We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,396)
Filter reviews
1,397 results
Traveller rating
708
517
132
28
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
708
517
132
28
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool sea view lovely hotel half board three star evening meal tiha bay sea front plenty of choice bathing platform few minutes walk the bus shower cubicle fourth floor old town bars and restaurants main harbour
Filter
Updating list...
955 - 960 of 1,397 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Our first visit to Croatia and this hotel were perfect. The staff were all very pleasant and helpfull and the situation of the hotel couldn't be bettered. There is aircraft noise but as 2 mature ladies it didn't bother us at all. We stayed half board and found the choice and amount of food at both meals very good. We had a problem with the temperature control of the shower which was rectified within a couple of hours of reporting it. We would thoroughly recommend this lovely small and friendly hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings. 2 ladies from East Yorkshire

Room Tip: Some floors on 2 levels - we were 326 but stopped the lift at 4th floor. This area was very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Jean N,

thank you for sharing your experience with us!
It is so much appreciated!

I'm so happy to hear that you've truly enjoyed every aspect of our services. Thank you for loving our choice of food, which by my opinion everyone can find something for himself.

You are right, Cavtat is small piece of heaven for guests who are looking for calm and relax holiday!

We're looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel!

In meantime, we're all sending to you warm regards from charming Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

m the moment we arrived at Dubrovnik airport I was taken aback by the efficiency and friendliness of the Croatian people. It continued through into the hotel where we were pleasantly greeted. As we had arrived just after dinner, the efficient receptionist had pre-ordered a meal to be sent to our room. How thoughtful. The room was very very clean, spacious enough and with a view over the bay, although somewhat obscured by the pine trees, though the whole of Cavtat seems to have been built around pine trees! The meals were fine, a good choice, obvious, plentiful and hot where required. The staff were attentive at all times, and spoke good enough english (I tried a few words of croatian - its a very hard language!). We had a lovely 'dalmatian' evening with traditional food and a little trio singing tradional croatian songs. Very very nice touch. The 'beach' area is effectively a concrete pontoon at the front of the hotel, but the whole of the region is either rocks or pebble areas so dont expect sandy beaches. The new bar area at the front of the hotel is very nice, but as the football was on during our stay and the staff are very young, attention wasn't their best point but we were in no rush thankfully, and some are better than others. Cavtat itself is delightful. Plenty of bars and restaurants and small Do the walk around from the harbour as both the views and the scenery are spectacular. Overall it was lovely to be in a destination where they genuingly wanted you there and to have a nice time. Though it is NOT for small children. Or for those who need the crass entertainment of an evening - this is for those who like peace and tranquility, beautiful surroundngs and patriotic genuine people.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are slightly bigger, and the sun comes round to the balcony in later afternoon, perfect for that last drop of sunshine people watching!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RubydivaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear RubydivaEssex,

I'm glad to read your feedback after your stay with us! It is full with compliments and our culture!
Thank you for sharing it with all TripAdvisor's visitors!

So happy to hear that you enjoyed dalmatian dinner with traditional food and music.
I would like to thank you as well for mention my kind and attentive staff, which are almost all multilingual.
Some of them are still young, but we are giving them an opportunity to learn good work, and of course it is always nice to see young smiling, friendly and most kind people.

We're all looking forward to welcome you again next season!

Warm regards,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Clean, fresh and neat. Right on the bay, walking distance to restaurants and shops. A quick taxi ride from the airport.
Rooms were clean, fresh and bright. The restaurant area on the water was great, service at check in and out quick and efficient.
Ate breakfast and it was good.
Hotel is built into the side of a cliff so even though you enter the lobby on the ground floor you must decend in a lift to get to the rooms.
Beds were comfortable. Water hot
Excellent stay for short or long term.

Room Tip: Ocean View it's why you came here, isn't it?
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Earthbound-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Earthbound-Traveler,

thank you so much for writing review about recent stay with us!
I'm always happy to hear that guests notice our hard work, and all attention given to them.

Thank you for visiting our new bar/restaurant, and of course for like it.

Hope that we'll have an opportunity to pleasantly surprise you once again in future time!

In meantime, please receive our warmest regards from sunny Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We travelled as a couple for a 10 night half board stay. This was our first visit to Croatia and we really liked the place & the people. The food was fine, even if a bit repetitive at times, but there was always a good choice.This is a good value hotel that has upgraded it's facilities recently - the rooftop pool area is great, and the new terrace & bar (once finished) should be nice. Only slight "negative" comment relates to aircraft noise - you are right on the flight path of planes landing in Dubrovnik, so at certain times there is a bit of noise which is a pity because if it wasn't for that, the location with it's wonderful views over the small bay would be quite idyllic. Cavtat itself is very nice, with a good choice of bars and cafes around the harbour & some very pleasant walks around the various bays. We did the 3 Island boat trip & would recommend that as a good day out - as is a trip to Dubrovnik itself.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
4  Thank JimMcTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear JimMcTraveller,

I would like to thank you for sharing kind review about your recent stay with us!
My Team and myself are very happy to hear that you had great time with us, and that we've truly fulfilled your expectations.

I hope that in future time airplane will change they route to make this hotel and this play perfect!

Looking forward to welcome you once again in our beautiful Croatia!

Best regards,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have been staying at this hotel for many years and it just gets better! We have seen many changes and now it has been refurbished to a very high standard. The pool is lovely with fantastic views and the new restaurant, bar and terrace are very stylish, although we feel it has lost some of it's character, for example, we cannot understand why the comfortable indoor seating area has been replaced with a snooker table - minus cues and balls!! We were unfortunate to have unseasonally bad weather on our visit 12th-19th June, and we found there was nowhere to relax indoors when we were unable to go outside because of heavy rain.

The evening meals are excellent with a great choice for everyone and have vastly improved over the years, however please get a new toaster for breakfast as the current one has been there for years and definitely needs replacing.

Our room (504) was lovely with fantastic views from the large balcony. All the hotel staff, waiters, reception, cleaners etc., are fabulous - very friendly and helpful - and the whole hotel is extremely clean. The Reception staff are also very helpful for booking excursions and they are very reasonably priced and great value for money (especially 'Taste of Dalmatia' with Elite Travel).

We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday. Cavtat itself if a delight, with something for everyone and Hotel Cavtat is just a short walk from the beautiful harbour and many other attractions.

For eating out at lunchtime we would definitely recommend Restaurant Dezetska which is very near to the hotel - again with lovely staff, fabulous views over the bay and super food. The bar next to the hotel (Trabakul) is great for a drink in the evening, again very relaxing and with great views over the bay. Another lovely bar, although much quieter, is Cafe Bar Belle Vue, which is halfway up the steps to the Mausoleum - the views over the harbour are breathtaking and it is well worth the walk up there.

We will most definitely be back again next year (hopefully with better weather) and wish Ivo and all the team a very successful 2014 season.

Steve & Jean Greenwood

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor have the best views and are much larger.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Steve & Jean Greenwood,

thank you very much for your kind compliments shared with all TripAdvisor's visitors!
It was really our pleasure to welcome you once again.

It is so much appreciated when people can see and notice all our improvements during the years.
Regarding to toast maker, we'll do our best to replace it as soon as it possible.

I'm happy to read that you've truly enjoyed your stay once time, and that you recommend it to all visitors and your friends!

We're counting days until your next visit!

Warm regards from beautiful Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews