We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a fantastic place, a must for all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“what a fantastic place, a must for all”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Just got back from Hotel Croatia in Cavtat. Firstly what a fabulous place Cavtat is, very picturesque with stunning views, fantastic restaurants and friendly people. Hotel Croatia was perfect, cant find a fault. The hotel and rooms are all very clean, spacious and modern. The food had a great variety for all tastes. The pools were clean and not crammed full of sun loungers. We really enjoyed sun bathing on the rock cliffs and swimming in the sea from there. Well done, a first class hotel which knows how to treat its holiday makers

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmericaHolidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroatiaHotel, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for posting your positive comments after your stay in our property. It is very important for us to receive your feedback which is shared with all the hotel employees. Comments like yours are really appreciated and we are delighted to see that the variety and taste of our food as well as the comfort of our rooms and our beach and pool facilities reached your expectations.
We look forward to welcome you again at the Hotel Croatia in the sunny Dubrovnik.

Yours truly,
Camilo Soza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    1,061
    276
    49
    16
See reviews for
441
1,676
37
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,012)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I have recently returned from a ten-day stay with my daughter (27 yrs) at the Hotel Croatia in beautiful Cavtat. I had previously only been to Croatia in the height of the tourist season in 2007 - a cruise stopover in Dubrovnik. My memories of a few hours in Croatia were at the root of our holiday plan this year, we were looking for rest, peace and quiet, sunshine and an overall chill-out. We arrived at Dubrovnik Airport after only two hours flight from Brussels and, after dropping off our fellow travellers at two other hotels, we were genuinely delighted to see that our hotel was clearly several notches higher on the "star scale" than the others and in an incomparably beautiful location. We were lucky to arrive early in the morning and had the whole day ahead of us to explore the vast hotel and discover the delightful harbour town of Cavtat. The Croatia Hotel is magnificently situated, built into the west-side cliffs around Cavtat bay. From the height of my advancing years, I can honestly boast numerous holiday destinations and it is without reserve that I can recommend this hotel and its divine location. I have never - with the exception of the afore-mentioned cruise - experienced such a magnificent sea-view; the sound of the waves breaking against the rocks, the splendid sunset, the afternoon sun on the balcony.... a dream. The hotel staff, without exception, were friendly, helpful and genuinely seemed to care about their guests. A special mention to the lovely lady who served us our after-breakfast, and after dinner, cappuccinos with her tireless smile and to Petar at the pool bar for always being in "excellent" spirits and who was kind enough to interpret the bill when I was spectacle-less :-) The buggy service (free of charge) between the hotel and Cavtat village was a relief - going DOWN the steps was fine but, when we were loaded with souvenirs and local gastronomic fare, the buggy proved to be a God-send! Any small issue we had (we needed extra soap and experienced some issues with the safe), were resolved within minutes. My only less-than-positive remark would be with regard to the food. Breakfast was great but lacked fresh fruit. The fruit was mainly the tinned variety except for orange and grapefruit slices (that carried a bit to much pith for my liking). A greater selection of fresh fruit would have been wonderful. We had booked the half-board option but ended up eating in Cavtat and Dubrovnik on at least five of the ten evenings that were included in our half-board package. The buffet dinner was ok but lacked finesse and variety; having said that, I live in Brussels where eating out is second nature and where the food is incomparable... My daughter and I favoured the more personalised service and more traditional menus that we found in Cavtat itself (reviews also on Trip Advisor). Having said that, the hotel has at least 450 rooms to cater for; we were staying at the hotel at the beginning of the season before it had reached full occupancy, and it would have been unfair to expect all the stops to have been pulled out this early in the season. Friendly service, clean, comfortable and exceptionally located, this hotel is really a jewel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allerabrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroatiaHotel, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with our friends of Trip Advisor your first impression upon your return at home. We are so happy to see that our hotel fulfilled all your expectations in all senses. All your positive comments concerning your experience with us were shared with our employees and especially with the ones you kindly mentioned in your letter. This will encourage us to continue towards the pursuit of excellence. We really hope to see you back very soon in our establishment where you will always been welcomed.

With kind regards,
Camilo Soza
General Manager

P.S. Thank you also for the nice picture of Cavtat you posted at the very bottom of your letter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We have just returned from a weeks stay at hotel croatia in cavtat. Perfect hotel in a perfect location, cannot fault it. We arrived early in the morning 3 hours before check in opens and were immediately checked into our room. The rooms are spacious and very clean and well decorated. We had a park view which wasn't much of a view but we didn't mind as the views from elsewhere in the hotel were amazing. The first night we had problems with our air conditioning and it was blowing out 28 degree air. We asked for it to be fixed and someone came straight out to us at 10pm. Unfortunately it wasn't fixed and we spent most of the night sleeping on the balcony as the heat inside was to much. We spoke to reception in the morning about this and were instantly moved to a new room with a sea view to make up for this. There have been a few reviews about the food not being good but we cannot fault it. Every night is a different theme and there is so much variety - although if you are vegetarian I suspect you might be limited as food was generally several types of meat and fish. The salad bars were plentiful and there were lots of puddings to choose from including cakes, fruit and jellies. Unfortunately they didn't do ice cream but we came out of season so this might be an option in summer. Drinks are fairly expensive so watch out - each night we would have 2 small fantas at a cost of around £6 and there is no free tap water option. The hotel is spotlessly clean - we even saw a cleaner shining the inside of a bin outside!!! The staff are all very friendly and speak perfect English, some come across as a bit sharp but this is just their manner I think. There is a hotel "beach" which is actually just a promenade with access to the sea but I would suggest this is not suitable for small children as it is steps straight into the sea, no shallow beach to go on. The area is beautiful and best explored on foot. There is a bus, number 10 which takes you to Dubrovnik from cavtat bus station. This is 17kunas each way and takes around half hour. Beware there are steps everywhere and not just a few steps, we are in our 20s and struggled with the number and steepness of the steps so if you are disabled or have trouble with steps this area is best avoided. There is so much to say about the area and hotel but not enough room to write! If you are going to the area and want to know more feel free to send me a message, I would be happy to answer your questions.
An amazing hotel and location where the place looks even better than the photos in the brochure!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nikkilove2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroatiaHotel, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Dear Guests,
It is always a pleasure for us to see that our guests have been totally satisfied with their stay at the Croatia Hotel and we thank you for sharing your impressions on the Trip Advisor internet page. This is the best award we can receive and our employees are always proud and motivated to read such encouraging comments like yours. I am pleased to see that the inconvenience you had at the beginning of your stay was immediately solved by our competent staff at the front desk and that you were extremely satisfied with the variety and quality of our food throughout our food and beverage outlets.
We hope to have the privilege to see you back soon in our establishment and to count you as a part of our large and happy family of return guest.
Best regards from the sunny Dubrovnik,
Camilo Soza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

just had a week in hotel croatia in cavtat amazing cannot find a wrong word to say about the place,the staff were brilliant the food to a very high standard there may have been times when you cannot suite everyone because it is so hard but the resturant staff did an excellent job,i would gladly recomend this hotel,croatia is such a beautifull place,

Room Tip: go and eat further out of town it is cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroatiaHotel, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear guest,
On behalf of our hotel staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your impressions concerning your stay at the Croatia Hotel. We are pleased to see that you had a fantastic experience in our establishment and that you will recommend our hotel to your friends. We hope to have the opportunity to see you again back soon in your "home away from home".
Sunny regards from Croatia,
Camilo Soza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Just returned from one week in the hotel Croatia. Whilst we were there there was a medical congress held in the hotel for five of our seven days stay. 600 plus delegates. The hotel was frantic, but I must give credit to the Manager and Staff. I did complain to our Rep. Helena and she arranged for me to speak with the Manager. As I explained we choose May thinking the hotel and resort would be quiet which it most certainly was not. The Manager arranged for myself, sister and mum to dine in the Al A Carte restaurant as compensation for the inconvenience we had suffered. It was absolutely fab the food was magnificent and presented beautifully. Please dont be put of by my experience though. The hotel was lovely, the food of good quality, lots of choice, hot and in the week we stayed did not get repetative like some other half board hotels. We didn,t pay for a sea-view but on arrival we were alocated a lovely room 619 looking out to sea. Just a little thing to keep in mind if you are three adults travelling together, as we were, make sure you request twin room with put me up bed. We did and when we arrived our room had a double and a chair which made into a bed. Our tickets stated twin room but the hotlel said all triple occupancy rooms are doubles with a pull out chair. Just bear that in mind. Cavtat itself is adilic but small. The sun came out everyday of our holiday. Not so sure I would of liked to be there if it rained all day. Think I might of been walking the walls. That said when the sun is out there is not more beautiful place.

Room Tip: Room 619 was great for two with fab sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillian_browne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroatiaHotel, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you for letting us know about your experience at the Croatia Hotel. Your comments are valuable to us and they will definitely help us improve our standards continuously.
We are pleased to hear that we met your culinary expectations in term of both variety and quality, while you had chosen a half-board stay alternative. We are also glad of the fact that you appreciated the breathtaking sea view you had from your room. It was a pleasure for me to have the opportunity to meet you personally during your stay and I hope to see you back to our establishment very soon.
With warmest regards,
Camilo Soza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Croatia from 7th to 14th May. It is an excellent, well run hotel, we could not fault it.
On arrival the reception team were friendly and efficient, we were checked in quickly and luggage sent to our room within minutes.
Our room (217) had a terrace facing the sea and two islands. The room appeared to be newly decorated and was well furnished,very clean and comfortable.The bathroom also appeared to be newly refurbished, very clean with excellent lighting, mirror, sanitaryware (bath with shower over.
We had a problem opening the safe, called reception and within minutes one of the maintenance team arrived to fix it.
Breakfast was a buffet with a very wide choice of hot and cold food, and a choice of omelettes and eggs cooked to order.Our deal included the buffet dinner( served between 7pm and 10pm). It was consistently good with a wide choice of hot and cold dishes, fish, meat pasta, rice, desserts, fruit and cheese, some of the meat and fish was freshly cooked on the grill at the buffet.
We had a carafe of house wine with our meal which cost less than £10.00. Wine and drinks are more expensive in the hotel than in the bars on the harbour but this is to be expected in any good hotel.
During our stay the hotel hosted a conference, a large number of delegates arrived making the hotel quite full and busy, this did not reflect on the service in the dining room,we did not have to queue at breakfast or dinner, the service was quick and the staff very efficient friendly.
We used the pool(no problem getting a lounger) but none of the other facilities.
Cavtat and the surrounding area is delightful with lots of lovely walks, bars and restaurants. I agree with other reviews the 127 steps up to the hotel from the harbour could be a challenge for some people.
To sum up we really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Croatia and would happily return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroatiaHotel, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear guest,
The title of your comment in Trip Advisor says it all !!! Thank you for sharing with us and all our friends the memorable experience you had in our Croatia Hotel. These words will definitely be reported to our employees who, I am convinced, will be extremely happy to have been a part of this successful stay. We are pleased to see your positive comments concerning the quality of our food as well the quick and friendly service of our staff.
We hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel.
With best regards,
Camilo Soza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Cannot say one bad thing about this hotel! The staff was very friendly, rooms were clean, the location was absolutely stunning etc. etc. Me and my friends really loved this place! Only the fitness center could have been bigger and more versatile.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroatiaHotel, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you for reporting on Trip Advisor your impressions concerning your stay at the Croatia Hotel. It is for us the best award we may receive: guest recognition! We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel.
Sunny regards from Croatia,
Camilo Soza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,063 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
9.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
246 reviews
9.8 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
9.6 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Property: Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing