We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great big friendly experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2012

What a location! We stayed here 4 nights towards end of September and found it a great place to stay to rest and relax at the end of a two week holiday in Croatia. Having heard lots of criticism about the hotel I was most surprised to find it good. Being a large hotel we found the staff very friendly and helpful. Our only problem was being located a good walk away from the reception! Could have had staff on hand to help move our baggage to our room. Room was in a quiet part of the hotel on the eighth floor. A bit noisy at night as you could hear folk down at the other end of the corridor. Location wise, it is close to the airport and is a 5 minute drive by taxi. Room was clean and kept that way each day during our stay. It is only a 5/10 minute walk to the port. Being located up a hillside it can be a bit hard for elderly folk or young children. There is a buggy service available to use but we found it non-existent during our stay. On site there is a great choice for Breakfast menu. Enjoyed each day. Both indoor and outdoor swimming pool and also swimming in the sea. The sauna/spa was not worth writing home about as one was not working properly at the time. In the evening there is a couple of restaurants in the hotel. Heard good reports. We preferred to go into the town to eat some of the traditional foods and enjoy the small port atmosphere. Check out my photos to get a better idea of the place. Great walks around the hotel and down into the town of Cavtat. You can see Dubrovnik in the distance. There are boats going between Cavtat and Dubrovnik all day long. We enjoyed our days here very much and recommend it. It appears that the hotel caters mostly for Charter/coach tours! But all in all good location to discover this part of Croatia.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank rongie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,049 - 2,055 of 2,850 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

Had a flight delay so it was a lovely surprise to stay here. Would definitely stay again. Hotel was spacious., staff were helpful. The views from the dining room were breathtaking !! One of the best ive ever seen, The food was amazing !!! Wish we had had more time there !!

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor on the sea side very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank kajunbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

The room is luxurious and with high quality furniture and balconies with fabulous sea views. Rooms were nice, clean, good food and service. The bed are very comfortable. The staff were excellent. Breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TripHaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Obviously, personal taste comes into play here, but I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.This hotel is so laid-back it is almost horizontal - but it is a marvellous, truly international, 5-star hotel. I cannot really fault it. It has hosted the conferences of many top multi-national companies and lists them all proudly. In addition, it has consistently been voted as the best Hotel by Hrvatskans (Croatians) themselves.
The hotel always seems to have a good mix of many nationalities
It stands on its own wooded peninsular with wonderful views of the beautiful Cavtat (pronounced sav-tat) bay and harbour on one side whilst, on the other side, dramatic views out over the Adriatic and the Elaphites group of islands over which the sun sets spectacularly!
Whilst the Hotel was built in the 1970's it has an imaginative architecture - surprising and quirky lay-out as it is built on many levels with its restaurants and bars arranged around a central horse-shoe that allows the ingress of the Hotel's own arboretum.
The main reception area, which is huge, is situated on the mid-floor of the hotel - which appears to be on the ground floor as you enter and the main block of bedrooms, all well furnished, are built on the cliff-top. It is just as if you are looking out from an upper deck of a huge ocean-going liner. The lift takes you up or down to reception or right down to exit onto the cliff-top walk. It is here that a special area is reserved for naturists like my wife and myself.
Here, you can sun-bathe until the sun sets!
If you book this hotel make doubly sure that you book a sea-view room - as it makes the world of difference to your experience.

Room Tip: You must pay for a sea-view room - it makes a huge difference. If you are not fit, you have to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PickNick1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Beautiful place, the hotel as it is fused with nature. Beautiful large hotel, located "invisible" over small, quiet fishing port .. two swimming pools, a large comfortable and clean rooms, delicious food, plentiful breakfast varied ... terraces with a beautiful view of the sea, hear the sound of the waves constantly and giving you a feeling of peace and serenity ... Tennis courts, a pine forest .. restaurants along the sea where you sit outside and now in November .. really beautiful place and a wonderful sense of space and nature ..

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aleksandra9_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We went here at the end of October, in fact the last week that Thomsons went there this year. The Hotel was only a fifth full and was therefore very quiet. It is placed on a cliff side with lovely views across the sea, although there did appear to be some garden facing rooms.Our room was spacious and clean. The staff were friendly and management friendly and available if needed. The views from both sides of the Hotel are great. Food quality was good even though they were cooking for only a small number of guests. We found the air conditioning a bit odd as it never really cooled the room in the evening to a level that was comfortable for us to sleep in. Perhaps that's us Englanders coming from a colder climate. There are a great number of steps around the grounds which taxed many people, although the hotel does lay on a buggy to the harbour side as and when required. We chose to walk and as we are both aged 60 it can't be that bad.
Cavtat is a small town built around a small bay. There are walks around the area which are well laid out and very picturesque. The water taxi to Dubrovnik is great and avoids a load of steps down from the drop off point in Dubrovnik if you decide to go by bus, although the bus is cheaper. Dubrovnik is excellent and the wall walk a must. Disappointed with the cable car, expensive for what it is. We also visited Lokrum which was a really lovely island and a great walk about. One thing which we were unprepared for were the Gnat bites. They seemed to be anywhere there was vegetation. I don't know whether this was a seasonal thing but it's worth remembering when you go out. We had great weather, better than expected and a lovely time here. Summing up Good Hotel, good location, great weeks break

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Located in Cavtat, a few miles from Dubronik. The hotel is built around the cliff and it is the best as far as location is concerned. We had a see view room and watched sunset everyday, breath-taking experience. The room is luxurious and with high quality furniture, although the balcony is on the small size. Food was reasonable but 3* standard really. The service was excellent and they tried hard to help. There are 2 pools and 1 of them is sea water. There is an outdoor sunbathing area on the cliff and it is naturist's paradise ....... There are many good restaurants in the hotel and the seafood one is fantastic whereby you can dine by the sea at nite, amazing ! The grill room is supposed to be very famous but we didn't get round to it. Also, it is indoor as well ! A big bar but we were there a few times with very few punters ! There were many Russians and Germans and they can be quite blunt and most sunbeds are gone by 8 am but always nobody using them !! The hotel is great and you can travel to Dubronik by boat and it is wonderful to do it.....

Room Tip: Choose sea-view room and higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank a10nmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
9.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,011 reviews
9.8 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#7 of 18 in Cavtat
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat, Konavle 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: £90 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing