We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,372)
Filter reviews
1,372 results
Traveller rating
699
506
128
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
699
506
128
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolsea viewlovely hotelhalf boardthree starevening mealtiha baysea frontplenty of choicebathing platformfew minutes walkthe busshower cubiclefourth floorold townbars and restaurantsmain harbour
Filter
Updating list...
932 - 937 of 1,372 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our first visit to Croatia and the Hotel Cavtat was spotlessly clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. We were half board and found the buffet food a bit disappointing as most 'hot' dishes were merely warm, especially the breakfast, and a microwave would have been useful for guests to have food heated to their personal preference. The hotel is being constantly improved but unfortunately there is no communal seating area indoors and during our stay of 7 days we had quiet a lot of rain. Cavtat is very picturesque with the harbour and nice walks and lots of pretty bars and restaurants but everything is geared to outdoor eating and drinking which would be lovely if the weather wasn't so unpredictable. Do be aware that the road between the Hotel entrance and bar opposite is a busy road with no pavement, turn left out of the hotel walking towards the harbour and there are cars parked on the roadside and cars coming towards you. There are plenty of trips on offer to Dubrovnik and the Islands which are a must if this is your first visit, we went by boat and were very impressed. Dubrovnik is amazing but check with the rep how many cruise ships are in each day to get the best from your visit as it gets very crowded.
The 24th June is the Hotel's anniversary and guests were unable to use the pool terrace from 12 noon and the private party in the evening continued with loud music until after 1am so if you retire early best avoid this date. We did enjoy our experience in Cavtat and found the people particularly warm, friendly and welcoming and all spoke amazing English.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyndy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear lyndy_11,

thank you for your beautiful words about recent stay with us!
It is so much appreciated of you to inform all our guests and future guests about all details you wrote.
I'm happy to read that our hotel and our small, but amazing country is really new nice experience to you, and that you chose our hotel to discover it.

Our owners want to celebrate anniversary of our hotel and our new management. but we always inform our guests at least 2 days before that celebration. We feel so sorry for any inconvenience because of this occasion. I hope that you also enjoyed in fireworks which was for that special occasion.

Hope you'll choose our hotel again in future time!

Best regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Our first visit to Croatia and this hotel were perfect. The staff were all very pleasant and helpfull and the situation of the hotel couldn't be bettered. There is aircraft noise but as 2 mature ladies it didn't bother us at all. We stayed half board and found the choice and amount of food at both meals very good. We had a problem with the temperature control of the shower which was rectified within a couple of hours of reporting it. We would thoroughly recommend this lovely small and friendly hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings. 2 ladies from East Yorkshire

Room Tip: Some floors on 2 levels - we were 326 but stopped the lift at 4th floor. This area was very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Jean N,

thank you for sharing your experience with us!
It is so much appreciated!

I'm so happy to hear that you've truly enjoyed every aspect of our services. Thank you for loving our choice of food, which by my opinion everyone can find something for himself.

You are right, Cavtat is small piece of heaven for guests who are looking for calm and relax holiday!

We're looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel!

In meantime, we're all sending to you warm regards from charming Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

m the moment we arrived at Dubrovnik airport I was taken aback by the efficiency and friendliness of the Croatian people. It continued through into the hotel where we were pleasantly greeted. As we had arrived just after dinner, the efficient receptionist had pre-ordered a meal to be sent to our room. How thoughtful. The room was very very clean, spacious enough and with a view over the bay, although somewhat obscured by the pine trees, though the whole of Cavtat seems to have been built around pine trees! The meals were fine, a good choice, obvious, plentiful and hot where required. The staff were attentive at all times, and spoke good enough english (I tried a few words of croatian - its a very hard language!). We had a lovely 'dalmatian' evening with traditional food and a little trio singing tradional croatian songs. Very very nice touch. The 'beach' area is effectively a concrete pontoon at the front of the hotel, but the whole of the region is either rocks or pebble areas so dont expect sandy beaches. The new bar area at the front of the hotel is very nice, but as the football was on during our stay and the staff are very young, attention wasn't their best point but we were in no rush thankfully, and some are better than others. Cavtat itself is delightful. Plenty of bars and restaurants and small Do the walk around from the harbour as both the views and the scenery are spectacular. Overall it was lovely to be in a destination where they genuingly wanted you there and to have a nice time. Though it is NOT for small children. Or for those who need the crass entertainment of an evening - this is for those who like peace and tranquility, beautiful surroundngs and patriotic genuine people.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are slightly bigger, and the sun comes round to the balcony in later afternoon, perfect for that last drop of sunshine people watching!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RubydivaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear RubydivaEssex,

I'm glad to read your feedback after your stay with us! It is full with compliments and our culture!
Thank you for sharing it with all TripAdvisor's visitors!

So happy to hear that you enjoyed dalmatian dinner with traditional food and music.
I would like to thank you as well for mention my kind and attentive staff, which are almost all multilingual.
Some of them are still young, but we are giving them an opportunity to learn good work, and of course it is always nice to see young smiling, friendly and most kind people.

We're all looking forward to welcome you again next season!

Warm regards,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Clean, fresh and neat. Right on the bay, walking distance to restaurants and shops. A quick taxi ride from the airport.
Rooms were clean, fresh and bright. The restaurant area on the water was great, service at check in and out quick and efficient.
Ate breakfast and it was good.
Hotel is built into the side of a cliff so even though you enter the lobby on the ground floor you must decend in a lift to get to the rooms.
Beds were comfortable. Water hot
Excellent stay for short or long term.

Room Tip: Ocean View it's why you came here, isn't it?
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Earthbound-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Earthbound-Traveler,

thank you so much for writing review about recent stay with us!
I'm always happy to hear that guests notice our hard work, and all attention given to them.

Thank you for visiting our new bar/restaurant, and of course for like it.

Hope that we'll have an opportunity to pleasantly surprise you once again in future time!

In meantime, please receive our warmest regards from sunny Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We travelled as a couple for a 10 night half board stay. This was our first visit to Croatia and we really liked the place & the people. The food was fine, even if a bit repetitive at times, but there was always a good choice.This is a good value hotel that has upgraded it's facilities recently - the rooftop pool area is great, and the new terrace & bar (once finished) should be nice. Only slight "negative" comment relates to aircraft noise - you are right on the flight path of planes landing in Dubrovnik, so at certain times there is a bit of noise which is a pity because if it wasn't for that, the location with it's wonderful views over the small bay would be quite idyllic. Cavtat itself is very nice, with a good choice of bars and cafes around the harbour & some very pleasant walks around the various bays. We did the 3 Island boat trip & would recommend that as a good day out - as is a trip to Dubrovnik itself.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
4  Thank JimMcTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear JimMcTraveller,

I would like to thank you for sharing kind review about your recent stay with us!
My Team and myself are very happy to hear that you had great time with us, and that we've truly fulfilled your expectations.

I hope that in future time airplane will change they route to make this hotel and this play perfect!

Looking forward to welcome you once again in our beautiful Croatia!

Best regards,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews