We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well equipped apartment with fantastic views and friendly service”
Review of Apartments Carol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartments Carol
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Colchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well equipped apartment with fantastic views and friendly service”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We are a mature couple who stayed in apartment 5 which was spacious (accommodates 4), comfortable,clean and very well equipped. Views from the balcony were beautiful and the facilities were great (pool, restaurant, nearby supermarket and access to public transport). We met Ivana on arrival, who made arrangements to meet with us when we got a really enthusiastic briefing on the area and the services offered including the offers of lifts to and from Cavtat that we used a couple of times.
The hill is a challenge! But we managed it and only succumbed to requesting a lift when really necessary which was given efficiently and courteously. Carol's brother took us to Cillipi to a folk dancing event which was delightful. We also hired their car for three days for €40 per day and drove into Montenegro and Bosnia which was interesting and worth doing. Ivana is passionate about the local region and gave us lots of really useful information.
The only thing that bothered us a little and that was a noisy aircon unit on our balcony (for other apartments).
We would certainly recommend these apartments particularly because of the warm reception from the Bendis family and the high standard of the apartments.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Trumble2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed in Apartment 6 which was spotlessly clean and well equipped. Views from the apartment were amazing, especially the sunsets. The pool was lovely with lots of sunbeds for relaxing. We hadn't expected a restaurant at Apartments Carol so it was a pleasant surprise to find that it was open from 3 p.m. daily and the food was very good. Although the apartments are located on a hill this didn't deter us from walking into Cavtat, although there was always the offer of a lift from the family or the bus that ran into town. The Bendis family were so helpful throughout our stay with Ivana picking us up in Dubrovnik and acquainting us with all the facilities at the apartments upon arrival. The Bendis family were all very helpful with Carol being on site to answer questions and her brother taking us on trips to Mostar and a local vineyard which were both really enjoyable. We had a great holiday and would definitely return to Apartments Carol.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela0858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just returned from Apartments Carol! We are married, with our first baby and this was our first holiday abroad with her - aged 5 months.

The positives: The views were so beautiful and the pool area was so peaceful and relaxing. We enjoyed the first few days around the pool and all other guests were so friendly towards our daughter, which made the holiday even more enjoyable! I cannot praise the staff enough for their efforts to transport us to and from the town every morning and evening! We could have walked, but with the pram and entourage of baby toys / rubber ring / mosquito tent... (obvious first holiday with a baby!!!) it was easier to accept a lift. We made sure we tipped them, although they were reluctant to take it as they seemed genuinely fine with transporting us. The journey into Cavtat by car is 5 minutes if that. Then a 10 minute walk to the town.

We had travelled to Cavtat a year earlier and stayed at the Albatross. I much preferred Apartments Carol for how peaceful they were and for the stunning views.

Our apartment was number 3. We had a double bed, sofa bed, cot for our baby, kettle, two hobs, fridge, microwave, cutlery and plates. Lovely posh TV - but only BBC World News to watch!

We were collected from the airport and taken back at the end of the holiday and it was literally a 5 minute transport.

Negatives: Nobody met us when we got to our apartment! We didn't have chance to meet the owners, and therefore had no idea what time the bar / restaurant and breakfast was open. It would have been lovely to know who the staff were when we arrived! Also, you have to pay in cash as they won't take card payments. We found this out through another guest who had stayed a couple of nights. We wouldn't have known this otherwise as nobody told us.

Overall - we would go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view! We didn't have one but wish we did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misshels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I'll start with the positives - these apartments are clean and well equipped. The location is brilliant for watching sunsets from the balcony. It's also nice and quiet which made for a really relaxing holiday. The pool area is lovely.
We stayed in apartment 2 - one bedroom apartment. Our towels were changed every 2-3 days which was nice and the bin emptied.
One day when we came back to the apartment, there were 2 pieces of tiramisu in our fridge which was lovely!
We were offered lifts to and from Cavtat, although we never asked for one as we felt awkward doing so.
We were picked up from and taken to the airport (less than 5 min drive away) which was nice, although we noticed that we had been charged 22€ for this service on our bill as we left!

There aren't any major negative points, only really that we didn't really see the owners much at all during our holiday. If we'd had any problems, we were told we could knock on their apartment door, but it would have been nice for someone to be around (perhaps in the bar area) from time to time to speak to if we had a quick question.
Also, we had to ask to pay our bill and arrange what time we were being taken to the airport on our last day as we hadn't been given any information about this.

Overall, these are lovely apartments which I would recommend if you want a quiet holiday and are prepared to face the hill leading up to them! We are a young couple and had to pause at times during the walk up the hill to catch our breath (especially in the afternoon heat).
But don't let that put you off as the view from the balcony is worth it!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aeryn_Spacechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
200 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This was our first visit to Croatia and to Cavtat and after lots of research eventually settled on Apartments Carol. As we came via coach from Split to Dubrovnik bus station, we got the No. 10 bus to Obod and Ivana's father picked us up at the bus stop and whisked us to the apartment close by. It's 250 kuna in a taxi and 17 kuna by bus and as we were at the bus station it seems the practical thing to do. The buses run every 30 mins and are on time. There are a few tavernas over the road for a cool drink whilst you wait.

Check in went smoothly and we were in our apartment (#2) within 5 mins. The apartment consisted of a small sitting room, with satellite tv, air conditioning, small kitchen unit/wall cupboard with microwave, kettle, crockery, glassware, fridge and adequate cutery plus a various assorted of other dishes, pots and pans. A small table with chairs and outside. Through modern double doors, lay a outside table and chairs. There was no outside laundry rack, but one was given to me on request. There is a small supermarket (Tommy) at the top of the road - 5 mins walk.

The bedroom was a good size, with a dressing table with mirror, king size bed and adequate wardrobe and drawer space. There was also a hotel type bench for suitcases. Unfortunately the plug I used for the hairdryer was on the bedside table and there was no mirror - luckily I always take a small portable one with me as I have had this problem before.

The bathroom was very narrow and consisted of a good shower, (small hand held with large modern shower head) toilet, wash basin with mirrored cupboards above (too high up for me as I am only 5' hence the problem with not being able to dry my hair in the bathroom), a hotel type hairdryer with no nozzle was provided and towel rails. Hot water always.

Towels changed regularly, but no bedding changed. Apartment bins were emptied, but usually we did this ourselves.

We had a lovely view of the sea from the balcony. There was a lovely pool with sunbeds, a gym with Jacuzzi and a place with an iron and ironing board for use by guests. There was also use of a washing machine which was put to good use as we have previously been staying in Trogir. All outside areas were spotlessly clean and tidy. Free parking available in front of apartments.

Yes, the walk up the hill was a long hard slog in the heat, but you could get the bus and Ivana's father would take you and pick you up if asked. We did not like to bother him, but one night he was going down to pick someone up and offered us a lift. Ivana and all her family were so kind and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for any of them. It was a pleasant stroll down in the day or evening.

There was a small restaurant that opened at about 3pm every day that served food and drinks. Although we did not eat here in the evening we had snacks at the pool and the tomato bruschetta was delicious. It was a pity it did not open for breakfast as I am sure it would have got good custom. We used to walk into Cavtat.

All in all we had a fantastic week in Cavtat and would recommend this resort as a peaceful alternative to Dubrovnik. There is plenty to see and do and so many good places to eat and drink. People watching, yacht watching ( I say yacht but some of the boats were more like mini cruise liners)! Easy access to Dubrovnik via boat or No. 10 bus from the little bus station in town. Would definitely return to Cavtat as there is still plenty we did not get to see and do on the nearby islands and Montenegro.

The Zvrko apartments are in the same block and are owned by Ivana's aunt, but are booked separately. Our friends from Oz stayed here and the apartments looked similar.

Room Tip: Sea view with use of washing machine (if required) and satellite tv with English channels
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wilsonjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallow, ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Carol, Adriana & Ivo couldn't be more welcoming & helpful in every way. They offered lifts to & from Cavtat centre whenever we asked - it's a tough 25 minute uphill walk back especially in hot weather. We stayed in apt 4 which had an unbelievable sea view looking across into Dubrovnik. Apt. was comfortable even if Aircon was a little noisy. Apt had a fine large new Samsung Smart TV - only problem was no english speaking channels. Eating in their restaurant was good quality & good value - avoid the house white wine. We hired an Opel Astra car from the family for 2 days - €40 (or 300kuna) per day. Drove to Kotor & Budva in Montonegro one day - fabulous scenery. Drove to Mostar & Kravice waterfalls on the other day - also great. Cavtat is a great resort in its own right especially if you'd like to avoid the chaos & crowds in Dubrovnik. We plan to return

Room Tip: Apt 2 & 4 have fantastic sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aodan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

What can I say? This place is brilliant. A group of 8 of us girls stayed at these apartments 2 weeks ago now and it was fab.

We stayed in apartment 6 (the big one) and apartment 3. The first thing we noticed was how clean the place was. It was seriously spotless. Apartment 1 especially was really well equipped really spacious. The family who run these apartments are great, they were so accommodating to us and really went all out to make our stay special. When we arrived in Croatia, Ivo (the father) was ready and waiting for us at the airport and after a quick 5 minute journey we had arrived at the apartments. The return journey was just as smooth and stress free. The family also drove us all into Dubrovnik one evening (for a fee) and picked us up when we were ready to leave (3am!). This was hugely appreciated. Also when we were there we had a celebration for my sister. We asked them if we could use a BBQ and they went all out and cooked a huge meal for us on their grill. They even bought us in our favourite lemon beer that we had asked if they had a couple of nights earlier. I could go on about this family as they really couldn't have done any more for us. The food here is amazing. In fact, it was the best we had all holiday. I would seriously recommend eating here. The seafood platter is a must but as there were 8 of us and we ate here a couple of times, we tried a lot of the menu and it was all amazing. One thing that we didn't realise until we got there is that this place has a mini gym, a sauna and a jacuzzi (although it was a bit cold for us). It's a great addition to the apartments.

We chose croatia as a bit of an alternative place to have our girly holiday, as we just wanted to go out for nice meals, have a few drinks and mostly chill out throughout the day with a spot of sightseeing mixed in. We got exactly what we wanted! Cavtat itself is a lovely place. Quite quiet (at least it was when we went) and really relaxed. It is a really beautiful place with some amazing views and crystal clear waters. Dubrovnik is a 45 minute boat ride away (or 30 minutes by bus, I think) and its a must. Such a beautiful city. The beach there is amazing too. There are also a lot of boat excursions available to visit the islands along the coast.

Overall, we had a fabulous holiday in Croatia, which I am in no doubt was made better by the amazing accommodation and service we received from the Bendis family. The apartments are placed at the top of a very steep hill, so might not be for everyone, but the family do offer to pick you up from the bottom if it is before 10pm. With this in mind, we would all highly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cockatoo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.6 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
1.0 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#8 of 17 in Cavtat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#6 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Carol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Carol

Property: Apartments Carol
Address: Poluganje 29, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#8 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Apartments Carol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Carol Hotel Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing