We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Albatros Hotel has brilliant views across the sea to Dubrovnik. We arrived at 12 noon and our room was ready for 1.45pm. We were in B Block with a side sea view which got sun from noon till 7pm. It was lovely to sit on the balcony, which is only small, with a drink and watch the sun go down. According to the maintenance man our room had been refurbished and only 10 had been refurbished so far.

Someones review said there were no toiletries but there are soap and showergel containers fixed over the washhand basin and the bath which are more than adequate.

The safe in the wardrobe is free and there is a fridge in the room which we used for water, wine and beer and no one told us that we could not use it. The Saga Group had water and soft drinks supplied in their fridge. There was a leaflet in the room which had the cost of drinks for the fridge if you wanted it stocking up with their supplies.

The bedding was changed each week mid week and weekend on our 2 week stay. We had clean towels every day.

If you want pool towels you are charged 10 kuna per towel which is charged to your room. You are given a card which you take to the spa and they supply you with your towel and they can be changed any time without any extra charge. At the end of your stay you take your towels back and they give you your card which you take to reception and the cost is then taken off your room account.

Although I would say the food was average there was always plenty to eat. Usually, evening meal consisted of soup, salad, 2 sorts of fish, 2 or 3 types of meat, vegetables, chips, potatoes, pastas, cakes, fruit and ice cream. If the chef or management read this review please stop making the consome "beef soup" which was like weak "oxo" gravy. You could see through it. I agree with some other reviewers that sometimes the food could have been hotter especially at breakfast. I also agree that some nights there was a problem finding a table due to the large parties, mainly French, that go there and are allocated tables grouped together. Only one night did we have to ask for a table and we were shown to one straight away. You only have to ask.

There was always a queue at the bar because there was only ever one or two waiters serving.

All the hotel was kept clean. There were plenty of sunbeds. I dont know what it would be like at the height of the summer season.

The animation team were brilliant. We had some good laughs with them. We do not normally join in the activities but we enjoyed ourselves on this holiday. I played sjoelbak and shuffle board and my husband took part in archery, rifle shooting and pistol shooting. We also went on walks with Ozzren, Tamera and Tin. Hope you all like the photos I sent to Ozzren.

Cavtat is very beautiful but not very big. There are a couple of banks, a post office, one supermarket which does sell Coke Cola light by the way (another reviewer said they could not get any). Many bars and restaurants around the harbour and a small outside market.

Rooms for morning sun - A Block - mountain view/tennis courts and B Block pool/sea view.

Rooms for afternoon Sun - A Block - pool/sea view and B Block side sea view/garden.

A trip to Dubrovnik is a must. We went by bus and I have never seen so many people on one single decker bus. The driver did not leave anyone at a bus stop. When it was full at the front he opened the rear doors to let more get on. On a sign on the bus it said 34 seated plus standing total 93!!. I think we must have had 93 on as well.

Room Tip: Read details above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nora42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    514
    285
    70
    39
See reviews for
351
554
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel about 12 noon but our rooms were not ready until about 2 pm our room was clean.adequate but dated. I thought with the new owners there would have been a big refurbishment but disappointedly not. The hotel itself is big and very clean we even saw cleaners with scrubbing brush cleaning the entrance.
Reception are very helpful especially Anastacia who speaks 4 languages so please appreciate them and speak clearly.

The restaurant is big so I don't understand anyone saying they could not get a table we never had any problem. The food was very good and varied over the week my only complaint would be most mornings the bacon and sausages were cold which was disappointing as they were quite tasty.

The room does not have a kettle and you are not allowed to use your own if you do they state they will confiscate it until the end of your stay. There is a mini bar in the room but there again you are only allowed to stock up on their products even water which is so much dearer from them.
There is a TV which has English news and maybe a movie about 9 pm.
Bring enough clothes with you because there is no drying facilities on balcony.
The bathroom has both bath and overhead shower with plenty of hot water and something I have never seen before which was an emergency cord over the bath an excellent idea I feel. Please note the bath is very deep and may be a problem to get in and out of for some.
There is also the very welcome addition of a complimentary safe in the room another nice touch.
We were on the third floor A block and had a lovely sea view and the sun shone from about 1.30 pm until sunset,
There is a hairdresser on site which cost 30 euros for a cut and blow dry and I was very happy with the service.
Please note if you are a smoker you cannot get English cigarettes in Cavtat or at duty free but at least at the airport you can have a cigarette in a very pleasant glass fronted smoke room which was very clean as the smoke is filtered out. It is situated on the upper floor of the terminal. The airport itself is very efficient and speedy.
You cannot get Diet Coke in Cavtat either Pepsi light was the nearest I could get.
If you wish to go to the toilet in town it will cost you 5 kuna but it is quite clean.
There is really not a lot in town banks and restaurants are plentiful a bakery which sells delicious cheese cake and rose rolls filled with cheese and ham.
The harbour is lovely with boats to Dubrovnik .
There is a small market area which sells lovely table cloths and cross stitch souvenirs if you go to DADA the lady there is lovely and does give you cheaper if you buy of her more than one. This lovely lady creates a lot of her work from November to April to support her family so please appreciate the time and effort she puts in to her wares.
My final comments are Cavtat is lovely but more suitable to adults.
Thank you for your time in reading my review I hope you find it helpful.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
16 Thank charleeBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Lovely hotel with spacious room in B block, beautiful side sea view across to Dubrovnik ,Room cleaned daily and bed changed, twice during the week. The staff are friendly but not enough of them. Bars are busy and long waiting time for drinks. Having read some of the previous reviews I would say that the hotels new owners are making changes..soap, telephone and lighting in corridors all now good, although the modem for the telephone does flash constantly and could be a problem for some at night. The pool areas and indeed all of the hotel is very , very clean and plenty of sunbeds. The biggest NEGATIVE in this hotel is the dining experience, as they cater for large tour groups..these were favoured with numbers of staff and pre-arranged seating. There are approximately 3 tables that are for 2 people, the rest being 4 / 8 seats, which, if you looked long enough you could "join" a table. The "supervisor" on duty was not helpful in assisting you find a table. Once again getting a drink was difficult due to poor staff to guest ratio. The food was plentiful and we did not have a problem choosing although ate out on 4 nights due to the poor seating arrangements. Cavtat itself is beautiful, the people friendly and we had a very relaxing holiday. I would not go with a young family as not enough to keep them amused, if I had teenagers it would have been hard to entertain them. Trip to Mostar was lovely , if a long day, due to border controls, but worth it. The boat trip to Dubrovnik costs 80 kuna return and is beautiful. We would go back but on a B&B basis.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Very large hotel with not enough staff for the number of guests. Rooms spacious and clean. Bar area too small with insufficient staff. Food like a canteen with very high volume of noise, with everyone searching for chairs or places to sit. No coffee available at night with your meal. Ideally situated for touring.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Lovely location, lovely views and lovely people! Though some areas may need a litttle updating -particularly the seating in the bar/gallery! The entertainment team are the best; Milorad, Ivan, Oz, Tamara, Tin and Valentina are just brilliant and are guaranteed to make you smile! Hvala!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank ladyhelen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a lovely week at this hotel, which is a perfect location on the beach in a gorgeous town. The hotel was clean and well kept. Staff were friendly and accommodating especially the animation team. The food was good and plentiful. A few minor niggles, but nothing to be put off returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
10 Thank tickingthelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonby
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Location and views are lovely. The hotel is quite dated and in need of refurbishment. Caveat village very nice great location handy for Dubrovnik. We found the food and drink good with a good choice/selection available. However, there are simply not enough staff for the numbers of guests staying here. We got to the point yesterday of wanting to go home or ask to be moved to another hotel. I'm afraid this is not a four star hotel. We are here now until the 8th May if the Management wish to discuss. We are disappointed. Think twice before coming to this hotel but do visit the Cavtat area it's lovely.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.7 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
10.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#7 of 17 in Cavtat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
8.0 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#12 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remisens Hotel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remisens Hotel Albatros

Property: Remisens Hotel Albatros
Address: Od Zala 1, Cavtat 20210, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Remisens Hotel Albatros 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Remisens Hotel Albatros (4*) is located right by the sea in the magnificent surroundings of the town of Cavtat, Croatia. This four-star hotel is the ideal choice for a relaxing and fun family holiday by the sea. The hotel is surrounded by lush parks where you can enjoy pleasant strolls, but at the same time is located close to the centre of Cavtat and just a few steps from the coast. The rooms are fully furnished and decorated with particular attention to detail in order to provide maximum comfort for guests. Some of the rooms offer direct sea views, while some are located at the side. However, they all provide the peace and quiet that you need on your holiday. Are you interested in organising congresses, conferences or other events? In Cavtat, guests can participate at professional meetings in a stress-free environment. If you are travelling on business, the Hotel Albatros is a great choice for your meeting, because it includes 3 conference rooms with all the necessary equipment and professional support from the members of the Group and Business Travel Department, who will make sure that your event runs as smoothly as possible. An internet connection is available in every room and also in the Internet Corner in the lobby, where you can enjoy all the advantages of the virtual world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Remisens Hotel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Albatros Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Albatros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing