We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cavtat Holiday Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Emmetten, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cavtat Holiday Review”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

One week into our holiday I have decided to write this review. We have booked a 2 week holiday staying at the Croatia Hotel in Cavtat.

Positives: -
The choice of hotel is perfect for our needs. We are very happy with the hotel, its location and facilities. Its a beautiful place to stay, with a nice swimming pool, gym and great massage parlour & beauty salon. Cavtat is also a very picturesque town and having visited Dubrovnik I am glad that we chose to stay here instead. Dubrovnik was too hectic and busy for a relaxing holiday and Cavtat has a much more relaxed atmosphere. Dubrovnik was a great place to visit as a side trip. We took a boat trip from Cavtat to Dubrovnik for 80Kn return. Cavtat has a great selection of bars and restaurants and overall the quality, service and value of the food has been excellent.

Ok now the Negatives:-

Smoking in the Bars and Restaurants:

All the tables and seating are outside and there is no policy about smoking here, except for indoors. Its a free for all. Whats the problem you might ask - your sat outside. Well, the tables and seating at the restaurants are very closely arranged. Our experience was that on any one evening we would be sitting next to one or more tables with smokers puffing away like steam engines. This has just about ruined every evening we have had dining out in Cavtat. There is absolutely no consideration given to non smokers who wish to enjoy their food and drink without being intoxicated by the stench of secondhand cigarette smoke. On most nights it has been intolerable. It has been completely disgusting to eat our food surrounded by ignorant selfish smokers, who have to indulge in their filthy habit in the restaurants. Therefore, I cannot recommend Cavtat as a place to take your pregnant wife or your children if you wish to dine in a smoke free environment. I would like to recommend that the restaurants of Cavtat give consideration to this problem and provide smoking areas which are properly separated from those of us who want to eat our food in as clean air environment.

Litter:-

I'm sorry to say there are a lot of ignorant tourists. I find it such a shame that people cannot put their litter in bins. During this holiday I experienced litter floating in the bathing areas because people cannot clean up after themselves. Plastic bags, bottles, cigarrette packets and butts discarded on and around the beach fronts. What was particularly frustrating is that Cavtat provides a good number of bins so there is no excuse. Come on people respect and look after the environments of the places you visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobMorris69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your impressions about our property upon your return in Switzerland.

Ii is a pleasure to see that our hotel fulfilled all your expectations in all senses and that you enjoyed our facilities including your dining experience.

Thank you for your comments regarding the smoking areas. As you know, it is forbidden to smoke in the entire hotel including inside part of bars and restaurants as well as the rooms. People are allowed to smoke only on the outside areas such as terraces or gardens... There is no exception to these rules and we apply them strictly.

Concerning the litter and as you say, garbage cans are strategically placed all around the property and people do respect cleanliness in the hotel. Concerning the outside part of the property, there is not that much we can do but to hope that people will be more and more concerned by the environment like they are in your country.

We truly hope to see you back soon in our hotel. Warmest regards,

Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    1,022
    264
    46
    14
See reviews for
423
1,610
37
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (982)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lecce, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Superb hotel in a superb setting. Particularly appreciated the sauna with views over the Adriatic. The staff were excellent, as was the food (steakhouse restaurant and breakfast buffet). The town of Cavtat is beautiful and well-preserved, and the hotel itself is set in an extensive pinewood. The only real drawback is the prices, which were as steep as the steps leading down to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua95_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give your impressions on our hotel after your holydays in Croatia. It is a real pleasure and a very good incentive for all of us to see that the hotel fulfilled your expectations and that, as you says: ““Wish we had booked a longer stay!”…

We really hope to see you back soon in our property. As usual we are going to still improve our facilities this coming year in order to offer you even a better stay upon your return.

Thank you again and best regards,

Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Everything was great;
the food has to get better to pay for water at dinner is not acceptable, the view the relaxation and the service was excellent. Value for money, great!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yves68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Dear Guest,

It is such a great recompense for us to see that our hotel satisfied plainly your expectations and that you are planning to come back soon to spend again some holidays with us. I really hope that, as many clients already did, you are going to join the group of our loyal repeat guests, some of them staying at our hotel for already 2 generations.

Like every year, we are planning to realize some additional refurbishments in our property for the next coming season, so you may be amazingly surprised upon your return.

Warmest regards from the sunny Dubrovnik,

Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Modern hotel with wonderful rooms, beaches, service and views. Beach on the cove and on the sea.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very plush and superb...all face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhippetsRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all, let me thank you so much to take the time to give a short be “straight to the point” resume of you stay with us.

As you mentioned on your revue, one of the strongest point, a part from all the aspects you liked of our property, is the fact that we are only 10 minutes away from the airport. It is true that between the time you land and the time you jump in the clear waters of the Adriatic it will pass no more than a few minutes which is an enormous advantage when your days of rest are counted.

It is good to see that enjoyed all our services and we sincerely hope to see you soon back to the hotel for some new Croatian holidays…

Best regards,

Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

great rooms, modern and everything you need in them, quite, air-con great and quite, dark blackout curtains. very clean and modern furnishing and bathroom.
hotel in summer is quite full with package holiday groups and the hotel is 5 star but it kind of let down by the large groups and some of the lack or service from the reception staff, who dont really care who you are. the concierge and bell staff were great, parking your car for you and helping with luggage, very good staff there. breakfast was included but was a nightmare, probably 200+ people eating at the same time, grabbing everything that was on the buffet and barging their way around. coffee and tea they serviced was unrecognisable and disgusting, we ended up buying our own coffee from the bar by the pool which was much nicer. overall a good hotel but let down by some of the nationalities staying there who clearly have never learnt and manners.

Room Tip: you pay extra to have a sea view but the room is exactly the same as standard cheeper rooms with a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwellallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed here for a week between 27th July and 4th August as the second leg of our honeymoon.
After a problem free flight (EasyJet from Stansted) and a 7 minute taxi transfer (£12) arrived at Croatia Hotel.
Nice bright open reception area and the simplest check-in ever. Handed over our passports (which were returned the same day) and were given our room key. As the hotel is built down the cliff side, floors 1 to 4 are below reception which took a little getting used to.
Got to our room, which was booked through Expedia and confirmed as a double (baring in mind honeymoon!!!) to find twin beds divided by a bed-side cabinet. Back up to reception to be told, not overly sympathetically, that the hotel was full so I could either check with them lunchtime the following day to see if they had a double as they were full or they could make up the bed with double bedding, which we did and it worked ok as it made an enormous bed!
The room was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean; the maids were excellent throughout. We had payed the extra for a sea view which was just stunning to wake up to.
Our air con was less than efficient and had the same output on full as on minimum and, subsequently never reached the temperature selected. 16c selected and never got below 21c . I did raise this with reception who implied it was a common problem and assured me that they would get someone to look at it. They may have looked at it but that would have been as far as it went as was never remedied.
The hotel is generally good although the exterior is starting to look a little tired in places (there was rendering falling away from the floor above on our balcony, rm 447). The staff are generally good although I wouldn't agree that they were the most charasmatic or warm I have ever experienced, but all were pleasant.
Breakfast is quite an experience and a bit of a shock to the system if you prefer to ease yourself into the day, as the canteen feel to it does generate a lot of noise and bustle. Look out for our Russian friends too who have a very different view of waiting and queueing. (Because we're British darling, generally they barged us out of the way and we apologise as they did it!!!). There is a good selection of buffet style breakfast with attentive staff.
Free wi-fi is available in public areas but only through cables in rooms which is a little disappointing for a supposed 5* hotel.
Outside the pool is lovely as is the main 'beach' area beside the fish restaurant and with the most beautiful view over the harbour. 'Beaches' are concrete so the harbour side was popular due to the provision of sunbeds and towels. The nudist beach and adjacent beache (North and South) are manmade platforms so not the most comfortable with just a towel under you; private though, in parts, if you want to burn your white bits.
Everyone has mentioned the steps down to Cavtat which do provide a good workout especially on the way back up after a litre of wine! For the less mobile there is a free golf buggy which will ferry you up and down.
Food and drink is pricey in the hotel but there is nothing that can't be bought in Cavtat where there is a mini-market and a range of excellent restaurants to suit all budgets.
Despite a few things that can be improved and perhaps falling short of what we would consider 5*, I'd recommend the Croatia hotel not least for its beautiful location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed for a week in July and found the hotel to be super. We had a modern, spacious room on the 7th floor with a lovely balcony and a great sea view. The standard of cleanliness throughout the whole hotel is high, and the service is excellent. We liked the pool and the surrounding area, with the shelter of the pines. We were not so keen on the piped music round the main pool area, but there is a quiet area round the side overlooking the sea, so this wasn't a problem.We were staying on a b+b basis so only had breakfast in the hotel. There is a huge selection every morning, including eggs cooked to your preference as you wait. I agree with previous reviewers that the dining room is a bit soulless, but there are always plenty of tables available.

Cavtat is a lovely little town with plenty of bars and restaurants. I'd recommend the restaurant Dalmacia as it had a more interesting menu than most of the others. There was always lots going on in the evening in the town with the locals, such as water polo games and live music. The only downside is that the view of the bay from some of the bars is restricted by luxury yachts moored up - though many tourists seemed to be fascinated by these boats.

Getting to and from Dubrovnik is easy. I'd recommend taking the bus there, at 17 kuna, and getting a small ferry back, at 50 kuna. Don't think about getting the bus back from Dubrovnik old town, as it involves a very long walk up a very steep hill to get to the bus stop. Dubrovnik old town is wonderful and a walk round the city walls is a must. Just don't do it in the midday heat, though!

I'd definitely return to Hotel Croatia in Cavtat and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauren55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Guest,

It is always such a wonderful incentive and true motivation for me and my team to receive such a wonderful feed back of your stay with us at the “Croatia” hotel.

I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed the view from your room as well as the cleanliness of the hotel and the service provided by our staff. We also gladly noticed the fact that you, as bed & breakfast customer, enjoyed our breakfast in term of variety and quality
.
We hope to have you soon back to the hotel which may become very soon your “home away from home”….

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments and best regards,

Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
1,024 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.4 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#9 of 17 in Cavtat
257 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Property: Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing