We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, friendly Hotel in lovely location.”
Review of Hotel Cavtat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cavtat
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is our idea of a perfect Hotel, it has recently been refurbished and is maintained spotlessly clean by the friendly and caring staff. The management here have got it just right in aiming to provide a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. The restaurant has wonderful views out over the
Bay and there is plenty of choice for breakfast and evening meal.
The Hotel is ideally located in the centre of the bay where there are many bars and lovely walks within easy reach. The local people are delightful and if you need advice look for Michael the local Travel Advisor just 5 minutes from the hotel, he will put you right.
Definitely plan to go again next year.

Room Tip: We were unlucky not to get a room with a sea view but it would be worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear michael j,

it was my pleasure to read your wonderful feedback about your recent stay with us!
Thank you for all compliments, especially on our welcoming and kind staff.

I'm thrilled by your words: "This is our idea of perfect hotel", it is so much appreciated. I wish that every guest can say it.
We're all counting days until your booking for next visit!

Many thanks and warm regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,133)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cavtat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

736 - 742 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned home after a 10 day stay at the Hotel Cavtat. The location could not be better,right next to the pearly adriatic sea and a flat short walk to all the restaurants and bars as well as tranquil stunning walks around the bays. There is a fantastic new swimming pool on the top floor however I prefer to swim in the sea and the hotel has a great bathing platform directly in front with free sunloungers ,showers etc.
The rooms are newly refurbished,with really comfortable beds,a good hairdryer in the bathroom. We chose a park view room with a balcony which was nice and quiet and was kept spotlessly clean with regular towel and bedding changes. We were very comfortable.
The food was plentiful and of a good standard particularly since the charge for evening meal is minimal. The view from the dining room is stunning.
There are free safe deposit boxes in reception which we appreciated.
Having said all this the staff are the shining light in this hotel without exception they were polite,courteous and very helpful.

With regard to trips I would recommend arranging them via Michael and his lovely wife who are situated just to the left of the hotel as you walk out of the back door. The first agent on the way to Cavtat.The excursions are all cheaper than with the package holiday companies and better quality. Michael arranged for us to go be to Dubrovnik by boat and informed us that the boats he uses will take you right into the liittle harbour in the heart of Dubrovnik whereas some boats do not. He also only charged 60 kunas [about £7 return] each where all other agents were charging 80k. We had a nice day in Dubrovnick where the prices are very high compared to Cavtat. We decided to return another day to walk the walls[100 kunas] ..We got up early and caught the 8am bus in order to arrive before the city gets busy and the cruise ships disgorge their passengers. The views from the walls are stunning but beware there are lots and lots of steep steps.I would not recommend walking the walls when it is hot and busy. If you go by bus sit near the front and ask the driver to tell you when to get off for the old city which is quite a steep walk down. Returning the bus[no 10] stops by the entrance to the chair lift.
Michael also arranged a trip to Montenegro. [300kuna about 30 quid]]This was on a very comfortable air conditioned mini bus which is much better than a coach as it cuts down the waiting time at the border. We were told by people who had gone by coach that at the border all their passports were digitally checked which took 1 hour.We got through in about 15 min. The commentry was all in English. We were taken to some beautiful viewpoints and to the old walled town of Kotar as well as Budva. I would recommend this trip. Michael also organised a trip into the countryside with another couple in a private car where we saw a working flour mill,a castle and a private wine tasting with local food. He also told which bank to go for money exchange and we were getting over 9 kunas to the pound. I would recommend taking sterling and changing in Cavtat as the rate is much better than UK.

We had a fantastic relaxing holiday in a wonwerful hotel in a beautiful location and hope to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room so not to have view obscured by trees. Please note basic garden rooms do not hav...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sheshe393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear sheshe393,

I am so delighted to read such a wonderful review. Thank you for taking the time after your return home to share it with all TripAdvisor's visitors.

I'm so pleased that you like our decor, our extremely adorable swimming pool , and of course the staff who made it unforgettable!

Also, we'll send all your kind words and regards to Michael!

Looking forward to welcome you as soon as it possible!

Warm regards from sunny Cavtat,


Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Hotel is in a great position on tiha bay with fabulous views from dining room stayed here last September and the hotel is undergoing refurbishment but this does not intrude on your holiday there will be a new ultra modern bar and terrace area

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank djrockky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear djrockky,

your small, but wonderful words made our day! Thank you for coming back in our friendly hotel which is always looking forward to welcome you!

It is always nice to meet our repeat clients! Hope that you arrive soon to visit our new restaurant/bar and to enjoy in our terrace overlooking the bay!

Best regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed at Hotel Cavtat with my friend from the 14th to 21st May. Our rooms were superb; beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and with fantastic sea views from the balconies. The restaurant is light and airy with fabulous views over the bay. There is an immense choice for breakfast and we couldn't have wished for more. All of the staff and management were wonderful; so friendly and helpful. The hotel's position is perfect for wandering the pretty paths and streets around Cavtat. We were really impressed and would have no hesitation in recommending a stay here - you won't be disappointed. Sadly the weather throughout our stay was unseasonably cool so we cannot comment on the pool although it looked beautiful.
A big thank you to all the management and staff at Hotel Cavtat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Louise S,

thank to you for sharing this lovely review on TripAdvisor page! We are delighted that you love our hotel, our kind and friendly staff, our decor, our facilities.. It all sounds more than perfect!

It will be our pleasure to be your next choice when you arrive again in Croatia!

In meantime, please receive the warmest regards from every member of my Team and myself,

Ivo Sutalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

just returned from a weeks stay at Hotel Cavtat. Being two mature ladies we didn't know what to expect.We need not have worried --WOW This was the best holiday ever.The hotel has been refurnished to a good standard and is spotlessly clean throughout.The view from our bedroom balcony was stunning.The dining room also had terrific views and was bright and airy with a good selection of food on offer.All the staff were very friendly and accommodating to us.The Hotel is a good centre for all the trips we took, including Dubrovnik and Montenegro. We can highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to visit this beautiful area,and thank management and staff for a superb stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glenis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear glenis m,

thank you for posting wonderful feedback about your recent stay with us!
I'm happy to read that our hotel was positive surprise for, as well all this region!

You are right, hotel is really located in one of the best areas, as here is no crowd, good starting point to explore all this region..

Hope this wasn't your last visit to our hotel, as we are all looking forward to welcome you as soon as it possible!

Best regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The refurbishment of the hotel is now nearly finished with the final touches to the new bar. This will clearly mean that perhaps they are trying for 4* from the current 3* and who can blame them. The overall attention to detail is first class. Smiling friendly staff, really clean facilities, brilliant rooms - we could not fault it. The roof pool is very appealing although perhaps in high season room may be at a premium; time then for a dip in the sea just at the front of the hotel. Overall excellent. Best suited for adults only we believe.

Room Tip: It is worth the additional cost for a top floor sea view room perhaps in the range 501 through 510.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanReet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear IanReet ,

thank you for taking the time to post review about your recent stay with us!
It is always over and over again nice to know that our guests really enjoyed their time spent with us!
I'm happy to read that you've been allocated on our top floor, from where you can truly enjoy in unobstructed view..

Hope you'll stay with us in future time!

In meantime, we're sending you the warmest regards from sunny Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After a busy start to the year the spring holiday was needed. We spent a wonderful two weeks in this hotel. We had a room overlooking to the sea. Although the weather did not favor us in the beginning, the hotel's cheerful and friendly staff made our days always cheerful.

From the terrace bar or form our balcony we enjoyed to follow the re-construction works at the hotel bar. Once again thanks to the hotel about the wine bottle. We surely were not disturbed by the construction work during our stay. Hopefully, next year we will able to check the new hotel bar. Loved the swimming pool upstairs a good idea build it up there. Nice view. A hotel with a service spirit – a hotel that considers customers as individuals - that is a lot nowadays.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zulu9Alfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Zulu9Alfa,

your stunning words really made my day and every member of my Team!
It is so nice to know that people really can fall in love in our hotel! I'm sure the most reason is cause the staff who make it perfect!

They are all working so hard to please you, and to make your holiday unforgettable!

I would like to thank you to understand our situation regarding to construction!
I'm definitely sure that next season you'll enjoy in our bar, our delicious food, and of course the view!

We're counting days until your next visit!

Ivo Sutalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.1 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#7 of 18 in Cavtat
276 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#5 of 18 in Cavtat
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavtat

Address: Tiha, 8 | Bay of Cavtat, Konavle, Cavtat 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Cavtat Hotel)
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: £52 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavtat 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavtat in Cavtat, Croatia, situated in the Tiha Bay, on the shores of the Adriatic Sea is the perfect place for your holiday.Experience leisure, rest and full relaxation during your stay with us, our friendly staff will make sure you will want to come back years to come, great number of our guests already return every year to their favorite room.The Hotel is three star facility open from April to October, offers numerous services that ensure your holidays will be more comfortable, such as car parking, wireless Internet access in public areas, satellite TV and laundry service. Currency exchange and car hire, along with other services you might need, are available at our reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing