We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment was perfect for our needs”
Review of Apartments Carol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cavtat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apartments Carol
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I booked a five day holiday in Cavtat travelling in the last week of October. I wanted to be close to Dubrovnik but slightly away from the hustle and bustle. Cavtat is a 25 minute journey away by bus.

We arrived at the airport and we picked up by the owner who does not speak much english. He showed us to our room and a few moments later his daughter arrived to give us some information about the area. We were about a five minute walk from the bus stop that goes to Dubrovnik [the number 10 bus]. From this location it was only 14 kuna per person to Dubrovnik. However when making the return journey it seems to be 17 kuna per person but I think that is because the bus driver assumes you are going to the bus station in Cavtat. We never worked out what the name of our bus stop was so it was easier to just pay the 34 Kuna for two people.

The only one downside was that when I had booked online I had asked for an apartment which was on the third floor but we were given one on the second floor and I could hear that the apartment above was occupied.
There was a decent sized living room and a large bedroom. We had our own balcony and small kitchen area. The shower room was very small and be aware that due to self catering you need to provide your own toilet roll. Luckily there is a store only 30 seconds walk from the apartment [literally across the road] and they sell everything you could need for your stay. In the apartment you were given washing up liquid and a tea towel along with some basic dishes.

The beds were comfy and there was free wifi in the apartment however on the second floor up this was a little unpredictable at times. The hotel has a swimming pool and at the end of October my husband and I were the only ones sunbathing beside it. The temperature was between 20-23 degrees most days. The exception being on the day we left it dropped to around 16 degrees.
There was a lot of noise in the hotel above and below our room. Because it was near the end of the season and for the last three days we were the only guests I think the owners were doing some renovation work and replacing units in some of the apartments.

I booked this hotel based on the reviews on trip advisor and the previous reviewers did not lie about the hill! The walk down the hill is about 15 minutes to the Hotel Albatross [this is a bit of a marker in Cavtat for judging journeys and also where the water taxi departs from to go to Dubrovnik by boat]. It is then another 10-15 minutes into the heart of the little town of Cavtat. It is small and picturesque but at the end of October [although the season hadn't quite ended] a lot was closed and there were not many activities there.

In the town there were two tourist places where you can book excursions. I got information from both and the next day went to Dubrovnik by bus. In Dubrovnik I found the same Montenegro tour for only 280 kuna per person instead of 320 as was advertised in Cavtat. They were also good enough to arrange a pick up from outside a hotel. This was a special offer because of the end of the season arriving. Montenegro is an absolute must visit location - it is one of the most scenic and naturally beautiful places I have ever visited.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mrs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed at Appartments Carol for 3 nights at the beginning of September. Ivana and her father were very helpful and made our stay a pleasant relaxing break. A special mention for Monica, the chef, who cooked delicious meals for us. - Made even more special by moving our table outside on to the terrace with amazing views. We had beautiful views of Dubrovnik across the bay from our balcony and also stunning sunsets. The pool was clean and the grounds well cared for. We hope to go back to the appartments and shall recommend them to our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

My partner and I stayed for 7 days in early September and chose it partly because of the recommendations we found here and were delighted from the moment we arrived.
Much of what we experienced is well covered by andym99 and Richard_BEE.
We would return!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed recently in Apartment #4, which is right at the top of the house with a sea view. I can echo all the previous comments, especially the contribution from 'andym99'. The view from the small balcony was truely fabulous, especially the sunsets. The pool is unheated and can be a little cool for a 'before breakfast' swim, but we braved it every day anyway. The walk into Cavtat centre takes around 20 minutes (downhill), with the return a little longer. It's only the last 200m or so of the walk back that is a bit steep, so we never bothered the owners at all for a lift, even though it was offered. There is a small cafe/restaurant adjacent to the pool, and Monica, the lady who looks after it cooked us a fabulous 3-course dinner (slow cooked Lamb & Potatoes) as a special treat one evening, table was set adjacent to the pool with the pool lights switched on and the food was wonderful. We plan on returning in 2012 and I wouldn't have any problem in recommending this Apartment to anyone. The #10 bus to Dubrovnik is cheaper than catching the boat, but of course travelling into Dubrovnik by sea is quite a unique experiance, and should not be missed. Boats leave throughout the day from a number of points in Cavtat and cost 80 Kuna return, and take around 45-50 minutes, calling at Lokrum on the way, the bus takes around 30 mins and costs 35 Kuna return.

Room Tip: Choose one of the apartments with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard_BEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed in apartment 5 for 12 days in August 2011. 2 adults and 2 children. Bendis family (Ivo and his daughter Ivana) were excellent hosts and made sure everything about our stay was perfect. As per other comments they picked us up each evening from the Albatross hotel so we could avoid the up hill walk. However, note that the walk is not that bad anyway although smaller children may not agree with me!

Although 20 minutes from Cavtat centre the apartments are very close to a supermarket which is open 7 in the morning until 10 and night and also close to the number 10 bus stop which runs from Cavtat to Dubrovonik every 30 minutes and is a lot cheaper (and quicker) than getting the boat from Cavtat to Dubrovonik.Take care when crossing the road as it is quite busy. If you like walking there is a trail (the Ron Brown trail) which you can follow into th mountains with the start close to the bus stop.

The Bendis family will arrange pickup from the airport for you which is only 3 mies away.

Didn't have any problem with aircraft noise or noise from the main road.

Cavtat itself is a great little town. Very relaxed and not too busy with a few things to see and some good walks. A great place to stay if you want to see Dubrovonik but avoid the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andym99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We had a family holiday in apartment 6 from the 7th August this year. The apartments are clean and well supplied with all the items required to be able to enjoy a self catering holiday. Apartment 6 was bigger than we expected with two bedrooms and two bathrooms which could have easily housed 6 people. There was also a pull out bed in the lounge area of the apartment whichwe didn't use.

Teh apartment looks out over the bay with an unobstructed view of Dubrovnik int he distance. The sunsets were fantastic.

The pool area had about 20 loungers around it and we never went without a lounger as the apartments whilst busy did not hold too many people for the pool. The pool itself was bi enough for fun for the kids and was lovely and clean. It was cleaned most mornings!

The apartments have a restaurant whose chef Monica is superb. Good local food, inexpensive and very tasty. The mixed grill is superb!!

The only downside to the apartment is the location. It's about 20 minutes walk into Cavtat centre from the apartments, and it's mainly down hill; however the first night we walked back after a sumptuous meal in Cavtat was a struggle. Ivana and Ivo have a solution for this as they will happily run you doen into town and pick you up again from the half way point (before it gets too hilly) to compensate. We used this every night after the first experience. The fact you are on the hill hpwever lets you see the full cglory of the sunset in peace and tranquility.

There is a small fitness centre and spa inthe apartment complx which used a coupke of times. There is a small charge of 50 Kuna for an hour, which I suspect is necessary for the upkeep of the gym machines and the spa.

There is a supermarket less than 200m away which had everything you needed to keep the family fed and watered.

All in all a wonderful relaxing holiday in a really pleasant set of apartments with wonderful hosts!!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laticsbiffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We are two fifty-something couples and stayed her for one week early August this year. All the positive comments you read in other reviews are right. The Bendis family, despite what must have been a very difficult year, were incredibly friendly and welcoming. Also during the booking process Ivana was very efficient yet friendly in all her dealings with us. It was like emailing a friend. Ivana's Dad , Ivo, collected us from the airport, and five minutes later we were enjoying a cold ,(complementary), beer in the bar looking out over that amazing view.

We booked apartments 3&4,(studios), which have a small joint hall, and are ideal for 2 couples travelling together as we were, or even for a family. One faces back , the other front, both have small terraces, and even the rear terrace looks out over greenery, not concrete. There is a small road at the rear of the property but it's quiet as you are at the top of the town! Each apartment has it's own front door, however, so you can still happliy book just one of these apartments and have your privacy.
The apartments themselves were well equipped, more than adaquate shower room, very comfortable bed, (we were apartment 4 from memory).

The bar and small restaurant are really Monica's territory. She is Croatian but has lived many years in Australia - sorry Monica giving away your secrets! She is also a very lively lady, with a good ,and lively sense of humour, and she can cook very well indeed!! We ate at the apartments a number of times and the food was always very good indeed. We do think this is something they could make more of, as combined with the amazing views and sunsets, it beats most of the reataurants in town, ( unless you want posh and sit up and behave yourself places). I mean how many restarantsds you know will ask you were you would like to sit, and then start moving the furniture out onto the pool side so that you have a ringside seat at a sunset that really defies description - and which was different every night. The photos of them on this site do capture them. Amazing. You can also book breakfast if you want, but it was a little early for us lazy bones.

There is also an indoor exercise room with hot tub, but we didn't use it.

The apartments are up a steep hill and we would recommend that you accept the offer of a lift back up. going down is fine as you're on holiday and can stroll at your own pace.

Aircraft noise - as everyone else has said it really is not a problem, in fact we quite enjoyed watching the planes. They don't go directly overhead so the noise is quite diminished.

We booked Ivo's boat for a day and tootled around the bay. Had lunch on one of the islands in the bay. I'm not a swimmer but thoroughly enjoyed it. Do chose a calm day though. We took the ferry to Dubrovnik another day and it was a little choppy, but it is a must do. Beautiful old city. Also consider a trip to Kotor. It's in Montenegro, so you'll need your passport. Ivana can arrange for her brother to drive you there. It's about 2 hours each way. Kotor is at the end of a large, beautiful and very impressive fjord really. Kind of think Helms Deep in Lord of the Rings.Old walled town with mountains and fortifications directly behind.

The town of Cavtat itself is very pretty, with trees to the waters edge. It's tourism in its infancy. It's not boom boom land, but still bustly and plenty of people weatching to be done. A real mix of nationalities too.

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Try it think you'll like it!

Room Tip: there is a variety of accomodation available, from studio - a 2bed apart
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LancashireSuem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,842 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.7 mi away
Bacan Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 18 in Cavtat
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Carol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Carol

Address: Poluganje 29, Cavtat, Konavle 20207, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#8 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Apartments Carol Hotel Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing