We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cavtat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cavtat
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We returned yesterday from 10 nights at this excellent hotel. From the moment we arrived everything was perfect. Our room (5th floor with a paid for sea view) had the most breathtaking view which I will never forget.The room was of a good size with comfortable beds and efficient air conditioning. The bathroom was clean and functional and we had fresh towels everyday The rooftop swimming pool also enjoyed this same view and the sunbeds were very plush! We stayed on a half board basis and both breakfast and dinner was good with an excellent choice of freshly prepared food. We also had lunch in the new restaurant overlooking the sea and this was one of the best meals we had in Cavtat and very competitivly priced. We always ended our day with a drink on the new terrace and enjoyed chatting to newly made friends. Its difficult to put into words what makes the Hotel Cavtat such a magical place.......its big enough to provide all the necessary essentials of a good holiday but small enough to provide a personal service. All the staff (without exception) made an effort to smile and acknowledge you and it is evident they are proud of their hotel. It somehow brings 'tradition and funky' together.....something not easy to achieve, but it worked brilliantly. When I read reviews on here I often feel ashamed to be British - I really don't know how anyone could find such 'petty' faults!! Cavtat itself was the 'icing on the cake' - such a beautiful place with many good places to sit and enjoy the evening sunset and gaze in awe at the luxury yachts. Will we be back? Without a doubt.......I will just come better better prepared for those nasty mosquitoes - they won't win though. Thank you to everyone at the Hotel Cavtat for such a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serendipity59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Serendipity59,

WoW, what a review!!!! Can't find enough words how I'm excited after reading it!!
You really made my day, and I believe of all my Team and staff!!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us with all TripAdvisor's visitors!!
So much appreciated!!

I'm really delighted that you had fantastic holiday with us, and you've truly noticed all our hard work, but always smiling and kind staff even when sometimes it is too hard to please everyone's wishes!!

I really hope that it wasn't your last visit to our lovely country and our small, but friendly hotel!!

In meantime, please receive the warmest regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    362
    88
    17
    7
See reviews for
103
676
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay and miracle massage by Vince. Something caused me to retain so much water that it was painful. Vince, the magician, massaged my legs back to their normal size. Thank you!!!!
Hotel was great too. Good location, very clean, nice breakfast, beach, pool, AC, internet, restaurants. Easy access to Dubrovnik. I hope to return. If you go, book a massage!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear KA D ,

I'm so happy to hear that Vinko helped you and back you to normal after pain in your leg!
Thank you for visiting our beauty center Lavanda, and to recommending it to all our present and future guests!!!

I'm thrilled that you loved our hotel, our staff, our stunning location... Thank you so much for posting it to other TripAdvisor's visitors!!

Looking forward to welcome you soon in future time!!

Warm regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Cavtat in June. We had such a wonderful holiday we can barely fault it.

The hotel – all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel also arranged out taxis transfer. Cavtat is very close to the airport which means a lovely short transfer, it is on the flightpath but didn’t bother us at all as the planes don’t some over very often. There is a lovely roof top pool, we didn’t use this as we swam in the beautiful clear sea instead. The location is great too, it’s a lovely easy walk into town or to the peninsular walks.

Our room (110) was a reasonable size with very comfortable beds (2 singles pushed together as is common in Europe), wardrobe, hanging space, dressing table, 2 chairs and small table. The bathroom was quite small but perfectly adequate with a standard size shower cubicle and hairdryer. We had a lovely balcony with a sea view, there were a few trees but we still had a lovely view. Our room was also quite, even though we were at the front we didn’t get disturbed. The air con was working when we were there and this was very quiet. Fridges can be hired from reception. There is no safe in the rooms but safety deposit boxes are available free at reception. We had Wi-Fi working in our room but was sometime a bit patchy and kept dropping out.

We were half board and didn’t feel the need to eat out in the evenings, there was always a good selection of food for breakfast and dinner. There was a good selection of drinks to buy with your meal in the evening. Whatever time we went into the restaurant there were always tables available. Lunches are available at the sea side terrace which are great too.

Cavtat – it is a wonderful place with plenty to see and do, there are beautiful walks around the peninsulas, the mausoleum is worth a visit too. We love Lake Garda and wanted somewhere to be as good, Cavtat is as good! It is easy to get to Dubrovnik and there are plenty of other excursions available. To book excursions I would recommend seeing Big Michael next door (Cavtat Travel), he is really friendly, gives great advice and picks the best trips for you. He is also very honest, he suggested that we didn’t do a trip because of bad weather but could’ve easily just took our money and said nothing. The Konavle trip with wine tasting is fantastic, we were a group of 4 and it felt like we were invited into the winemakers home, we had liquor and wine tasting and a platter of local cheese and meats. Also, do not miss the ice creams from the shop in town, they are brilliant value and delicious. The sunsets are amazing too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alison123Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear alison123Suffolk,

I would like to thank you for such a wonderful description of our hotel, and your lovely room!
It is nice to know that we truly fulfilled your expectations.

Thank you for mention our kind, friendly and multilingual staff! You can't find everywhere in the world staff speaking many languages and no matter to hard and tired work, always smiling and helpful!

I'm so happy to read that you loved hotel decor and atmosphere!

We're all looking forward to welcome you as soon as it possible!
In meantime, please receive our greatest regards from magnificent Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned two weeks ago from the Hotel Cavtat. This hotel is in a brilliant position overlooking
the sea and very close to the village itself which is very picturesque with some lovely walks. All areas of the hotel, including the bedrooms, are spotlessly clean and nothing seems too much trouble for the staff who are so friendly, which seems to be the case with the Croatian people in
general. The only downside in the bedrooms is the shower cubicle which is very small and there
is no bath as an alternative (we were in room 412) which may I add had a beautiful view. TherTe is really no indoor seating area in the hotel but hopefully management may look at this problem as a lot of people seem to have this complaint. The food in the dining room at breakfast was absolutely fine, in the evening, as we were half board, sometimes hit or miss, very poor selection
of vegetables, but overall there was always enough for dinner. Remember you are in Croatia a
totally different country!! These small complaints will not stop me from using this hotel again.
There is a lovely roof top pool and also sunbeds at the seafront which are in a great position.

If going on any trips Michael of Cavtat Travel is just a few yards from the hotel. Come out of the
hotel, turn left , and you will not miss him sitting on the left hand side. Very helpful and informative and good prices.

Another plus for this hotel is it is just 10 minutes from the airport.

Best way to describe this hotel is in three words " A LITTLE GEM"

Room Tip: High floor to get an unobstructed view 412 to 416
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Catherine B,

I would like to thank you for wonderful description of our little gem!!
So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and of course you've been allocated in room with stunning view!

Thank you for loving our breakfast! Of course, this small complaints help us to improve more all our facilities to get to the perfection.

Regarding to indoor seats, you can find it in our indoor bar/restaurant located in front, which have also floor with about 20 seats.

Our location is perfect for everyone who like to spend calm and relax holiday, but it is also good spot to get easy and fast to the airport.

Looking forward to welcome you next season in our hotel!

In meantime, we are sending the warmest regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed for 11 nights..excellent location,very helpful and friendly staff. A beautiful rooftop sun terrace and infinity pool. Wifi bit patchy within hotel..could do to be more available. Special mention to Vinko at Lavanda beauty. My husband and I had 3 back massages each....Amazing!!! Very professional and we felt so much better for the treatments. His wife does facials, nails etc too. You must book if you are staying in Cavtat.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear HPKJ,

thank you for your amazing feedback after recent stay with!
I can't find words to thank you enough for mention our good qualities, our kind and friendly staff, our magnificent view from roof terrace.

It is so kind of you to visit and mention our small, but lovely beauty center with professional Vinko and his kind wife.
Most guests can't find their amazing center, but I hope after your review, they will visit it too and try all their products!

Hope you'll stay with us next time, and enjoy once in our stunning location!

Kind regards from sunny Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is friendly, easy going and wonderfully informal hotel. We ate our evening meals at the hotel, and found the food to be varied and tasty.The hotel staff and the local population made us feel very welcome. The management can be proud of their staff, for making everyone feel welcome. We spoke to an elderly couple who were on their 12th visit to this Hotel, a great recommendation. The roof top pool area gets very crowded, so we did not get chance to use the facilities, but the sea side area more than made up for this, and was more enjoyable.

Room Tip: A sea view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgmail2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear jg2011England,

Your amazing words really made our day! Thank you for sharing your experience with us with all TripAdvisor's visitors!

What a wonderful feeling when you read that our staff and local people is so kind, and when someone really noticed it.

As you could see, we have many guests arriving year after year, which is I believe he most reason our beautiful people and of course stunning Cavtat!

It was our honor to welcome you in our hotel! We hope that you'll visit us as soon as possible again!

In meantime, please receive the warmest regards from sunny Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania, Greece
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Excellent location, handy for the local bus into Dubrovnik and getting to the Airport. Plenty of local Tavernas and good excursion available to be booked locally. We had atrocious weather but it didn't dampen our opinion of the hotel. Only downside due to the bad weather no bar area to sit in and enjoy a glass of wine as it was all outside on the waters edge

Room Tip: Rooms with small balconies and sea views are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Eileen687,

thank you for taking the time to post wonderful comment about your stay with us!

As I can see, you were with us in April or beginning of May when we were still doing some refurbishment in our bar /restaurant. I'm so sorry that you didn't have an opportunity to enjoy it in beautiful terrace in nice weather as it is now, and in indoor modern designed bar/restaurant.
We hope that you'll visit us soon to see all our improvements and to enjoy much more!

Anyway, it was really our pleasure to welcome you as one of first guests in this season!

Warm regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castelletto
Hotel Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#8 of 17 in Cavtat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#7 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavtat

Property: Hotel Cavtat
Address: Tiha, 8 | Bay of Cavtat, Konavle, Cavtat 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Cavtat Hotel)
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavtat 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavtat in Cavtat, Croatia, situated in the Tiha Bay, on the shores of the Adriatic Sea is the perfect place for your holiday.Experience leisure, rest and full relaxation during your stay with us, our friendly staff will make sure you will want to come back years to come, great number of our guests already return every year to their favorite room.The Hotel is three star facility open from April to October, offers numerous services that ensure your holidays will be more comfortable, such as car parking, wireless Internet access in public areas, satellite TV and laundry service. Currency exchange and car hire, along with other services you might need, are available at our reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing