We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and fantastic service with panoramic view of the airport” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Major

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Major
Ranked #13 of 23 Cavtat B&B and Inns
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food and fantastic service with panoramic view of the airport”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at the Major in September and really enjoyed the personal service and the excellent food. However, we were staying with our 2-year old daughter and found out that the playground dispayed on the website did not match up in real life. There was only one swing, that was in extreme need of service. The temperature in the pool was pretty chilly, and there were not much protection from the sun around the pool. This meant that we really couldn't spend much time at the hotel, since there was nothing to do for our daugther. Our room was lovely, however, the furniture on the balcony consisted of a wooden bench and a dito table. My back hurt quite a bit after a few nights. Ana got us 2 sun beds on the balcony, which was nice. Unfortunately, at the back of the terrace was a door into the office, where the staff worked until late in the evenings, so sitting on the hard wooded bench with someone working in the background wasn't quite as romantic as I had pictured our evenings. From the balcony we had a panoramic view of the airport and the airport strip, so we could enjoy watching all the airplanes take off and land 24 hours a day. When I read about the hotel prior to our vacation, I didn't realize that the airport is all you can see from your balcony, so it was quite a disapointment. However, the staff couldn't have been more service minded and the food was also very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GladaAnkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We are lucky enough to have spent 12 nights at Hotel Major and what a happy find for us. The welcome we received was so warm and friendly and we experienced first class hospitality in this small, perfectly run hotel and restaurant. The restaurant menu offers a delightful choice of fish and meat dishes - my favourite was a hand-made tagliatelle with seafood. It was all beautifully presented and the only problem was trying to choose what to have. We got to know Ana and the team well over the course of our stay and we had a lot of fun and laughs with them. The position of the hotel, away from it all, is no problem as you can get free transfers into the local town with one of the very obliging staff. The suite we had, Ivana, was large and well equipped, with a great terrace for sun bathing and drying your costume after a swim in the hotel pool. We had never been to Croatia before and the choice of place to stay was a bit of pot luck - I am so glad we made the right decision. We would heartily recommend Hotel Major to all and thank Ana, Marko, Milan, Sandra, Jo Jo and the amazing chefs (not forgetting Michael), for a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffandEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

On our second holiday to the area, we took advantage of the fabulous transfer service from Cavtat upto the hotel just as we did in August last year. From the minute you are picked up the experience makes you feel very special. Milan the head waiter met us and showed us to our table overlooking the Konavle valley and the airport, truly breathtaking. He was again very attentive and when I told him we had visited last year, he said that he and Ana (manager) remembered, even pointing out where we sat! The food is sublime, all freshly prepared using local ingredients and produce from their own gardens. Sandra also waited on our table and again she was very attentive. Watching Milan prepare the steak tartar, is like watching a master at work, tasted great too. Ana came and spent time talking to us and other guests and was genuinely interested in everyone. I asked her if she ever read the comments on this page, she said she did and was very humbled by them, but I said it was all well deserved. Ana came to say goodnight to everyone before leaving for home. I recommend anyone staying in the area to visit this small haven. The food, staff, everthing is worth a visit

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales,uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Having just returned from 7 nights we just can't wait to return to hotel Major,the food is excellent and Ana,Sandra and Melan(not sure how it's spelt)and the rest of Ana's team are perfect Hosts,they make you feel so welcome and they all want your holiday or meal to be an experience to remember,the wine is also excellent and inexpensive for the quality,although the hotel is a little out of the way it is no problem as there is transport always available to Cavtat,in fact we enjoyed the location as did our 3 teenage children.
Rooms and facilites are kept to a high standard at all times.

Room Tip: Discuss room options with the manager - Ana as she will be only to pleased to help with room choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wales_ukSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

good location for the airport. very good resteraunt. although out of town the hotel provides a free shuttle service. peaceful. very comfortable

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trelynWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Very welcoming owners and staff, very proud of what they have put together.

This is the best food we had during our trip in Dubrovnik, way above all restaurants in Dubrovnik in terms of sophistication, freshness of the ingredients, and overall quality of the meal and drinks.

Not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip9_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Unfortunately, we have not stayed in this hotel. Based on the reviews on this site, we have just visited Hotel / Restaurant Major for dinner, after a short visit to Cavtat. Excellent food, great service, extremely friendly personnel. This was the best dinner of our entire stay in Croatia! The Restaurant is located up n the mountains, but they provide a free transfer from Cavtat. An absolute must if you visit Dubrovnik and surroundings !

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bete123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Castelletto
Hotel Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.3 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#6 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Major? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Major

Property: Hotel Major
Address: Uskoplje bb, Cavtat 20210, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Major 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Major offers five comfortable suites with air conditioning, bathroom, SAT TV, telephone and internet connection. Four suites have terraces with a view of Konavle Valley and the Adriatic Sea. Innovative restaurant and friendly staff will make your holiday special. The hotel is close to Dubrovnik and Cavtat, and yet situated in the countryside where you can enjoy the harmony and peace of the pure Mediterranean environment. Transfers to Cavtat and back are free of charge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing