We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overrated?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

We foundt this hotel a little overrated. The room was ok, but nothing more. Towels were quite worn, soap was not refilled when empty. A air-conditioner in the corridor had a leak, and the carpet around it was wet and with fungus. Had to contact the reception three times in order to get pre-ordered wine and fruit. The surroundings and the town of Cavtat was great though.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Per Normann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback in Trip Advisor web page. I am pleased sorry to see that we did not fulfilled totally your expectations and I really hope that you will give us a second chance, so you will leave our property with a different opinion of our hotel like the majority of our guest do.
Best regards form Dubrovnik
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    964
    256
    44
    14
See reviews for
408
1,509
35
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (923)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

The hotel itself was beautiful and modern. I would recommend investing in a room with sea views. Amazing. Had everything you could ask for.

Things to consider is that the hotel is located at the top of a very very steep hill. So to get to the town there are lots of stairs to tackle. Not recommended for the faint hearted! Once in the town of Cavtat, there is a great vibe, filled with lots of restaurants, souvenir shops and ice cream places.

The round trip to Dubronik is 40 mins each way and around 80 kunas per person.

The spa at the hotel is a rip off. I used the spa at the hotel Cavtat instead called Lavanda. The guy there is a genius. He fixed my very sore lower back.

The hotel itself has an indand, kiddy and outdoor pool. Honestly we didn't enjoy the pools much they were so so salty that you're eyes felt like they would soon start bleeding. And it was so annoying that they allow nudity at the pool. They have a private nudist beach literally down the stairs so I don't see why the nudist have to also be allowed by the pool. Explaining to my 6 year old every 5 secs why another person is walking around nude was tiring.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for ranking our hotel with such a high note in Trip Advisor web page. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed our hotel facilities.
Holidays are so important after an entire year of dedication to work that it is always a pleasure to see that we fulfilled your expectations.
The nudist beach was voluntarily located on the right side of the wild beach of the hotel, so it is not visible from rooms or the rest of the public area for the convenience of our clients.
Best regards form the sunny Cavtat.
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We were very much looking forward to this trip because of all the positive comments on this site about the hotel and I have to say that they are all richly deserved.

The hotel is enormous, but never felt crowded. Facilities are top class and as others have pointed out, the attitude of all the staff is first class in a way that doesn't seem forced - they all seem genuinely happy to be there and to ensure that you are happy.

We stayed bed and breakfast so can't comment on the evening meals, but the breakfast was excellent, with loads of choice in a superb setting on the balcony overlooking the bay. Speaking of views, you really want to pay extra for a sea view room - the view is truly spectacular and is well worth the extra money, especially as I believe the non-sea view rooms don't have much of a view of anything. The view at sunset is to die for.

A number of people have commented on the queues at check in on their arrival on Sunday - we also arrived on an early flight and were in the hotel for 10am on Sunday morning, and I have to say that it never crossed my mind that we would have access to our room at that time in the summer season when the hotel is full and there aren't spare rooms available until the previous occupants have vacated. At 10am, our intended room is still occupied by others. Anyone who expects to be able to get access to their room at this time is deluded. However, I do think that a small system change would help matters and think the hotel management should consider it - there was no queue when we arrived and we could have been processed in a relaxed manner and given time to have all the necessary details explained, and then given a token, or pass or some kind. All we would then have to do at 2pm is to swap that pass for our key card - everyone is processed in seconds then when the queue is at its height.

The pool and the area around it is very attractive, but there does seem to be a bit of a recurring issue with sun lounger reserving - I witnessed towels on loungers staying there for hours on one occasion - it is a real frustration because the situation becomes self-perpetuating - i.e. if the only way to get a lounger near the pool is to bag and reserve one then you are tempted to do the same. In the end however, rather than become one of the sad people getting up early with their towels, we used the private area on the sea front near the Spinnaker restaurant which is not afflicted in the same way and which we ultimately preferred.

Despite those 2 very small gripes, it doesn't affect my views on this hotel - this is a superb hotel, with fantastic staff and a great location in a truly beautiful area of Croatia, and we have already pledged to ourselves that we will definitely return.

As for Cavtat itself, this location has become my favourite holiday destination by some distance - it is an amazingly beautiful place, not too crowded and over commercialised with multiple sheltered bays and stunning views at every turn. Everyone, without exception was warm and welcoming, which just added to the lovely ambience of the place. It is very close to Dubrovnik, either by bus or boat if you wish to go and pay a visit, which you really should, and has lots of nice places to eat right on the bay front. They do tend to all serve similar fare at similar prices and you will find your own favourites after a short while. Rather than stay in Dubrovnik itself, which can become very crowded, this is a superb base for all that this part of Croatia offers - I just really hope that it is not spoilt in the coming years by over-commercialisation.

I just can’t wait to go back now!!!.

Room Tip: Just make sure your room faces the sea!! - we had a low room (floor 2) but had a perfect view out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardW95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reporting your comments on Trip Advisor Web page. It is with great pleasure that I read you very positive comments concerning the holidays you spend in our property : I am so happy to see that we fulfilled all your expectations including the staff attitude, location, comfort of the rooms and food quality as well al, our hotel facilities. Your conclusion (we have already pledged to ourselves that we will definitely return...) indicates that you will be coming back to our property and this is definitely the best award we may receive from our customers: LOYALTY.
Thank you again for reporting your feedback and I hope to see you soon back to your “home away from home”....
Best regards,
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

The hotel claims to be a 5 star but I'd give it a solid 4. Front desk staff were awesome but staff in the restaurants and bars were less than friendly. Rooms were clean and modern but common areas need some updating. For goodness sake change the hallway carpets! They are just plain gross! The "beaches" are really just concrete pads beside the sea which is common in Croatia just don't expect to see any sand. Bed was very good and AC worked 100%. Short walk into town for cheaper drinks and food. Overall, a very good hotel. Cavtat itself is a wonderful place.

Room Tip: Get a seaview room on the 5th floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErnieScar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest,
I am pleased to see that you rated our property as: „overall, a very good hotel“.
I also thank you for the positive critics you did on your comments in Trip Advisor. Concerning the beach, you have to know that, due to the topography of the Croatian coast in this region, they are almost no sandy beaches but concrete platforms leading into the sea with all the beach facilities you may imagine at the disposal of our customers including, sun beds, umbrellas, towels, showers, changing rooms, restaurant. Bar, water activities, etc...
I was quite surprised by your opinion concerning the attitude of our employees which is normally the strongest point of our hotel and the reason why people are returning sometimes for one generation in our establishment.
Again thank you for giving us you feedback and best regards form the sunny Dubrovnik,


Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

While reiterating all the positive things said in the many reviews gone before, I would draw special attention to the staff at the hotel. We were there in a heat wave and despite the obvious distress this was causing to the staff we never had a curt reply or a scowl of any kind. On the contrary everyone was extremely pleasant and forbearing and not (which was very refreshing) in an obsequious way.
We found the staff very genuine, when they enquired about you they really meant it.
Despite the very hard work they were doing there seemed to be a good spirit among them and this added that little extra to making our stay especially good.
Morale seemed very high and there was evidence of a relaxed rapport with the senior management.
If you like walking this is a great base from which to hike deeper into the very beautiful Konavle area, If anything I think the hotel could develop this and advertise it more to the guests. I think it would also be useful for guests to have more historical information about the hotel, the role it played in the war as a U.N. headquarters for example and the fact that it is a stunning example of contemporary architecture. It is good on holiday to be assisted in appreciating what beauty surrounds you, and well put together educational material can greatly enhance that experience.
We will certainly return and would say a big HVALA to all the staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor Web page. I am glad to see that you truly enjoyed your holidays in our hotel and I want to thank you especially for the kind words you ha concerning our employee’s friendly attitude.
We are all convinced at the Croatia Hotel that the tourism industry success is based on people attitude and it is always encouraging to receive such a feedback as yours.
You are right when mentioning the wonderful architecture of this property which has been for decades the flagship of the Adriatic Sea hotels.
I am glad to see that you are already planning to come back and visit us again and we are just waiting for you in your “home away from home”....
Best regards from the sunny Dubrovnik
Gildas Renaux
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

A beautiful setting with swimming pool and convenient rock,swimming area.An excellent breakfast with many choices .Comfortable rooms and a pleasant bar area.Very convenient for pretty Civtat village - use the steep steps down to the swimming area not the road down to the village.
Helpful staff and a pleasant experience.
Why queue for Sunday arrival registration - surely not a 5* custom.?

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank keirhardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your short but straight comments on Trip Advisor giving us your feedback on your holidays in our property.
It is good to see that the hotel fulfilled all your expectations in term of room comfort, dining experiences, bar ambiance and employee’s attitude.
The queue you experimented upon arrival was unfortunately due to the fact that we do have an enormous amount of Check-in / check-out every Sunday with sometimes more than 600 arrivals in the morning.
We hope to see you back in our hotel and we wish you a nice summer in your country.
Best regards from the sunny Dubrovnik
Gildas Renaux
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

back to croatia again had relaxing time would recommend a day out with local travel company Kompas to visit Ston and the island of Korcula really good day out with oyster and wine tasting and plenty of free time in Korcula. In the hotel treat yourself to a visit to the energy centre for a massage just the job after a days touring.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is worth the extra money especially on one of the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margi908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear guest,
It is always good to see that, one more time, our customers are ranking our property with the highest possible punctuation, following they return from their holidays at the Croatia hotel.
It is true that there are dozens of exiting places to discover around the hotel including the wonderful city of Dubrovnik, Ston, the island of Korcula and much more.... and it is also good to enjoy upon your return to the hotel all our Spa facilities or one of our two large sea water swimming pools to relax after a day touring.
We are glad to see that you truly enjoyed our hotel and we hope to see you back very soon in the sunny Dubrovnik region.
Best regards
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castelletto
Hotel Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Property: Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing