and plenty of hot water. The staff was very helpful and we were in our room in no time. The walk into the center of town is short but downhill, of course what goes down must go up. The walk to the center of town is about ten minutes walking slow and if your very slow maybe fifteen minutes. Cavtat is a good place to visit. The view from our balcony was great you could see the bay and the mountains. From here you can take a boat or bus to Dubrovnik. Just wish I could stay in Croatia for many many years.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Scorpio325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the stanovic apartment in August. Our room had a fantastic view over the bay towards Dubrovnik. The room was very clean with nice furnishings and the air on worked great. TV had sat channels. Would highly recommend it. Just one thing it's a fairly steep (though reasonably short) walk to the town so if you have mobility problems or are very lazy, this isn't the place for you

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darrencymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 18 in Cavtat
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bacan Serviced Apartments
0.4 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Stanovic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Stanovic

Address: Frana Laureana 1, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Price Range: £43 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Stanovic 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Villa Stanovic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing