We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and lovely pool area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great location and lovely pool area”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stunning views from seaward side rooms, hotel is clean and spacious and the pool area is sufficiently well stocked with poolside furniture to allow late arrivals to get a pitch.
Drinks selection in the bar was poor, service was slow and the local beer was almost tasteless, this generally resulted in the bar being under subscribed and was often closed by 10.30pm, bar staff would not serve double spirit measures under any circumstances even though we were paying guests.
Restaurant is a self service style buffet system serving a reasonable quality but repetitive menu, this is the second time I have been to this hotel and the food selection now excludes prawns and shellfish which I deeply miss. Restaurant staff were courteous but inexperienced , tables were often left un cleared after diner had left and getting some table service often required some gymnastics to get someones attention.
Breakfast again was buffet style and was very good indeed with a wide selection right through from hot full breakfasts to fruit and yoghurt, insufficient numbers of coffee machines resulted in long cues at busy periods, our trick was to pinch a couple of tea pots and fill each one repeatedly to prevent a coffee cup relay race.
This hotel would benefit from going bed and breakfast, the food was so good in the local independent restaurants we found ourselves eating out most nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank STEVE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    514
    286
    70
    39
See reviews for
351
554
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We just got back from a week at the Albatros, the weather was absolutely gorgeous, sunbathing every day. All three pools were freezing though. The hotel is being taken over by another firm so it was very quiet, which was also nice. I was there with my partner and my 6 year old son, he loved the activities ran by Ivan and Tin...Who I must say were brilliant, I hope they are still there after the take over.
He was able to learn Archery, Pistol shooting and rifle shooting and enjoy many games, he loved playing the the small pool, at least someone was brave enough to go in the water.
The food could get a bit bland sometimes, but they do try very hard to keep everyone happy, if you love pasta then this is the hotel for you, However, I loved all the cakes and breakfast was always great.
Our room was more than adequate and the cleaning staff were so polite and helpful, one lady even knocked on our door at 6pm to sweep our balcony...they never seem to stop. The waiting staff were always very polite and got drinks for you.
The location is stunning, our balcony overlooked the pools and straight out to sea, stunning. It is easy to access local towns, With Cavtat (savtat) being a gorgeous 20 min walk round the coastline. There are boat trips to dubrovnik which depart directly outside the hotel, very convenient...however, be careful, we booked a return trip for two adults (160kuna, child was free) and they did not bring us back to our starting location later on...we were dropped in cavtat and had to walk back, very tired and long day...only real complaint...which is not the hotel.
There is a lovely pebble beach right across from the hotel, across a tiny road. Its really lovely if you like relaxing and skimming stones.

I would definitely come back. Had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Let me start by saying we booked this last minute and so had an amazing deal - £340 AI and i would say that this was easily the best value holiday i have ever had. I've stayed at some top quality hotels in London, New York, Bangkok, Barbados and this isn't one of them...BUT, it was clean, functional and more than adequate. It certainly is a bit tired, but not horrible. The major plus was the view - right on the seafront and we could see Dubrovnik quite clearly from our balcony by day and night - we were in room A331. If you stay on this side of the hotel, keep your curtains closed during the day - even in the last week of October the sun heated the room like a sauna!! The food was really quite good and whilst a bit samey, there was a choice of at least 2 fish dishes, 4 meat dishes, 3 pasta, a couple of rice and a good variety of salads & soups & breads at lunch and dinner. Breakfast offered a similar range - fresh omelets, pancakes, croissants, donuts, and the normal accompaniments, plus cereals, fruit, cheese, cold meats and even veg!!! I honestly wonder about some people - at home you don't have salmon, tuna, squid, pork, chicken and beef plus veg, pasta, salad and spuds all in 1 meal and if you choose to load your plates with everything, then you will find the food the same. Desserts were a little bit of a letdown, but again, a decent selection plus fresh fruit and an excellent selection of cheese. If you go all inclusive, the beer was good, local spirits fine and the house wine was really quite good. Cavtat is a beautiful little fishing village and has a good selection of restaurants and bars, Dubrovnik is stunning and well worth a visit - I'd suggest by boat which was 70 kuna's, just under £10 return. Oh, change your money out there - at Gatwick the offer was 7.6 kunas to the pound - we got just shy of 9 in the hotel and i suspect you would have got slightly better in a bank. We booked through Thomson and also took a day trip to Montenegro - that was amazing. If you are not AI, you can eat out in local restaurants for around £10 a head, drinks were slightly less than £2 each and ciggies about £2.50 a pack for Ronhills and just under £3 for Marlboro (£1.50 in Montenegro!). All in all, a fabulous week and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: most rooms have a sea view, but try and get a room in A block either on 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NinfieldGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otaki, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Positives.
Fantastic location and beautiful outlook.
Close to the airport
Great little beach
Close to restaurants.
Not shy in the drink pouring (when you finally get to the bar)
Negatives
Some Reception and waiting staff were rude and was very difficult to get a drink at meal times.
Hotel is tired and needs an overhaul
Toilets near pool were closed for the season so you had to walk all the way back into the hotel and upstairs to go to the toilet.
Food was really repetitive and over cooked. Mock cream in all the deserts,
Shower doors need sorting out. Water everywhere
Pool was freezing
Wifi is a nightmare. Only available in the lobby with a code that sometimes worked and sometimes didn't.
They cook all the meat and fish in the restaurant area so it's gets very smoky and smelly in there and it gets into your clothing.
I didn't like the communal dining like feel in the restaurant. It would be nice to have some separation between the tables and not have it set out liK a school dining room.
Beds are very very firm.

The hotel did grow on us during the week, and we found out that the hotel was going through a change of ownership which may have accounted for some of the staff attitudes. This hotel has the potential to be amazing with a little bit of an overhaul and a refurbishment. It's in a great location and it has really good bones, it just needs to be brought back up to its former glory and it will be one of the best places to stay in the area.
Don't miss a boat trip to the élafianti islands, Mostar and Montenegro.
Would I use the hotel again, yes I would. But Until some changes are made this needs to be rated as 3 star so people's expectations are met.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jude P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Dismayed by the look of the hotel when we arrived, looked massive and concrete, but then we really enjoyed our stay. Disappointed with the restaurant staffs knowledge of Gluten Free food, just kept telling me better not when I asked if food was gluten free, although to be fair there was still plenty for me to eat. Would have liked the occasional dessert though. I had informed them before my stay that i was restricted to a Gluten Free diet.
The outdoor pool was absolutely freezing, but there was a lovely indoor pool which we used daily.
Everywhere was immaculately clean.
Wifi was expensive and restricted to the reception area. When will they wise up we just had a daily drink at wifi free places nearby.

Room Tip: Sea view room in B block if you like a sunlit balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue62derbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We've just returned from a fantastic week in the Albatros. We found the hotel staff to be helpful and friendly. The entertainment staff were brilliant and clearly worked very hard.

The facilities were excellent - indoor and outdoor pool, a huge gym (only weights machines though), hairdressers and shop. We were also pleasantly surprised by the free activities during the day including pistol shooting, aerobics, boules and archery.

We enjoyed the food - the buffet style suited us and we always found something that we liked. In particular, the fresh fish was delicious.

Cavtat itself is a lovely little resort with lots of restaurants and little pathways around the coast.

I'd also like to say the other guests were lovely- all very friendly.

Assuming nothing changes with the new hotel owners, I would definitely recommend this as a hotel and a resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Manchester71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Spent 2 weeks AI at this hotel and can say that it is a 4 star because of its position with beautiful sea views across to Dubrovnik, and the food, although much the same every day, is well cooked with a wide choice. Worth paying for a full sea view.
What I thought let it down whilst we were there was the attitude of most of the staff in the dining room and the bar. It always seemed an effort for them to serve you and never a smile or eye contact.
On many occasions we seemed invisible in the dining room as staff walked past the table, aware we had not been attended to for drinks or the table setting.

The bar is not much better with no waiter service the queues were sometimes endless.

There are tips boxes on the bar and dining room but I don't think the staff appreciate the fact that I have already paid for them to serve me in the price of the holiday, and tips are given for the service you receive, not for being there.
I always tip good friendly service but I saved money on this trip.

The animation team were different again, happy and smiling day and night, always willing to stop and chat. Oz and Tamara were the two mainly in our hotel and we really enjoyed there company.

Now the new owners and management are in I do hope they train there staff in customer care for next season.

Cavtat is a beautiful town only a 15 minute walk away but you can only get there down a road with one way traffic and no footpath.
Just be aware of the cars and vans that use the road as pedestrians have to walk on the side of the road that has a shear drop down to the rocks and sea.
There are stray dogs and cats in the area outside the hotel, down the road to Cavtat and in the town itself.

A visit to Dubrovnik is a must by either water or bus. It really is a lovely old town with lots of character and charm.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms on top floor with views across to Dubrovnik.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank grandadcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.7 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
10.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#7 of 17 in Cavtat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
8.0 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remisens Hotel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remisens Hotel Albatros

Property: Remisens Hotel Albatros
Address: Od Zala 1, Cavtat 20210, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Remisens Hotel Albatros 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Remisens Hotel Albatros (4*) is located right by the sea in the magnificent surroundings of the town of Cavtat, Croatia. This four-star hotel is the ideal choice for a relaxing and fun family holiday by the sea. The hotel is surrounded by lush parks where you can enjoy pleasant strolls, but at the same time is located close to the centre of Cavtat and just a few steps from the coast. The rooms are fully furnished and decorated with particular attention to detail in order to provide maximum comfort for guests. Some of the rooms offer direct sea views, while some are located at the side. However, they all provide the peace and quiet that you need on your holiday. Are you interested in organising congresses, conferences or other events? In Cavtat, guests can participate at professional meetings in a stress-free environment. If you are travelling on business, the Hotel Albatros is a great choice for your meeting, because it includes 3 conference rooms with all the necessary equipment and professional support from the members of the Group and Business Travel Department, who will make sure that your event runs as smoothly as possible. An internet connection is available in every room and also in the Internet Corner in the lobby, where you can enjoy all the advantages of the virtual world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Remisens Hotel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Albatros Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Albatros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing