We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Restaurant Bugenvila
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$29
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Experience carefully sourced highest quality ingredients cooked to perfection. Enjoy immaculately presented seasonal cocktails. Taste some of the best Croatian wines. Enjoy life!
Dunfermline, Fife
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our second visit to Cavtat and we returned to Bugenvila not once but twice. This is one of if not the best restaurant I have ever been to. The standard of restaurant in Cavtat is pretty good but this place is a step up from the rest. The menu is wide ranging and caters to a wide range of tastes. My highlights this year were the scallops and pork belly and the Ox cheeks. My wife, who doesn't eat meat, raved about the halibut as well as the lobster special. Done even start me on the desserts!!

Service is absolutely fantastic as well.

Well worth every penny.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MattScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,152
    234
    66
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing service and lovely setting”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We decided to eat here as the menu was really different from all the grill, pasta, pizza places in Cavtat and we were very impressed. Unfortunately, it was v busy, so we could only get a table inside. However, the manager said that she would move us to outside when a table became available, so we were able to enjoy dessert outside.

The food was lovely - we tried a selection of dishes and all were really good, tasty and interesting. The monkfish and steak were the standout dishes. The cocktails and wine were also really good and reasonably priced.

The restaurant had a v nice atmosphere and a lot of attention to detail had been paid to the surroundings and table settings. This matched the service, which was perfect - attentive, friendly and helpful. Everyone was excellent, especially the manager.

Overall, we had a fantastic meal and I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Botto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best food and dining experience in Cavtat - reservations recommended for dinner”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had both lunch and dinner at Bugenvila during our stay in Cavtat and both times it was a truly magical experience.

We highly recommend that you visit this restaurant - it is absolutely amazing and though expensive for Croatia, an absolute bargain compared to UK prices.

At dinner complimentary amuse bouche are provided, and at lunch we got a free limoncello! The service is impeccable, the food divine - five stars is not enough!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pity about the Yachts”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great food, great service, lovely spot. What a pity that there are all those mega-yachts each with a noisy, smelly generator running!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DMWoodroffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bugenvila, Owner at Restaurant Bugenvila, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
I'm glad that you liked our cuisine and our service. I can assure our TA readers that generators from super yachts at anchor in the bay of Cavtat are extremely rarely a nuisance for our restaurant. In fact, yacht captains often complain to the harbour authorities that they can not fully use the equipment onboard their vessels because of strict regulations of the Cavtat Port. I can assure you that the noise and the smell of the generators that spoiled your perfect dinner were an exception to the otherwise very peaceful and elegant evenings in the Old Town of Cavtat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent, cute & cosy”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This small gem is a great exception to Cavtat's otherwise dull pizza-hamburger-hotdog-whatnot restaurant scene.

Delicious food, good service and great atmosphere. Worth a visit even when not staying in Cavtat. We only had lunch two times, because we were traveling with a toddler (who, btw, was very warmly welcomed at least at lunchtime), but I would've loved to enjoy a romantic dinner there as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank zmtstrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Bugenvila also viewed

Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Restaurant Bugenvila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing