We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Cratia, Cavtat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We are currently at the end of our stay at the Croatia Hotel in Cavtat and go home soon, after a stay of 11 nights. The hotel is really about 4 star and we have enjoyed our stay here. The staff, without exception, are very friendly and helpful and do their best to look after you. The rooms lack reasonable storage space so you need to work out of your suitcase a lot of the time and the cleaning is a bit hit and miss. For all that the rooms are adequate but more 3 star than 5. There are about 470 rooms all the same I was told. The decent views are only found on floor 5 or higher. Floor 3 looks out onto a pebbled roof for example. The drinks prices in the hotel are not too bad and you get a book of vouchers giving you 20% off drinks and other restaurants in the hotel. This quite frankly is silly because if you forget your vouchers you have to traipse up to your room, get your vouchers and then traipse back to get your 20% off. Ridiculous and to make it worse if you don’t fancy a walk to your room you can go to reception and get a new book. I did this once and they had run out so they phoned the bar to authorise the transaction. If they insist on this silly policy they should issue a simple discount card that would save them the cost of printing the vouchers and a lot of hassle for their guests. The food in the hotel is quite good but really lacks variety and is monotonously the same each day. At breakfast though you can get fresh eggs or an omelette cooked there and then. We thought half board was the best option and found eating in the town was not necessarily as good as the hotel but was more expensive. The hotel is situated above Cavtat and the harbour is easy to get to from the hotel. Getting back is not so easy and although the hotel provide a golf cart this has to be obtained by ringing reception from the Spinaker restaurant which is about a 400 yard extra walk from the bottom of the hill and if you do not rush back the 400 yards the buggy arrives before you and someone else grabs it. This means, as guests know only too well, a slog up the 130 or so steps going straight up about 100 yards. Not so bad in the morning but after a couple of pints at night it is more formidable. A simple routine of the buggy(s) leaving the hotel on the hour and on the half hour or some other regular time with a wait of 5 minutes at the bottom would work and guests would know to be there on time to save their legs. The town of Cavtat is small but nice and visitors use the 600 or so yards of waterfront where there are 20 or so restaurants and bars. Drinks in the town bars were about half the cost of the hotel even after the annoying discount voucher scheme. A pint of beer for example in the bars cost 20 kunas or £2.17p at current rates. Be wary of the restaurants in town, the first we tried gave us a welcome drink and then charged 10 kunas each on the bill for it. The bread is also provided and then charged for if you eat it. The Taverna Galija looked good but we thought overpriced and the steaks were like leather. The best bar we found was the Luna where the staff were very nice and before we left the other night gave us a drink each on the house.
So in summing up the hotel is not exceptional but is good we had problems getting sun beds and so spent a fair amount of time sunbathing on our balcony or walking. Everyone in the hotel goes out of their way to be friendly and helpful and after a number of holidays elsewhere this was a bonus.

Room Tip: Go for foor 5 or above to get a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,108 - 2,114 of 2,844 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

We spent a very relaxed week in Cavtat in July. Let me break the experience down:

Pros:
- Got the half-board (which everyone seemed to do. This was great as we had an almost-5year-old. The food was fine. Good cafeteria style food with waiters ready to whisk away your used plate. After a week of the food, though, the food gets quite boring, but well worth the additional amount one pays.
- Great views from the room
- Air-conditioning - which came in handy when it was 30C outside and humid.
- Beautiful clear sea.
- shaded playground.
- comfortable beds with light bedding.
- The golf cart giving rides back up to the hotel from town.
- My son was not well one day so we wanted to try get him in front of a movie. The hotel (or one person at the hotel) arranged for a DVD machine to be delivered and then went and burned me 2 dvds. That was so thoughtful of him.

Cons (room for improvement):
- The pool area was always incredible crowded.
- you can only get your (really old) pool towel after 10am....so we kept ours and dried them on our balconies.
- the concrete pathways and stairs in the grounds looked like they've been laid by someone who had no training (like myself).
- I sliced my foot open on a pesky piece of metal that was bolted to the rock down next to the sea. It was deep and the blood was gushing. I managed to slow the bleeding by elevating it and wrapping it tightly while my wife and son ran back up to try find me a first aid kit. (I should have had stitches). The pool bar and reception both struggled to locate a first aid kit and finally they did. I find this strange for a "5-star" hotel. But wait.....it gets worse. They didn't want to give my wife the bandage because then they might not have one for the next guest. It was outrageous. I ended up going to the emergency room to get the wound checked out 2 days later. (They gave me a tetanus shot and cleaned and re-wrapped the wound for free - that was nice of them).

All in all - I'd go back there again....but I'd take a first aid kit with me.

Room Tip: Upper floors will guarantee a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeattlePH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for reporting your comments on the Trip advisor web pages. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities of our hotel including our buffet restaurant.
Due to the challenges we faced this year with the lack of space around the pool, we are going to enlarge the poll deck area for next season with 100 additional sun beds.
I am sorry to hear about your incident on the rocky beach and I will definitely investigate why they did jot found the first aid kit that we naturally have in the hotel.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you back soon at the Croatia hotel..
Best regards
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This is a lovely hotel with beautiful views but the downside is the VERY steep steps (about 100 of them!) or the steep downhill walk to both the rocky beach or the town, so you need to be quite fit to stay at this hotel! However, the staff are very friendly & nothing is too much trouble for them, the rooms are clean & beds are comfortable. We paid extra for a seaview room with a balcony & the views could not be faulted. The food was very good with plenty of choices for breakfast & evening meals but the drinks are very expensive compared to bars in the town. There is also a shortage of sunbeds for the occupancy of this hotel & a lot of them are positioned mostly in the shade. If you want evening entertainment do not go to this hotel as it is almost non existant. Overall I would say this is a 4 not a 5 star hotel with lots of good points but as previously mentioned beware if you are not fit!

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 13BJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for reporting your comments on the Trip advisor web pages. I am glad to see that you had a good time in our hotel and that you specifically enjoyed our buffet restaurant.
Concerning the steps down to the beach, you did not mention the fact that we do have a buggy service for a free transportation to the beach for whoever doesn’t want to use the steps up. Next year we will have even a second car in order to ensure a permanent shuttle to our beach facilities day and night.
Thank you again for you nice comments and we hope to see you back soon in the sunny Cavtat.
Best regards
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Myself and herself stayed here for 1 night only (on our way to visit Medjugorje.)
It is only a short few minutes in taxi from airport 110 kuna (€14).
As we were only staying 1 night we booked the cheapest room (park view) on B/B basis.
<Like others had to wait till 2pm to check in but not too bad as only arrived at 12.30 so just had lunch while waiting. But what a surprise when we went to check in at 2pm. As they were full they said they needed our room for longer staying guests so they upgraded us to a fabulous top floor corner suite as we were only staying 1 night.
Absolutely wonderful views from our huge L shaped totally private balcony- fully furnished with table, chairs and sun beds - on one side views out to sea and the islands and from the other side over Cavtat harbour and Dubrovnik beyond!
We had lunch at hotel which was fine and breakfast the next morning also v nice with varied selection of hot and cold dishes available.
As we were only in Cavtat for the one night we ate out in town as we wanted to explore a bit.
Cavtat is absolutely lovely and we stayed here last year as well for a few days but in diff hotel.
We have also stayed in Dubrovnik itself but as other reviewers have said Cavtat is much more pleasant location and you have the option of visiting Dubrovnik by water taxi or frequent local bus service.
Hotel Croatia is a big sprawling contemorary hotel but has a certain charm as well.
Staff are friendly and everything is very civilised. It has loads of facilities. You definitely need to get a sea view room to fully appreciate this hotel in my opinion.
Will definitely stay again when next in Croatia.

Room Tip: Sea view room well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mons83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

If you want a good hotel in a peaceful location for a week or so of relaxation then this is the place. Cavtat is lovely. An added bonus is the transfer time is only 10 minutes from the airport. My observations are below - hope they help.

The hotel and restaurant is huge. We got a deal staying half board despite not being a lover of buffets with a view to maybe eating out if we liked. We thought the breakfast was excellent and the main part of the evening meal just OK and limited in choice - we found the hot buffet food was generally not particularly hot which is usually the case in these sort/size of hotels. We were surprised there wasn't as much fish/seafood as we expected. Desserts were very samey every night but loved the huge supply of fresh/ripe fruit every day. Always managed to get a table out on the terrace which was lovely. It is a shame that some drinks (even water) are not included in the half board option. The drinks were hotel prices but it was good that the hotel issued discount vouchers for some of the bars later in the evening. Make sure you take them with you and tell the waitress you have one when you order your drink otherwise she will have to go and redo your bill!

The restaurant by the pool was perfect for a relaxed snack on the terrace at lunchtime.

Pro's
- Clean comfortable quiet room and modern bathroom with plenty of space for your toiletries etc.
- Great air-conditioning.
- Lovely seaview. We were on the 2nd floor and thought the pebbles on the roof in front of our balcony were a much better effect than the usual air-conditioning units and weeds and it did not adversely affect the seaview - obviously the seaview would be better the higher the floor.
- Quiet carpeted corridors (we never heard another guest all week when we were in our room)
- Despite the limited space by the pool (although I did count 100+ sun loungers there!) there are plenty of places to chill-out around the hotel and in the grounds/beach areas. We never had a problem getting a lounger by the pool.
- Best free Wifi in a hotel of this size we've experienced in a long time.
- Good that you don't have to pay to use the room safe like some other hotels.

Cons
- The lift situation is poor. We walked up and down the stairs otherwise we would have spent most of the holiday waiting for a free lift.
- Biggest let down for us for a hotel of this size was the gym. There were only 5 CV machines of which only 1 worked properly. I told a member of staff who apologetically said that they had been worn out over the summer - but that didn't help us. There were no free weights or other equipment. There was a fixed weight multigym with limited use. The only advantage of this equipment-less gym was that it was always empty!!!!!
- If you like to make your own cuppa in your room bring your travel kettle.
- The "towel police" could have been a little more flexible and willing to swap towels if required. I understand they must only have a certain number of towels available but a) they were mostly small so one didn't cover the sun lounger b) most of them were thin and tatty so got soaked after a swim so not great to lie on afterwards. At least you don't have to pay a deposit for towels like in some other hotels. I would take your own as an extra.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DottyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for reporting your comments on the Trip advisor web pages. I am glad to see that you had overall good relaxing holidays in our hotel and that you enjoyed most of our facilities.
Your comments are definitely helpful and we will take them into consideration for the next season.
Thank you again for you nice comments and we hope to see you back soon in the sunny Cavtat.
Best regards
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The hotel is absolutely fantastic. Cavtat is a beautiful place to look at, however it is fairly quiet, and most people seem to be 50+.
Hotel Croatia is amazing, the staff are so friendly and the food is gorgeous. The hotel is in a really good spot with fantastic views.
The only downside is the lack of beaches - they are just big concrete blocks. The pools however are both lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ra1994x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear Guest,
I am so glad to see that you truly enjoyed your holidays in our property. It is good to see that you appreciated every single facility of our hotel and specially the friendly attitude of our staff which is one of our best assets.
The challenge of the steps going down to the beach will be solved next year by the purchase of a second 6 seats buggy in order to ensure a permanent shuttle.
Thank you again for you nice comments and we hope to see you back soon in the sunny Cavtat.
Best regards
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We just arrived today and got a room on the 3rd floor (room334). We booked a room with seaview, but, although we see the sea, there is a big pebbled, unaccessible area in front of our room that spoils the seaview.
This is the case for the entire 3rd floor as well for the 2nd floor.
So avoid these floors if at all possible.
If the manager reads this, i hope he can help us. At the reception however we got the standard answer that the hotel was fully booked and that they could not change rooms.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Rudy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for reporting your comments on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately I just read your comments this morning as I do every week and you already left the hotel.
It is true that our hotel has been totally sold out for the last 10 days which is the reason why we could not move you to another room. It is a pity you did not ask for me at the front desk, so I could have at least apologized personally and find any other way of compensation.
I hope this will not stop you to come back and visit us in the next future.
Thank you again and best regards.
Best regards
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
9.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,009 reviews
9.8 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#7 of 18 in Cavtat
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat, Konavle 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: £91 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing