We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Holiday”
Review of Hotel Cavtat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cavtat
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Great Location & Holiday”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have just returned from a week at the hotel Cavtat and we would return next week if we could. All the staff we met were heplful and friendly and could not do enough for you.
We booked a sea view room ( 329 ) and although the view was obscured by bushes etc we were still pleased with it. The room as the rest of the hotel was spotless and puts many hotels in this country to shame. Room facilities were good and comfortable, we hired a fridge for our stay at 5 euro per day.
The food was very good, breakfast was varied and ample and we were on a half board basis so ate at the hotel most nights, if returning i would probably book bed & breakfast, not that the food was bad it was just that there were so many great restaurants around Cavtat that i would have preferred to eat somewhere different each night.
The hotel is located in the best position for Cavtat, very close to the centre but not not in a busy area. The hotel does have a rooftop sun area with pool but mostly we used the sea front area which was fantastic. I know you can not please everyone and people will always find negatives but we were very pleased with the choice of hotel.

Room Tip: sea view, levels 4 & 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Wrenvend,

WOW!!! Your review is really fantastic!!!! If you can arrive as soon as it possible, it will be our great pleasure to welcome you again!!

It is so much appreciated that you took time to post your experience with us in our lovely hotel in family atmosphere.

I would like to thank you as well to mention and to understand that it is not always possible to please every guest, especially when we are not informed about issue. It is always our pleasure to try manage every uncomfortable situation in most better way, and to fulfill everybody's wishes.

We hope that it wasn't your last visit us, and you are preparing to come soon!

In meantime, we are all sending your the warmest regards from hot and calm Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    413
    94
    21
    8
See reviews for
121
780
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have just spent a week at this hotel. The hotel is in a lovely position and all the staff are so friendly including the manager who we spoke to whilst having an early breakfast one morning.
. The room we had was on the reception level with a sea view, it was a good size with everything you needed and was kept spotlessly clean as was whole hotel. Pool area on roof very nice. We were on half board basis and the food was nice, I'am a fussy eater but always found something, could maybe have more of a local influence as a suggestion. The hotel opened a new bar the day before we left. We got bus into Dubrovnik and the water taxi back, also did a trip to Mostar, nice to see but was a long day, on bus more than off it, went with Michaels travel just beside hotel(didn't realise you could book trips through hotel). Lovely harbour to sit and have a drink and watch all the yachts coming in and out.

Room Tip: Definitely a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NewcastleSooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear NewcastleSooz,

your feedback about recent stay with us really made our day!
We are thrilled that you liked our hotel, your room at the reception floor, our choice of food, every aspect of our facilities...

I'm always happy to hear that we fulfilled your expectations. I hope you spent wonderful moments on every excursions that you did. Thank you for mention that our guests can also book it with reception staff.

Also, I hope that you liked our new opened bar/ restaurant which is attending guests and local people as well.

We are waiting for your next booking in our hotel!
In meantime, please receive warm regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moville, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and a group of friends stayed in this hotel over the Easter holidays a few years ago. Cavtat is a beautiful small fishing village with beautiful cosy bars and restaurants. This hotel is on the hill and overlooks the village and the sea.

We were half board and the buffet meals while we were there were delicious with plenty of variety. Alcoholic drinks in the hotel and in the bars in town were very cheap and all the staff were extremely pleasant.

There is a bus stop right outside the hotel that takes you into Dubrovnik City centre. And I can recommend the water taxi back from Dubrovnik old city to Cavtat.

I can't recommend this hotel enough.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Ryan M,

thank you for taking the time to post wonderful review about your stay with us!
It was our pleasure to welcome you in our lovely hotel, and absolutely gorgeous Cavtat!

We're counting days until your next visit!

In meantime we're sending you the warmest regards from sunny and hot Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos Hills, CA
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a good location, and our room had a very pretty view. Unfortunately, the rest of the hotel did not measure up. Our "deluxe" room was extremely basic, with no closets or sitting of any kind, and hardly any place to even our suitcases (we had to put them on the ground). The bathroom was tiny and one could hardly even turn around in the shower. Worse yet, the air conditioning was broken in the entire hotel, making it unpleasantly hot inside, and no apologies or discounts were offered. Very poor value. Would not stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Judy D,

thank you for writing your post after short stay with us!
I'm so unlucky to hear that you didn't like you stay with us. Usually, we like to fix any issue during guests' stay, it will be much better and we could leave you unforgettable and amazing memories.
I spoke with all my Team to check what happened and to try to resolve this issue on this way.

I have to write you that there is in every room luggage rack where you can leave your suitcases.
We don't have any deluxe room, only better sea view room which are more spacious than others.
I supposed that it was just one night stay, and we didn't have any available spacious room.

Regarding to A/C, I have to mark as well to other clients that we have A/c which we turn on in high season, like other 3 stars hotels, but when it is too hot, we turn it on earlier as now.

I hope that you'll visit us again to get better touch of our small, but welcoming hotel!

Best regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We are just back from a week in Cavtat. We stayed in the Hotel Croatia. This hotel has to be located in one of the most scenic areas I have ever stayed in. I would advise to pay extra for a sea view room....well worth the extra money as the views and the sunsets from your balcony is breathtaking. The staff and the facilities in the hotel are all excellent. The staff are so friendly and willing to help you with any queries you may have. We were booked in on a breakfast only basis, we eat the first night in the Steakhouse in the hotel. The food was good but I must say the breakfast was excellent and the view from the breakfast room was stunning. The hotel also has a lovely bar are down by the seafront called Spinakers. It has lovely easy listening jazz type music playing with beautiful seating and bar area with colourful cushions and bean bags. Lovely place for an evening cocktail. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel and definitely recommend Cavtat for a holiday.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on the fifth floor with a sea view as you are on the level of the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fionola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Fionola,

thank you for your lovely words! They really made our day, so much appreciated that you shared with all TripAdvisor's visitors!

I'm happy to hear that our guests truly enjoyed holiday with us!

Hope you'll stay with us in future time!
In meantime, we're sending to you the warmest regards from beautiful Cavtat!

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We recently stayed for a week at the Hotel Cavtat and, overall, we had a really nice time. The hotel is perfectly located for the waterfront area of Cavtat (which we loved!) and for all of the various restaurants and cafes which are within 5 minutes walking distance. The hotel was very clean and appeared well looked after and the staff were mostly very friendly and helpful. The roof top pool area is nice to spend time around as well (as usual, get there early for a sunbed). One or two negative comments - the room we had (sea facing) was very small - we had to take it in turns to get to the wardrobe which was alongside one of the beds with very little room to open the door. The tiled surfaces and floor meant that you could hear every chair scrape and footstep from adjacent and upstairs rooms. The cleaners started 'hoovering' every morning before 7 am and we even had a 'housekeeping' knock at this time on one morning! The aircon didn't work (I didn't complain as we only needed to use it on our last day and didn't find that it wasn't functioning until then). The wifi was also hopeless - I did mention this to reception but it stayed the same i.e. not working in the room for the whole week. But all of these were annoyances rather than 'show stoppers'. Oh, nearly forgot - the outside balcony was lovely to sit on to watch the world go by and the bathroom was spot on with great water pressure and plenty of hot water in the shower.
We only ate breakfast in the restaurant - reasonable selection of hot and cold items and enough variety for a week for us anyway. (But one more moan - the coffee was disgusting!). So, overall - despite the one or two issues here and there - we had a nice time in the hotel and a GREAT time in Cavtat. A great place for couples and perfect for a week's sunshine break and we were sorry to have to come home. :(
P.S. The Croatians are some of the friendliest people we've met in a tourist resort.

Room Tip: Sea facing - but try to go higher than floor 1 if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuzzbox100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Fuzzbox100,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us!
It is nice of you that you note our friendly and helpful staff is always trying to fulfill your expectations!

Regarding the noise which you heard in the morning before 7am, we need to apologize to you and all guests allocated on 1st floor. We needed to clean stairs under 1st floor, before guests woke up to get to the breakfast.
We'll try to find better and quieter way to do it, please accept our apologies! Our housekeeping is trying to not disturb our guests before 9am-10am, especially if there is a note left on the door.

We had problem with Wi-Fi, but not only our hotel, also every bank, post office and shops in Cavtat as there was local problem with electrical system. For this season, we had upgrade our quality of Wi-Fi, so it should work all time now. We feel sorry that area had this problem during your stay.

Thank you for loving our choice of breakfast, but I need to tell you that Croatia has really good coffee. I suppose that it was bad day in restaurant, so they didn't make it as usual.

Please, receive my sincere apologies regarding to all negative comments!
I'll hope that during you next visit you'll forget for it!

In meantime, please receive our warm regards from beautiful Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crail, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The village of Cavtat is picturesque set around two bays and with easy access to Dubrovnic. There is a large selection of restaurants and bars making this an ideal place as a base for exploring the Dalmatian Coast. The Cavtat Hotel has arguably the best location in the village, on the sea front with views of Dubrovnic in the distance. The public areas are spotless and the bedrooms although small are adequate. Towels and bed linen were changed regularly.
There is a lack of seating areas and the pool area is too small for the number of guests. A new bar was nearing completion and this should go some way to rectifying this problem.
We stayed on a half-board deal but the buffet diner was so poor we dined in only twice. The salad selection was OK but the hot dishes were luke warm and rather bland. The selection of sweets consisted mainly of portions of stale cake. Breakfast was also a disappointment. The orange juice was diluted squash and "fresh fruit" salad was from a tin. Even the bacon was rubbery and stewed rather than crisp and tasty.
This hotel is a great place to stay but dear oh dear, they need to improve their food!

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyrone321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear JohnCrail,

thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your recent stay with us!

We are happy that you liked our stunning location, which is really one of the best in this region, as it is settle in beautiful quiet bay overlooking pearl of Adriatic.

I feel sorry that you didn't like our choice of food in main restaurant, maybe it was too late when you arrive and it was just moment when they need to fulfill it.
For next visit, I recommend you to tell us while you are with us, to help us to improve it during your stay!

Anyway, I hope that you truly enjoyed your time with us, and that you're planning your next visit to us!

Best wishes from sunny Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.1 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#8 of 18 in Cavtat
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#5 of 18 in Cavtat
157 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavtat

Property: Hotel Cavtat
Address: Tiha, 8 | Bay of Cavtat, Konavle, Cavtat 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Cavtat Hotel)
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavtat 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavtat in Cavtat, Croatia, situated in the Tiha Bay, on the shores of the Adriatic Sea is the perfect place for your holiday.Experience leisure, rest and full relaxation during your stay with us, our friendly staff will make sure you will want to come back years to come, great number of our guests already return every year to their favorite room.The Hotel is three star facility open from April to October, offers numerous services that ensure your holidays will be more comfortable, such as car parking, wireless Internet access in public areas, satellite TV and laundry service. Currency exchange and car hire, along with other services you might need, are available at our reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing