We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place”
Review of Ciparis

Ciparis
Ranked #6 of 46 Restaurants in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$29
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We had a couple of meals here during a week long stay in the area. The food was fresh and delicious and the waiter was always very polite and would tell us little stories about the area and the food. You also get a stunning view of the sea. One of our favourite places to eat in cavtat

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    136
    35
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our favourite”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed in Cavtat from 10/05 - 17/05.

My partner and I ate at this restaurant 3 or 4 times. It is the only place we ate at more than once which should give an indication of how much we enjoyed it.

Regardless of what we ordered we always found the food to be delicious. A selection of meat, fresh seafood and pasta dishes are available.

The chap who runs the restaurant (Edvard I believe), is a friendly chap who people clearly warm to. I should imagine he gets a reasonable amount of repeat business as he treats people well and obviously takes pride in his work. He offered to take us to the airport for our return journey but we already had plans in place.

My other half had accidentally left a souvenir she had bought in the restaurant and the next day the two cooks made the effort to return it to us at the apartment we stayed at. They were aware that we were returning home that day and so wouldn't be back.

Back to the restaurant itself, I need to mention that Ciparis is also an excellent place to stop for a drink with nice views over the water and a nice atmosphere. It is positioned at a nice halfway point between some of the hotels and apartments at the other side of the village and the centre.

We plan on returning to Cavtat probably next year and Ciparis will most likely be a regular feature of our holiday.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Very surprised .. Very impressed ”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I've just spent the last week in Cavtat on business. I've dined out every night. As anyone who follows my profile knows " I am fussy ". Tonight was a gem of an evening. My starter was a mixed salad. My main was local tuna( cooked to perfection).. My wine was local white .. My bill €20 The best cooked meal of the week. There was no other restaurant, and I've tried another six , to come close to this for quality. As I leave tomorrow for Ireland it is my regret that tonight is my last night. I greatly like good quality food, this place is worth a visit and has that quality.

Helpful?
3 Thank MrGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Try somewhere else”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just back from an evening at this restaurant - sadly the best thing I can say about it is the Wifi connection is good!
Meal was very poor. Caesar salad was a mixture of lettuce raw onion, fatty ham slice diced red peppers,sliced tomato. Grilled chicken main was covered in a strong sauce reminiscent of burnt onion.
Not a pleasant experience. No wonder my husband and I were the only patrons.
Not very often Trip Advisor reviews get it wrong - sadly the reviews for this lace are no longer worthy of the 80% rating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tabacco”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Nightmare all in all.I read comment of man from ireland,he was right.I cant imagine how this is even on list for restaurants,this is not that.Only service at one point was ok,thats why i gave them 2 stars.Never again

Helpful?
1 Thank mladja54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ciparis also viewed

Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Ciparis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing