We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay one week with thomsons in hotel cavtat”
Review of Hotel Cavtat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cavtat
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Hi -this hotel confusing has changed management and gone "private". Whatever difference works. The room with sea view was clean and confortable and you can walk into town in at most 5 minutes and our balcony faced directly onto beautiful calm tranquil bay with lovely views all round. Hotel has pleasant dining room with ample breakfast to all tastes-recommend the fruit dishes and fried eggs and breads. The other buffet meal included has a good range of soups,salads, fish and sometimes pasta and meat. Bar drinks are quite cheap if you dont buy large bottles of wine- my wife hardly drinks for medical reasons-but my 2 half litres of draft beer,2 bottles of mineral water and one bottle beer,small local wine bottle came to £10 the week. We brought a continental adapter and our travel kettle worked perfectly. Our tv had the usual range of croatian, french and german channels plus cnn and bbc world but no radio-not be all and end as brought my own short wave. We had folk singers at dinner one night but were tired out every day from walks and bus/boat trips- so a quiet night was fine for us. We saw other hotels around-bigger and smaller. This suited us nicely.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank cornishpasty672161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iris D, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for detailed comments on the hotel “Cavtat”!

From your words I feel that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you had lovely time which is our main task! As we are 3* property we are trying to bring to our clients good service at reasonable prices. For us is very important to keep our clients happy within hotel that is why we created affordable offer.

It is always pleasure to read nice comments about hotel “Cavtat” for which I would like to thank you once more!

Team of the hotel “Cavtat” wishes you all the best and we hope to welcome you soon again!

Warmest regards from sunny Cavtat!

General Manager
Iris Domazet Malobabić

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,005 - 1,011 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

This hotel no longer comes under the Iberostar umbrella, having been taken over by a private firm. They have pulled out all the stops to make this a really comfortable and welcoming place to stay. All the rooms and public places are spotlessly clean and the staff really do make every effort to make you feel welcome.The hotel could not enjoy a better location and the views from the sea facing rooms are truly stunning. The things that a real nit picker could find fault with are very few in number and the only one we could find was that the restaurant staff didn't seem to have got the idea of topping up the supply of food quite right but towards the end of our weeks stay things had improved considerably. The bar area is a bit small, but with a lovely terrace outside overlooking the bay who needs to sit inside. Admittedly, it is right on the flight path for Dubrovnik airport but there are not that many flights daily so it really was not a problem. There is no swimmimg pool but there is a super roof terrace which gives even better views of the surrounding scenery. Once you get used to the idea that the floor levels seem upside down (sea level is 1, but reception is 4, because the hotel is built on a slope) you can navigate your way round ok. We will definitely go back there to enjoy some more delightful Croatian hospitality, set in an area of outstanding natural beauty.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra for a sea view. It's not a sterile sea view, because there are always l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank PeterSEastleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iris D, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Mr. Peter,

Thank you very much for nice words about the hotel “Cavtat”!

Yes, from this year we are no more part of the Iberostar company and we operate as private hotel. Since we are completely new team it is nice when our guests feel that we are doing our best to serve them. We did have some slightly problems in the begging coordinating entire team, but that is already behind us as we are doing our best each day to improve services.
You will have to visit us soon again so you can personally experience how improved service is in each detail.

We are 3* property but we are doing our best to deliver great service to our guests as guests` satisfaction is our main goal.

Team of the hotel “Cavtat” wishes you all the best and we hope to welcome you soon again!

Warmest regards from lovely Cavtat!

General Manager
Iris Domazet Malobabić

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Just back from a week stay in Cavtat Hotel, Cavat. It was previously an Iberostar Hotel and I think some people are worried it won't maintain it's high standards - but it was lovely. A very relaxing hotel, spotlessly clean, situated in a great location and the buffet food was fine too. We had a great stay - book the seaview room if possible - it's a gorgeous view overlooking the bay, pine trees and surrounding mountains.

Cavtat itself is a lovely picturesque town with various bars, restaurants, cafes and a few nice walks round the coast. No sandy beaches though - a few pebble beaches - but plenty of sunbeds and coves to sun bathe in. Water very clear and a lovely shade of blue/turquoise.

Easy to travel to Dubrovik by regular boat/bus service (No. 10).

A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a seaview - definitely worth the extra money for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank LittleBrittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The Iberstar cavtat hotel has change hands and is now THE CAVTAT HOTEL .
First and foremost our room at the front of the hotel had the most amazing view of the bay and was worth the cost of the hotel alone I cannot describe in words how wonderful it was.
Some reviews on here mention that the hotel is upside down with the reception at the top and back of the hotel, i think this is an advantage as you do not get buses dropping people off and disturbing the piece and quiet of the main hotel.
The room we had was small but adequate for the two of us as we travel light and only take essentials so no problem and the sound proving was good as we never heard a thing all night oh, apart from the aircraft but they seem to stop about 11pm so again no problem.
OK now for the bad part, the breakfast is fine but the same every morning not too bad a thing but worth a mention. The evening meal is i am afraid another matter ,it was never hot and not at all what you would call appetizing although one or two other people found it ok i just wonder what they have at home because it was not .Having said this we did not starve and to be honest for what they charge extra for half board I suppose its what you would expect, and can I just add the staff are all new to this hotel and I think still finding there feet so it should improve I am sure .Would I go back ? Yes Cavtat is without doubt the most ideal spot for a relaxing holiday and there are numerous places to eat at reasonable prices all along the bay .
Beer is about £2.80 a pint cigs £2 a packet and a meal will cost about £12-£15 a head with drink. Oh and the ice cream is to dye for for and a huge one will cost 7 kuna ,about 80p

Room Tip: Ask for a smoking room as these tend to be on the front with balcony and you cannot smoke in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank hutchoWorksopUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We were a group of 12 and booking in was easy for 5 rooms but we had to wait for ours to be cleared of guests. The receptionist was not at all helpful.
The overall experience of this hotel was exellent .We were all inclusive as were most of the other guests. Food was good with a changing variety every day .
The hotel was very clean and there were people cleaning inside and out continuously.
This hotel is in a great location with spectacular views .walks and availability of ferries to take you to Dubrovnic.
Would stay at this Hotel again

Room Tip: If you require a sea view you need to let them know at the time of booking and get confirmation in w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank hercules007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We hadn't been to Croatia before but would definately go back. Cavtat is a beautiful place and the people are so friendly. Hotel Cavtat was ideally situated, right on the sea front and just far enough out of the town not to be disturbed at night. We throughly enjoyed our stay even though our room was at the back of the hotel - should have taken other people's advice and paid for a sea view. Having said that our room was very clean and, let's face it, you don't go on holiday to stay in your room! The food was very good and the staff a credit to the hotel. Unfortunately the hotel was closing on the day we came home as it had been sold - so we couldn't really vouch for what it will be like in the future. The only downside would be getting around the hotel for anyone with a disability - there is no wheelchair access and, as the lifts only stop inbetween floors, its either a walk up stairs or down.

Montenegro is well worth a day trip. Try booking with the local travel agents near the bus station, it worked out much cheaper than the hotel trip. As a guide we paid £32 each, but take note you need Euros whilst there as they don't accept kunars.

Its cheaper to drink at the bar to the right of the hotel, but Dubrovnik is much more expensive - A small bottle Coca Cola cost £3!! The bus service to Durbrovnik runs about every 1/2 hour from the town and takes about 30mins. Try to get off at the first bus stop when you get to Dubrovnik and walk down hill to the old town, otherwise you will end up near the harbour where all the big boats dock and will be quite a distance from the old town. There is a 'Dubrovnik Ticket' you can buy which we think gets you unlimited bus journeys + entrance to attractions like the walk round the wall of the old town, so is definately value for money. (We found out about this after we had already paid separately).

We found it cheaper to book our flights and hotel separately. The hotel is only about a 10 minute drive from the airport and there are lots of taxis outside, the cost being about 100 kunars to Cavtat = approx £12.

Finally we found the exchange rate to be better in Croatia than at home + the water is safe to drink. So don't hesitate to visit this wonderful place, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank CurlyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Experience Manager, Iberostar at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time taken to write this detailed and nice feedback about us on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your facilities and services so much. We will pass on your comments to our team. They will be delighted to read them. I am sure they will help us to keep and even improve our commitment to guest service.

In regards to your comment please note that Iberostar has two other hotels in Croacia: Iberostar Albatros and Iberostar Epidaurus.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you are planning to visit us again.

Kindest Regards,
Online Experience Manager, Iberostar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

By the time you read this, the hotel may well be shut for re-furbishment (Nov 2011 Onwards I think). If the hotel re-opens with a more modern decor and facilities, then based on the location this hotel is ideal for being close to Cavtat centre, with it's collection of restaurants and cafe's.
I really hope they will be able to retain the same level of excellent staff, during our stay they were all very helpful and friendly, always willing to take a few minutes out for a chat.
The hotel decor while we were there (End of Sept 2011) was looking a little tired and dated, especially the rooms, ours had an aircon unit but it was not working, no tea or coffee facilites and no shampoos or soaps, all of which are fairly standard additions to hotel rooms these days.
This hotel does not have a pool, but they do have a bathing platform with sun beds for guests right opposite the hotel, the sea has a sectioned off area just for bathers. However, the sun bed area has limited areas for catching the sun at different times of the day, so you will have to shuffle about a bit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LesGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,859 reviews
0.3 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.1 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#7 of 18 in Cavtat
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#6 of 18 in Cavtat
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 18 in Cavtat
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavtat

Address: Tiha, 8 | Bay of Cavtat, Konavle, Cavtat, Konavle 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Cavtat Hotel)
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: £52 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavtat 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavtat in Cavtat, Croatia, situated in the Tiha Bay, on the shores of the Adriatic Sea is the perfect place for your holiday.Experience leisure, rest and full relaxation during your stay with us, our friendly staff will make sure you will want to come back years to come, great number of our guests already return every year to their favorite room.The Hotel is three star facility open from April to October, offers numerous services that ensure your holidays will be more comfortable, such as car parking, wireless Internet access in public areas, satellite TV and laundry service. Currency exchange and car hire, along with other services you might need, are available at our reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing