We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,371)
Filter reviews
1,371 results
Traveller rating
699
505
128
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
699
505
128
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolsea viewlovely hotelhalf boardthree starevening mealtiha baysea frontplenty of choicebathing platformfew minutes walkthe busshower cubiclefourth floorold townbars and restaurantsmain harbour
Filter
Updating list...
938 - 943 of 1,371 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just returned from a 7 night stay in Hotel Cavtat on a B&B basis.
The hotel itself was perfectly set for us. Being near enough to the main harbour for us to walk in when we wanted our evening meals and drinks, but far enough out that we were never disturbed by any noise.
I have to stress that this hotel is not really for the less mobile or families. The lift will only get you as far as the 4th floor (the pool is another floor up), and there are a few steps down to the restaurants bar and restaurant too. There are no children's facilities either. I think there were two small children at the hotel when we stayed there, however, there were no highchairs for them to use at breakfast. I never saw them at the pool either, so really it seemed a pretty strange choice of hotel!
We stayed in a garden view room and found it to be perfectly acceptable. We basically slept, showered and changed, so did not require the sea views - we spent all day and night near enough looking at them whilst we were out and about or sunbathing. Our room was serviced daily and was kept immaculately clean. The bed was quite firm but comfortable. The only down side was the size of the shower cubicle in the bathroom, it is fairly small. My husband is 6ft and quite broad shouldered. He struggled with the cubicle size! (there is no bath)
Staying in the second week in June we found the heat a little unbearable at some points. The lack of umbrellas at the pool area was disappointing. As too was the apparent lack of respect other guests had for 'sunbed hogging'. I got to the pool at 8.45am one morning and none of the comfortable beds were left. (there are not many to begin with) The 'hoggers' eventually claimed their beds at 11.30am! There is a poster attached to the door as you walk through to the pool asking for no reserving of the beds. When I mentioned to the girl on the pool bar that all the beds were being reserved, she shrugged and said I was too late!
The views from the pool are beautiful, and we definately made use of it during our stay.

Neither of us used the massage services, however other guests mentioned the gentleman there was a miracle worker!

Breakfasts were very good, probably the best b&b we have had whilst abroad. Coffee and a variety of teas are available. (hot milk is on offer as well as cold) A bowl of fresh fruit is on offer, although you have to be early to manage to get a banana! There are a number of cereals, including a few varieties of muesli. Dried fruits, yoghurts, meats, cheeses, breads, croissants, pain au chocolate, salads and a lot of hot breakfasts choices too.
Hopefully the management will sort out that ridiculous toaster fairly soon. I put my bread in, and five slow minutes later - on high - it comes out, warmed on one side. If you turn it over and put it through again, you still don't get toast, you get a crispbread!!

Never ate an evening meal at the hotel, however, we can recommend a couple of local places to eat.
Ivan - Great service and amazing fillet steaks - melt in the mouth and extremely tender. Ate here twice, and can also say the sea bass fillet was very good too.
Dalmacija - ate here twice also! Great service, enjoyed a pasta dish and a chicken dish here. My husband loved their lamb and pork dishes.

The other nights we ate out were not really that impressive, so will not give those establishments any mention at all.

Local beer Karolvachiko (sorry cannot remember exact spelling) was the hands down favourite with my husband, unfortunately, the hotel Cavtat only sells 'favorit'. Which according to husband is truly awful! Karolvachiko is just under £3 per pint.
I enjoyed the local pear brandy - Krushkovat - very nice on ice and about £1 a drink.

Both check in and check out at the Hotel Cavtat was very professional, friendly and quick. All the staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and cheerful.

We are looking forward to returning to the hotel next year for a short break, and would happily recommend the hotel to anyone who is looking for a peaceful, relaxing and 'grown-up' holiday.

Room Tip: If you spend a lot of time in your room on holiday, you may wish to upgrade to a sea-view room. Otherwise, a garden view room is perfectly acceptable.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank justbeinghonest17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear justbeinghonest17,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such detailed review about your recent stay with us!
I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, no matter of some small lack which you mentioned.

At the past, hotel was adult only, and unfortunately we don't still have much family with children. However, when we have it, we always try to please them (also we are informed when they arrive, so we get children chair). When someone is less mobile, we informed them about stairs and try to allocate them at reception floor.

I am so sorry to hear that they were still some guests who didn't respect information about leaving their towels on sunchairs more than 2 hours without their presence.
We are always trying that all guests have opportunity to enjoy in our roof terrace and magnificent swimming pool.

Regarding to toast maker at the restaurant, we'll do our best to fix it as soon as possible.

I hope that next time you also taste our delicious food in our new bar/restaurant at the front!

Once time, thank you for staying with us! We're all looking forward to welcome you again in future time!

Warm regards from sunny Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just returned from our one week stay. Cannot fault this hotel, would definitely recommend . Everywhere was spotlessly clean, towels changed daily. We were half board and always plenty to choose from. Best location out of all in Cavtat. All staff were very friendly. More of a 4 star than a 3 star.

Trisha and Steve

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trisha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Trisha L,

Wow!! Thank you for your amazing feedback about recent stay with us!
Your words are so much appreciated!

I'm thrilled that you liked every aspect of our services!

We are all looking forward to welcome you as soon as it possible!

In meantime, please receive our warmest regards,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel just been refurbished. Pool on the roof, not suitable for kids. Bar wasn't open until after we left as it was getting finishing touches but looked very nice. Food to suit most tastes. Lovely area very quiet. Next to no traffic. Would recommend for a chilled out holiday. Area of Cavtat lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betty1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear betty1927,

thank you for your nice compliments about our hotel!
I am happy to hear that you had lovely time with us. So sorry that you didn't enjoy in our new bar/restaurant. I hope you'll enjoy during your next visit!

You are right, pool is not suitable for small kids, but we always suggest to family with kids beach at the front or around in beautiful Cavtat!

Looking forward to welcome you again!

Best regards,

Ivo Sutalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had a week in this lovely hotel, been home for 4 dys and I miss it so much! Our room was 305, beautiful view. The room was spotless. We ate nearly every night & found it very nice. The staff are excellent & so friendly. All in all we loved our stay in your hotel & found Cavtat stunning. Thank you all.

Room Tip: We had room 305, 4th floor. Perfect view across the bay.Sun afternoon & evening.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Debbie C,

thank you for your lovely words about recent stay with us!
I'm graceful that you share your experience in our gem with all TripAdvisor's visitors!

We always try to fulfill every guest's expectations and to please someone wishes, because every guest is important to us!

We're looking forward to welcome you again!
Please, receive our warm regards for beautiful Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

ok just like the other reviewers we too are just back from a stay at this hotel,and would very much go back there in the near future,what can i say the room was spotless - clean towels every day- bed made up and even the ashtray on our balcony was washed and dried ( well i am a smoker ) so cheers to the wee cleaner, Every member of staff were smartly dressed and very polite something some other hotels should take note of, Ahh now onto the food well as it was mostly the local fare at diner it took a while to get used to it But no complaints from me as thats what i go abroad for local food made thier way. Breakfast had a mixture of hot and cold buffet again depends on individual taste but please mister manager get that bloody toaster fixed before i come back! .Overall Excellent hotel Excellent Location and good luck with your new bar/resturant. p.s. go see Michael next door for any trips.

Room Tip: Top floors faceing the bay.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Weedel ,

I would like to thank you for your GREAT review after recent stay in our hotel!
We so much appreciate you kind words, every compliment you wrote touched us!

I can't find enough words how to thank you for sharing it with other TripAdvisor's visitors.
Hope that we'll have an opportunity to welcome you as soon as it possible!

Best wishes from amazing Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews