We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel has so much going for it.The bedrooms are a good size and all face the sea.Always gallons of hot water. The food is good, varied and plentiful. All the staff are friendly and helpful and keep the hotel spotless. There is plenty of room for all guests in the communal areas, both inside and out. A lovely hotel, lovely position in a lovely country.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucy186351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    529
    296
    74
    39
See reviews for
360
573
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We went to Dubrovnik in 1982, when it was still Yugoslavia, and had a couple of trips on the bus to Cavtat. We had always said that we wanted to return, and weren't disappointed now that we've finally been back.
Obviously it's now much busier and more built up than it was, but the locals are very friendly and do their best to keep everywhere neat and tidy. There is much evidence in the buildings of the aftermath of the war, but there is also lots of renovation work that has already gone on and is still being done.
The HOTEL ALBATROS was a good place to be based. The decoration is perhaps a bit dated, but other than that it was always very clean and tidy - plenty of staff around at all times stocking up and tidying.
We are in our early 50s but we were very much the youngsters there, although as half term approached a few younger people started to appear. This wasn't a problem for us, but people wanting a livelier atmosphere might want to think twice. The entertainment team seemed very keen - we don't join in and were pleased that they didn't try and pressure us, though they were friendly and chatted when they weren't busy.
Our room was good - surprisingly spacious, and with a good sized bathroom. Though the shower screen was inadequate and we ended up flooding the bathroom each time we used it - but there was a drain in the floor, so it wasn't really a major issue.
All the rooms have a balcony with a sea view - ours was in B block and faced the garden. We were delighted to discover that we could actually see the Old Town of Dubrovnik from our balcony.
The food was good. There was always a good supply and plenty of choice at all meals, though perhaps the actual dishes on offer were a bit unadventurous - we would have preferred more local dishes, but I suppose if you're catering for several nationalities it doesn't always pay to be too local (always some fussy person who would complain!!). At breakfast there were staff making fresh pancakes, fried eggs etc and at the other meals there was always freshly cooked pizza and meats/fish cooked on the griddle. The fresh bread, available at all meals, was very nice!
The waiting and bar staff were mostly very friendly and helpful. I think we were there when it had only been open after the winter a little while, so initially some of the younger staff seemed to be finding their feet, but they soon got the hang of it and were cheerful.
The only criticism, if we have one, is that there was only one bar open at at time (apart from a brief overlap between 5-6pm) and at busy times you had to wait to be served as there were only one or two barmen at work. They coped well (mostly) but I think maybe the hotel will have to address this when the hotel is at full capacity.
We were on all inclusive and apart from being "tagged" - ie having to wear the conspicuous, wristband, it seemed to work OK. A little disappointed though, that, unlike in other AI hotels we've been to, we couldn't have cocktails on AI, however the sparkling wine (Napoleon) was definitely quaffable!!!!
The hotel is in an ideal location - you can easily walk into Cavtat round the pretty bays and there are two headlands to walk round too. You could probably do a different version of the walk each day for several days. Lots of pretty flowers too. Nice ice cream shop en route!! One day we walked up to the perimeter of Dubrovnik airport and watched the planes landing and taking off over us!! Some people might not like the fact that the hotel's under the flight path, but the planes aren't hugely noisy and we enjoyed spotting them.
Overall a very enjoyable holiday. We hired a car for 5 days and had interesting trips to Montenegro, Bosnia (though the cyrillic alphabet made it difficult to read road signs), the Peljesac Peninsula and to the areas of Dubrovnik difficult to reach by bus. We also had a boat trip to Dubrovnik (70Hka each) which was good.
Please note - though some places accept Euros, Croatia does not have the Euro as its currency - we came across many people having difficulties because they'd assumed this and Euros were the only money they took. We took Kunas, though the exchange rate is better over there (even in the hotel) so you might want to just take enough to get you by and then exchange sterling once you're there. Montenegro does use the Euro so a few might be handy.
We went with Jet2 which was good - our rep in the hotel Anamarija - a local girl - was lovely and very helpful.
We will definitely go back again at some point

Room Tip: We had 263 in Block B Block A is better is you have mobility problems as there is a ramp to the lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Aphroditeschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Can I just say that Hotel Albatros has the best entertainment team I have ever come across. Ivan, Tin, Temera, Valentina and the boss of them all. They were fun, persuasive, great with the children, happy, talented, hilarious, comical and without them we would not have tried lots of new things such as archery, shooting, shuba, boules, basketball, water aerobics and much more. They personally came to say goodbye as we left and the holiday would not have been as much fun without them. We will definitely be back! The hotel was clean, great service and the food was amazing. Right on the edge of the sea with amazing sunsets! After hearing it had been taken over before we went I was a bit concerned but you certainly could not tell as it was effectively and efficiently run. Well done!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephaniehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Spotlessly clean, comfortable rooms & plenty staff when we were there last week. However, don't book a room in block A unless you want to be kept awake by the "entertainment" until 1.30am most nights - loud disco music! Rooms face the sun during the day and are like saunas and the air conditioning is haphazard so it is suffocation or put up with the noise!! Food excellent but dining area too like a canteen - great when you can eat outside though which we did!! Good family hotel but too noisy for me!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel itself is lovely and the views tremendous. The walk into the small village takes about 15 minutes but be careful walking at night at it is poorly lit and there is a drop of 6 feet on to rocks, a taxi cost 50 Kuna which is roughly £6. The rooms were adequately furnished and the swimming pool area quiet and relaxing probably because the average age was about 60, which suited us fine. The bar was very busy and there didn't seem to be enough staff on duty, we waited 20 minutes to be served and then just walked away as the barman was intent on putting glasses away. The restaurant was good, plenty choice but we sometimes found it difficult to get a seat depending on what time we ate. There was a group of Rock and Roll dancers from France who entertained us most morning and evenings but the best entertainment came from the animation staff of Tin, Ivan, Valentina and Tamara and their boss(sorry forgot his name)without them we would have gone out to a bar for entertainment and they also had activities. We tried our hand at Nordic walking in the rain, archery, rifle and pistol shooting, darts and French boules. The views from the village were stunning, there was plenty to explore, we went to Dubrovnik twice and also Montenegro which is also stunning. It was my husbands birthday while we were there and the hotel management gave him a bottle of champagne and a half price massage. Staff were friendly and obliging. There isn't much to buy in Cavtat, we did wonder where the locals bought their shopping and clothes from.

Room Tip: room 380 b block gets plenty sun in afternoon and there are no rooms above it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suziedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My friend Pam and I have just returned from a repeat visit to this hotel. Despite it changing hands since our last visit, we were keen to get back to this beautiful part of the world.
The hotel did not disappoint and we were very happy there for the week. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean and the little fridge is a bonus.The bathroom is large, has a shower over the bath, plenty of soft white towels and basic toiletries. There is a phone in the room but the free wi fi is good and worked all over the property.
The only negative about the room is the unbearable hard bed. It really gave me terrible back problems while I was there.
The restaurant was a little crowded at times, and the elderly Saga holiday makers have some hygiene issues, handling the food and then putting it back, but on the whole, dining was pleasant. The food was good and plentiful.
The pool are is kept perfectly, clean pools, sunbeds and immaculate gardens.The beach, across the road is pebbly but sandy once you go in the water.
The staff at the Albatros are all exceptional. The Animation team deserve a mention as they are polite, intelligent young people. They speak many languages, have a great sense of humour. They are a huge credit to the Albatros. Thank you Tamara, Oz, Tin, Valentina and Ivan, we really enjoyed seeing you all again.
The surrounding areas are so, so beautiful. Stunning scenery everywhere you go. We took a tour to Ston, Korcula and a wine tasting. An all day trip, but it was so interestingand the wine samples were exceedingly generous!!! We booked this trip with Anita, a charming blonde girl who sells her trips just along the road into the village of Cavtat.
All in all a wonderful holiday. We hope to be back again, and would thoroughly recommend this destination.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank westbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Although the hotel is very nice they really need more staff especially in the bar. There was one member of staff who looked very stressed as there was a long queue of people waiting to be served. Another time the barman seemed more interested in sorting the bottles on the shelf than serving. It's a lovely hotel super location and very clean it's just a shame about the staffing problems.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 661KayC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.7 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
2,497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
1,019 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#9 of 17 in Cavtat
256 reviews
9.8 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remisens Hotel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remisens Hotel Albatros

Property: Remisens Hotel Albatros
Address: Od Zala 1, Cavtat 20210, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Remisens Hotel Albatros 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Remisens Hotel Albatros (4*) is located right by the sea in the magnificent surroundings of the town of Cavtat, Croatia. This four-star hotel is the ideal choice for a relaxing and fun family holiday by the sea. The hotel is surrounded by lush parks where you can enjoy pleasant strolls, but at the same time is located close to the centre of Cavtat and just a few steps from the coast. The rooms are fully furnished and decorated with particular attention to detail in order to provide maximum comfort for guests. Some of the rooms offer direct sea views, while some are located at the side. However, they all provide the peace and quiet that you need on your holiday. Are you interested in organising congresses, conferences or other events? In Cavtat, guests can participate at professional meetings in a stress-free environment. If you are travelling on business, the Hotel Albatros is a great choice for your meeting, because it includes 3 conference rooms with all the necessary equipment and professional support from the members of the Group and Business Travel Department, who will make sure that your event runs as smoothly as possible. An internet connection is available in every room and also in the Internet Corner in the lobby, where you can enjoy all the advantages of the virtual world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Remisens Hotel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Albatros Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Albatros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing