We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Cavtat”
Review of Hotel Cavtat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cavtat
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This Hotel was very welcoming and accommodating despite the fact that we were there at the end of the season and things were quietening down somewhat. Our room whilst a little dark and minimalistic was adequate for our needs. Our view over the sea was perfect with small islands and a lido area roped off for those brave enough to tackle the waves at this time of year. Stunning sun sets could be seen and when squid were being fished a small army of boats could be seen twinkling into the night as they fished. Their catch could be sampled at any of the many fish restaurants on the main drag in the harbour area. Everyone was charming and helpful. A thoroughly delightful area with an excellent hotel. There was a golf buggy transport to get people up and down to the main areas which accommodated everyone until late in the evening but sometimes there was a bit of a wait. Would most definitely go back again.

Room Tip: For main access to the rear of the hotel and lido choose the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank v0nney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear v0nney1,

thank you for sharing your experience in such a wonderful place as it is Cavtat!
I have to inform you that you posted feedback on wrong hotel, as I can see you were accommodated in hotel Croatia in Cavtat, and not in our hotel!

However, I hope you had wonderful time there, and enjoy your holiday in Cavtat!

Best regards,

Ivo Sutalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Have just returned from a ten day holiday in Cavtat , staing at the hotel Cavtat. We stayed at half board and on the whole found the food to be very good and plenty of it. We had stayed in Cavtat the previous year in an Apartment and ate out every evening in different restaurants but none of them were very memorable, We found the food at the hotel to be every bit as good if not better so no need to eat out at all. We found the Waiter Ivo to be exceptionally good he always had our wine on the table when we went to dinner and nothing was to much trouble.

We were a little bit disappointed with our room which was on the first floor, It was very small with the tiniest wardrobe , there was barely enough room for my clothes let alone my husbands. Also there were only two small drawers, though there were a few shelves. We thought we would have had a better room seeing as we booked a year in advance, Saying that though the room was always kept spotlessly clean with clean towels every day.

We did the three Island boat trip which we books through Micheal who has his pitch just along the road from the hotel. That was very good value and the weather was good, but we did have quite a bit of rain during our stay. We also went to the tiny island of Platt which is just a ten minute or so ride on the bus. Apart from that we just had a lovely relaxing lazy holiday, and when we return at some time in the Future we will stay at this hotel but we will request a bigger room.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in room 109. We had a sea view but the room was very small, but we never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizzymint186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear lizzymint186220,

thank you for taking the time to post feedback about recent stay with us!
I'll pass all your nice compliments to restaurant staff, especially to waiter Ivo. I'm glad to hear that you notice all hard work of my Team, which is always trying to do best to please everyone.

I feel so sorry that you didn't like your room. I hope that you said it to our reception staff which is always trying to resolve such an issue while staying with us. If we have some better room available, they offer it to change.

Anyway, I hope that this small issue didn't have a negative affect on your holiday with us.
I truly hope that you enjoy and relax yourself in brilliant place as Cavtat!

Looking forward to your next visit to Croatia and to our hotel!

Best regards from our small, but lovely hotel!

Ivo Sutalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Cavtat for one week on a half-board basis. The Hotel is small, friendly and very clean. The food was buffet style and was very good with plenty of choice.

Cavtat itself is lovely with a very interesting harbour with lots of big yachts either moored or coming and going,where you can sit, dream and enjoy a delicious ice cream. There are also nice walks around the adjacent peninsula and 2 bays with wonderful views. The sunset in Cavtat is spectacular.

Dubrovnik is 40 minutes away by boat or 30 minutes by local bus. The city is very interesting and a good place to visit and explore but very busy when the cruise liners are in port.

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and wish to pass on our thanks to the hotel management and staff. The local people were also very friendly.

Room Tip: Sea room with balcony well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geezerbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Geezerbob,

WoW!! I would like to thank you for your delightful words about your recent stay with us in beautiful Cavtat!

My Team, myself and local people are always happy to hear that someone make such a wonderful words about place we live, and come again and again..

Thank you for passing us all kind wishes, we wish you as well all best!

We're counting days until your next visit!

Kind regards from delightful Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our first visit to Croatia and the Hotel Cavtat was spotlessly clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. We were half board and found the buffet food a bit disappointing as most 'hot' dishes were merely warm, especially the breakfast, and a microwave would have been useful for guests to have food heated to their personal preference. The hotel is being constantly improved but unfortunately there is no communal seating area indoors and during our stay of 7 days we had quiet a lot of rain. Cavtat is very picturesque with the harbour and nice walks and lots of pretty bars and restaurants but everything is geared to outdoor eating and drinking which would be lovely if the weather wasn't so unpredictable. Do be aware that the road between the Hotel entrance and bar opposite is a busy road with no pavement, turn left out of the hotel walking towards the harbour and there are cars parked on the roadside and cars coming towards you. There are plenty of trips on offer to Dubrovnik and the Islands which are a must if this is your first visit, we went by boat and were very impressed. Dubrovnik is amazing but check with the rep how many cruise ships are in each day to get the best from your visit as it gets very crowded.
The 24th June is the Hotel's anniversary and guests were unable to use the pool terrace from 12 noon and the private party in the evening continued with loud music until after 1am so if you retire early best avoid this date. We did enjoy our experience in Cavtat and found the people particularly warm, friendly and welcoming and all spoke amazing English.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyndy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear lyndy_11,

thank you for your beautiful words about recent stay with us!
It is so much appreciated of you to inform all our guests and future guests about all details you wrote.
I'm happy to read that our hotel and our small, but amazing country is really new nice experience to you, and that you chose our hotel to discover it.

Our owners want to celebrate anniversary of our hotel and our new management. but we always inform our guests at least 2 days before that celebration. We feel so sorry for any inconvenience because of this occasion. I hope that you also enjoyed in fireworks which was for that special occasion.

Hope you'll choose our hotel again in future time!

Best regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Our first visit to Croatia and this hotel were perfect. The staff were all very pleasant and helpfull and the situation of the hotel couldn't be bettered. There is aircraft noise but as 2 mature ladies it didn't bother us at all. We stayed half board and found the choice and amount of food at both meals very good. We had a problem with the temperature control of the shower which was rectified within a couple of hours of reporting it. We would thoroughly recommend this lovely small and friendly hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings. 2 ladies from East Yorkshire

Room Tip: Some floors on 2 levels - we were 326 but stopped the lift at 4th floor. This area was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Jean N,

thank you for sharing your experience with us!
It is so much appreciated!

I'm so happy to hear that you've truly enjoyed every aspect of our services. Thank you for loving our choice of food, which by my opinion everyone can find something for himself.

You are right, Cavtat is small piece of heaven for guests who are looking for calm and relax holiday!

We're looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel!

In meantime, we're all sending to you warm regards from charming Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

m the moment we arrived at Dubrovnik airport I was taken aback by the efficiency and friendliness of the Croatian people. It continued through into the hotel where we were pleasantly greeted. As we had arrived just after dinner, the efficient receptionist had pre-ordered a meal to be sent to our room. How thoughtful. The room was very very clean, spacious enough and with a view over the bay, although somewhat obscured by the pine trees, though the whole of Cavtat seems to have been built around pine trees! The meals were fine, a good choice, obvious, plentiful and hot where required. The staff were attentive at all times, and spoke good enough english (I tried a few words of croatian - its a very hard language!). We had a lovely 'dalmatian' evening with traditional food and a little trio singing tradional croatian songs. Very very nice touch. The 'beach' area is effectively a concrete pontoon at the front of the hotel, but the whole of the region is either rocks or pebble areas so dont expect sandy beaches. The new bar area at the front of the hotel is very nice, but as the football was on during our stay and the staff are very young, attention wasn't their best point but we were in no rush thankfully, and some are better than others. Cavtat itself is delightful. Plenty of bars and restaurants and small Do the walk around from the harbour as both the views and the scenery are spectacular. Overall it was lovely to be in a destination where they genuingly wanted you there and to have a nice time. Though it is NOT for small children. Or for those who need the crass entertainment of an evening - this is for those who like peace and tranquility, beautiful surroundngs and patriotic genuine people.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are slightly bigger, and the sun comes round to the balcony in later afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RubydivaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear RubydivaEssex,

I'm glad to read your feedback after your stay with us! It is full with compliments and our culture!
Thank you for sharing it with all TripAdvisor's visitors!

So happy to hear that you enjoyed dalmatian dinner with traditional food and music.
I would like to thank you as well for mention my kind and attentive staff, which are almost all multilingual.
Some of them are still young, but we are giving them an opportunity to learn good work, and of course it is always nice to see young smiling, friendly and most kind people.

We're all looking forward to welcome you again next season!

Warm regards,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Clean, fresh and neat. Right on the bay, walking distance to restaurants and shops. A quick taxi ride from the airport.
Rooms were clean, fresh and bright. The restaurant area on the water was great, service at check in and out quick and efficient.
Ate breakfast and it was good.
Hotel is built into the side of a cliff so even though you enter the lobby on the ground floor you must decend in a lift to get to the rooms.
Beds were comfortable. Water hot
Excellent stay for short or long term.

Room Tip: Ocean View it's why you came here, isn't it?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Earthbound-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Earthbound-Traveler,

thank you so much for writing review about recent stay with us!
I'm always happy to hear that guests notice our hard work, and all attention given to them.

Thank you for visiting our new bar/restaurant, and of course for like it.

Hope that we'll have an opportunity to pleasantly surprise you once again in future time!

In meantime, please receive our warmest regards from sunny Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,861 reviews
0.3 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.1 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#7 of 18 in Cavtat
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#5 of 18 in Cavtat
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 18 in Cavtat
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavtat

Address: Tiha, 8 | Bay of Cavtat, Konavle, Cavtat, Konavle 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Cavtat Hotel)
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: £52 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavtat 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavtat in Cavtat, Croatia, situated in the Tiha Bay, on the shores of the Adriatic Sea is the perfect place for your holiday.Experience leisure, rest and full relaxation during your stay with us, our friendly staff will make sure you will want to come back years to come, great number of our guests already return every year to their favorite room.The Hotel is three star facility open from April to October, offers numerous services that ensure your holidays will be more comfortable, such as car parking, wireless Internet access in public areas, satellite TV and laundry service. Currency exchange and car hire, along with other services you might need, are available at our reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing