We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful week at Hotel Major”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Major

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Major
Ranked #13 of 23 Cavtat B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful week at Hotel Major”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

Hotel Major was so easy to get to - just 10 minutes from the airport and the hotel picked us up (aircraft noise not a problem). The staff made us feel very welcome, our suite was big and comfortable and we had a terrace with mountain views. The food was so good we ate there every night.

The lovely harbour town of Cavtat was 5 minutes drive down the hill, we used the reliable bus from outside the hotel. This was our first visit to Croatia and the staff were very helpful with organising trips and offering transfers, they actually took us to their vineyard and to a local folk festival. The boat trips to Dubrovnik and to the islands on the beautiful blue sea are well worth doing.

We have no hesitation recommending Hotel Major and there were no shocks over the bill, everythingwas very good value and the food and service well above average.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire. UK.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

My husband and I, plus two friends were recommended to the Hotel Major by our Travel rep. Marijana, and she didn't disappoint. From being picked up in Cavtat and taken to the hotel, being welcomed by Ana as friends rather than c ustomers, and then having the most delicious lunch,we had the most perfect time. We were given a guided tour of the hotel and their vineyards and eventually taken back to Cavtat again. It could not have been more perfect from the location, to the food, the service from the wonderful waiter and the chef and the personal attention from Ana. We love this part of Croatia anyway, and won't hesitate to return and visit the Hotel Major as soon as possible. Peter and Angela Thorne. Hertfordshire. Enmgland. Visit. 18th May 2010.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burtie020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

I travelled to hotel Major with a group of ladies, for a wonderful walking vacation, we are all in the travel industry and this was one of the best experiences we have had... The staff could not do enough to make our stay perfect, food was a gourmet delight the young chef was very willing to wow our senses, rooms were very clean and large. All 7 Ladies had no complaints... we highly recommend this property for its value and quaintness...The Hotel staff should be cloned they went above and beyond their duties for us...

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank degabriele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

We stayed in the hotel for only 1 night having been stranded due to the volcano. We were so lucky to find this place amidst stress and chaos - 10 mins drive from the airport, set in the mountain with garden views and pool. We had a lovely, clean suite and can't stress enough how friendly, helpful, efficient and warm the staff in the hotel were. They all went the extra mile to help us find a way home and also make the most of our very short stay with them. Excellent quality of home made dishes and choice of menu are also worth a mention. Overall a great customer experience that we would certainly not have had in bigger structures available in the area.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

A great hotel - fabulous location - very close to the airport - but you're not bothered by the sound of the planes. Spacious rooms - clean and light - with central heating - important when you're there in November. The manager emailed us before we left to make sure we knew how to get there.

The restaurant served some of the best food we've had - go with the manager's recommendations - he knows best!

The manager came out to meet us when we arrived.

The only tiny downside is that there is a VERY VERY steep drive up off the road - if you know to expect it you'll be able to manage it

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

After a long day travelling, it was great to pick up the hire car so swiftly (from local firm Best Buy Car rentals), and be at the hotel 5 minutes later. Although it was deserted, the hotel was really nice, with views overlooking the coast and the airport in the distance. Suite was big enough for us, and with plenty hot water. Food at the restaurant- the black risotto was simply amazing...the only slight negative was that we were not offered a winelist, and the wine which was given to us by the glass for 5 euros each 150ml serving, which I thought was very pricey for the decent but not extraordinary local.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank braeholm_broadford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMajorCavtat, Manager at Hotel Major, responded to this review, 18 October 2009
Dear Braeholm_broadford,

On behalf of the Major Team I would like to thank you very much for your excellent review. We are all very glad that you have enjoyed in our hotel, and in our restaurant.
I would also like to apologize for the mistake of not having the wine list presented to you in the restaurant. We will all do our best to avoid such mistakes in the future.

On behalf of myself and the whole team, I thank you once more for being our guest, and for writing this review, which is a huge motivation for all of us to continue improving our service, offer and quality.

Thank you,

Ana Radojević
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

We have been to Hotel Major with 4 adults, and all 4 of us really enjoyed this hotel. Besides the nice big rooms (en-suite), we all enjoyed the really nice service we have received in this hotel. If you need a booking of a restaurant/taxi, rent-a-car, advise on trips, where to go, etc., the people in the hotel can arrange it for you. All against very reasonable pricing.
The restaurant serves really good food, and they have really good wines too.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,361 reviews
1.3 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Castelletto
Hotel Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
11.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#7 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Major? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Major

Property: Hotel Major
Address: Uskoplje bb, Cavtat 20210, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Major 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Major offers five comfortable suites with air conditioning, bathroom, SAT TV, telephone and internet connection. Four suites have terraces with a view of Konavle Valley and the Adriatic Sea. Innovative restaurant and friendly staff will make your holiday special. The hotel is close to Dubrovnik and Cavtat, and yet situated in the countryside where you can enjoy the harmony and peace of the pure Mediterranean environment. Transfers to Cavtat and back are free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Major reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing