We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cavtat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cavtat
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Spent a week at this hotel with friends and could not fault it. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a sea view room on the 5th floor which had a very good sized balcony to take advantage of the stunning views over the bay. The room was well presented and had all facilities needed. The buffet breakfast had a very good range to choose from to set you up for the day. Unfortunately the rooftop pool is still under construction and hence the sun lounge area is also closed. We did know that this was the case before we travelled. There is a very nice terraced area just outside the hotel and good cafe serving food and drink.

Very good accommodation for our first trip to Croatia.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saltyb_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear saltyb_99,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. We are thrilled that you've enjoyed your holiday with us.
Actually, you had really luck, because you've stayed in one of our best (superior) rooms.
I really hope that you've loved it.

All our staff is always trying to please our guests, and to give a moment of their working time to all our guests to feel them important, because every guest is important for us.
Thank you for like our choise of food and all our services.

We're looking forward to welcome you again next season!

Kind regards,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    362
    87
    17
    7
See reviews for
103
674
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks from 12th May 2013 weather was not at its best but the hotel certainly was the swimming pool was not finished and the sunbathing area was closed but we were informed of the situation before travel and with the weather being the way it was it was not a problem but when it is finished it will be quite special with great views.The hotel has the best location, central with no nasty hills to climb its own bar with outside area serving meals etc.The staff are very polite and helpful,meals are very good although not a huge choice yes overall a great hotel and we really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view we were in room 329
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellman1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear shellman1949,

I want to thank you for posting such a nice feedback at TripAdvisor page.
We are delighted that you've truly enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm sorry that you didn't have an oportunity to enjoy and relax yourself at the roof terrace, but it is still close for reason. Me and my Team are responsible for your safety while you're with us.

I hope that you'll stay with us next year, so you'll enjoy in magnificient view from panorama swimming pool at the roof terrace.
As well, I hope that next time the weather will be much better, so you can relax yourself in truly sense.

Me and my Team are sending you the warmest regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mancunian
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at this pleasant hotel for one week from 16/05/13,we had a lovely sea view room which was kept spotlessly clean by the staff as is the rest of the hotel,the dining room is in keeping with the rest of the hotel and the kitchen area is on open view and the standard once again is impressive. The food is quite good and full marks to the dining room staff for the very good service.The location is ideal being very close to the harbour and bars /cafes etc, there is also the option of a free safe located in the reception area.This is a no fuss impressive three star hotel and one of the cleanest we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cityboy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear cityboy65,

Thank you for sharing your experience of hotel Cavtat and as always we are thrilled to see that the service you experienced was praiseworthy.
Our housekeeping is always trying to keep the hotel spotless clean and you can always feel a pleasant smell in all our areas.
As you could see, during this refurbishement we got an open view at the kitchen area, so all our guests can feel like home and look how we prepare delicious meals for them.

All our staff, from housekeeping, restaurant and reception are always trying to help you, and to make your holiday magnificient.

We're looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

May 12th to May 19th
my wife and I have just spent a week at hotel cavtat and could not fault it we would recommend
it Staff excellent, room excellent, and food very good, a good variety, I will certainly be returning to
this Hotel again soon David Lucas

Room Tip: we had room 508 facing the sea which had fabulous views of the bay There is no fitness centre and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank brookey00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear brookey00,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback. It is always delight to read such a beautiful words about all our services and all our Team.

It will be our honor to welcome you again!
Hopefully you'll stay with us soon, in meantime we are sending you the warmest regards from Cavtat!

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We arrived at this hotel at about 7 pm in the evening and we were shown to our gorgeous room with a brand new bathroom. We had paid extra for a sea view and although we could see the sea you had to crane your neck around the corner to see it!
At the restaurant we were offered the buffet menu at 110 kunas each, by then it was after 8pm but the waiter assured us that they didn't finish serving until 9pm. We ordered a bottle of wine and got our starters. But by 8.30 when we got to main course there was nothing but a few cold dried up pieces of fish, meat, overcooked rock hard chips and there were no puddings left. When we complained the staff told us that we should have come between 7 and 8 pm and that they had to stick to their budgets! Why didn't they tell us when we arrived at the restaurant that they had run out of food and we would have gone into Cavtat to eat. We also complained to reception on leaving and they were not very helpful. We were just told that nobody else had complained! All businesses in Croatia have to keep a complaints book on view, I could not see theirs anywhere otherwise I would have written in it.
On the plus side the break fast had a good choice and they didn't seem to run out so quickly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elaine37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear elaine37,

Thank you very much for posting your feedback about your stay with us. We truly appreciate it. All your comments are so much helpful for us to improve our services.
After your departure, we were discussing about that issue. We are really pleased that you've liked our new design of the hotel.

I supposed that you've booked seaside room. Our hotel has three types of room: seaview (direct seaview), seaside view and park (inland view). We always allocate our clients in rooms they have booked. We're sorry if you didn't like our seaside type.

Regarding to the meal, we were really suprised about that situation. We are always trying to please our guests and to make their holiday wonderful. As we were under refurbishement during the winter, we wanted to improve not only design of the hotel, but as well all our services. We have new cuisine which all our guests truly enjoy.
We apologize that you didn't have an oportunity to meet it better.

Hopefully that you'll stay with us again in the future, and you'll see all our impovements!

Sincerely yours,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

This was our first trip to Croatia and we did not know what to expect, the hotel Cavtat was indeed a nice surprise as it has just been refurbished and our room was very pleasant and a great sea view. I am not sure about the "open" shower though, as there was no glass or curtains and it was hard not to make the floor wet. My wife would hose me down, then I would soap and she would then hose me again. Not a major problem but just a comment.

The staff were very pleasant and the food was excelent, the bar on the deck has a nice possition but service a tad slow. The hotel location was perfect and only a short walk to the Buses and water Taxi's.

Would we return, a big yes and may do in the future.

Steve Reece, South Africa

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveR655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear Steve R,

Thank you for such wonderful a feedback! I am truly glad to hear that you have so much enjoyed your stay with us and that you meet Croatia with us.

I apologize for "open" shower. As you could see, we've just opened, and unfortunately we haven't got new cabines upon your arrival. Some of them were broken, and we reserved new ones.

This kind of personalized feedback encourages all the team to keep on providing an excellent level of services.

We're looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards from sunny Cavtat,
Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed at this delightful hotel last year having booked throught Jet2holidays.com who always please us. It was so good we booked to go again as soon as booking opened. The refurbishments lived up to what we were told they would be last year. There is a new enthusiastic management team who are aiming to please, yet some of last year's charming staff have been retained. We shall definitely try and go again. By then the swimming pool on the rooftop will be completed. We can then take a dip as well as enjoy the fantastic view. We really love this place. An additional extra is the short transfer time from the airport.

Room Tip: The hotel is so well placed there isn't really a down side to any of the rooms. Obviously, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JARUSKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear JARUSKA,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us on Trip Advisor page. It was such a great pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We appreciate your kind comments about our attentive staff, breathtaking views, wonderful dining and new design of our hotel.

We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon.

With kind regards,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castelletto
Hotel Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#8 of 17 in Cavtat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#7 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavtat

Property: Hotel Cavtat
Address: Tiha, 8 | Bay of Cavtat, Konavle, Cavtat 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Cavtat Hotel)
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Family Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavtat 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavtat in Cavtat, Croatia, situated in the Tiha Bay, on the shores of the Adriatic Sea is the perfect place for your holiday.Experience leisure, rest and full relaxation during your stay with us, our friendly staff will make sure you will want to come back years to come, great number of our guests already return every year to their favorite room.The Hotel is three star facility open from April to October, offers numerous services that ensure your holidays will be more comfortable, such as car parking, wireless Internet access in public areas, satellite TV and laundry service. Currency exchange and car hire, along with other services you might need, are available at our reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing