We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK HOTEL IN OK LOCATION, BUT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Not a bad hotel for food, rooms and location, but! during July and August is very busy. The pool area is crowded and noisy, very early rise for sunbeds, polite British guests shame about the majority of others. Road to "beautiful" Savtat busy at times (no footpath)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sukiandberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,361)
There are newer reviews for Remisens Hotel Albatros
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2010

Spacious rooms all with lateral seaview, very clean hotel and surroundings, lots of outdoor tables for breakfast and dinner with seaview, on walking distance (15 min.) from the very beautiful village of Cavtat where you can spot very luxurious yachts, boot trip to historical Dubrovnik (1 hrs), no nightlife at hotel and surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilseke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Despite some dodgy reviews that I have read we found this hotel perfect for us. The location is great - just on the beach and only 10 minutes walk into Cavtat along a small road/path with breathtaking views. The bars outside the hotel are cheaper than those in Cavtat but the ones in the centre are brilliant just to sit and people watch and check out all the people living on the yachts!!!!! (Some famous!!)

We went to Dubrovnik twice during our two week stay. The first time on the boat which was 80 kuna return and then on the bus which was 24 kuna return. The bus takes you to the bus station which is about a 20 walk to the old town and the boat takes you direct to the Old Town. Dubrovnik is lovely and well worth visiting.

The food in the hotel was good. Breakfast had a good choice and the evening meals also had plenty of choice. Also the plates were hot!!! We had no problem at all with sun beds - no putting towels on early, but it did seem to get busier in our second week, so maybe mid to late July might be a different story.

So - I would recommend this hotel. Please dont hesitate to contact me if you want to ask anything.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank juliemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Just returned from a very nice break.
Hotel just a bit too big for my liking but very clean and the staff were very efficient and friendly.
If you want a couple of loungers by the pool be prepared to be up very early to "bag a bed" The beach is a far better option but although hotel run, you have to pay for the beds and umbrellas.
We only ate in the hotel on the first night beware this is not 4* fare, however there are lots of nice places to dine in Cavtat a short taxi ride away or 20 mins walk

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RossGounie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

The best holiday with no downside at all,(and I am not easy to please). Travel to Dubrovnic by bus(best view for pics!) and return by boat!! Glas boat great for scenery but poor on fish life. The staff and management are by far the best I have ever met,
Pool lovely and a few steps away is the sea which is stoney till you go in to swim and its all sand. every thing you need on the beach as well as lovely friendly boat people.
As I said I would find it hard to find fault withanything..It is not cheap but as an all in holiday I returned with most of my cash!! so go for it!! you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pakiepreachaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Having read some of the reviews on here, I was not sure what to expect - it seemed to be a pretty mixed bag! So I have to say I felt presently surprised!

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at Iberostar Albatros in Cavtat. This is a stunning little town a very short journey away from Dubrovnik airport. The staff all spoke perfect English, reception were friendly when we arrived and offered us a porter service for our luggage.

We had booked for a standard double room and hadn't paid the additional cost for a sea view. We found are room easily, and let ourselves in to a large triple room with a lovely little balcony that looked out over the mountain, the outdoor pools and the sea! The balconies are not big, and the wall between each one is very low, so do not expect privacy on your balcony!

The bathroom was also a good size with both a bath & shower. Our room was cleaned & tidied daily - although I'd recommend putting the "do not disturb" sign out the night before if you're not a morning bird. We didn't do this the first night and got a knock on the door from the chambermaid at 8am!

The breakfast is a good selection of hot foods (scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, bacon, beans, etc), omlettes cooked to order with your choice of filling, cereals, fruits, yogurts, breads, etc. I would recommend you cut your own bread though. They put out cut & uncut bread, but the cut bread appears to have been out some time and was always going stale. Dinners are not particularly exciting (we had paid for half board) - but they varied it each night and there was plenty of choice. We did pick up that it was cheaper to buy drinks at the lobby bar and taken them to dinner rather than order while we were down there.

The hotel is a short walk from Cavtat which is beautiful with a selection of restaurants and shops. You can get a bus directly from outside the hotel to Dubrovnik every day at 9:15 or 11, which costs 20kn. This was very useful. Also boats stop outside the hotel to take you to Dubrovnik. We booked an island boat tour through the tourist information in the hotel, which turned out to be a bit cheaper than the other operators.

The evening entertainment was terrible it has to be said! And at times was very very odd! Also I incorrectly assumed I would be able to access their gym for free as a guest, but there is a charge for each use!

If you are expecting a truly amazing hotel, the Albatros is not it. But it was very clean, with good size rooms, a lovely location and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

My husband, 3 year old son and I stayed in the Iberostar Albatros, in Cavtat for 10 nights this month. We arrived after dark and admittedly the hotel did have a very Eastern Block feel to it. We first stayed in the B wing, which although very, very clean, does need a good deal of modernisation. Our safe wasn't working though and as they couldn't fix it, they said they'd move us. As it was our wedding anniversary, my husband asked about upgrading the room and they had a suite available the next day. We went to view it and decided to move as it gave us much more room with the extra bed. I do feel that for 10 nights it was well worth the extra, which in euro was approx 350 for the 8 remaining nights. We were half board, which was a good thing as the road into Cavtat in the dark wouldn't have suited us with a buggy and there are only a couple of restaurants in the immediate vicinity outside. Having said that, the town of Cavtat was stunning to go to for lunch and we did this everyday. I kept taking photos every time we went in and realised I'd taken the same ones over and over. It's that beautiful. We were very lucky with the weather too, considering it was October and the beach outside the hotel, although very stony, was a great facility. Our little man spent a good bit of time in the pool and sea with us. The outdoor pools were freezing but the indoor one was a good bit warmer. The hotel was extremely busy when we were there, mostly with retired people, and the queues in the evening, especially, for dinner were quite long. Having said that, the food was good and varied and we had no problems getting veg and healthy food for our son. Apparently the B block is being renovated this winter when the hotel closes and I'd be interested in seeing how that goes. We didn't regret the extra expense of the upgrade as it did give alot of comfort and we had spectacular views over the sea and onto Dubrovnik. I'd recommend the boat service outside the hotel as a means to get to Dubrovnik, breathtaking views as you arrive. All in all the staff were excellent and more than helpful. The hotel was immaculately clean, the beauty salon very good. We both had treatments there and everyone spoke very good English. It was alot cheaper than the other hotels we priced and although it's a bit tired, it was well worth the money. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frequent_traveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.7 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,140 reviews
10.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,877 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,070 reviews
9.7 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#29 of 68 in Dubrovnik
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remisens Hotel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remisens Hotel Albatros

Address: Od Zala 1, Cavtat 20210, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: £37 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Remisens Hotel Albatros 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Remisens Hotel Albatros (4*) is located right by the sea in the magnificent surroundings of the town of Cavtat, Croatia. This four-star hotel is the ideal choice for a relaxing and fun family holiday by the sea. The hotel is surrounded by lush parks where you can enjoy pleasant strolls, but at the same time is located close to the centre of Cavtat and just a few steps from the coast. The rooms are fully furnished and decorated with particular attention to detail in order to provide maximum comfort for guests. Some of the rooms offer direct sea views, while some are located at the side. However, they all provide the peace and quiet that you need on your holiday. Are you interested in organising congresses, conferences or other events? In Cavtat, guests can participate at professional meetings in a stress-free environment. If you are travelling on business, the Hotel Albatros is a great choice for your meeting, because it includes 3 conference rooms with all the necessary equipment and professional support from the members of the Group and Business Travel Department, who will make sure that your event runs as smoothly as possible. An internet connection is available in every room and also in the Internet Corner in the lobby, where you can enjoy all the advantages of the virtual world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Remisens Hotel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Albatros Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Albatros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing