We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Views”
Review of Apartments Carol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartments Carol
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Dulverton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Superb Views”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed recently in Apartment #4, which is right at the top of the house with a sea view. I can echo all the previous comments, especially the contribution from 'andym99'. The view from the small balcony was truely fabulous, especially the sunsets. The pool is unheated and can be a little cool for a 'before breakfast' swim, but we braved it every day anyway. The walk into Cavtat centre takes around 20 minutes (downhill), with the return a little longer. It's only the last 200m or so of the walk back that is a bit steep, so we never bothered the owners at all for a lift, even though it was offered. There is a small cafe/restaurant adjacent to the pool, and Monica, the lady who looks after it cooked us a fabulous 3-course dinner (slow cooked Lamb & Potatoes) as a special treat one evening, table was set adjacent to the pool with the pool lights switched on and the food was wonderful. We plan on returning in 2012 and I wouldn't have any problem in recommending this Apartment to anyone. The #10 bus to Dubrovnik is cheaper than catching the boat, but of course travelling into Dubrovnik by sea is quite a unique experiance, and should not be missed. Boats leave throughout the day from a number of points in Cavtat and cost 80 Kuna return, and take around 45-50 minutes, calling at Lokrum on the way, the bus takes around 30 mins and costs 35 Kuna return.

Room Tip: Choose one of the apartments with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_BEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed in apartment 5 for 12 days in August 2011. 2 adults and 2 children. Bendis family (Ivo and his daughter Ivana) were excellent hosts and made sure everything about our stay was perfect. As per other comments they picked us up each evening from the Albatross hotel so we could avoid the up hill walk. However, note that the walk is not that bad anyway although smaller children may not agree with me!

Although 20 minutes from Cavtat centre the apartments are very close to a supermarket which is open 7 in the morning until 10 and night and also close to the number 10 bus stop which runs from Cavtat to Dubrovonik every 30 minutes and is a lot cheaper (and quicker) than getting the boat from Cavtat to Dubrovonik.Take care when crossing the road as it is quite busy. If you like walking there is a trail (the Ron Brown trail) which you can follow into th mountains with the start close to the bus stop.

The Bendis family will arrange pickup from the airport for you which is only 3 mies away.

Didn't have any problem with aircraft noise or noise from the main road.

Cavtat itself is a great little town. Very relaxed and not too busy with a few things to see and some good walks. A great place to stay if you want to see Dubrovonik but avoid the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andym99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We had a family holiday in apartment 6 from the 7th August this year. The apartments are clean and well supplied with all the items required to be able to enjoy a self catering holiday. Apartment 6 was bigger than we expected with two bedrooms and two bathrooms which could have easily housed 6 people. There was also a pull out bed in the lounge area of the apartment whichwe didn't use.

Teh apartment looks out over the bay with an unobstructed view of Dubrovnik int he distance. The sunsets were fantastic.

The pool area had about 20 loungers around it and we never went without a lounger as the apartments whilst busy did not hold too many people for the pool. The pool itself was bi enough for fun for the kids and was lovely and clean. It was cleaned most mornings!

The apartments have a restaurant whose chef Monica is superb. Good local food, inexpensive and very tasty. The mixed grill is superb!!

The only downside to the apartment is the location. It's about 20 minutes walk into Cavtat centre from the apartments, and it's mainly down hill; however the first night we walked back after a sumptuous meal in Cavtat was a struggle. Ivana and Ivo have a solution for this as they will happily run you doen into town and pick you up again from the half way point (before it gets too hilly) to compensate. We used this every night after the first experience. The fact you are on the hill hpwever lets you see the full cglory of the sunset in peace and tranquility.

There is a small fitness centre and spa inthe apartment complx which used a coupke of times. There is a small charge of 50 Kuna for an hour, which I suspect is necessary for the upkeep of the gym machines and the spa.

There is a supermarket less than 200m away which had everything you needed to keep the family fed and watered.

All in all a wonderful relaxing holiday in a really pleasant set of apartments with wonderful hosts!!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laticsbiffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We are two fifty-something couples and stayed her for one week early August this year. All the positive comments you read in other reviews are right. The Bendis family, despite what must have been a very difficult year, were incredibly friendly and welcoming. Also during the booking process Ivana was very efficient yet friendly in all her dealings with us. It was like emailing a friend. Ivana's Dad , Ivo, collected us from the airport, and five minutes later we were enjoying a cold ,(complementary), beer in the bar looking out over that amazing view.

We booked apartments 3&4,(studios), which have a small joint hall, and are ideal for 2 couples travelling together as we were, or even for a family. One faces back , the other front, both have small terraces, and even the rear terrace looks out over greenery, not concrete. There is a small road at the rear of the property but it's quiet as you are at the top of the town! Each apartment has it's own front door, however, so you can still happliy book just one of these apartments and have your privacy.
The apartments themselves were well equipped, more than adaquate shower room, very comfortable bed, (we were apartment 4 from memory).

The bar and small restaurant are really Monica's territory. She is Croatian but has lived many years in Australia - sorry Monica giving away your secrets! She is also a very lively lady, with a good ,and lively sense of humour, and she can cook very well indeed!! We ate at the apartments a number of times and the food was always very good indeed. We do think this is something they could make more of, as combined with the amazing views and sunsets, it beats most of the reataurants in town, ( unless you want posh and sit up and behave yourself places). I mean how many restarantsds you know will ask you were you would like to sit, and then start moving the furniture out onto the pool side so that you have a ringside seat at a sunset that really defies description - and which was different every night. The photos of them on this site do capture them. Amazing. You can also book breakfast if you want, but it was a little early for us lazy bones.

There is also an indoor exercise room with hot tub, but we didn't use it.

The apartments are up a steep hill and we would recommend that you accept the offer of a lift back up. going down is fine as you're on holiday and can stroll at your own pace.

Aircraft noise - as everyone else has said it really is not a problem, in fact we quite enjoyed watching the planes. They don't go directly overhead so the noise is quite diminished.

We booked Ivo's boat for a day and tootled around the bay. Had lunch on one of the islands in the bay. I'm not a swimmer but thoroughly enjoyed it. Do chose a calm day though. We took the ferry to Dubrovnik another day and it was a little choppy, but it is a must do. Beautiful old city. Also consider a trip to Kotor. It's in Montenegro, so you'll need your passport. Ivana can arrange for her brother to drive you there. It's about 2 hours each way. Kotor is at the end of a large, beautiful and very impressive fjord really. Kind of think Helms Deep in Lord of the Rings.Old walled town with mountains and fortifications directly behind.

The town of Cavtat itself is very pretty, with trees to the waters edge. It's tourism in its infancy. It's not boom boom land, but still bustly and plenty of people weatching to be done. A real mix of nationalities too.

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Try it think you'll like it!

Room Tip: there is a variety of accomodation available, from studio - a 2bed apart
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancashireSuem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I stayed at Carol apartments with my friends and family for 1 week in august 11.We stayed in apartment 5 which was big enough for the 5 of us with the 2 boys in bunk beds in the box room and my daughter on the bed settee in the lounge. It had a lovely balcony with views out to sea and the most amazing sunsets. The apartment was bright and clean although the kitchen was somewhat dated. There was also a large shaded terrace at the back with a barbecue.
The Bendis family were so lovely. They met us at the airport and within 10 mins we were sitting in the bar area having a drink. We hired their boat for the day and 1 evening Monica cooked for us all. The food was excellent.
Previous reviews talk of Kate the mother and I am sorry to say she passed away the week before we arrived. The family were very professional and put on a brave face for their guests.Our friends stayed in apartment 2 which was on the floor above. As it was smaller it was also cooler with the air con. The views from their balcony were even better.
There was always room around the pool with plenty of beds.
I would recommend these apartments to anyone although the views come at a price. the hill is steep to walk back up. They will run you back up if you ring them.
I have lovely memories of this holiday and I hope to return

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolnottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Stayed here for 2 weeks at the end of September. Booked directly with owners via e mail - always receiving prompt replies form Ivana the daughter who has excellent English.We were welcomed at the airport by Kate and have never had such a short transfer. However we were not troubled by aircraft noise at all during our stay. We stayed in apartment 2 and they are exactly as described - comfortable,spotlessly clean with facilities for basic cooking. Kate welcomed us with her home made cherry liquor and cherry cake - this was the first act of a great deal of kindnes shown to us by this family. Unfortunately, Kate became ill and was in hospital for most of our stay but Ivana took her mothers place in keeping things going. I had an insect bite which I reacted to very badly which meant several visits to the local casualty dept. Ivana insisted that her father would take me for every visit and the back and forth trips to Cavtat for various prescriptions. As I found it difficult to walk Ivana or her father insisted on ferrying me back to Cavtat /the beach- for a whole week, all this whilst visiting Kate in hospital. Ivana also took us to Clipi ond Sunday to see the folk dancing which was a lovely spectacle, there was also the opportunity to buy embroidered goods from the local women there. We hired a car for a day from the family - at a very competitive rate. Ivo took us for a boat ride around the bay and onto Supertar island on our last day - and would not accept payment for this. Due to my injury we ate at the small restaurant run by Monica on site on several evenings. The food was always excellent even though we were at the end of the season.
The views from the apartments are glorious - overlooking the sea with islands and Dubrovnik in the distance. They are also close to the start of the Ronald Brown pathway up the mountain if you like walking. The walk down to the pleasant pebbly beach takes about 10 to 15 mins - its on a quiet road. The water was crystal clear but you would need some sort of beach shoes - although there was sand a few yards out. The water was still fine for bathing at the end of September and the weather was beautiful then - just one day of heavy rain. I would agree with every complimentary thing on this site about Cavtat - so won't repeat these comments. What stands out most in my memory is the welcome and the kindness of the Bendis family and their complete honesty.WE hardly ever return to the same place for a hoiday - but we would to the Carol Apartments and to Cavtat.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monmamcymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

My husband, my son (13 years old) and I came back two weeks ago from Carol’s Apartment in Cavtat. It was an unforgettable and unfortunately too short vacation, we stayed there 8 days. I chose this apartment because of its really breathtaking sea view and because of the excellent reviews I read in Tripadvisor. Everything was just as promised. Kate picked us up from the airport Cilipi which is located 10 minutes from the apartment and brought us back the day we left. Kate is a very nice and really helpful host, she offered us lifts to Cavtat and back, since the apartments are located up the hill. Especially at night, after an abundant dinner in one of the excellent Cavtat restaurants (the best one in our opinion was Konoba Kolona) we enjoyed that we didn’t have to walk the way back up the hill. In many occasions we found tasty fresh fruits on our table, Kate brought them from her garden, we really appreciated it. As you can also read in other reviews, I can also confirm that the apartments are very clean and also very well furnished, nothing is missing! The pool is little but it can offer relaxing moments especially at the end of a day, after having visited the fantastic old city of Dubrovnik or after a beach day down in the crystal-clear see in Cavtat. We would really recommend a stay at Carols’s apartments and hope to come back again in the near future!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,063 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,607 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.7 mi away
Bacan Serviced Apartments
0.0 mi away
Apartments Zvrko
Apartments Zvrko
#10 of 18 in Cavtat
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Carol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Carol

Property: Apartments Carol
Address: Poluganje 29, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#8 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Apartments Carol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Carol Hotel Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing