We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you ever need from a hotel!”
Review of Hotel Cavtat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cavtat
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“All you ever need from a hotel!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great location, very friendly and helpful staff, lovely atmosphere, super views, very good food, super room. This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in for it's pure honesty. The three star rating seems too low as this hotel has something special. Way better than the awful 5* Hotel Croatia, which is a soulless concrete mess. We were on holiday with Jet 2 Holidays and stayed for 11 nights in August. From the moment you walk into the reception there is a good feeling about the place and it just gets better. Ask for a sea view room - they afford great views of the bay. The location is perfect for the village and marina a short walk away. You can swim in the sea in front of the hotel or use the pool at the top. Considering it was August, the hotel was not too busy in fact that goes for Cavtat too. We will be back here as apart from the hotel being super, Cavtat and Croatia is simply a delight: lots of walks, places to see, quiet coves and super food. What a gem!
Best tip - hire a car and get into the mountains. We went to Bosnia and Montenegro too, worth a visit. If you do drive to Montenegro, make sure you have Euros to pay the tax at the border. The number 10 bus form Cavtat goes to Dubrovnik every half hour or so, it takes 40 mins and costs a couple of pounds. Go to the cable car station in Dubrovnik to get it back. Cavtat is great: no night clubs, no louts or yobs just a lovely peaceful family place with great restaurants and cafes, oh, and some massive yachts in the marina!

Room Tip: Top floor sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedesmadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Mercedesmadman,

WOW!!! What a awesome feedback!!! Your comments are so much appreciated!!
I can't tell you what a wonderful feeling it is when reading your comments about our hotel, your lovely stay with us, our staff..

Also, I can't thank you enough to sharing it with all Trip Advisor readers.

It will be our honour to meet you again!!

Best regards from all my Team,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    390
    89
    17
    7
See reviews for
110
724
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pershore, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just got back from our holiday in Croatia on 27th Aug 13. We stayed in the Hotel Cavtat, what a super hotel. Staff were very friendly and our room was brilliant. Waking up in the morning to the most Panoramic views. Everything was clean and the room was just great. The roof top pool was lovely, reaching far out into the sea. I took my mother and she had a thoroughly enjoyable time. There was plenty to see and do around Cavtat and we caught the Sea Taxi to Dubrovnik not far from the hotel. Thanks to all the staff for making it a most comfortable and relaxing holiday. We Will be coming back to see you soon I hope.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the front with a balcony the views are to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Deborah B,

it is so kind of you for taking the time to post this wonderful words about our hotel.
You're right, Cavtat is really one of the places at the Earth which is part of heaven.

Panoramic views, friendly and pleasant staff makes it lovely point to spend your holiday.

We're looking forward to welcome you again!

In meantime we're sending to you the warmest regards,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Have just returned from a holiday at this hotel, what a super time we had. The hotel is crisp and clean and bright.The staff are amazing, extremely efficient and very polite and helpful. We stayed b&b,the breakfasts are ample with a wide choice e.g fruit, cereal, cooked buffet style, continental and a vast array of breads. We had an evening meal once and again the choice was varied and a lot to choose from. On arrival we asked if there was any chance of a sea-view room, for a nominal extra charge we were given a side sea-view room which was lovely and great to have a balcony. The hotel owned cafe on the front also does meals and the club sandwiches are to die for. Now the rooftop pool what a god send, this is gorgeous and the views are amazing of Tiha Bay even a jacuzzi built in on one corner great for any aches and pains. Overall this hotel is super brilliant fantastic what more can I say. I most definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Debbie S,

thank you for your kind feeback about your recent stay with us!
We're thrilled that you've enjoyed every aspect of your holiday with us.

Also, we're so happy that you liked our infinity swimming pool, and truly enjoyed with its magnificient view.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel! Thank you in advance for your recommendation!

Warm regards from all my Team,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Just returned from the hotel Cavtat and I will certainly visit again. First class stay and all staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful making our stay most enjoyable.
Lovely location over looking the bay, very nice clean modern rooms, fantastic sunbathing area with small infinity pool and a great selection of hot and cold food at breakfast.
Overall a great friendly hotel with excellent staff in a fantastic location.
A big thank you to the two girls at reception for their help, especially Matea for answering my e-mail inquires and looking after my wife and I during our stay.

Missing Hotel Cavtat already.

Room Tip: Pay for a full sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigSlimJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear BigSlimJim,

your words are so much appreciated. Every aspect of your comment gives us motivation too keep going same way as we're working now.

You are right, our staff is friendly and helpfull, and reception staff is always on duty to help you with everything you need. They all send you warm regards!

We're looking forward to welcome you again!

Best regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ariel, Palestinian Territories
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The hotel itself isn't a 5 star but it is very tidy and well-kept. The room was clean, the facilities worked well, what else you need, right?
I cut my finger while trying to open a cheap umbrella, the reception clerk named Ivo was very nice and provided me with the first aid kit, and helped me to threat myself (Thanks again for that). The place itself is located on the shoreline, so it's naturally close to all the venues you might need (banks, restaurants, bus station are nearby).
The breakfast is pretty standard, but also the restaurant is very clean, and for place this size the variety is vast.
Great experience there. Thanks Cavtat Hotel

Room Tip: I took a room on the first floor - was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warlockd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear warlockd,

thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your recent stay with us!
As we're 3 star hotel, we don't have standard and facilities as it has 5 star hotel. But, with our service, friendly and kind staff, hard work, we're trying to behave to every guest like this is 5 star hotel.

Our location is also our preference to be one of the best located hotels in Cavtat. Everything you need is only few steps away.

We're delighted that you had very good experience with us. Also, we hope that we'll have an oportunity to welcome you again in future!

Best regards,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Accommodation: highly recommended Hotel Cavtat in the perfect location for both relaxing in the sun and exploring surrounding cities, island and countries. We were welcomed in our balcony seaview room (a must) with a personal message from the General Manager wishing us a lovely honeymoon, which was really appreciated. The pool on the roof is amazing, beautiful scenery - although you needed to get there very early to get a spot. We didn't mind as sunbathing down by the harbour was just as good. The food was great, various options from typical English breakfast to more continental fruit, ham, cheese, croissants, etc. We were also pleased with the prices, cheaper than traditional European sun destinations.

Excurisions: We went to Dubrovnik via sea taxi - I was sea sick. It's an hours journey and about £8 return. We went by bus (the station is really near the hotel) the second time, which was only 30 mins and £2. Dubrovnik is a must - though if you can go outside the hours of 9.30 and 4pm then do because you'll avoid the thousands of cruise visitors (15,000 the first day we went!).

Ston - a beautiful city with great restaurants. We stopped off here during a private wine tour, which we arranged via one of the wine bars in Dubrovnik Old Town.

Korcula island is highly recommended, and we would have loved to have gone to Montenegro or Mostar in Bosnia-Herzegovnia, both available from Cavtat.

So glad we chose Cavtat, perfect base to explore from with a mixture of sun relaxation and attractions - I would never choose to stay in one of the cities - Cavtat, with all its location, beauty, history and culture, was perfect.

Room Tip: Full sea view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bekerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Bekerina,

thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor's page.
It is so nice of you that you chose our hotel to spend your honeymoon. We are thrilled that you truly enjoyed it with us.

We're always trying to give our special touch by leaving some nice messages in your room to make you feel important guest, as every guest it is.

Thank you also for posting some wonderful photos of our hotel and surrounding. You are right, Cavtat is absolutely place of heaven, especially for couples who are looking for calm and relaxing holiday. You can enjoy in sun and magnifiecient views, and also explore beautiful region.

We're looking forward to welcome you again!

All my Team with myself are sending you the warmest regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

A big thank you to the Hotel Cavtat and the Croatian people for making my 65th birthday celebration so special! My husband and I have just returned from 2 weeks at the Hotel Cavtat and we had the most wonderful holiday thanks to the beautiful location of the hotel and the wonderful warmth and friendliness of the staff. We requested and paid a bit extra for a sea view and what a wonderful room they gave us (410). I could have spent all my holiday just sitting on the balcony and gazing at the view... stunning!

Everything about the hotel was excellent, from the staff, who go out of their way to help you and on one occasion our breakfast waiter "John", even offered to take us to his own dentist when I developed an abscess on a tooth and was in a lot of pain. We did manage to get an appointment at the local dentist which the Receptionist organised for us and also called us a taxi. This is an example of the caring and efficient service you get from all the staff. We can't praise them enough! The whole hotel is spotless and the maids work very hard to keep it this way, I even had some flowers left in our room on my birthday which was so sweet.

The rooms are beautiful and very light and airy, good air conditioning which we could not have done without in August. The food was lovely and plenty of choice for everyone. This hotel has the best position in Cavtat, you could not get better views! Only a few minutes walk into the Cavtat itself, which has a really nice atmosphere at night and almost every night there was some form of entertainment going on. We didn't get to do all the things we wanted on this trip as it was our first time to Cavtat and we were just so happy exploring the surrounding area, but we are planning to come back next year and perhaps explore further afield next time. Thank you again to all the staff for making this a wonderful holiday and we will definitely be seeing you all again next year!

Room Tip: Definitely pay for a sea view room, worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear SheffieldHazlenut,

A big thank to you for posting such a wonderful feedback about your recent stay with us!
As you mentioned, we're always trying to please our guests and to make their holiday unforgettable, from the first impression (room you has been given) to last.

It is not hard to any member of staff to help our guests, when someone needs any information, or to organise a visit to dentist etc.

We're so happy that you had nice experience with our hotel, and with lovely Cavtat!

We're looking forward to welcome you again!

Warm regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
2,504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.1 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#9 of 17 in Cavtat
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#6 of 17 in Cavtat
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 17 in Cavtat
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavtat

Property: Hotel Cavtat
Address: Tiha, 8 | Bay of Cavtat, Konavle, Cavtat 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Cavtat Hotel)
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavtat 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavtat in Cavtat, Croatia, situated in the Tiha Bay, on the shores of the Adriatic Sea is the perfect place for your holiday.Experience leisure, rest and full relaxation during your stay with us, our friendly staff will make sure you will want to come back years to come, great number of our guests already return every year to their favorite room.The Hotel is three star facility open from April to October, offers numerous services that ensure your holidays will be more comfortable, such as car parking, wireless Internet access in public areas, satellite TV and laundry service. Currency exchange and car hire, along with other services you might need, are available at our reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing