We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views and relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We spent four nights in Hotel Croatia in July as part of a two week holiday in Croatia and we had a great stay. There was too much to get out and see in the area before we moved on so we didn't spend too much time by the pool and can't comment on the negative views of this area. However our room was clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly and always helpful. We didn't have a bad meal while we were there and loved having the buggy available for trips to the town. Sometimes you had to wait for the trip back up but with beautiful views over the harbour and lots to see we had plenty to while away the wait.

We were there for our wedding anniversary and were lucky to have a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room on arrival. Thank you it was a lovely suprise.

Hotel Croatia was the first hotel we stayed in on our trip and whilst the two other hotels were very good they didn't measure up to the standard set in Cavtat. We would certainly come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Guest,
I was glad to see your comments concerning our property especially when you said that: “Hotel Croatia was the first hotel we stayed in on our trip and whilst the two other hotels were very good they didn't measure up to the standard set in Cavtat. We would certainly come back”
I can see that you truly enjoyed the quality of our food as well as the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms and the most important may be: the friendly attitude of our employees.
We are happy to see that you are planning to come back and we hope to see you soon to your “home away from home”...
Best regards,
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,144 - 2,150 of 2,874 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

So Cavtat is amazing - really stunningly pretty. The hotel staff are friendly, polite and helpful. The room was superb, really quiet, well air-con'd and clean and the bedding good and comfortable. Good Wi-Fi, and excellent bathroom/shower. Breakfast plentiful and we could sit where we like every morning, always outside with a stunning view of the natural port.
Only real downside is that as others have said - the hotel should have a bigger pool area for something of its size. However, we went down to the spinaker beach club, part of the hotel, every day after that and could get good sunloungers up to about 1030 in the morning. Plus the view there is much better, and the sea is so wonderful to swim in. So after a first day which was frustrated by the pool, how people selfishly 'reserve' sun loungers and then don't use them and the lack of management policing it, the rest of the holiday was incredible.
Final word of caution - you have to do a LOT of climbing of stairs and inclines - not a problem for us (only exercise we did all week!) but a problem if you were perhaps of limited mobility or older.
Croatia is brilliant and this is a very good starting point.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oliver W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for reporting your feedback on Trip advisor. I am glad to see that you really enjoyed most of our hotel facilities including the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, the quality of our buffet and the genuine attitude of our employees.
As you have seen already on my previous comments, both problems, sun beds around the pool and steps down the beach will be definitely solved for next season with the extension of our pool deck and the purchase of an additional golf car with 6 seats.
Thank you again for the very good comments you wrote and we hope to see you soon back to the sunny Cavtat.
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We spent eleven nights at the Croatia Hotel at the beginning of August. Generally the hotel is good but our holiday was made quite stressful every morning because of the battle to get a sunbed. Getting a sunbed by the pool was impossible (we are a large family) but we were quite happy to go down to the beach. However everyday there were unhappy hotel guests asking the staff for sunbeds and parasols which were in short supply every single day. We watched a large family try and share one bed, a lady with toddlers having to take chairs from the restaurant to sit on, guests arguing with staff about parasols and sunbeds, people 'stealing' parasols whilst they weren't there or even trying to take them whilst they were there! I could go on! What the hotel doesn't tell you is that ANYBODY ie NON HOTEL RESIDENTS can use the sunbeds and hotel beach facilities. There is even a price list at the beach for the rental of parasols and sunbeds. Each day we would see many people coming from outside of the hotel and paying the staff for sunbeds and parasols. The hotel beach is open to anyone. This of course makes it difficult for staff to remove belongings from beds which are not being used because non hotel residents have paid cash for use of the beds!
The other main problem was the hotel buggy. We had elderly family members with us and we found the buggy service to be unrelaible. Fortunately the younger members of the family were able to walk up the hill to send down a buggy.
Now for the positives! Beautiful location.The views are stunning and the town of Cavtat is lovely. Most of the staff at the hotel were friendly. The hotel was clean however there were certain areas of the hotel which were shabby for example near the pool on the walk down to the beach and several areas where threre appear to be unused buildings. The breakfast buffet was good and the staff at breakfast were always friendly and efficient.
Would we return? We loved Croatia and its people and will definitely visit again but would we stay at Hotel Croatia? Probably not.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunshiney10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for reporting your feedback on Trip advisor. I was pleased to see that, except the „sun beds battle” around the pool area, you had a good stay in our hotel and that you specifically enjoyed the cleanliness of our rooms, the quality of our buffet and the friendliness of our staff.
Concerning the sun beds, as you may have read on my previous answers, we are planning to enlarge for next year the pool deck area and to add 100 additional sun beds. Consequently, I really hope that you will give us a second chance since this was apparently the only inconvenient you suffered during your stay and it will be solved for next season.
Thank you again for you constructive comments and best regards,
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Lovely hotel in a beautiful location with views to die for. But is it 5 star?
The service and staff are absolutely great, we were always greeted with a lovely smile and felt welcome. Rooms are nice and big with great air conditioning, robes etc, nice balcony with fantastic views of the sea.
The food was fine, some days better than others but always a good choice and hot which isn't always the case with buffet food, it's a good idea that you can keep any wine you don't drink till the next evening.
As for the sunbed/towel saga. As usual it isn't the hotel that is to blame for the situation. I witnessed people with numerous towels and sunbeds in various places (sun/shade etc) the hotel needs to be stricter on the one towel per person rule to stop this. We didn't use the pool, we stuck to the beach and always managed to get a bed. I think as long as you are up and about before 10 you shouldn't have a problem. However, if you are happy to lie on a towel there is loads of places around the hotel to soak up the sun in total peace and quiet.
We didn't find the prices in the hotel to be too steep, yes it's cheaper in the town but I think this would be the case in all hotels.
There are little things though that just don't make it 5 star. The housekeeping was sometimes not so good, bins not emptied etc, only one wine glass in double room and a nasty stain on the cushion on the balcony.
Considering the main clientele are holiday makers enjoying the sun/sea etc a far better idea than a mini bar would be a complimentary bottle of water on arrival, and use of the fridge. Some of the towels around the pool were very old and raggy and maybe jugs of water at dinner would be a nice touch.
All in all though we had a lovely relaxing holiday and I would recommend the hotel for the stunning location and the great staff

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jacks186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for reporting your feedback on Trip Advisor web page.
I am glad to see that you really enjoyed your holidays with us and that you are recommending our hotel to our future clients.
I took good note of the few constructive comments you did and we will definitely take them into consideration to even improve our services.
I hope to see you back soon again in the sunny Cavtat.
Best regards
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

It was our second time in Croatia hotel, now with a child. It was a perfect vacation. Food, service, facilities everything in high level. The stuff of hotel was very helpful. We defiantly will come back.

Room Tip: sea view, higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tanuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear Guest,
I rarely got the opportunity to read such a short, yet enthusiastic comment like yours in the Trip Advisor web pages and I have definitely never seen such a lovely title like this one.....
You made in a few lines such a beautiful resume of the holidays spends in our hotel:” It was our second time in Croatia hotel, now with a child. It was a perfect vacation. Food, service & facilities... everything was in high level. The staff of hotel was very helpful. We definitely will come back.”
Thank you for giving your true impressions concerning our property and we hope to see you back soon in the sunny Cavt.at
Best regards,
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed at this Hotel for a week to celebrate our Pearl Wedding Anniversary.

The location is simply stunning and the Hotel and staff are excellent. Thank you to everyone who looked after us so well!

Prior to the holiday, we were puzzled by some of the negative reviews. We have just commented below on our personal findings on some of the negative experiences reported in previous reviews. In terms of the positives, we found everything to be very accurate.

Hotel location in a flight path: Agree, but really didn't bother us or anyone else we spoke to. Aircraft are quite high and not that noisy. The airport is very small and the number of flights low. Seeing planes every day obviously isn't every ones cup of tea but wasn't ever an issue for us. We were more pleased that the positive is that the transfer to the Hotel is less than 30 minutes.

Hotel location on a hill: Agree, and there are some steep steps down to the beach. We are both in our 50s and it didn't bother us. There is a golf buggy service available which gets around this problem. You only have to ask the staff and they will drive you down. The positive for us was that the views from being higher up were truly stunning.

Breakfast - Limited choice: Disagree, The choice of healthy options was vast and amazing. A bit puzzled by any negatives around the breakfast. The hot food was good but maybe not the full range of items for a full English breakfast if that is an issue.

No hot water at Shower time : Never experienced any problems our entire stay.

Problems with sunbeds: Agree, but we never actually failed to get a bed somewhere even if it wasn't by the pool. I guess this problem will vary each week depending on the attitude of the guests. We did witness one family reserve beds with their towels and then didn't come back for hours later. The more guests who do this each week the bigger the problem becomes. My suggestion would be to ask the staff to find you a bed if there is a problem and they seemed to be able to magic them up from somewhere sometimes. At the end of the day, this isn't any different from when you are on a cruise on a sailing day -beds by the pool are difficult to find. We were lucky in that we didn't really have a problem the week we were there.

High prices in the hotel: Agree, drinks in the village were cheaper but they didn't have the luxury of the Hotel. Prices still on par with the UK. Most hotels in the world will be more expensive than a local bar.

Poor Management : Disagree. The General Manager has his finger on the pulse and clearly believes in delivering great customer service to make us want to return every year. He is very visible on the floor and I actually met him driving the golf buggy up from the beach one day. A great way of finding out how customers are really feeling. I admire this and in my experience the best run customer service experiences have a leader who is in touch with the customers. This culture is spread throughout the whole management team and staff.

Poor Staff: Disagree. We found the staff very friendly and keen to help. You get a feel for the culture of a hotel when you walk down a corridor and meet the cleaners or porters etc. In our experience, we were always greeted with a smile and a good morning etc.

We also found the reception staff very good. Exceptional service was displayed by Srdan in the main reception and Christian at the Spinnaker - Thank you.

I'm wonder if some of the negative experiences other people have reported are due to translation issues. These guys are speaking English, German, Russian etc etc as well as their native language. Wouldn't it be great if we could explain our issues in the local language! Unfortunately, most British tourists are not brilliant at second languages and perhaps we need to be a bit more understanding of the language barrier. A smile works wonders!

Overall a great experience but everyone is different. I hope our view of the "negatives" is useful.

Room Tip: Go for the Sea view - You will not regret. It is a large hotel so ask for a central room if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank GreenBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear Guest,
I will definitely contact you if we are in need of a great “Ambassador” to represent our property with such a talent.....
Seriously... there no words to thank you for reporting such nice comments on the Trip advisor web pages after your holidays in our hotel.
It is really encouraging to receive such a good feedback from our guests.
Thank you for mentioning above everything the friendly attitude of our employees and the fact that I really enjoy walking around the hotel in order to receive our daily customer’s feedback and so, react immediately to any of their needs.
Thanks God, we, at the Croatia Hotel, have passion for our profession and we would like to see all our guests leaving our property with the best possible memories.
We hope to see you back in your “home away from home”.
Warmest regards,
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Lovely hotel, lovely room, nice staff and nice varied food. Good location, near to airport and easy access to dubrovnic which is gorgeous!

The only negative comments I would make is that there are not enough sunbeds for the amount of guests and unless you get down to the pool early enough then forget it! Also, there are about 100 steps down to the beach, not really suitable for anyone with walking difficulties.

Loved croatia, one of the nicest countries I have been to. Completely unspoilt - although that is not going to last when it comes into Europe next year which is a shame

Room Tip: We had a room with awful view but most rooms have sea view. Advantage of ours was it was lovely and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srp123Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear Guest,
What’s a nice way to describe our property: “Lovely hotel, lovely room, nice staff and nice varied food. Good location, near to airport and easy access to Dubrovnik which is gorgeous!”
We are so glad to see that you truly enjoyed your holidays with us..... Concerning the steps down the hill and the sun beds “battle” around the pool and if you look at my previous answer to these two challenges, you are already aware of the fact that we will solve everything for next season with the purchase of an additional 6 seats golf car as well as with the extension of the pool deck area and 100 additional sun beds. Good news indeed!!!
And do not worried too much about Croatia joining the >European Community next year. We will learn from the mistake other touristic destinations did and, since we had the chance to be “discovered” so late by the public, we will definitely not follow the example of some countries by over building our coasts. LoL !!!
Thank you for reporting your feedback in Trip Advisor and we are waiting for you to come back and visit us again in the sunny and friendly village of Cavtat.
Best regards,
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
6 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
182 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,030 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#7 of 18 in Cavtat
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat, Konavle 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: £69 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing