We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wee gem”
Review of Hotel Cavtat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cavtat
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel just been refurbished. Pool on the roof, not suitable for kids. Bar wasn't open until after we left as it was getting finishing touches but looked very nice. Food to suit most tastes. Lovely area very quiet. Next to no traffic. Would recommend for a chilled out holiday. Area of Cavtat lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betty1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear betty1927,

thank you for your nice compliments about our hotel!
I am happy to hear that you had lovely time with us. So sorry that you didn't enjoy in our new bar/restaurant. I hope you'll enjoy during your next visit!

You are right, pool is not suitable for small kids, but we always suggest to family with kids beach at the front or around in beautiful Cavtat!

Looking forward to welcome you again!

Best regards,

Ivo Sutalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 770 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had a week in this lovely hotel, been home for 4 dys and I miss it so much! Our room was 305, beautiful view. The room was spotless. We ate nearly every night & found it very nice. The staff are excellent & so friendly. All in all we loved our stay in your hotel & found Cavtat stunning. Thank you all.

Room Tip: We had room 305, 4th floor. Perfect view across the bay.Sun afternoon & evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Debbie C,

thank you for your lovely words about recent stay with us!
I'm graceful that you share your experience in our gem with all TripAdvisor's visitors!

We always try to fulfill every guest's expectations and to please someone wishes, because every guest is important to us!

We're looking forward to welcome you again!
Please, receive our warm regards for beautiful Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

ok just like the other reviewers we too are just back from a stay at this hotel,and would very much go back there in the near future,what can i say the room was spotless - clean towels every day- bed made up and even the ashtray on our balcony was washed and dried ( well i am a smoker ) so cheers to the wee cleaner, Every member of staff were smartly dressed and very polite something some other hotels should take note of, Ahh now onto the food well as it was mostly the local fare at diner it took a while to get used to it But no complaints from me as thats what i go abroad for local food made thier way. Breakfast had a mixture of hot and cold buffet again depends on individual taste but please mister manager get that bloody toaster fixed before i come back! .Overall Excellent hotel Excellent Location and good luck with your new bar/resturant. p.s. go see Michael next door for any trips.

Room Tip: Top floors faceing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Weedel ,

I would like to thank you for your GREAT review after recent stay in our hotel!
We so much appreciate you kind words, every compliment you wrote touched us!

I can't find enough words how to thank you for sharing it with other TripAdvisor's visitors.
Hope that we'll have an opportunity to welcome you as soon as it possible!

Best wishes from amazing Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just spent a great 7 days at this hotel, rooms were well furnished and comfortable and the staff were all pleasant and couldn't do more for us. Expected a 3 star although i believe we got much more.
The pearl in the oyster was Vinko the masseur at the Hotel spa, i've struggled with back pain for years and in 3 sessions my movement has increased significantly - Well done Vinko!!

Don't miss this little gem of a place, the location and access was perfect.

Nigel and Rita

Room Tip: Ours was 326 and suited us fine, pay the extra for the sea view you wont regret those relaxing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RITA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Nigel and Rita,

thank you for your wonderful words!
I'm happy to hear that you spent unforgettable week in our hotel! I'm really proud on my Team who is doing really good job to fulfill every guest wishes.

Thank you for mention our small spa Lavanda and Vinko's famous massage.

Hope you'll stay with us again in soon time!

In meantime, we are all sending you the warmest regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We, my wife June and her sister Phyllis have had an excellent holiday at this hotel. Firstly the staff were among the best we have come across in over 50 years of holidays. Everywhere spotlessly clean both in and out of the hotel (makes you ashamed to be British!) Room on the 5th floor had one of the best sea views ever and was a good size except for having quite a small bathroom (the shower was ok but the cubicle was almost too small. I am 5ft 10" and weigh around 14stone. Anyone any fatter would not get in it.) My sister-in-law also had a very good single room on the third floor, with a side sea view.
Food just marginally better than most buffet meals,I,my wife and her sister especially enjoying the breakfasts and the salad bar at dinner.
As for the resort itself we will visit again. Good bars and restaurants and not expensive. Nice walks around the port and a visiit to Dubrovnik is not to be missed, but take your travel reps advice as to the best days to visit. Avoid days when the cruise liners are in port, it was quite heaving without their passengers. We also found the city walls, although having great views to be very steep and not good for anyone with vertigo. Our ages are from 77-81 so we did find it hard going. Finally we believe the hotel management are on a course of improvement., new swimming pool, better furbished rooms and now a new bar and restaurant opened on the 8th June. As another reviewer stated, a fridge in the room would have been appreciated but all in all ,potentially an even better hotel . To summarise, a great holiday and thanks to the management and staff of the Hotel Cavtat.

Room Tip: 5th floor if you don't mind climbing up just one set of stairs. Lift for the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fjohnfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear fjohnfirth,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us with all TripAdvisor's visitors!
Your words are so much appreciated!

Thank you for loving our services, our friendly staff, and to notice our cleanliness!
It is so nice to hear that we truly fulfilled your expectations.

For now, you can hire a fridge for 5,00 eur per day, but in future if we become 4 stars hotel, maybe we'll put fridges into the rooms!

Hope that we'll have an opportunity to welcome you again as soon as it possible!

Please, receive the warmest regards from our hotel and beautiful Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A rather belated review, but my parents are currently staying at the Hotel Cavtat (on our recommendation) and are loving their holiday, so this has spurred me on! My husband and I visited Croatia for the first time last August, staying at the Hotel Cavtat after reading positive TripAdvisor reviews. We were not disappointed! We paid for a seaview room and were allocated a room on the 5th floor. Our room had fantastic views over Tiha Bay, was spacious with a large balcony, with plenty of storage/wardrobe space, and had a compact but perfectly acceptable bathroom. The room was kept spotlessly clean and towels/bedding were changed frequently.
We were staying on a half board basis and we were very impressed with the food and service at breakfast/evening meal - lots of choice and variety and I think I had a different evening meal every day. We only ate out of the hotel on one evening. We had some lunches and drinks at the hotel bar on the terrace overlooking the bay, again great food and service.
The rooftop pool had recently opened and, although we didn't use it, the sunbathing deck and pool looked very inviting and had lovely views. We did enjoy using the hotel's sunbeds/terrace by the sea though for swimming in the sea!
Last but not least, a special mention must go to the ALL of the hotel staff that we encountered. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, an absolute credit to the hotel.
Cavtat itself is beautiful, as is Dubrovnik and the surrounding area, and we are returning to the Hotel Cavtat for our second visit at the end of July 2014...can't wait!

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for a seaview room and higher floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkshireRoseYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear YorkshireRoseYork,

WoW! Thank you for your recommendation to your parents! I'm glad to hear that they are having wonderful time with us!

I'm delighted that you loved every aspect of our services, our kind and multilingual staff, our stunning location...

We can't wait to welcome you soon again! Hope that we'll fulfill expectations once again!

Warm regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at Cavtat a great setting for any holiday.Hotel Cavtat is very clean and tidy the whole staff cannot do enough for all there guests.Our room 501 had a good seaview,a large room but with no fridge or kettle ( a request in the hotel paperwork asking not to use your own kettles ) the shower room was compact with only 3 small shelves.On the fridge topic where would a diabetic keep there insulin ? The meals were ok but breakfast eggs ,bacon and sausages was always tepid nomatter what time you dined.The sunbeds by the roof pool were the best we have reclined on.Another little moan always keep footwear on as the sunbeds leave splinters on the decking floor my wife had to remove 2 from my feet.For trips see Michael at the shop next to the hotel he does a deal he even took us in his own car to Dubrovnic.The Trabakul bar was very cheap ice cold large beers 15 kunas and we were getting 9.5 to the £.Other very good bistros are Desetkas 50yds from the hotel and Dolium by the main harbour.There is a bit of aircraft noise as cavtat is on the flight pass and we don't think the hotel is suitable for people with walking problems or push chairs.,there are lifts but to get to the restaurant or the new bar you have to go down stairs and to leave the hotel more stairs.These
are only a little niggles they don't take away from a great holiday.........Enjoy............

Room Tip: The 500's give a great seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mossybit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear mossybit,

thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us.
I'm happy to read that you spent wonderful time with us in our small, but lovely hotel!

I want to inform you that you can hire a fridge for 5,00 eur per day to be allocated in your room. If someone is diabetic, we also please guests by keeping insulin in the kitchen,if they don't want to pay.

Unfortunately, our hotel is not suitable for persons in wheelchair, but if someone walks difficulty we always offer floor accessible by lift (in that case you need to manage only few stairs to restaurant, but unfortunately can't access to pool area).We try to inform every guest who wants to arrive about all facilities in our hotel.

I hope you've also visited our new bar/restaurant which serves delicious food for reasonable prices.

Looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel!

Best regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,861 reviews
0.3 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.1 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#7 of 18 in Cavtat
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#6 of 18 in Cavtat
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 18 in Cavtat
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavtat

Address: Tiha, 8 | Bay of Cavtat, Konavle, Cavtat, Konavle 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Cavtat Hotel)
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Family Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: £52 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavtat 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavtat in Cavtat, Croatia, situated in the Tiha Bay, on the shores of the Adriatic Sea is the perfect place for your holiday.Experience leisure, rest and full relaxation during your stay with us, our friendly staff will make sure you will want to come back years to come, great number of our guests already return every year to their favorite room.The Hotel is three star facility open from April to October, offers numerous services that ensure your holidays will be more comfortable, such as car parking, wireless Internet access in public areas, satellite TV and laundry service. Currency exchange and car hire, along with other services you might need, are available at our reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing