We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel - Great Location - Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cavtat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cavtat
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Great Location - Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Hotel has great location on front and only 4 -5 mins walk to harbour and town centre. Free parking available. Free WiFi in room. Room was simple but clean and very comfortable. Sea view from balcony was simply stunning. Our fly/drive was room and breakfast, and breakfast choice was very good and plentiful. We ate dinner on the sea terrace from al la carte menu, and though service was a little slow food was very good.

Staff were all very helpful and pleasant and our overall impressions were very favourable. Would recommend to others and certainly would be happy to return again.

Outside of hotel we used the restaurant Ivan [along the front road towards town]. Good location but food rather bland and bill was pricey. 100m in other direction from hotel is a great pizzaria with good Italian food at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ASC_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your nice impressions with Trip Advisor!
It is great pleasure when we receive nice compliments as it shows us in which direction we have to continue working!
I`m personally very proud of our staff as they are all so nice to guests, they are just enjoying their job and to be part of this hotel. I think that creates such cosy and comfortable atmosphere in the hotel.
We would be more than happy to welcome you again next year and thank you for recommendation!
Team of the hotel Cavtat send you warmest regards!

Iris Domazet Malobabić
General Manager of the hotel “Cavtat”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    362
    87
    17
    7
See reviews for
103
675
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Hotel Cavtat must have the best location of all the hotels in Cavtat, as it s only 200 yards from the centre, yet it is in a quite location with wonderfull views of the bay. If you are looking for a relaxing place to stay but close to the main centre this is the hotel to stay in. We stayed on a room at the front of the hotel with a sea view and balcony, and it was wonderfull just sat looking out over the bay from our balcony. The hotel has its own stretch of sunbeds and swimming area, but when we stayed suprisingly not many people seemed to be using them.
The bedroom was on the small size but with he balcony it was big enough. The hotel strangely has the reception on the top floor.
If traveling by taxi from Dubrovnic airport agree a fee with the taxi driver in advance and make him / her stick to it.
Our only disapointing part of the holiday was that although there are plenty of signs at taxi ranks telling you the price to other destinations, they charge extra for everything.i.e extra passenger, each piece of luggage.

Room Tip: rooms on the 3rd floor with a sea view and balcony are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bedford+Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you very much for nice comments for the hotel Cavtat on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased you enjoyed while being our guest.
I`m sorry you had problem with taxi driver, as in the hotel at front desk we also offer transfer services at normal prices. For example transfer from the airport to the hotel Cavtat is 14,00 EUR one way/for car that means for up to 3 pax and luggage as much as they can put in back. Also transfer from the hotel Cavtat to Dubrovnik is 27,00 EUR one way/for car.
As we are individual hotel we offer to our guests transfer service, excursions, car rental. Our goal is when guest arrives in our hotel we can really help him with different services to make his stay pleasant. Also all services are at “regular” prices as we made such agreements with our reliable partners.
Even though as 3* hotel we don`t have concierge service our front desk staff are trained on the way to help guests with any issue they might have. Please next time you visit us just contact our font desk as they will be more than happy to assist you. If you want to book some services prior your arrival just contact us on telephone +385 20 202 000 or send us mail on info@hotel-cavtat.hr
Looking forward to welcome you next year we send you warmest regards!

Iris Domazet Malobabić
General Manager of the hotel “Cavtat”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Just returned from our first holiday in Cavtat. This hotel is in a very good location and the staff we found to be very friendly and helpful. Thank you Dijana our lovely maid! We paid for a sea view and we did have a room facing the sea, despite a huge tree partly blocking the view, but it would seem that many of the rooms in this hotel would have this problem. Like many reviewers have said, the breakfasts were good with lots of choice (although the 2nd week, there was a lack of rolls by 8 a.m. and these were not replenished. However, still a good selection.) Unfortunately the evening buffet left much to be desired. The choice again became worse on the 2nd week and it is interesting to note on previous review that the General Manager feels that this last week was an improvement. We and others did complain but felt it was not being taken on board. I have no doubt there will be a response to say otherwise. We therefore ate out on a few occasions as there were evenings when I could not have a main meal as it was either fish or dried-up pasta. Having said that, I cannot fault the dining room staff as they were so helpful in advising my husband who is allergic to gluten and on many nights the chef made up a separate meal without sauces etc. although sometimes it was very limited as to choice for him (perhaps fish and spinach!). Two of the boys in particular who worked behind the buffet came to us immediately they saw us arrive and nothing was too much trouble to them. They are a credit to the hotel. I have no doubt that the staff are working well and it is a great pity that the food lets this hotel down. We would not return as we would prefer to eat out in the town. On a brighter note... yes, I got a hairdryer from reception as they do have a few, but it is many years since I have been in a hotel without a hairdryer in the shower room or bedroom.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nan Irvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor.
I`m glad our staff treated your husband well. We all knew that he has special requests sour chef was preparing himself before your arrival.
I have to apologise for the dinner on second week. That second week was probably period od 15th – 18th June as in those few days dinner wasn`t special. I have to be honest, I was on day upset because of situation with dinner (few days great and then one day goes down) so I held meeting with all staff from kitchen and I expressed them my opinion and dissatisfaction with such changes. Maybe I was bit too tough during the meeting that next few days dinner wasn`t good, and staff reply was that they were just unhappy after such meeting and bit depressed. Funny, but that is true. So I again had to explained them that I just want them to be good each night, to have continuing quality as it just pity when one day they shine like a star and next day they somehow lose themselves. Lately I think we catch routine and as far I can see each night guests are happy with their dinner.
I`m glad you wrote you got hairdryer from receptionist as I started being frustrated with comments “electrical implements are not allowed in the hotel Cavtat”.
Also I would like to inform you that we are planning to make refurbishment of the hotel during the winter period, one of the thing we will do is make few sockets in rooms and also hairdryer in each bathroom. This situation with hotel we inherited from former owner and two months wasn`t enough to change it all. Therefore we decided to wait till end of this season and start refurbishment in order to improve hotel facilities.
We all hope you will be our guests also next year when you will enjoy more in the hotel after refurbishment.

Warmest regards from sunny Cavtat!

Iris Domazet Malobabić
General Manager hotel “Cavtat”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We have just arrived back from yet another fabulous holiday to the Hotel Cavtat. The view from our room on the top floor was breathtaking with wonderful scenery in every direction and the hotel is perfectly positioned by the sea.

The new management can be proud of themselves for maintaining and improving the high standards of this hotel - the staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful, especially the waiters in the dining room. The variety of food on offer was not quite as good as when it was owned by Iberostar, but there was always something for everyone and we are sure it will improve with time.

On a slightly negative point, one of the two lifts was out of order for most of the week we were there, and the airconditioning in the reception area and the dining room did not seem to be working very efficiently. In addition it was very difficult to find a spare sunbed during the day as it seemed that guests were putting towels down very early in the morning and then leaving them there all day, even if they were not around the hotel. On one particular occasion we counted 18 sunbeds with towels on them and no-one around. Perhaps the new management could change their policy on this to ensure that guests all have chance to obtain a sunbed.

Apart from these minor points we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday in a lovely environment and we will certainly be back as soon as possible.

Cavtat itself is an absolute gem - relaxing but with lots to do and see if necessary. If you can manage the steps - try the Cafe Bar Belle Vue - it's on a tiny terrace up the steps behind the church at the far end of the bay. There are only around five tables and the owner lives there and she is extremely friendly. The views from the terrace over the harbour are fabulous, especially at night. It's our favourite spot for a drink after dinner away from the more lively bars in the harbour - and the prices are far less.

Room Tip: For beautiful views request a high floor room in the new block and definitely pay for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear GUest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions on hotel „Cavtat“ with Trip Advisor!
I have to inform you first that we finally fixed air-conditioning system at reception area and restaurant. We had problem as system just got broken, we were thinking to fix it and since it took us already lost of time to wait for some special parts as it is very hot we decided to buy new unites. Now it is again nice and fresh within all areas in the hotel.
Unfortunately we still have to wait for some special part for our second elevator (one is fixed), as its electronic board has to be ordered and imported from Germany. We only hope we will get that part soon as it is very inconvenient for all when only one elevator is working.
Those are the things we just can`t influent. While for the sunbeds you are right, it is not nice what some guests are doing. They just want to booked their sunbed even when they are not on the beach which is not nice thing to do. But now we also hired one young man just for the beach area to take care of such details so I hope situation will improve soon.

Thank you for nice comments on our staff as they are working hard and doing their best to treat our guests nicely. Such feedback is proving we are on good way!
We are hoping to host you again next year as our guest!
Warmest regards from team of the hotel “Cavtat” !

Iris Domazet Malobabić
General Manager hotel “Cavtat”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Just returned from hotel Cavtat, excellent location and room 365 top floor paid for seaview with balcony was worth it to wake up to the beautiful views of the horseshoe bay, excellent sunsets to,shame about the food it was like school dinners some times, staff very friendly, and the rooms were kept very clean with fresh towels and bed linen changed very regulary, i would suggest you stay B&B because there are lot's of lovely places to eat.

We book our excursions with delfin tours, which was excellent and saved ourselves a lot of money, they are situated on the right as you walk into the town, we went to montenegro with them and Lokrum Island.

Tourist office by the bus station in the town was very helpful with maps and gave us lots of information about Croatia and Cavtat.

If you want to do the three Island tour I suggest you use the large boat that come in about 9.45am and leaves at 10.00am you can pay on the boat the price is 250 kunas which includeds a picnic and drinks, the larger boats are more comfortable and more stable.

Water taxis go from the same harbour near bus station to dubrovnik, or the No10 bus every half hour, 20 kunas one wat about 45 minute journey by bus or boat, I would not use the boat on a windy day as the journey can be a bit choppy and rough.

Room Tip: Request a high room and pay the extra for sea view rooms are bigger and the views are beautiful, our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank yule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. I respect a lot Trip Advisor comments as they give us good feedback from our guests.
Each your comment is very valuable for us as it shows us what our advantages are and what disadvantages are, which part we have to improve.
You are right about food, we will didn`t get into routine to have each night good meals without hiccups but we are working on that and hopefully soon we will be good on daily base without any irregularities. I think this last week we finally get in the rhythm of having good meals each night as many guests confirmed us that cuisine did improve.
I hope you will come to visit us next year again so you can assure yourself that we have managed to get in routine of good dinner meals.
Team of the hotel Cavtat wishes you all the best and sends you warmest regards!

Iris Domazet Malobabic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

just returned from hotel cavtat cannot believe the change from last years visit, food is awful,it was like school dinners,and it was also cold and swimming in grease.staff in restaurant awful,dont set ur table and never any cups,spoons etc left if you dont dine early.such a shame since this hotel has been taken over standards have dropped in restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gertie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iris D, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding hotel Cavtat with us.
I feel really sorry if you had such a bed impression on hotel Cavtat and our service. We are aware that it will take a while to get in routine with daily operations but we do take care about our guests and are doing our best to give them the best service which prove other nice comments on Trip Advisor.
Anyway it is not excuse if you left hotel unhappy and I can only promise that we will work hard to improve daily services especially in restaurant area.
Team of the hotel Cavtat send you warmest regards from lovely and sunny Cavtat!

Iris Domazet Malobabic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

I was in two minds as to whether to rate this 4 or 5 as in my book it's really worth 4.5! In the end I've gone for full marks, even though it wasn't perfect, as one has to judge it in terms of value for money, and in that regard it certainly well exceed our expectations.

The food for example is not up to the standard one expects (but still might not get) in a 5-star establishment, but even so it was wholesome with sufficient choice on offer to suit most tastes and, importantly with a buffet, different from day-to-day. I agree with another contributor that desserts were a little limiting but this was more than made up for by the availability of excellent fresh fruit. We didn't think it necessary to eat out. The breakfast offering couldn't be faulted.

The hotel is superbly sited right on the waterfront and ideally placed for an evening stroll down to the harbour, around the peninsula or in the direction of the two Iberostar hotels around the bay (not for us, thank you). Cavtat (pronounced 'Tsavtat') is an idyllic location, but visitors do need to be aware that it is only a stone's throw from the airport and planes pass DIRECTLY overhead (which affects most of the other hotels & villas too), so you have to take this in your stride (luckily there aren't too many!).

Our room (no 126 on the link block) was fine with good lighting and plenty of cupboard space, although for some strange reason when it was originally built the access to the bathroom is very narrow. Blackout curtains were effective although because the a/c wasn't working as well as it should we had to have the balcony door (and curtains) open at night, which meant we suffered from road noise in the evening and early morning.

Hotel air-conditioning is seldom very effective but at least the Manageress recognises its importance, was genuinely concerned that it was affecting our well-being, and promised to get it further checked (because June was hotter than usual they had at least 'turned it on' a month earlier than under the previous management 's standard practice). Full marks to the maid who spotted we were having trouble with the heat on the first night and on her own initiative changed the duvet covers for sheets and the [rather thick] synthetic pillows for feather ones...

The hotel itself was very quiet and most guests seem to be of the older generation, be they Brits or German ()which suited us), and certainly no children. Please be aware however that this hotel is NOT suitable for those physically unable to use stairs, as the hotel is on a hillside and although there are two lifts most areas need to be accessed by at least a half-flight (with a full flight down to the promenade).

Non-hotel comments in passing:
Excellent ice cream shop opposite the bakers.
Dubrovnik walls a must-do (preferably when there's a cooling breeze), but most of the other 'inclusives' on the Tourist card a disappointment.
The Euro is the [only] currency in Montenegro.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris_and_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iris D, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for giving very nice marks to the hotel “Cavtat”.
Hotel is in fact one of the oldest hotels in Cavtat so that main building in the front wasn`t planed for elevator and now we do have sometimes problems even with our daily housekeeping services as maids always have to climb up and down. Especially it is not convenient for our senior guests as it is bit difficult for them always to climb the stairs but it is something we just inherited from the past.
Later on through the years were added connecting building and then new building next to reception area. That is why some rooms and bathrooms are quite small as it was typical way of construction of the hotels in that time. New owner is planning reconstruction in the future and we hope he will have plans to fix those disadvantages within hotel.
You are right regarding air-condition. Standard for this hotel is that AC works July-August full time, but as soon as guests told us in the begging of the June they feel hot in the evening we switched AC on.
We are very pleased you are happy with our service and food. It is now excuse but we really had short period to establish new standards within hotels, so sometimes we have “hiccups” with some services but as soon as guests point us we are trying to fix them.
We hope you will visit us again! In meantime we send you warmest regards from sunny Cavtat!

Iris Domazet Malobabic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castelletto
Hotel Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#8 of 17 in Cavtat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#7 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavtat

Property: Hotel Cavtat
Address: Tiha, 8 | Bay of Cavtat, Konavle, Cavtat 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Cavtat Hotel)
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Family Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavtat 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavtat in Cavtat, Croatia, situated in the Tiha Bay, on the shores of the Adriatic Sea is the perfect place for your holiday.Experience leisure, rest and full relaxation during your stay with us, our friendly staff will make sure you will want to come back years to come, great number of our guests already return every year to their favorite room.The Hotel is three star facility open from April to October, offers numerous services that ensure your holidays will be more comfortable, such as car parking, wireless Internet access in public areas, satellite TV and laundry service. Currency exchange and car hire, along with other services you might need, are available at our reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing