We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel Cavtat”
Review of Hotel Cavtat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cavtat
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Elland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel Cavtat”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have been staying at this hotel for many years and it just gets better! We have seen many changes and now it has been refurbished to a very high standard. The pool is lovely with fantastic views and the new restaurant, bar and terrace are very stylish, although we feel it has lost some of it's character, for example, we cannot understand why the comfortable indoor seating area has been replaced with a snooker table - minus cues and balls!! We were unfortunate to have unseasonally bad weather on our visit 12th-19th June, and we found there was nowhere to relax indoors when we were unable to go outside because of heavy rain.

The evening meals are excellent with a great choice for everyone and have vastly improved over the years, however please get a new toaster for breakfast as the current one has been there for years and definitely needs replacing.

Our room (504) was lovely with fantastic views from the large balcony. All the hotel staff, waiters, reception, cleaners etc., are fabulous - very friendly and helpful - and the whole hotel is extremely clean. The Reception staff are also very helpful for booking excursions and they are very reasonably priced and great value for money (especially 'Taste of Dalmatia' with Elite Travel).

We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday. Cavtat itself if a delight, with something for everyone and Hotel Cavtat is just a short walk from the beautiful harbour and many other attractions.

For eating out at lunchtime we would definitely recommend Restaurant Dezetska which is very near to the hotel - again with lovely staff, fabulous views over the bay and super food. The bar next to the hotel (Trabakul) is great for a drink in the evening, again very relaxing and with great views over the bay. Another lovely bar, although much quieter, is Cafe Bar Belle Vue, which is halfway up the steps to the Mausoleum - the views over the harbour are breathtaking and it is well worth the walk up there.

We will most definitely be back again next year (hopefully with better weather) and wish Ivo and all the team a very successful 2014 season.

Steve & Jean Greenwood

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor have the best views and are much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Steve & Jean Greenwood,

thank you very much for your kind compliments shared with all TripAdvisor's visitors!
It was really our pleasure to welcome you once again.

It is so much appreciated when people can see and notice all our improvements during the years.
Regarding to toast maker, we'll do our best to replace it as soon as it possible.

I'm happy to read that you've truly enjoyed your stay once time, and that you recommend it to all visitors and your friends!

We're counting days until your next visit!

Warm regards from beautiful Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    414
    94
    21
    9
See reviews for
121
781
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The room was clean and spacious. The ambient is terrible, its look like only very old people goes to this kind of places in Croatia. If you are a young couple don't go here. Don't go anywhere in Cavtat. Is a good quality price comparing with the places that we stayed near by.
Breakfast is awful!.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Symonlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Symonlife,

thank you for your feedback about recent stay with us!
I'm so unhappy to hear that we didn't fulfill your expectations.

Cavtat is small lovely place just near pearl of Adriatic which is for people who are looking for peaceful, calm and relax holiday. I have to tell you that in Cavtat and in our hotel you can find lots of young people, especially visiting it for honeymoon or to escape from huge cities and crowd.
This is perfect spot to visit Dubrovnik and region to not being direct in crowd. Also, Cavtat has it culture and history story which is also interesting to discover.

In Croatia, if young people are looking for some crazy night life, my suggestion and all touristic board in Croatia is to visit Zrce.

As we are 3 stars of hotel, we offer choice compare with 4 or even 5 stars hotel. I'm so sorry that you didn't like it.

Hope that we'll have an opportunity to welcome you again to change you opinion about our small, lovely and friendly hotel!

Best regards,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just returned from a 7 night stay in Hotel Cavtat on a B&B basis.
The hotel itself was perfectly set for us. Being near enough to the main harbour for us to walk in when we wanted our evening meals and drinks, but far enough out that we were never disturbed by any noise.
I have to stress that this hotel is not really for the less mobile or families. The lift will only get you as far as the 4th floor (the pool is another floor up), and there are a few steps down to the restaurants bar and restaurant too. There are no children's facilities either. I think there were two small children at the hotel when we stayed there, however, there were no highchairs for them to use at breakfast. I never saw them at the pool either, so really it seemed a pretty strange choice of hotel!
We stayed in a garden view room and found it to be perfectly acceptable. We basically slept, showered and changed, so did not require the sea views - we spent all day and night near enough looking at them whilst we were out and about or sunbathing. Our room was serviced daily and was kept immaculately clean. The bed was quite firm but comfortable. The only down side was the size of the shower cubicle in the bathroom, it is fairly small. My husband is 6ft and quite broad shouldered. He struggled with the cubicle size! (there is no bath)
Staying in the second week in June we found the heat a little unbearable at some points. The lack of umbrellas at the pool area was disappointing. As too was the apparent lack of respect other guests had for 'sunbed hogging'. I got to the pool at 8.45am one morning and none of the comfortable beds were left. (there are not many to begin with) The 'hoggers' eventually claimed their beds at 11.30am! There is a poster attached to the door as you walk through to the pool asking for no reserving of the beds. When I mentioned to the girl on the pool bar that all the beds were being reserved, she shrugged and said I was too late!
The views from the pool are beautiful, and we definately made use of it during our stay.

Neither of us used the massage services, however other guests mentioned the gentleman there was a miracle worker!

Breakfasts were very good, probably the best b&b we have had whilst abroad. Coffee and a variety of teas are available. (hot milk is on offer as well as cold) A bowl of fresh fruit is on offer, although you have to be early to manage to get a banana! There are a number of cereals, including a few varieties of muesli. Dried fruits, yoghurts, meats, cheeses, breads, croissants, pain au chocolate, salads and a lot of hot breakfasts choices too.
Hopefully the management will sort out that ridiculous toaster fairly soon. I put my bread in, and five slow minutes later - on high - it comes out, warmed on one side. If you turn it over and put it through again, you still don't get toast, you get a crispbread!!

Never ate an evening meal at the hotel, however, we can recommend a couple of local places to eat.
Ivan - Great service and amazing fillet steaks - melt in the mouth and extremely tender. Ate here twice, and can also say the sea bass fillet was very good too.
Dalmacija - ate here twice also! Great service, enjoyed a pasta dish and a chicken dish here. My husband loved their lamb and pork dishes.

The other nights we ate out were not really that impressive, so will not give those establishments any mention at all.

Local beer Karolvachiko (sorry cannot remember exact spelling) was the hands down favourite with my husband, unfortunately, the hotel Cavtat only sells 'favorit'. Which according to husband is truly awful! Karolvachiko is just under £3 per pint.
I enjoyed the local pear brandy - Krushkovat - very nice on ice and about £1 a drink.

Both check in and check out at the Hotel Cavtat was very professional, friendly and quick. All the staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and cheerful.

We are looking forward to returning to the hotel next year for a short break, and would happily recommend the hotel to anyone who is looking for a peaceful, relaxing and 'grown-up' holiday.

Room Tip: If you spend a lot of time in your room on holiday, you may wish to upgrade to a sea-view room. Oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank justbeinghonest17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear justbeinghonest17,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such detailed review about your recent stay with us!
I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, no matter of some small lack which you mentioned.

At the past, hotel was adult only, and unfortunately we don't still have much family with children. However, when we have it, we always try to please them (also we are informed when they arrive, so we get children chair). When someone is less mobile, we informed them about stairs and try to allocate them at reception floor.

I am so sorry to hear that they were still some guests who didn't respect information about leaving their towels on sunchairs more than 2 hours without their presence.
We are always trying that all guests have opportunity to enjoy in our roof terrace and magnificent swimming pool.

Regarding to toast maker at the restaurant, we'll do our best to fix it as soon as possible.

I hope that next time you also taste our delicious food in our new bar/restaurant at the front!

Once time, thank you for staying with us! We're all looking forward to welcome you again in future time!

Warm regards from sunny Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just returned from our one week stay. Cannot fault this hotel, would definitely recommend . Everywhere was spotlessly clean, towels changed daily. We were half board and always plenty to choose from. Best location out of all in Cavtat. All staff were very friendly. More of a 4 star than a 3 star.

Trisha and Steve

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trisha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Trisha L,

Wow!! Thank you for your amazing feedback about recent stay with us!
Your words are so much appreciated!

I'm thrilled that you liked every aspect of our services!

We are all looking forward to welcome you as soon as it possible!

In meantime, please receive our warmest regards,

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel just been refurbished. Pool on the roof, not suitable for kids. Bar wasn't open until after we left as it was getting finishing touches but looked very nice. Food to suit most tastes. Lovely area very quiet. Next to no traffic. Would recommend for a chilled out holiday. Area of Cavtat lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betty1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear betty1927,

thank you for your nice compliments about our hotel!
I am happy to hear that you had lovely time with us. So sorry that you didn't enjoy in our new bar/restaurant. I hope you'll enjoy during your next visit!

You are right, pool is not suitable for small kids, but we always suggest to family with kids beach at the front or around in beautiful Cavtat!

Looking forward to welcome you again!

Best regards,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had a week in this lovely hotel, been home for 4 dys and I miss it so much! Our room was 305, beautiful view. The room was spotless. We ate nearly every night & found it very nice. The staff are excellent & so friendly. All in all we loved our stay in your hotel & found Cavtat stunning. Thank you all.

Room Tip: We had room 305, 4th floor. Perfect view across the bay.Sun afternoon & evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Debbie C,

thank you for your lovely words about recent stay with us!
I'm graceful that you share your experience in our gem with all TripAdvisor's visitors!

We always try to fulfill every guest's expectations and to please someone wishes, because every guest is important to us!

We're looking forward to welcome you again!
Please, receive our warm regards for beautiful Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

ok just like the other reviewers we too are just back from a stay at this hotel,and would very much go back there in the near future,what can i say the room was spotless - clean towels every day- bed made up and even the ashtray on our balcony was washed and dried ( well i am a smoker ) so cheers to the wee cleaner, Every member of staff were smartly dressed and very polite something some other hotels should take note of, Ahh now onto the food well as it was mostly the local fare at diner it took a while to get used to it But no complaints from me as thats what i go abroad for local food made thier way. Breakfast had a mixture of hot and cold buffet again depends on individual taste but please mister manager get that bloody toaster fixed before i come back! .Overall Excellent hotel Excellent Location and good luck with your new bar/resturant. p.s. go see Michael next door for any trips.

Room Tip: Top floors faceing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Weedel ,

I would like to thank you for your GREAT review after recent stay in our hotel!
We so much appreciate you kind words, every compliment you wrote touched us!

I can't find enough words how to thank you for sharing it with other TripAdvisor's visitors.
Hope that we'll have an opportunity to welcome you as soon as it possible!

Best wishes from amazing Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,684 reviews
0.3 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.1 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#8 of 18 in Cavtat
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#5 of 18 in Cavtat
157 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavtat

Property: Hotel Cavtat
Address: Tiha, 8 | Bay of Cavtat, Konavle, Cavtat 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Cavtat Hotel)
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Family Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavtat 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavtat in Cavtat, Croatia, situated in the Tiha Bay, on the shores of the Adriatic Sea is the perfect place for your holiday.Experience leisure, rest and full relaxation during your stay with us, our friendly staff will make sure you will want to come back years to come, great number of our guests already return every year to their favorite room.The Hotel is three star facility open from April to October, offers numerous services that ensure your holidays will be more comfortable, such as car parking, wireless Internet access in public areas, satellite TV and laundry service. Currency exchange and car hire, along with other services you might need, are available at our reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing