We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in a great location in beautiful Cavtat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
lancs
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Value for money in a great location in beautiful Cavtat”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The hotel has a superb location across a small road from the pebbly Albatros beach. This location becomes a spectacular one in the evening as it provides a most stunning vivid scene as the sun sets over the horizon with the city of Dubrovnik in the distance.The beach itself is a hub of activity during the daytime offering the usual array of beach facilities such as sunbeds, pedaloes, sea kayaks etc - all payable. A variety of local businesses offer a range of boat trips directly from the beach, including regular services to Dubrovnik where you arrive directly at the city walls via the old port.

A 15 minute stroll around the bay takes you from the hotel into the centre of this most picturesque resort, with its Marina and adequate range of cafe bars and restaurants.

The hotel itself is a standard 4* property, albeit a little dated in places, noticeably around the uninspiring Front Entrance and Reception area. Apart from this the hotel provides most of the things one would expect from a 4* rating, with just a couple of gripes outlined a little later. We had a sea view room on the 1st floor which was more than adequate in terms size and fittings. The view was one which overlooked the extensive pool area and beach, and contained a good size balcony (although one which lacked any privacy). The fridge in the room was not stocked at any time which provided the opportunity to store cool drinks purchased at the local supermarket. Daily housekeeping was of a very high standard. As the temperatures rose the air conditioning was switched on so keeping the room at a comfortable temperature. Safes are provided in the room but at a small charge.

The pool area is a very attractive one with the large circular pools surrounded by sunbeds including a large number which provide permanent shade from fixed sunshades (always the 1st ones to be claimed!), Plenty of standard sun umbrellas are available around the whole complex however. The only irritant we found around the pools was the fact that a number of locals from the beach tended to wander freely onto the area at times and treat the pool as their own. This could spoil the generally quiet atmosphere and disrupt leisure swimming by guests who had paid for the privilige. Perhaps this is something hotel management need to look at.

The restaurant provided in our opinion exceptionally good quality in terms of the standard and range of food on offer. Fresh fish and meat cooked on the grill while you wait, together with a wide range of 'pre cooked' dishes. We stayed for 11 nights and never tired of the menu. We preferred to eat outside on the terrace and were a little disappointed at times with the table service which fell below 4* standard at times. To eat a 3 course meal without any clearance of plates from previous courses was a little disappointing. I would stress that little blame should be attached to the staff who were run off their feet, it was clear that the area was understaffed.

I cant comment on the Indoor Pool or Gym as they were closed with the Gym area being redecorated.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly consider a return to the Albatros.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DarwenRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    548
    312
    76
    41
See reviews for
378
605
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

returned to england today after staying at the albatros from june 10th-17th 2012 for my wife and myselfs honeymoon and i cant praise it highly enough, every aspect was more than i could of hoped for.My wife is 27 and i am 29 and we was worried it might be full of 18-30 drunken louts but it was far from it, it was couples aged 40-80 and a few families with young kids. we had a great room with pool and sea view and the room was so clean and kept tidy by the very hardworking staff. the whole hotel was spotlessly clean as was the whole of cavtat, never saw any litter anywhere, the locals truly are very proud and rightly so of their community.We stayed half board and the breakfasts and dinners we so fresh and tasty and the staff were so polite and kept the tables cleared as soon as you finished eating. night time entertainment was also very good. I have to mention 2 people tht made it an even better stay and that is firstly the guy in the lobby with his handmade jewlerry shop, he was so helpful throughout our stay and upon learning it was our honeymoon refused to charge us for a bracelet my wife wanted to buy, he gave it to her as a gift and it should of been 150 kunas/about £16. The second person i must mention is big michael that has the excursion booth about 50 yards along the road to the left end of the beach, he was so helpful and couldnt do enough to make us feel at home even tho he has nothing to do with the hotel. So all in all i can say that cavtat and is fantastic and you will be hard pushed to find somewhere as nice and great value for money as the albatros, cant wait to return for our first anniversary

Room Tip: we had room A 236 great views and big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This hotel gives excellent value for money. Food is very good, with lots of choice at all meal times, with the fish meal being excellent. The hotel was spotlessly clean, and the staff in all departments were friendly, couteous and efficient. The room was spacious, airy and clean. The location of the hotel was in a beautiful area, although the beach was shingle, but compensated by the lovely swimming and paddling pools. A quiet hotel, but with entertaiment, both during the day and evening. There is a frequent ferry service to Dubrovnik a 45 minute crossing, or if you prefer, after a 10 minute walk to Cavtat, a bus service to Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Following weeks cruise along the Dalmation Coast we stayed at this Hotel all incl for the last week of May. Good location and excellent value for money. Good quality of food , with plenty of choice to suit all people ,staff were very obliging and helpful One complaint similar to trickydicky report and that is dress code , it not fair on the staff who are exceptionally well dressed at all meal times (especially at Dinner) to be confronted with noisy French vistors wearing shorts from the beach, this spoils the occasion. Location of Hotel is ideal especially if you are looking for a restfull holiday, no problems of Sunbeds and great pools for swimming . Bottom of the Grounds you will find the Boats to Dubrovnik and again just a short walk away the pretty village of Cavtat----I would have no hesitation in returning to this Hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Leonard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

very nice hotel.specialy for family holidays.I am coming every year there.my kids love to play tennis there with head coach Toni.His very professional coach and I recomend him so much.even some profi tennis players from Russia are very often come for pre-season to work with him and play on the fantastik beatyful corts.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Igor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We enjoyed 1 week all inclusive in May. The whole package was great value for money. Food excellent with plenty of choice and good quality and an abundance of wine. Staff really friendly and helpful. Plenty of sunbeds and both hotel and grounds kept clean and tidy. Although dress code asks for trousers in the evening it is not enforced, which is a shame as there was a strong French contingent who would not conform, so the dining room was filled with noisy French coming straightoff the beach!!!! The village of Cavtat is quite delightful and just how the Med was before it was spoilt.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the East tend to get rather hot from the early morning sun but cooler in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank trickydicky43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Remisens Hotel Albatros, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your review from your recent stay among us at Iberostar Albatros. It´s a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed our hotel services and facilities.

We do our best to make our guest to respect dress code with force the situation. We will certainly take into our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the cleanliness in your room and felt so well attended to by our staff. Thank very much for your positive comments regarding our cuisine and the amiability of our staff both elements are of prime importance to Iberostar. For us is very important that our guest feel welcome.

Thank you for sharing your experiences. We are sure that future travelers will find your tips helpful

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed for two weeks in May, on half boardand found the food very good, with plenty of choice, and no shortage of food.the hotel is clean, and so are the grounds.There are plenty of sun beds around the pool, and lots of space, and the majority of the staff are very helpful and polite.The air con is not switched on until the height of the season, and we had some really warm nights, so we moved from A block where the sun shone on the room all day, to a sea view room in B block, which was in the shade, so the room was much cooler.There is a lovely walk in to the beautiful village of Cavtat, where there are plenty of places to eat and drink, and a walk around the headland is recommended.There is no hotel shuttle bus to Dubrovnik, again until high season, but a boat can be boarded outside the hotel cost 160 kuna for two people, or by bus from Cavtat, which run very often.

Room Tip: Sea/pool view rooms in B block are cooler and have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank malandmaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.7 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,067 reviews
10.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
247 reviews
9.8 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#9 of 18 in Cavtat
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remisens Hotel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remisens Hotel Albatros

Property: Remisens Hotel Albatros
Address: Od Zala 1, Cavtat 20210, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Remisens Hotel Albatros 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Remisens Hotel Albatros (4*) is located right by the sea in the magnificent surroundings of the town of Cavtat, Croatia. This four-star hotel is the ideal choice for a relaxing and fun family holiday by the sea. The hotel is surrounded by lush parks where you can enjoy pleasant strolls, but at the same time is located close to the centre of Cavtat and just a few steps from the coast. The rooms are fully furnished and decorated with particular attention to detail in order to provide maximum comfort for guests. Some of the rooms offer direct sea views, while some are located at the side. However, they all provide the peace and quiet that you need on your holiday. Are you interested in organising congresses, conferences or other events? In Cavtat, guests can participate at professional meetings in a stress-free environment. If you are travelling on business, the Hotel Albatros is a great choice for your meeting, because it includes 3 conference rooms with all the necessary equipment and professional support from the members of the Group and Business Travel Department, who will make sure that your event runs as smoothly as possible. An internet connection is available in every room and also in the Internet Corner in the lobby, where you can enjoy all the advantages of the virtual world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Remisens Hotel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Albatros Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Albatros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing