We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best!”
Review of Villa Ivy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cavtat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Ivy
Ranked #2 of 21 Cavtat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

If Cavtat is called the pearl in the Adriatic, then Villa Ivy must be the diamond. The Dubrovnik Apt (2 bed) was wonderful and very spacious, and the views from our windows were amazing. We mainly self-catered, and had every equipment one could wish for in the beautiful kitchen. The weather was very hot so thank goodness for the air conditioning. Whilst we were there, Geoff our host showed us all the other Apartments, and they too were equally spacious and well presented, and again, had those wonderful views, so whatever you pick, you know you will get superb accommodation. We also had the experience of staying B & B for three days in the Executive Suite, and again, this also was well presented but because of the unusually hot weather, the room was very warm. Geoff immediately went out and bought a mobile air conditioning unit in this room for us, which we very much appreciated. We simply had to ask, and if something was within his realm, he would provide it. Our whole experience at Villa Ivy was brilliant, and would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone reading these reviews.....however, selfishly, we ought to keep this one quiet so we have more of a chance to re-book. The Trip Advisor reviews from 80 previous comments from people who stayed at Villa Ivy show how amazing this place is. Geoff and Helen deserve to have their place ranked as No 1 in Cavtat.

We must say something specifically about our Host Geoff as a lot of the reviews talk mainly about the accommodation. From the moment he met us at Dubrovnik Airport, to the time we left Villa Ivy, he made us welcome and assisted us to our every need or requests. On our arrival, we found a welcome pack of salad, cheese, ham, bread, milk, fruit and juices etc, and he even checked before our arrival to see our preferred choice of Wine, red, white or rose! As he knew we were self-catering, he took us to a Supermarket and helped with the language barrier. We also had the privilege to go on a Mountain Trip with him - it was a very worthwhile trip, so if you have the chance, you won't regret it! His attention to detail was without fault, and we now feel we are friends rather than Clients, thanks to his unique and friendly manner. Villa Ivy and its location and apartments are wonderful, but I believe it's Geoff who also helps to make the Holiday complete.

Geoff also helped me organise a surprise and unique Anniversary Present for my Husband as I had requested he find an Artist who would give my husband a day's tuition painting. The result is that we have a wonderful painting to hang up at home, and good memories of that day. Thanks Geoff!

We will go back to Villa Ivy as soon as we can. An amazing Holiday!
Lorrie & Kelvin

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
136
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscatine, Iowa, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed from July 6-10, 2012. Villa Ivy is run by a very caring Geoff (Geoffy) and his wife Helen (who was unfortunately in England while we were there). He is extremely concerned with the well being and happiness of his guests. The views from both the terraces and pool deck are outstanding. As mentioned in other reviews, it is a bit of a hike to downtown Cavtat and the Adriatic Sea - however, we found that the walk was generally a good thing with all the good food in the area. If however, you would like a quick ride home, buses run regularly or a short taxi ride is in order.

Geoff is very knowledgeable and passionate of the area and can recommend many good places to eat and has arranged many discounts with restaurants and a ferry to Dubrovnik. He can also arrange tours, massages, etc with others. During our stay, we interacted with many other guests at the pool. It was good to meet and talk with other travelers and pick up additional tips on what to do in the area.

We stayed in the executive suite bed and breakfast room with attached bathroom and separate terrace. It was a nice way to stay, the only drawback was that there is no AC within the B&B room (the apartments all have separate AC). Geoff works hard to keep your room cool, but it is difficult with the door closed during the day if it is very hot out.

If you want to stay someplace where you are not just a number or a pocket book, I recommend Villa Ivy. Geoff and Helen have built a great atmosphere with a very nice pool area for relaxing with great views of the Adriatic Sea and surrounding areas. It was much more quiet than the cruise ship crowded Dubrovnik.

I very much recommend a stay at Villa Ivy if you are in the area. If you stay and have the opportunity to meet local Sasha, please say hi to him from his Iowa, USA friends.

Room Tip: If available, I would recommend one of the apartments. I also recommend booking very early as it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmjkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We had a truly wonderful week at Villa Ivy in June. We felt so welcome from the first moment we saw Geoff at the airport and Helen at Villa Ivy. We stayed at the two-bedroom apartment which was lovely, spotlessly clean, fully equipped and perfect for a family of four. We arrived in the evening so the welcome pack including fresh home-made salad, ham and cheese was a nice surprise. The pool was great to dip in after a hot day in Cavtat.
Villa Ivy is very well located in a nice and peaceful neighborhood about 10-15 minutes walk to Cavtat. Supermarket is even closer.
Cavtat is a beautiful small town full of good restaurants. We got many good tips from Geoff. Our favourite restaurant was Rokotin (wonderful location by the sea, reasonable prices and excellent food). Also House of Ice Cream became very familiar to us..
We went on a mountain trip with Geoff and had a great day. Geoff showed us beautiful places we probably wouldn't have gone on our own. We also had a gorgeous lunch at a lovely restaurant high in the mountain.
We can highly recommend Villa Ivy to anyone looking for a quality accommodation in Cavtat/near Dubrovnik.
Thank you Geoff and Helen for a wonderful and relaxing week at Villa Ivy!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Well, what can we say about our return visit to Geoff and Helen,s lovely Villa Ivy.We stayed in May 2011 and again this year.Fabulous apartments with everything you could possible need,in a glorious position,it felt like going home,so easy and comfortable.The views are spectacular and Cavtat is a real gem with friendly locals.We are sorry we missed Helen this time but we will be back,hopefully in the not too distant future. It,s a fabulous place in all respects..Kevin and Janice

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwill57245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have just spent two wonderful weeks in Croatia, staying at Villa Ivy in Cavtat owned by Geoff and Helen, who made it all possible and easy. This was our rather hesitant visit to a new country, but we needn’t have worried, as nothing was too much trouble for our (UK) hosts, who even collected us from the airport by Jaguar, also stopping off for our very own choice of bread en route to their villa, then going far beyond duty in providing a home from home as well as guidance in a strange country.
It was entirely up to us when to do our own thing, or take advantage of our hosts’ expertise and knowledge, which included an escorted and superb ‘mountain trip’, fuelled by Geoff’s home-made pear-brandy picnic refreshment at the viewpoint above the airport landing-strip (timed for some arrivals), then finished off with an authentic lunch at an enchanting and remote restaurant. We also felt comfortable in going it alone, knowing that any necessary assistance was only a mobile phone call away (again, thoughtfully provided by our hosts, pre-loaded with their contact details). Plus we appreciated some of the personal ‘room service’ touches, such as a bottle of champagne with greetings card (delivered rather uniquely between floors - see pics) on our wedding anniversary which was spent there.
We can highly recommend Villa Ivy, which – as it offers great views – does mean a 15-20 minute but pleasant walk down into the harbour-side town, where we found some great restaurants as well as friendly locals. The return means a bit of a hill, of course, but is assisted when required by excellent, orange stretch limos (the number 10 bus!) and taxis at reasonable prices.
Villa Ivy is also well placed both for the airport and Dubrovnik itself – the latter via either a delightfully refreshing boat trip or (again) the same trusty bus.
In all, Villa Ivy is a home from home, where we were treated like important family and by the end of our stay felt we’d made new friends. You will not be disappointed if you give Villa Ivy a try – we are already booking for next year. You will be safe with Geoff and Helen, who care in every possible way. The attention to detail is second to none – everything you could ever want or need is already there.
We give it a very well-deserved ***** FIVE STARS!!

Room Tip: We liked the one-bedroomed apartment on the middle floor, with a wraparound terrace, enabling both g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful wonderful week staying at Villa Ivy. Both myself and my wife (and in-laws) have never been made more welcome by anyone anywhere in the world and believe me when i say we've stayed in some exquisite places !! It appears that nothing seems too much trouble for hosts Geoff & Helen and nothing but nothing is overlooked, the villa has EVRYTHING you require and if it's not there..then simply ask, they really go beyond the call of duty when it come to looking after their guests. You truly would have to go out of your way to find fault with this place, from the Villa to the welcome to the views (which are stunning) not to mention the cleanliness of it, the food in the nearby restaurants in Cavtat is excellent and Cavtat is stunning in itself. We were gutted to have to leave, but, be in no doubt WE WILL BE BACK !!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAUL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Our long awaited second trip to Villa Ivy was equally as good as the first as every aspect of the holiday matched the extremely high standards set for our first visit. It is obvious that other visitors find the same as there are so many return visitors. In fact, we had to book a year ahead! Geoff and Helen are excellent hosts; they cannot do enough to ensure your stay is the best possible. In particular, this time, they arranged a fantastic private trip to Mostar which will remain in our memories for a long time. It was both enjoyable and informative. We are now juggling future holiday dates so that we can reurn again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
1,024 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
2,507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.7 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#9 of 17 in Cavtat
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 17 in Cavtat
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ivy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ivy

Property: Villa Ivy
Address: S.S. Kranjcevica bb, Cavtat 20210, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cavtat
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Villa Ivy Hotel Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing